Was thinking to get a bike in future that dosent gives much problem good handling etc..  

28 members have voted

1. 1. Was thinking to get a bike in future that dosent gives much problem good handling etc..

Was starting to do some research on these bikes before too late.. cos wanna get a sport bike in future but was confuse which to get and pros and cons..

Any old birds riding or rode before plz give comments.. thx..

And which model to get as in;

Fireblade's L, R, RR and N

GsxR's RR, RP, MSP (P, L, R)

And also not very Ex as scared by the time gettin CL2 got problem trading back to shop.. :cheeky:

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

• Replies 40

Ya thats wat i concluded also..

CBR price middle.. Performance "Top middle, Cornering Middle" also..

RVF price High.. Performance "Top low, Cornering High"

GsxR400 Price Low.. Performance "Top high, Cornering Middle"

but was wanting to know more about these bikes too..

These are comments by friends.. so nt 100% confirmed..

Also most importantly is i want to aim then buy a bike to ride and enjoy but nt buy a bike to service.. :cheeky:

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

CBR would be a better option for u then :thumb:

But try to ask your experience CBR friends to source for u and help u to check the bike when u are looking ...

What say u :angel:

well, personally, i feel that if u have the money, go for RVF. if not, get CBR400.

since u say u want to enjoy ride and not service the bike all the time, don't get gsxr. there are ppl who swear by gsxr. but not me.

i own cbr400 N model. u want speed, get L model. J model (hurricane) is pretty much not worth it, though it's real cheap. you want newer, get R model. N model is pretty much the same as L model, but has powercut. R model has powercut too, but header is smaller compared to the rest. anyway, the powercut can be removed. i didn't remove mine, as i don't see the point going so fast.

going by the mkt rate, i think 5k should get u a gd cbr400 from the forums...

anyway, trust honda bikes. ;)

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

hmmm.. in anycase, wanna buy mine at 5.5k? ;) hahaha.

comes with legal yoshi pipe with a bigger exhaust circumference than other newer yoshis. (read - better sound, and a little more power. and i really mean little lah... =) HEL brake hose, and just changed rear BT090.

top speed was 200 i think. the meter remained stagnant at 200. think if u remove powercut, can boost to 235? 240? no idea... ;)

no radiator problems, no leakages.

but of course, i'm very happy with it. haa~ so i might still have to consider selling.

*chuckle*

If rvf is too expensive for you, then do not buy it. I have to admit its a good bike, but its parts is more expensive and spark plugs also more expensive

Anyway i think among the 4 bikes, cbr has the highest top end.

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

rvf is ex cos of demand but in comparison w the cbr, i would rather u go for the latter. gsx? nah not a gd choice.....

wah.. i read read read... now aiming CBR le.. but wats the pros and cons i think none state its pros and cons bah?? :smile:

cbr pros are high top end, pickup and midrange is not bad, fuel consumption also not bad, parts and maintenance quite ok

i think cons is the same as the others, old bike liao, so wear and tear sure have, be ready to fork out some money to do up the bike

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 15 2005, 07:42 PM

cbr pros are high top end, pickup and midrange is not bad, fuel consumption also not bad, parts and maintenance quite ok

i think cons is the same as the others, old bike liao, so wear and tear sure have, be ready to fork out some money to do up the bike

yup.

correct.

old bikes wll no doubt have minor problems like rectifier, old wires, old carbon starter, etc.

u can do rewiring, and carbon starter costs abt 80 i think. no choice, carbon starter is a must esp since such bikes so old le. unless u getting newer FP plates ones...

mine doesn't have much prob. except that i have difficulty using high beam.., :giddy: as in, if i try to high beam when stationary, ie rpm arnd 1 - 1.5, the bike will die... haha but i feel it's a small small problem lah. i suspect cos the wires and the fuse old liao. maybe some parts exposed. will do rewire soon and see if anything improve. :

anyway, gd luck in ur search!

Yeah thx.. think got to save up now...

Originally posted by alj@Aug 14 2005, 11:18 PM

CBR is cheaper and less problematic than GSXR, ...

RVF is ex but good, ...

GSXR is cheap but problematic ...

i beg to differ, i am riding G4 and my buddy is riding CBR, i don't see my bike having more problems than him. have you rode a G4 before? yes, that bike is old but there are

still good conditions G4 around.

CBR is smoother, power is there but feels more gentle, more relaxed riding posture and have mid low, better mid and mid end, top speed 180km/hr as shown on meter(his is the powercut model)

G4 is rougher, the power is more rough, riding posture extreme. normal pickup, normal mid and good end. top speed 180km/hr, but meter show 240 (no powercut model).

i don't really believe in honda bikes although i never own 1 before wherelse my friend 2b and 2a bikes both honda, different people got different taste i think, you want, you go to shop and test cause you are the one whose gonna ride it. i can psycho you buy G4 but you may not like it also. by the way, his bike cost 6k+ and mine, 2k+.

