[Discussion] Typical prices for Phantom repairs & mods

yup.. best to follow his advice. as his in this line for years... you might wanna do your own research too ;-)

• Replies 3.8k

The last time I changed engine oil ah chong said brake pads must change at next EO change. I asked him front or back, he said both.

Today I changed EO, and he changed the rear brake pads and pump because the pump was stuck. Then he said the front brake pad still have a lot to go. Although I feel it is really very soft. Have to trust him... but sometimes I don't understand how all this works.

You want to accuse people yet you yourself dont even know what you are talking about. A brake mechanism on a motorbike is different as of your bicycle. there is the pump, brake fluid , cables etc. I suggest to get ur fluid changed.

The last time I changed engine oil ah chong said brake pads must change at next EO change. I asked him front or back, he said both.

Today I changed EO, and he changed the rear brake pads and pump because the pump was stuck. Then he said the front brake pad still have a lot to go. Although I feel it is really very soft. Have to trust him... but sometimes I don't understand how all this works.

If you braking is soft, its very likely that you have air bubbles in your brake lines. Will have to bleed your brake lines to resolve. Ah chong will know what to do. Phantom rear brake pump has a problem of getting stuck, also another common issue.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

You want to accuse people yet you yourself dont even know what you are talking about. A brake mechanism on a motorbike is different as of your bicycle. there is the pump, brake fluid , cables etc. I suggest to get ur fluid changed.

my my relax, our dear fren is only not too sure of how the brake pump works, and that by trusting Ah Chong, he in turn entrust Ah Chong his life also, as thats one of the ingredient to a safe riding career.....

well peace peace...

Huat Ah!!!

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

Getting tired of looking for MAdMan.. Sms him wanna order a highway bar from hom many times, Did not even reply me with the answer.. call him nv pick up :(...

Been trying also, but i guess we gotta be patient. He probably has a great reason for the hiatus as PinkPhantom's biz is his passion.

And perhaps this should go to the Cosmetic thread.

I have the best signature.

May I know what mistake I made? I narrated what Ah Chong did to my bike, I'm not making any claims about my knowledge.

I'm definitely not accusing anyone. Quite the opposite, I really trust Ah Chong because I don't know anything. Everything he say change I change. Everytime I go for simple oil change the bill comes up to triple digit. But like hamsterwhale said, its my life, I have to trust him in an area I don't know about.

Regarding the brakes, he did bleed the rear brake and change the fluid, but he said the front brakes were fine. I suppose my feeling of "soft" is not really soft.

Anyway it might be just a coincidence, I think your reference to bicycles was more ironic than anything else, but I love bicycle maintenance. That's one area I'm less shy to claim some knowledge.

May I know what mistake I made? I narrated what Ah Chong did to my bike, I'm not making any claims about my knowledge.

I'm definitely not accusing anyone. Quite the opposite, I really trust Ah Chong because I don't know anything. Everything he say change I change. Everytime I go for simple oil change the bill comes up to triple digit. But like hamsterwhale said, its my life, I have to trust him in an area I don't know about.

Regarding the brakes, he did bleed the rear brake and change the fluid, but he said the front brakes were fine. I suppose my feeling of "soft" is not really soft.

Anyway it might be just a coincidence, I think your reference to bicycles was more ironic than anything else, but I love bicycle maintenance. That's one area I'm less shy to claim some knowledge.

- How many times have you went there?

- Did you request for them to check for wear & tear items to change also? Or you just ask them to change EO and they "add on" other things?

- Ah Chong tell you or his crew?

The reason I ask is, if I go change EO only, I never end up bleeding brake fuild too unless I specifically asked for it.

- How many times have you went there?

- Did you request for them to check for wear & tear items to change also? Or you just ask them to change EO and they "add on" other things?

- Ah Chong tell you or his crew?

The reason I ask is, if I go change EO only, I never end up bleeding brake fuild too unless I specifically asked for it.

No no... I'm not saying I get chop or anything like that. My point is that my bike always comes up with new ways to burn money. Its about three times - tires, tensioner (which is not triple digit price, I exaggerate), and brake pump is the latest. Ah Chong tells me and asks me if I want to do. For example the brake pump he told me should change, because it might get jammed while e-braking. I usually just leave the bike to him to feel around and whatever he says I pay.

Maybe its because I seldom ride. Because Ah Chong exclaimed surprise at my bike's low mileage (24000 for 4 years, and less than 4000 in the last year). I told him I only ride about 3 times a week, he said that for Phantom the less you ride the more problems it gives. On the bright side he did say my bike sound is nice because engine still good.

No no... I'm not saying I get chop or anything like that. My point is that my bike always comes up with new ways to burn money. Its about three times - tires, tensioner (which is not triple digit price, I exaggerate), and brake pump is the latest. Ah Chong tells me and asks me if I want to do. For example the brake pump he told me should change, because it might get jammed while e-braking. I usually just leave the bike to him to feel around and whatever he says I pay.

