Myths abt RIDER behaviour for DRIVERS who happen to come in

How many of u in this forum:  

149 members have voted

1. 1. How many of u in this forum:

• Drive a Car only
    • Ride a Bike only
    • Drive a car but ride a bike most of the time
    • Ride a bike but drive a car most of the time
    • Drive and Ride almost equal amt of time
    • Take Public transport only

Misconceptions about RIDER/BIKER behaviour corrected for DRIVERS/CAR OWNERS who happen to chance upon this BIKE forum.

I believe there are lots of misconceptions about riders... and the way they ride.. where pple who drive hate to see them squeeze inbetween cars.. and yet when the bike is in the center of the lane.. the impatient car driver behind will highbeam him or just blindside him because it seems.. the BIKE doesn't deserve a whole Lane all to himself!!! :eek: :eek:

there are many many more... how about sharing what u think need to be cleared up in case a driver comes into the forum.. perhaps we could educate them on our ways of the road... ;)

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

• Replies 53

and PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE ASK THEM TO CHECK THIER FUGGING BLIND SPOT!!!!..

Im saying this not without considering my own actions...its not as if i stay in his blind spot for more than 5secs....

Without even checking and not even bothered signalling to change lane...

which could have landed me up in very bad shape...

http://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Itachi/Itachi_01(80).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(79).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Lee/Submitted_Lee_01_%5BKonohamaru%5D.gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Kakashi/Kakashi_02(18).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(78).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Sasuke/Sasuke-04.gif

To drivers:

The 1 1/2 car spacing i leave between the front of my bike and the vehicle in front of me, is i deliberately put there. its not there because i'm slow, and its definitely not there coz i kind kind let other 4-wheelers take. its there because bikes cannot jam brake; if i any closer than 1 car spacing, front vehivle jam brake, i jam brake i will topple, i dun jam brake i langgar him, dats why theres a space.

and another thing: whenever i ride safely within speed limits and without weaving in and out of traffic (which is how i ride, i dun like to weave), i find that cars automatically assume i'm a slow rider. and so will start all the cars cut in front of me, overtake me within the lane, tailgate me(when in fact i same speed as vehicle in front), etc, etc. if riders ride like they own the road cars will not happy, and then if they ride safely they kena makan, then how riders supposed to behave?

think about this: when u tailgate or overtake bike within lane, unlike when u do the same to a car, a minor graze, even without direct impact or collision, will coz the bike to topple. wat happens when u tailgating suddenly the bike in front of u topple?

eh this thread good to let out steam. mebbe somebody shd post the link at some local car forum somewhere. but must understand i not trying to start flame war, when i ride i give respect to other road users, i just not happy that because of this i get taken advantage of especially because i small.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

To drivers:

The 1 1/2 car spacing i leave between the front of my bike and the vehicle in front of me, is i deliberately put there. its not there because i'm slow, and its definitely not there coz i kind kind let other 4-wheelers take. its there because bikes cannot jam brake; if i any closer than 1 car spacing, front vehivle jam brake, i jam brake i will topple, i dun jam brake i langgar him, dats why theres a space.

and another thing: whenever i ride safely within speed limits and without weaving in and out of traffic (which is how i ride, i dun like to weave), i find that cars automatically assume i'm a slow rider. and so will start all the cars cut in front of me, overtake me within the lane, tailgate me(when in fact i same speed as vehicle in front), etc, etc. if riders ride like they own the road cars will not happy, and then if they ride safely they kena makan, then how riders supposed to behave?

think about this: when u tailgate or overtake bike within lane, unlike when u do the same to a car, a minor graze, even without direct impact or collision, will coz the bike to topple. wat happens when u tailgating suddenly the bike in front of u topple?

eh this thread good to let out steam. mebbe somebody shd post the link at some local car forum somewhere. but must understand i not trying to start flame war, when i ride i give respect to other road users, i just not happy that because of this i get taken advantage of especially because i small.

Yeah i totally agree with ALL that u have said its what i was abt to post next...

http://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Itachi/Itachi_01(80).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(79).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Lee/Submitted_Lee_01_%5BKonohamaru%5D.gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Kakashi/Kakashi_02(18).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Naruto/Naruto_01(78).gifhttp://www.naruto-kun.com/gallery/Gifs//Sasuke/Sasuke-04.gif

Here are some threads which is voiced out by bikers in this forum, should more or less sums up how the biking population here feels towards road users?

This world full of dumb asses!!! (by me hehe)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...1674&highlight=

F---king F---kUp Driver(stanboy)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=5509

The Smarter the Car, the Stupider the Driver(dave)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=1662

Stupid pedestrains...(Light|ng)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=3775

Things u want a driver to know or take note of(guyver)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=3336

Hate Impatient drivers(R3s|stor)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=3068

I was almost killed(Bieffe)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=2870

a rider's nightmare(super69lover)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...opic.php?t=2202

I just hope all drivers when see bike squeezing through traffic dun purposely go and move to the lane edge to block the bike. I kana a few times when i had to e-birake man, bike squeeze never disturb them in their car right?

http://www.honda.co.jp/motor-lineup/cb1300_s4/image/cb1300_s4_style_photo_02.jpg

there r some gd drivers who wil try to steer their car abit to let u have more space to squeeze thru.....

normally i wil give a wave of my hand or a thumbs up when i pass.... :smile:

Class 2bHonda TA150, Yamaha RXZ135, SYM Magic110, Kawasaki KSR110, SYM GTS200, Paijifa F150, Yamaha Cygnus Z125

Class 2aHonda CB400 Project Big 1, Version S, Honda Shadow 400

Class 2Yamaha Vmax1200, Honda CBR1100XX, Honda Deauville650, Honda CB1300, Yamaha FZ6S, Honda Varadero1000, Suzuki Hayabusa GSX1300R

Guest porcelain

i have been driving since i got my class 3 (7 years), and i have never encounter a situation where a bike cause me to take evasive action and vice versa. i think good driving habits helps alot. :smile:

i have only encounter reckless drivers who cut into my lane without signalling, tailgating me, road hogging etc... :mad:

but i do keep a lookout for bikes more, cos my uncle died in an accicdent while riding a bike when he was just 19. :weep:

To drivers:

you've said it all!!! couldn't have done better my self!!

riders understand riders... ;)

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

I just hope all drivers when see bike squeezing through traffic dun purposely go and move to the lane edge to block the bike. I kana a few times when i had to e-birake man, bike squeeze never disturb them in their car right?
U are not suppose to squeeze when riding on the road except at traffic lights when the traffic is at a standstill.... :eek:

*** Signature Edited By Mod: sexist signature ***

toking abt not suppose===>are they suppose to change lane without signals or giveways to bikes???

most of the time when i ride they just cut into my lane without any signals or warning assuming bikes have to give way.

when i drive, things like that only happened if the car is a taxi.

think a few taxi drivers should be jailed as a warning to all out there.

they simply dun care,they only thinmk they must fetch more passenagers and earn more money.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/album_pic.php?pic_id=3256

Use your brain before You ride,You may end up never able to use it again.

toking abt not suppose===>are they suppose to change lane without signals or giveways to bikes???

most of the time when i ride they just cut into my lane without any signals or warning assuming bikes have to give way.

when i drive, things like that only happened if the car is a taxi.

think a few taxi drivers should be jailed as a warning to all out there.

they simply dun care,they only thinmk they must fetch more passenagers and earn more money.

Agreed :thumb:

Guest TourXcrosS
U are not suppose to squeeze when riding on the road except at traffic lights when the traffic is at a standstill.... :eek:

SUPPOSE??????????

ya ya ya....

Driver inside car:

listening 2 ur fav music, protected rain or shine or even bird shit dropping not my problem! as long my perfume/cologne still smell fresh!

how to get as work-up n girl by ur side!

my girl behind me is more scare u know?

put urself into a biker point of view!

smell Xhaust fumes or smells like worse than smoker even if u r not,

kanna the small debris stones (we wear jacket only not amour)

very HOT behind car(not emotionally but physically the xhaust fumes also kill us)

my perfume/cologne ar? all leftover on the road cannot smell ar?

if i follow u behind leaving xtra distance say 1 1/2 car distance like Fc2222B, i not only have to consider if u E-brake i can react in time or slow down with my 2 TIRES mayb also my 2 feets as well hopefully it won't langga into ur ass!

Do u know that i also have to Siam that fellas who tailgate me from behind?

Scare that both my girl n me become satay or pancake or MacDonald's new burger:Meatball wrapping a metal machine new gimmicks eat burger inside free 1 toy motorcycle but ko-yuck 1....

so what if u all have 4 TIRES?????

we can still c crash 2gether chain accident bumpers to bumpers in the xtreme right lane of a xpressway! aren't they SUPPOSE to keep safety distance?

I'M SORRY!

don't mean to provoke or criticize any1 above mentioned but just 4 some safety reasons

i SUPPOSE i have2 squeeze or i'll b SQUEEZED!!!

Squueze at your own risk, follow 2 seconds rule not 1 and half car distance, depends on speed, anyway not all car drivers are like that... :nono:

A tip for drivers: Contrary to popular belief; it's not cool at all to tailgate bikers or push them to the side, nobody will praise or idolise you for doing that and whilst it may be funny to bully bikers on the roads as they're defenceless there is such a thing in this world called karma, remember that. One more thing, bikers have lives too, they have families to feed and commitments to fulfil just like anyone, so think twice before nicking one so "that he would kiss the tar" just coz you were pissed off or somethin'.

As for me, I am always able and ready to fight to defend myself from any mofo who's trying to threaten my life, I may be vulnerable on a bike but when I'm off the bike mano-a-mano it's a different story altogether. Ok that's all, ride/drive carefully all. :smile:

All that is gold does not glitter, Not all who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, A light from the shadows shall spring; Renewed shall be blade that was broken: The crownless again shall be king.

Squueze at your own risk, follow 2 seconds rule not 1 and half car distance, depends on speed, anyway not all car drivers are like that... :nono:

i agree not all drivers like dat. but all it takes is one driver like dat to make riders pissed.

once, i was in PIE heavy traffic evening peak, all lanes packed and all vehicles moving 40 kmh. i decide to stick center of lane and not squeeze. wat 2 sec rule? at 40 kmh, 2 sec rules mean 3 car length. heavy traffic very packed u want me leave 3 car length?

so there i was, 1 car length in front of me, a minivan behind. he dam impatient, overtake me within the lane and take note vehicles to my left and right, and he happily occupy swee swee my safety distance. not only did i swerve when he passed dam close beside me, but i oso had to jam brake when he nice nice cut in front of me and occupy my exact front space.

on another occasion, early morn peak, again at PIE this time just before where KJE merge, if u all know that stretch, it is 2 lane. left one obviously all the trucks occupy and its crawling at only 30kmh, so i take the left lane. in front of me was pickup, followed by long row of vehicles moving at 50 kmh. again, i leave 1 car space, but bloody merz behind me not happy think i slow, tailgate me until i cannot see his headlight from my wing mirror. it was obvious that he was trying to intimidate me to get out of his way.

yah sure, not all drivers like that, but the fact remains there are enough drivers out there who make riders miserable. so far driver only complain, riders hide in their blindspot, and when bike squeeze will hit car wing mirror. i agree both shd not be. BUT neither is life-threatening for the driver. and i realli dun see how any rider in his right mind would want to deliberately hide in blindspot; most prob the rider himself dun realize it.

and i can oso mention the many occasions CAR overtake my BIKE like HE the bike and I the car, most of these occasions coz he not happy i got space in front of me.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Guest TourXcrosS

probably they think like my frenz used to joke n tell me:

those lanes r 4 the cars! i thought u all bikes should all follow the dotted lane markings?????

probably they think like my frenz used to joke n tell me:

those lanes r 4 the cars! i thought u all bikes should all follow the dotted lane markingsand take off like aeroplane :confused:

In my opinion, I think those who drive and ride will understand the problems faced by motorcyclist.... Many of the uncles and aunties (and other ignorant f**ks) have never ridden a bike before and therefore, don't know how it feels to have to react to a road emergency..... also, the perception is, "the bike surely will stop when I cut into the lane".... a perception that doesn't stop with just bikes.....

I abhor drivers with such attitude but you can't really blame them 'cause they don't know and therefore, don't realise what they are doing.

But sometimes, bikers are reckless.... it is not always the cars that are at fault.... weaving is fine (I mean I do it too) but it does make it that much more dangerous.... especially when traffic is heavy but moving....

And drivers cannot be monitoring their blindspot as often as bikers would like (although some drivers have yet to find out what a blind spot is). Bikes move in and out of drivers blind spots so frequently, especially when travelling faster than the normal traffic speed.

The car I drive has a really huge C pillar and this prevents me from actually checking my blind spot. There have been a few occassions where I know there's a bike there but I don't see him in my mirror and when I check my blind spot, my view is blocked by the C pillar. I slow down and wait for him to pass before changing lanes. These are just the few times I have noticed, what about the times when I haven't.....

Riding definately has made me more aware of what's going on.... In a car, you turn on the stereo and forget what the hell is happening but on a bike, you have to be switched-on to whatever is going on on the road.....

I think all drivers should go through a riding course before they graduate to being drivers.... that way, they will understand that there are other road users besides them....

http://http//content2.i-am-bored.com/images/instantninja_456876.jpg

I abhor drivers with such attitude but you can't really blame them 'cause they don't know and therefore, don't realise what they are doing.

i would like to respectfully disagree with this statement.

as road users, the day we get our license is the day we take an oath to make the roads safe whilst we ourselves are using the orads, be it in a car a bike a lorry watever. for riders, we literally take an oath lately, for other classes i donno, i only take 2b before.

during lessons, instructor never teach safety tips? especially safety for OTHERS? and honestly, u touch heart and tell me, all these danger stuff some drivers do to riders, is it not common sense that it is dangerous for riders? it is not ignorance, it is plain bochap, coz they not the ones endangered. yes they do it coz they never feel endangered as a rider before, but the fact remains it is common sense to know wat is the right thing to do.

i myself never drive before, but at least i use common sense when dealing with other road users. i myself know about blind spot so i make it a point never to hide there. and i use common sense for other occasions as well. u can argue that i forced to use common sense becoz of my vulnerability, but even so, when the other party refuses to use common sense, then yes he can be blamed, else mebbe he no common sense but then he wouldn be out he would be in woodbridge.

To mechwira,

It is difficult to understand the perspective of a driver if you have never driven before... same as it is difficult to understand the perspective of a rider if you have never ridden before. I do both, and hence, I can sympathise with both.

I'm not saying that I am wiser or anything. Just as you blame drivers for reckless endangerment, sometimes, as riders, we do ride recklessly (although we don't realise it). In most cases, we always assume the driver is at fault, but sometimes, it is the rider who weaves in and out of traffic and who is at fault when he/she is hit.

If you are free one of these days, I'd like to meet up so that I can tell you more about it. There are many other things that I have not written and it is easier to discuss rather than type. So please let me know.

Some of us will be meeting at Katong Village tonight (10 Feb). If you can make it, come down but PM me first with your number)

To spycraft,

A normal 4 door car has 3 sets of pillars. The A-Pillar is the pillar from the bonnet to the roof. The B-pillar is the middle place where the front and rear windows meet. And the C-Pillar is the pillar where the roof and the boot (top) meet. Hope this clearifies it for you.

http://http//content2.i-am-bored.com/images/instantninja_456876.jpg
To mechwira,

It is difficult to understand the perspective of a driver if you have never driven before... same as it is difficult to understand the perspective of a rider if you have never ridden before. I do both, and hence, I can sympathise with both.

I'm not saying that I am wiser or anything. Just as you blame drivers for reckless endangerment, sometimes, as riders, we do ride recklessly (although we don't realise it). In most cases, we always assume the driver is at fault, but sometimes, it is the rider who weaves in and out of traffic and who is at fault when he/she is hit.

If you are free one of these days, I'd like to meet up so that I can tell you more about it. There are many other things that I have not written and it is easier to discuss rather than type. So please let me know.

Some of us will be meeting at Katong Village tonight (10 Feb). If you can make it, come down but PM me first with your number)

thanx for the offer, but i'm not keen on meeting up. it is not to say that i dun dare back my words, just that meeting up is a prob for me, and to me, chatting on forums shd suffice.

as for ur reply, pls understand one thing: i dun weave. i onli ever squeeze in the morn KJE/PIE traffic standstill. stop at traffic light i will queue. long queue approaching filter lane also i will join queue.

if u gonna point at all those other riders who weave and endanger others as well as themselves, i will readily join u and say yes they are irresponsible. it does not mean i am 'holier than thou' or that i very good so can criticize others. thats not my meaning. wat i mean its not fair to point at riders as a means to justify drivers.

my main grouse is at being taken advantage of because i'm a rider. and this is all when i'm riding safely center of lane minding my own business and not even road hogging. u read the 2 incidents i mentioned my earlier post. on another occasion, i was on e-way about to exit on leftmost lane, center of lane, a car on the lane to my right, when suddenly the fornt of a car appeared beside my leg. i horn but the car ignore and increased his speed forcing me onto road shoulder and give way to him.

now, wif reference to this as well as the earlier 1 i recounted bout the minivan force me out the way, qn 1: would it have happened if i was a car? qn 2: as a driver can u give me a valid excuse for why they did so, valid to warrant endangering me, valid enough to be accepted by a rider as yourself?

and they are not isolated incidents. heavy traffic, moving at 50kmh, i follow center of lane keeping 1 bike dist btn me and front vehicle, i always end up tailgated, especially by but not limited to merz.

yes, i agree, as long as i dun drive i will not fully understand drivers perspective. u mentioned sometimes it is the rider who weave who is at fault. which is precisely the problem i am trying to say: i get eaten because i'm not weaving, as my own experiences showed me. these personal incidents i mentioned, do they have anything to do with me not understanding driver? i am just there minding my own business on my way someplace, riding center of lane, neither speeding nor road hogging, and some driver eat me all because i'm a bike. THATS my grouse.

which is like my qn during my first post for this thread: if riders ride like they own the road cars will not happy, and if they ride safely they get eaten, then how they supposed to behave?

on a last note, just wanna say, even though i wont meet up to chat, at a risk of sounding too sure of myself, i dare say i'm an objective person when it comes to discussion. even tho i get just hide behind my nick, without anybody knowing who i am, if somebody says something good, it will make me rethink my opinions. i am not here just to let out steam hiding behind my nick. sometimes i cannot change your opinion, and not all the time u can change mine. but at least i can say i'm willing to be objective.