Nothing to lose.

Got i got a friend and he now owns 2 2A bikes cos he got G4 at first then that bike died on him.. and he was actually buying the bike for servicing.. lol..

And total cost of repair is around 5k+ included machine price lah.. then its like can buy a CBR liao..

Now he brought another S4 and was riding it happily.. scared i like him like tat then sian liao.. But over all i still like G4 best cos of the posture and the raw sound of it..

:btw: tat G4 really die alot on him le.. and i was thinkin can buy from him and service myself?? is it advisable??

His common problem is bike cannot start at all.. everytime need to push start..

had the chance of test riding a fren's G4 today....so i can comment and review on 2 bikes, his and mine (rvf).

Well...for a FL plater..the G4 still looks gorgeus, some ppl like the flat as tabletop tank, some dun, i sure as hell love it! All the lines are just right. The Gixxer has a new paintwork and is looking like a gem.

The 1st thing i noticed when i turned the ignition key on is that the tacho is not working......well..there isint even the tacho needle. my colleague noticed my surprise and came over to explain to me his tacho has long stopped working. He replaced the wiring 2 times but before long the problem came back again. I think it is due to the fact that Gixxer's intruments are mounted on the triple clamps and steers left n right with the handlebars...thus increasing the chance of wire chaffing. the RVf and CBR's intruments are stationary in the head unit.

Next, as i mounted the bike, the reach to the handle bars seems longer than my RVF...that means i have to reach fwd more in a prone position... still ok.. i soon got used to it but i know i wont last on longer trips.

As i accelerate from 1st gear, i noticed how incredibly smooth the tranny is compared to a fren's CBR400. So smooth....it slips into 2nd gear so slick that i was having trouble finding Neutral when i stopped. small problem really.

On the move, my favorite thing abt this bike is how smooth the engine is...after more than 10 years! wow! It feels and sounds smoother than a RVF, i guess that is an Inline4 characteristic.....it'll give you a nice feeling for sure! the pull from 1st is excellent and feels punchier than RVF..( rvfs are stricken with a tall 1st gear)

IMO, the only downside is the power delivery come on in a very non-linear fashion compared with my rvf. She seems to go..."woooo.....OOOOOOOOHHHH" the front part of the rev is a little slow n boring but as the revs build up (and quickly), you'll feel the pull! no wonder ppl say this is a high-rev, throttle happy bike! I should think the graph of the HP will look something like a gentle gradient during the 1st 4 or 5000RPM and then spiking up sharply once pass a "G" spot of maybe 7000.

cant comment much on handling as i was riding round the carpark but slow speed turns is a little taxing on the inner arm..on whichever side you are turning, the handlebar seems to like to go into full lock! a trait that maybe not normal on this bike.....but my fren say he is used to it and not a prob for him.

Well...hope this can give you some insight on the difference of the 2. :goodluck:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

ic.. thx.. will take note.. cos i like the posture of G4 but for long distance sure tired de..

Originally posted by Shay@Aug 16 2005, 11:56 PM

had the chance of test riding a fren's G4 today....so i can comment and review on 2 bikes, his and mine (rvf).

Well...for a FL plater..the G4 still looks gorgeus, some ppl like the flat as tabletop tank, some dun, i sure as hell love it! All the lines are just right. The Gixxer has a new paintwork and is looking like a gem.

The 1st thing i noticed when i turned the ignition key on is that the tacho is not working......well..there isint even the tacho needle. my colleague noticed my surprise and came over to explain to me his tacho has long stopped working. He replaced the wiring 2 times but before long the problem came back again. I think it is due to the fact that Gixxer's intruments are mounted on the triple clamps and steers left n right with the handlebars...thus increasing the chance of wire chaffing. the RVf and CBR's intruments are stationary in the head unit.

Next, as i mounted the bike, the reach to the handle bars seems longer than my RVF...that means i have to reach fwd more in a prone position... still ok.. i soon got used to it but i know i wont last on longer trips.

As i accelerate from 1st gear, i noticed how incredibly smooth the tranny is compared to a fren's CBR400. So smooth....it slips into 2nd gear so slick that i was having trouble finding Neutral when i stopped. small problem really.

On the move, my favorite thing abt this bike is how smooth the engine is...after more than 10 years! wow! It feels and sounds smoother than a RVF, i guess that is an Inline4 characteristic.....it'll give you a nice feeling for sure! the pull from 1st is excellent and feels punchier than RVF..( rvfs are stricken with a tall 1st gear)

IMO, the only downside is the power delivery come on in a very non-linear fashion compared with my rvf. She seems to go..."woooo.....OOOOOOOOHHHH" the front part of the rev is a little slow n boring but as the revs build up (and quickly), you'll feel the pull! no wonder ppl say this is a high-rev, throttle happy bike! I should think the graph of the HP will look something like a gentle gradient during the 1st 4 or 5000RPM and then spiking up sharply once pass a "G" spot of maybe 7000.

cant comment much on handling as i was riding round the carpark but slow speed turns is a little taxing on the inner arm..on whichever side you are turning, the handlebar seems to like to go into full lock! a trait that maybe not normal on this bike.....but my fren say he is used to it and not a prob for him.

