any pilot's here?

• Replies 931

Thanks. I concur with you that telling the truth will be the best... dun think they will leave any stones uncovered. remembered last time i was the only one who came in bike for cabin crew inteview heh... funny sh*t.

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

but u havnt tell me in PM wads ur dialect/race leh.

There're coupla ways to explain the theory of flight/lift and Bernoulli's Theorem... some even referring to Newton's 3rd Law of Action and Equal Opposite Reaction.

Would those with aviation experience/interest be able to help how to explain these terms?

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

i'll be graduating in 2 mths time. and im plannin to send out my application form by next wk. my first step in pursuin my dream! hehe...

any idea how long it'll take b4 i get shortlisted for the first interview?

check out ask captain lim's forum.

lotsa info for aspiring pilots.

btw, SIA usually take applicant of minimum 26 yrs old if i am correct?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

It does take quite a fair bit to be a pilot, I agree.

But when you acheive that, plse dont to be haughty and think that a Pilot is the No. 1 profession in the world. IT IS NOT BECAUSE NOTHING IS. Be proud of your acheivements by all means but do have a wider perspective in life as well.

Anyone with fair enough IQ and psychomotors skills and determination can train to be a pilot. it's just how long it takes and whether he gets the chance.

Many commercial pilots dont do a good enough job, in my opinion.

Becos:-

i) Many cant speak confidently and clearly over the Audio system.

ii) Many land the plane poorly

iii) Many dont create enough rapport with the passengers.

ps. Maybe, there should be a feedback form on the pilot and not just about service from the cabin crew? I'll be glad to put my comments on such a form, whenever i take a flight which is every few weeks.

hey throttle, dun quite get it when u said

Many commercial pilots dont do a good enough job, in my opinion.

Becos:-

ii) Many land the plane poorly

anyway, is the ideal and perfect pilot = Shinkai Hajime (kimura takuya) from j-drama Good Luck!!

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Jul 1 2005, 07:05 PM

Well, you might not know whether you are really suited for pilot training.

Another safest method is to buy the DVD from http://www.sportys.com/courses/ first.

Try the DVD courses first before you really want to sink you money into pilots training.

My set is for Private Pilot & Helicoptor Flying Training. You might want to borrow from me first?

Can I borrow from you? :smile:

Btw, is there anyway to be sure that we're posted to being in the RSAF? I am very interested in being a commercial pilot. (Does anyone have SIA's pilot uniform picture?) Currently secondary 4. Persueing to be a pilot in the near future. What are the requirements and career route?

Love is a beautiful pain, with sweet pleasures.

No bike? No fear, feed your cravings on bicycles. =)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/Image3772_toobig.jpg

My bike have the most prominent rims. =p

Click here for the picture.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10721;7/st/20080607/e/my+18th+Birthday%21+/dt/13/k/8b15/event.png

| Motorcycle Specs | Parking Idiots | Race Replica Graphics/Sticker Kits | Yamaha Star | Yamaha Sports | SG Road Accident Stats | Motorcycle Dictionary | Bikes' Engine Sound Zone|

Originally posted by Throttle@Mar 31 2006, 12:42 AM

iii) Many dont create enough rapport with the passengers.

ps. Maybe, there should be a feedback form on the pilot and not just about service from the cabin crew? I'll be glad to put my comments on such a form, whenever i take a flight which is every few weeks.

i feel that this point is a bit too much. when dealing wif a typical 744, we cant expect the pilot to build rapport with hundreds of them. even a 320 might already prove a big hurdle.

but i believe they would love to mingle around given the chance, and time. but its not easy to please all the passengers.

have a good next flight.

surely, you must not think that i am talking about going around and saying hi or shaking hands?

What i meant by creating rapport is not to be talking to himself when addressing his passengers. A commercial pilot needs to be able to address his passengers confidently, clearly and reassuringly in his welcome speech and during his communication along the way.

Imagine listening to someone whom you know is not interested to talk to you but talking for the sake of making "noise" over the Audio system.

Many of them simply mumble away and you can tell that he is just talking to himself. thats the rapport i'm talking about.

This point is not too much at all considering the fact that it is a commercial flight, the pilot or Captain is afterall the person in command of the plane and needs to exude the right personality and image to his passengers.

oh. so building rapport by speaking well on the PA?

guess i have nothing else to say then.

No, speaking well over the PA is not it. very clear in my post lest you dont understand and choose to twist the meaning of the words to suit your objectives than there is nothing more you can say.

Anyway, if you choose lets take it offline on PM since we are veering off topic.

Land a plane poorly? Haha, there is a saying I remember clearly.

A Good Landing is a landing you can walk away from.

A Great Landing is a landing where you can walk away from and still use the aircraft again!

Being a pilot is not an easy career to pursue, many people want to do it, And the movies made it into a "glam job". But it is far from that, constant training, lots of things to learn, reading an F double A basic theory book already made me go nuts. Learning to fly is not as easy as driving a car. Must learn stuff like principles of flight, weather, and so much more. Plus if you fly for a national carrier, you really got to think twice before doing anything, as it might tarnish both the airline and your career....

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

Hmmm, to become a pilot in singapore, best to get a degree in engineering, and have a background in flying, if I am not wrong, singapore does not allow commercial pilots below a certain age as they are afraid of possible pilots choosing a career as commercial pilots rather then being military aviators.

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg
Originally posted by desewer@Feb 25 2006, 06:48 PM

Funny you say that, because that's exactly what the laojiao pilots don't believe.

They seem to think otherwise, that flying is something within you, and not everyone has it in them to fly well. An SIA pilot told me, someone may make a great doctor or lawyer, but he may not have the competence to fly a plane...

this is very true... sometimes the person dun have means they jus dun have it... no matter how long they try, they jus cant fly well, cant land... yes everyone can fly if given enough hours...

but think.... two persons... on needed 10 hours to clear solo... the other 20 hours to clear with problems.... who do ya think the company will terminate if theres a need to?? answer is clear...

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Originally posted by moccajava@Mar 3 2006, 08:59 PM

just wondering if it is viewed as OK to ride a bike and be employed as a pilot... like some said RSAF pilots not allowed to ride n stuff how bout SQ pilots... due to the high risk on the road and the investment they have made on u... is it wise to disclose that during an interview?

it dosent matter... i ride to work... no problem... some of the management ppl are also riders... dun worry... but at the end of the day.. its ya choice... ride and take more risk or drive... drive if ya can afford...

Originally posted by newbie@Mar 4 2006, 11:57 AM

always tell the truth please.

yes.. dun lie.. the most impt thing they want is HONESTY. Integrity as well.. be truthful... if ya dunno any qns in the interview, jus honestly say i'mnot very sure abt that... dun try to smoke ya way thru!!!!

As long as the pilot brings me from pt A to pt B safely, he's a GOOD pilot!!! the rest is up to the cabin crew!!!

One more thing a pilot must possess, great skills with the english language. I remember when I went up with a pilot with almost 40 years experience, my grandfather, he has been an anti submarine warfare pilot since world war 2, went up with him in his piper cherokee back home, and listening to the radio chatter between him and the ATC's, wow, I can barely keep up.

Flying back home was relatively cheap, we use to fly to little air strips that gave coupons in magazines allowing free use of the air field, some were really in the middle of no where...

Cheers...