Maybe its because I seldom ride. Because Ah Chong exclaimed surprise at my bike's low mileage (24000 for 4 years, and less than 4000 in the last year). I told him I only ride about 3 times a week, he said that for Phantom the less you ride the more problems it gives. On the bright side he did say my bike sound is nice because engine still good.

ha... ok... from now on, just maintain the bike well ok? then the bike will serve you well :smile:

do let ah chong ride your bike to see if there might be other things that should be fixed or adjusted

anyone knows will planet be open tml ?

cos im goin to change EO...

they should be open from monday to saturday, although closed on public holidays...

I'm going there tml morning at 9.30 am :smile:

cos i went down on sat but it was close. so LL suck tumb go home. lol...

awww... it was a public holiday... well... you can call to confirm if its open or not... the number is 67474740

oh! LOL! didnt realise tat. cos my work shift doesnt care abt public holiday :dozed:

or mayb tml mornin u go alrdy den update here whether planet is open anot? :cheeky:

alright. thanks for clarifying.Sorry that i sounded harsh. :) Perhaps next time you can tell ah chong what you feel. Also, i learnt that can ask them to use compressed air to blow your brake disc. Can really see brake dust flying out man. :thumb:

btw, check this pic out on my post. http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5394711#post5394711

enjoy.

oh! LOL! didnt realise tat. cos my work shift doesnt care abt public holiday :dozed:

or mayb tml mornin u go alrdy den update here whether planet is open anot? :cheeky:

haha sure... although I would only be home late... :smile:

hey guys, can some1 help me, i was charge $70 for repairing my fork, think crooked or wat, i got tio chop?

Fork can crooked meh? You heat treat it or what? :lol: Well, unless you can detail out what was repaired/replaced, don't think anyone can comment much...

hey guys, can some1 help me, i was charge $70 for repairing my fork, think crooked or wat, i got tio chop?

I replaced my fork tube (one side) for $30 at planet...

Repairs / Maintenance :

* Fuel Sensor $40 (Planet)custom 4 & above

* Battery $26-$30 (LAB) / $30-35 (Planet) / $48 (Ah Koon)/

* $60 woodlands road carltex (7Ah battery)

* Steering cone $55-65

* Chain Tensioner $55-60 (for tick tick sound at cold start)

* Front brake disc $45

* Tyres (metz) $150 front & back

* Chain $70-120 depending on type

* Chain + Sprocket - $140+/-

* DID O RING with Original Honda Sprocket - $130 (Planet, did it this afternoon)

* Signal lights - depending on which type you like. $8-25.

* Signal bulb, headlight bulb - 1 $ (LAB, easy DIY) (add on: approved brighter ones for $8. bought from koon.)

* Headlight - anywhere from $35 to 90 depending the type you like.

* Spark plug - $4-20 [[ Replay once had his changed for S$2 ]]

* Engine oil - $6 -18 (jB got his lousiest EO for $3)

* Brake Pad $15-25

* Bleed and change brake fluid($10 each side)

* Air filter - $10

* Wheel ball bearings - $20-35 (depends on how mech chop u)

* Gear Shaft - $100 (planet)

* Clutch plate - $80 (Planet)

* Front fork (1 pair) - $330 (planet)

* Front fork seals (plus fork oil of course) - $65 (planet)

* Front fork tube (1 x) - $30 (planet)

* Rectifier - $75 (planet)

* Coil - $180 (planet)

* Rethreading of spark plug thread - between $35 - $45.

* Gasket - $30 (koon)

* Starter carbon - $60 (planet)

* Front fender - $45 (original honda)

* Rear brake plate w/ pad $58 (planet)

* Rear brake disc - $80 (planet)

* Original rear suspension $180 (planet)

* Repair front brake pump (jam) and replace brake oil -$25 - (planet)

* Replace entire front brake pump ($80) - (planet)

* Rear Brake Pump ($85) (planet)

* Overhaul: Piston+Ring+Block+Top gasket+EO+Plug - ($380) - (planet)

* Rear brake light 12 v 5w/18w $1 (planet)

* Clutch cable - $15 (planet)

* Throttle cable - $12 (planet)

Mods and Accessories:

* Wide handlebar (custom4 phantom type) - $38

* Wide Crashbar with mounting points for spotlights - $80

* Footrest - $65-85

- Front\Rubber part - $5/piece @LAB

- Front\Metal base plate - $11/piece @LAB

- Rear\Eagle footrest - $25/pair @ LAB

* Side box e21 - $90-130

* Fuel tank - $382 contact madman or check http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore06.html

* Spotlights $35 a pair http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore11a.html

* Windshield $65-80

* Grips $10-120

* Chrome w/ rubber strips grips (LAB) - $25

* Mirrors $12(LAB) - $50 (jB got his, 8 bucks for small ones)

* Look-alike-original mirrors (shop beside LAB) - $20, LAB should be cheaper.

* Saddlebags $110-180

* Hazard light less than $10 if u fix&wire urself, $18-20 for mech installation [[ S$15 if Replay does it for you! ]]

* Relocating rear signals to license plate - $10 (planet)

* Rear box $80-330

* Voltage stabiliser - $59-$120 depends

* Pillion's 'eagle' footrest w/o installation (LAB) - S$22

* Rider's ORIGINAL footrest (LAB) - S$18 per side, can be cheaper?

