any pilot's here?

There ARE la bro but question is: Will getting a PPL really give you an edge over other candidates? There are cases too where candidates with PPL or even CPL did not get through.

Do you meet the educational and physical requirements (eyesight in particular) ?

If yes, congrats, good chance. My advice would be to read more with regards to aviation, follow the news a bit and of course, SIA's progress. With regards to flying lessons, go there to have a good feel to what flying's all about. It will also give your confidence a boost if you do not feel airsick and are able to control the a/c to a reasonable degree. This shows that you have aptitude. Some of my friends went to elite for a few lessons (about 10) and subsequently, they were all accepted by SIA.

Do take note as well that going for flying lessons leave the interviewers with MORE things to ask. They will ask you questions like how you go about doing a pre flight check, how do you recover from a stall, how can you recover from a spin, what's the difference between a stall and a spin. Basically questions relating more to flying because you have some sort of flying experience already!

Last but not least, if you have a PPL, that will account to some reduction in flying hours in Jandakot, Perth. Oh well...too complicated to explain now, will leave that to another day alright?

• Replies 931

Do you meet the educational and physical requirements (eyesight in particular) ?

oh YES!!!! perfect since I was born!!!

Ride safe, or else urs will be the one I'm looking at, at work!!!! :cool:

http://www.visualsunlimited.com/images/watermarked/992/99279.jpg

Good le! Anyway, my advice (if you have the spare cash), go fly a few sorties and see if it is your cup of tea. Keep us posted!

yeah you should go take up lessons... malaysia best.. cos singapore training area very small... waste time.. -

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

yeah you should go take up lessons... malaysia best.. cos singapore training area very small... waste time.. -

Is it still possible to ask to track to point W and SJ VOR these days? :confused:

We R One!

Not sure le bro. Personally, never done it before. As far as i know point whiskey mainly for RSAF low level flying exercises. Sinjon wise....can definitely request to track direct, whether ATC will give it to you or not...that's another question. Probably can look up AIP for more info relating to point W, etc..? My 2 cents.

Probably can ask retro and sylvestercat too!

i think can request.. but subject to availability... like whether the Rsaf are playing anot...

gosh...wats the flying range / endurance of a A320 ? single aisle budget carrier aircraft ?

hmmm...shld i drop SQ a second application...its been 1 year since i went to STC to have a "get to know session" with the "authorities"

hhahahhaa ..

A320, depend on configuration i suppose. It's usually for short range services so i guess the range should be about 3000nm (~5800km). Exact range can be looked up from airbus webpage. If you really interested in the career, why not? Come and have a chat with management again then!

Out of curiosity...did you get to the 2nd interview?

A320, depend on configuration i suppose. It's usually for short range services so i guess the range should be about 3000nm (~5800km). Exact range can be looked up from airbus webpage. If you really interested in the career, why not? Come and have a chat with management again then!

Out of curiosity...did you get to the 2nd interview?

No second interview, fared well, think they don't like my face ! I have aerospace background & working in aviation now also. Range can be calculated using breguet formula. hehehe

Some challenging questions were asked cos i working for US aircraft engine OEM ...hehe...747 uses them

how come you know it so well??want to go work for tiger or jetstar ah? :cheeky:

want to leh.. so dun have to work like construction workers... :cheeky:

Not fantastic to work for jetstar too le...haha. My friend complained that the management there very "australian" even thou they are not flying in australia...! :faint:

He just waiting for his 4 bar.

Not fantastic to work for jetstar too le...haha. My friend complained that the management there very "australian" even thou they are not flying in australia...! :faint:

but heard they fly like crazy... clocking sectors very very fast... so he will get his 4 bars in no time!!!

you working like construction worker now meh??haha

but working in airline..is fly more than more money mah..every mth only fly 20-30 hrs..also sianz :(

want to leh.. so dun have to work like construction workers... :cheeky:

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

what do you mean by 'very australian'?

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

You should know mah....like how most of your instructors are like in JDK or MCY (esp. in MCY coz all of the instructors have airline exp, mainly domestic australian airline exp)! haha.

that sounds scary :cry:

You should know mah....like how most of your instructors are like in JDK or MCY (esp. in MCY coz all of the instructors have airline exp, mainly domestic australian airline exp)! haha.

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

dun talk so much..find one day come out talk!!!

Im busy this week le! But next week is fine, i will sms you. Btw, stylo milo avatar! can see you very active in ironhorse thread! :cheeky:

but heard they fly like crazy... clocking sectors very very fast... so he will get his 4 bars in no time!!!

That's the way budget airlines operate...