[Discussion] Typical prices for Phantom repairs & mods

thatone1

I guess you already know that carbon brushes can be replaced. So what happened to your Starter motor?

Currently I fixed already,

When to Lee Huat Motors to get is check,

previously just change my brush like less than 2 weeks.

My starter just got worn out, it can't start any more, luckily they have a used motor and sold me at $145 inclusive of the new starter carbon.

• Replies 3.8k

hi lads,

anyone know where to get those strong bracket for signal light on back license plate? not those lousy bendy metal but something strong!

stainless steel L-brackets can be bought at normal hardware stores. Those are usually used as stiffeners for wooden furniture and costs less than 10 bucks per pair. But beware, they are extremely difficult to drill holes for mounting the rear signal lights.

Guys, would like to check with you all.

What is more suitable for the Chain, spray type lub or paste type grease.

I notice that spray type lub have to have a regular application cause it wear off easily. And paste type have is more dirtier as it able to collect more dirt

Sent from my HTC Desire 820s dual sim using Tapatalk

I thought it would be more of personal pref.. If you don't mind messy go for the paste.. But of course the good part about spray is when you apply when chain is hot the lube will penetrate the o ring area a technically better wear protection if u apply it the right way.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Guys, would like to check with you all.

What is more suitable for the Chain, spray type lub or paste type grease.

I notice that spray type lub have to have a regular application cause it wear off easily. And paste type have is more dirtier as it able to collect more dirt

I tried chain lubes, to chain waxes and finally now I am on oiler by ezzyoiler (Uncle Koh).

No regrets. Save all the time for oiling the chain and cleaning the chain. Want to clean the chain? Simply press a lot of times and ride away. The dirt accumulated from the road flings off to the rim which can be easily wiped off as compared to lubes and waxes.

The only complain i have for the oiler is the reservoir which is too small for my comfort. So i changed it out myself by buying a 600ml bottle from Daiso. The oil I use is a $6.75/litre Schnell 4t which can be bought at Giant.

Quiet, peace of mind and a shiny oiled chain. Can't complain liao.

I tried chain lubes, to chain waxes and finally now I am on oiler by ezzyoiler (Uncle Koh).

No regrets. Save all the time for oiling the chain and cleaning the chain. Want to clean the chain? Simply press a lot of times and ride away. The dirt accumulated from the road flings off to the rim which can be easily wiped off as compared to lubes and waxes.

The only complain i have for the oiler is the reservoir which is too small for my comfort. So i changed it out myself by buying a 600ml bottle from Daiso. The oil I use is a $6.75/litre Schnell 4t which can be bought at Giant.

Quiet, peace of mind and a shiny oiled chain. Can't complain liao.

Then which oil do you use ?

I wanted to diy the oiler like one of the threats, but not sure which oil to use

Then which oil do you use ?

I wanted to diy the oiler like one of the threats, but not sure which oil to use

I used a cheap 4T oil from Giant. 1 litre 6.80 iirc

Hi I just bought my 2nd hand phantom and I would like to get a wind shield and hazard light for it. Where can I find it/get it done? I know there is a list stating the price but dun noe who is doing it/selling it...

Both can be DIY. Windshield if you want a normal small one, can buy from Lim Ah Boy, or Aunty Shop at Ubi. If you like a big one like those from National Cycle, you have to order from ebay. The former is about $65 to $80 while the big ones are from $290 (inclusive of freight charges) onwards.

For hazard light, please refer to the DIY thread posted.

Both can be DIY. Windshield if you want a normal small one, can buy from Lim Ah Boy, or Aunty Shop at Ubi. If you like a big one like those from National Cycle, you have to order from ebay. The former is about $65 to $80 while the big ones are from $290 (inclusive of freight charges) onwards.

For hazard light, please refer to the DIY thread posted.

Thanks. Can I noe where is the Aunty Shop at Ubi? I search in the net only found one Aunty Sticker Shop at 411 Jalan Besar, Singapore S(209014). Is it this Aunty shop?

how much to change clutch plate guys? my gear 2 and 6 is rattling. gear 6 unusable. any recommended bike shops in cck area? cck/bp..

That day I went to Unique Motors to ask, I was quoted $70 for friction plates inclusive of labour. Maybe can call them and ask. Clutch consist of both friction plates & clutch plates.

I lost my motorcycle keys, and for my phantom, the ignition key slot has an extra protection. A magnetic shutter cover that opens when I place my key on the top.

Here's a video of how it probably works. Worst part I don't have a spare key for the magnetic system, I have no idea what to do. Help?

how much to change clutch plate guys? my gear 2 and 6 is rattling. gear 6 unusable. any recommended bike shops in cck area? cck/bp..

Ah Koon at 61 Lengkok Bahru

Phantom specialist, price quite reasonable.

Can try to find his number and give him a ring

Honda Phantom Ta200

Rebuilt Front pair fork as fork seal cracked but not leaking mech suggested me to rebuild the whole thing at the same time redo the whole steering portion (idk what's that call).

He took apart the front pair of fork and drain all the oil, clean it with air then fill back the oil and install a new seal.

Took apart the steering and saw the bearing abit cui already, replace with new steel covers and ball bearing.

Alot of work and got charged 180$.

Front fork seal and steering. Worth it?

But after the repair i feel that when going through bumpy road fast can hear alot of knocking sound as if the suspension is not doing it's job.

is that bad?

Before the repair I don't hear all these sound.

Idk how to explain to the mech also.

Honda Phantom TA200 2013-2016

Yamaha RXZ 2016~Current

Ducati Monster 821 Dark Stealth 2016~current

Hi there i had the same problem as well, that magnetic shutter below the ignition slot is for anti-theft purposes. You can send to a workshop and ask them to drill a hole to forcefully open up the ignition slot, which will in turn damage the whole ignition slot permanently. The bike comes with a small black magnetic lever to turn the lock, but the previous owner or your workshop might not have passed it to you. Or you can go to a honda dealership to get it replaced which might cost much. Hope that helps.

Hi Bros. Can't really afford a overhauls or big repairs in singapore so wanna ask which bike shop do you all recommend in jb?