any pilot's here?

Originally posted by Hideki45@Dec 28 2005, 09:00 PM

what he stated are facts.

there's nothing to humor about.

i nvr said it isnt fact. but can always phrase it in a nicer way though.

• Replies 931

i juz went for the SIA pilot career talk last mth. basically, wat they're lookin for, accordin to wat they said, are pple with the rite aptitude. u must be very keen on being a pilot, have done ur research on all related issues like plane types, principles of flight etc etc...

apparently the aptitude/psychological tests r very impt as tats where assess if u have a long term future wif them or not. they want to train pilots whom they can keep.

hope this has been informative to all those interested out there...

hv u gotten an intvw wif them? i wish u all the best.

nope... still studyin rite now. final yr in ntu. the min age is 26 cos the said priority is given to rsaf. but i've been rejected by rsaf twice liao. :sweat: think im most prob gonna sign up after i grad. if all goes well i'll be put on the 'waiting' list to be recruited once i turn 26.

hydrop saw ur posting in there too.

i think ive applied 2x in the past. maybe will try again when i hit 26 in a few days time :D

but no one in the thread is talking about how the interview process is. care to enlighten us?

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Originally posted by moccajava@Jan 5 2006, 09:05 PM

hydrop saw ur posting in there too.

i think ive applied 2x in the past. maybe will try again when i hit 26 in a few days time :D

but no one in the thread is talking about how the interview process is. care to enlighten us?

ya... im interested to wat exactly wat they ask during the interview. any tips or advice for those who have gone for it?

Originally posted by Nightstalker@Jan 5 2006, 10:16 PM

ya... im interested to wat exactly wat they ask during the interview. any tips or advice for those who have gone for it?

For details of the interview, do visit the pprune forum. There's a lot of discussion on it. My advise is be truthful when answering the questions. And do read up more about theory of flight before going for the interview.

Good luck to those going for the interview!

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

well for those who intend to fly Airlines should join some cadet scheme.. to save money unless ya are loaded. can get a CPL from MFA which costs about more than 150k RM(i used to work there). then try SIA then they MAY take you in for Advance training(Learjet for their Advance in MCY).

or can take PPL in malaysia and you have a upperhand over the rest.

Heard about ATPL mentioned. Need 1500hrs to 'unfreeze' it after you take ya ATPL papers. but to clock these 1500hours you MAY need more than 1500hours, cos to make up this 1500hrs, you need hours in diff aspects, eg night flying, Nav, IR, etc.

But to be a pilot first of all you must have the right aptitude. Work hard and you will be one!!!

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

great! juz the guy to ask.

whats the avg costs to get PPL in malaysia? full-time or part-time available? as in weekend courses... and nearest to spore would be?

ps: aptitude part is vague... care to elaborate

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Originally posted by moccajava@Jan 22 2006, 11:01 AM

whats the avg costs to get PPL in malaysia? full-time or part-time available? as in weekend courses... and nearest to spore would be?

aptitude. either u hv it or u dont.

Originally posted by moccajava@Jan 22 2006, 11:01 AM

well i think someone has mentioned the costs of PPL in malaysia quite clearly. Most do it part time.. nearest would be Senai. Theres a few clubs. I have a contact in Johor, well not sure hes still working there.. will contact him for ya.

And for aptitude... like wat newbie said... either you have it or you dun...

its like a person's character.. so either you can fly or you cant.. there are ppl who can fly really well after a few hours... also ppl who cant never make it no matter how many times they change instructors, how many hours they fly... so well you gotta take up flying and see how it goes to find out whether you can make it anot.

See ya in the air!

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Hi, just sharing my experience.

Went for a cadet pilot interview with SIA in end-2004. Needless to say, I wasn't shortlisted after the 1st interview lah...

For Singaporeans, you need to be at least 26 years old. There's a little-known MINDEF requirement that doesn't allow below-26yr-olds to join as commercial pilot, maybe to protect the interests of RSAF? If they didn't have this rule then a lot of RSAF pilots will go over to SIA for the big money... and the travel, too!

There are 3 interviews. To get selected for the first interview means you have cleared a really really huge hurdle.

The 1st interview (which I attended) you'll be up in front of 2 experienced pilots, most prob both at least are Flight Commanders. They'll ask you questions depending on their whim and fancy. Sometimes they'll ask you what you do in your free time, do you have any hobbies, where you grew up, etc... and sometimes they'll ask you airplane stuff, some really technical stuff which the layman will definitely not know...

The 2nd interview, you'll be doing some psychometric tests... and stuff... I can't elaborate as I haven't been there myself...

The last and final interview is a tea party, where they see you mingle around with other potential cadets and the veteran pilots... how you react in social environments...

Anyone have dreams of becoming a pilot, get a relevant degree/diploma like in aerospace or aviation studies. Doesn't guarantee you a place but it definitely helps...

There's an online forum for pilot wannabes, including a sub-forum for SIA cadetpilot hopefuls too.

There's also a website at geocities, keyword khlim777. Lots of info there on planes and stuff.

all these talk abt aptitude for flying.

i believe flying is something you can learn and with enough stick time, anyone can fly.

just wanna let anyone who wants to be a pilot to not be afraid and just apply to give it a shot!

Phantom 200: Aug 2002 - Jan 2005

Overseas :cry: : Jan 2005 - Dec 2012

Fuoco 500ie: Dec 2012 - Present

Originally posted by tooned@Feb 25 2006, 04:19 PM

all these talk abt aptitude for flying.

i believe flying is something you can learn and with enough stick time, anyone can fly.

just wanna let anyone who wants to be a pilot to not be afraid and just apply to give it a shot!

Funny you say that, because that's exactly what the laojiao pilots don't believe.

They seem to think otherwise, that flying is something within you, and not everyone has it in them to fly well. An SIA pilot told me, someone may make a great doctor or lawyer, but he may not have the competence to fly a plane...

anyone been thru or workin in SQ can advise... i missed their email notification of an interview... was supposed to be 28th February but i only checked my email on the 1st March. die... sianz...

will i be removed from future schedules and need to reapply or if i were to email them again with explanations would it help?

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Originally posted by moccajava@Mar 2 2006, 10:36 AM

anyone been thru or workin in SQ can advise... i missed their email notification of an interview... was supposed to be 28th February but i only checked my email on the 1st March. die... sianz...

will i be removed from future schedules and need to reapply or if i were to email them again with explanations would it help?

Wah piang eh... u missed the opportunity of a lifetime?

I guess you can always keep sending them your resume... and include a brief explanation how you missed their interview... or you can call them... i don't know the number, though...

its alright... PHEW... KIV for march round :D

yah boy super sian yday knock my head on wall for missing out the email. now super kancheong oredi must check email every half a day.

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Technically alot of ways to be a pilot, easiest is still if you have $$$. Just look at the terrorist cells from 911. Most of them received flight training, no money, then find some air force scholarship or SIA cadet pilot scheme and hope for the best.

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

just wondering if it is viewed as OK to ride a bike and be employed as a pilot... like some said RSAF pilots not allowed to ride n stuff how bout SQ pilots... due to the high risk on the road and the investment they have made on u... is it wise to disclose that during an interview?

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

Well, SIA cadets are insured for half a million... by SIA lah... I heard...

So, they discourage riding. It's best if you *lie* and say you take public... or borrow a car and say its yours...

Better impression leh... They'll be more impressed with you driving an old Daihaisu Charade than riding a new MV Agusta F4 1000 Tamburini hahahha