* Stainless steel screws for speedo, and side covers. 6 to change altogether. $1-$1.80 also bought from koon.

++ washers to go at 50c each at regina

* Socket for supporting the head light - $15

* Bullet Headlight - $35 (LAB)

* Gear lever with rubber $20 at koon

* Stebel Magnum 2 (Silver) w/o installation - $18-$20 (LAB)

* Daiso electric horns (pair) - $45 (planet)

* Phantom TA 200 gearbox - $540 (planet)

Tow Services & Send for Inspection:

* Towing (to and fro) - $40 (Planet)

* Send for inspection - $60 (Planet)

Repairs / Maintenance :

* Fuel Sensor $40 (Planet)custom 4 & above

* Battery $26-$30 (LAB) / $30-35 (Planet) / $48 (Ah Koon)/

* $60 woodlands road carltex (7Ah battery)

* Steering cone $55-65

* Chain Tensioner $55-60 (for tick tick sound at cold start)

* Front brake disc $45

* Tyres (metz) $150 front & back

* Chain $70-120 depending on type

* Chain + Sprocket - $140+/-

* DID O RING with Original Honda Sprocket - $130 (Planet, did it this afternoon)

* Signal lights - depending on which type you like. $8-25.

* Signal bulb, headlight bulb - 1 $ (LAB, easy DIY) (add on: approved brighter ones for $8. bought from koon.)

* Headlight - anywhere from $35 to 90 depending the type you like.

* Spark plug - $4-20 [[ Replay once had his changed for S$2 ]]

* Engine oil - $6 -18 (jB got his lousiest EO for $3)

* Brake Pad $15-25

* Bleed and change brake fluid($10 each side)

* Air filter - $10

* Wheel ball bearings - $20-35 (depends on how mech chop u)

* Gear Shaft - $100 (planet)

* Clutch plate - $80 (Planet)

* Front fork (1 pair) - $330 (planet)

* Front fork seals (plus fork oil of course) - $65 (planet)

* Front fork tube (1 x) - $30 (planet)

* Rectifier - $75 (planet)

* Coil - $180 (planet)

* Rethreading of spark plug thread - between $35 - $45.

* Gasket - $30 (koon)

* Starter carbon - $60 (planet)

* Front fender - $45 (original honda)

* Rear brake plate w/ pad $58 (planet)

* Rear brake disc - $80 (planet)

* Original rear suspension $180 (planet)

* Repair front brake pump (jam) and replace brake oil -$25 - (planet)

* Replace entire front brake pump ($80) - (planet)

* Rear Brake Pump ($85) (planet)

* Overhaul: Piston+Ring+Block+Top gasket+EO+Plug - ($380) - (planet)

* Rear brake light 12 v 5w/18w $1 (planet)

* Clutch cable - $15 (planet)

* Throttle cable - $12 (planet)

* Front Brake/Clutch Lever - $8 each(planet)

* Balancer[the 2 silver thingies at the edge of your handlebars] - $15 (planet)

Mods and Accessories:

* Wide handlebar (custom4 phantom type) - $38

* Wide Crashbar with mounting points for spotlights - $80

* Footrest - $65-85

- Front\Rubber part - $5/piece @LAB

- Front\Metal base plate - $11/piece @LAB

- Rear\Eagle footrest - $25/pair @ LAB

* Side box e21 - $90-130

* Fuel tank - $382 contact madman or check http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore06.html

* Spotlights $35 a pair http://www.pinkphantom.com/estore11a.html

* Windshield $65-80

* Grips $10-120

* Chrome w/ rubber strips grips (LAB) - $25

* Mirrors $12(LAB) - $50 (jB got his, 8 bucks for small ones)

* Look-alike-original mirrors (shop beside LAB) - $20, LAB should be cheaper.

* Saddlebags $110-180

* Hazard light less than $10 if u fix&wire urself, $18-20 for mech installation [[ S$15 if Replay does it for you! ]]

* Relocating rear signals to license plate - $10 (planet)

* Rear box $80-330

* Voltage stabiliser - $59-$120 depends

* Pillion's 'eagle' footrest w/o installation (LAB) - S$22

* Rider's ORIGINAL footrest (LAB) - S$18 per side, can be cheaper?

* Stainless steel screws for speedo, and side covers. 6 to change altogether. $1-$1.80 also bought from koon.

++ washers to go at 50c each at regina

* Socket for supporting the head light - $15

* Bullet Headlight - $35 (LAB)

* Gear lever with rubber $20 at koon

* Stebel Magnum 2 (Silver) w/o installation - $18-$20 (LAB)

* Daiso electric horns (pair) - $45 (planet)

* Phantom TA 200 gearbox - $540 (planet)

Tow Services & Send for Inspection:

* Towing (to and fro) - $40 (Planet)

* Send for inspection - $60 (Planet)