Well...hope this can give you some insight on the difference of the 2. :goodluck:

wow shay you said out what i had been planning to type, recently also had a chance to try my friend's G4, and my comments would have been similar to yours :thumb:

the handlebar seems to like to go into full lock! a trait that maybe not normal on this bike.....but my fren say he is used to it and not a prob for him.

( guess tats da sign for him to service his steering cone. )

Anyway most of u guys workout ? If u dun like to workout ur arm or dun have da time, maybe riding long journey on g4 works out ur arms. Haha maybe triceps part? It was like maintaining at a push up posture. ( anyway just joking. ) .

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Guest 6.5rpm

guys.. any idea how much a FP or FS plate RVF cost? n for those who riding RVF, how much u all spend on servicing and full tank how much? really like RVF alot, considering getting 1..

Originally posted by ZLord@Aug 17 2005, 03:13 PM

wow shay you said out what i had been planning to type, recently also had a chance to try my friend's G4, and my comments would have been similar to yours :thumb:

really? hehehe.....iz not bad right? it would have been even better if it was a SP model!

Anyway..did you experience the same thing with your fren's Gixxer on slow speed turns?

But then could be likw what Shawn suggest...a knackered steering cone.

Originally posted by Andy ar@Aug 17 2005, 04:49 PM

guys.. any idea how much a FP or FS plate RVF cost? n for those who riding RVF, how much u all spend on servicing and full tank how much? really like RVF alot, considering getting 1..

Hi enthusiast,

a FP rvf should be in the zone of low $7000s. A fren of mine is thinking of selling his..leme know if you are keen.

Fuel consumption

-----------------------

IF you are less throttle happy, a full tank with stock settings....can get you 230km before going into reserve.

An impulsive throttle will get you lower in the range of 218-220s km before reserve.

The rvf is advertised to have 16L of fuel tank....but when most of us try to squeeze in as much as we could after travelling almost 40km in reserve...she would only take up to around 13.5L. When you go refuel soon after gg into reserve, you can get around 12L in. :confused:

so lez discount the reserve mode (which is advertised to be 2L), a 230km range before reserve mode will therefore, yield a fuel consumption ratio of 230/12= 19.2 km/L

maintenance

--------------------------

Sparkplugs is a little expensive on RVFs. The V4 engine requires special sparkplugs types specified in the manual, they are smaller than normal ones and cost $16 each at most bikeshops (labour fee included of course)...if you wana DIY....get the sparkplugs from FJT at $12 a piece....(cheapers by far) 4x $12= $48. change every 16000km or yearly.

CArb wash/balancing can cost from $60 to $80..depending where you go. Anything more than 90 is a ripoff, u are not dynoing.

Engine oil is subjective...depending if you go for Fully or Semi synth, the quality of the oil....the oil viscosity and all... you'll only need 2.5L of fresh oil everytime. So 5 bottles of 1L engine oil can change 2 times. you do the math on that one.

OEM airfilter is $60ish. same as sparkplugs i change every year.

Other than that cant think of any more routine maintenace costs. Coolant/brake fluid replacement all cheap cheap things no need to include.

Misc

------

consumables/wear n tear items u may need to replace when owning a rvf;

1)sprocks+chain around $230 onwards.

2) Battery $70-$80 for a Yuasa.

3) Rectifier if you are still running the one black and plasticky one.( the new models with metal fins should be in the range of $100++)

4) Steering cone $80

5) carbon brushes on starter motor $45

anything else i miss out? pls add in fellow rvfians.

i wanna buy tat time confirm 06 bikes come out le.. just hope the rumours is ture and can buy at cheaper price... :cheer:

Originally posted by Andy ar@Aug 17 2005, 04:49 PM

fp would cost around 7k, paulabusa is selling his fp rvf for 6.5k, you can go take a look, fs plate would cost around 9.5k

Originally posted by Shay@Aug 17 2005, 04:55 PM

really? hehehe.....iz not bad right? it would have been even better if it was a SP model!

Anyway..did you experience the same thing with your fren's Gixxer on slow speed turns?

But then could be likw what Shawn suggest...a knackered steering cone.

i do experience problems when doing slow speed turns on the G4 too, however i guess maybe the handling of the bike is like that one bah. Furthermore maybe too used to riding rvf liao, so got difficulties adapting to the handling of the G4 :confused: