:smile: Hi ! I am very interested in the 2 models stated in the subject. Both are auto-scooters. Anyone riding a Sym Joyride 200 or a Kymco Dink 150 ? Mind giving me some comments on the scoots ?

Thank you :bounce: :bounce:

• Replies 100

Hehe. Thanks for your advice. I know of their very poor resale value, but I saw reviews on the Sym Joyride to be a very good bike, in terms of value and performance. The review from Twist and Go mag states that this Joyride 200 can even match performance of many 250 auto scooters performance, although its onli 180cc. I was wondering how true izzit, thats why i need some feedbacks from riders who own this scoot. :smile:

Oh, just to keep anyone who is interested in Joyride 200. Its price is $5350 OTR, excluding ICU from Bike Production.

Cheers :bounce:

Saw 1 black SYM Joyride around my place. Its quite good looking and reviews of it is quite good. Dunno about servicing and parts though...

Riders are like pilots

Both need SITUATION AWARENESS to stay alive

Hi kingfisher ! Gratz to your new bike. I got my Joyride 2 weeks ago, and managed to clock 1000 km. Hehe :smile: Till now i still like this scoot very much :)

Maybe we can meet someday to discuss more. If we can get other bikers too, it will be even better :bounce:

Interested parties pls post here Keke :smile:

Oh ya, anyone interested in Joyride can find me here. Will be glad to assist as much as possible, but do forgive my knowledge on bike coz I'm just a P plate. Keke.

Up till now, I have change the engine oil twice, and clean the oil filter too

It needs 1 litre of engine oil every change, and oil filter is a very small metal mesh that can be clean easily. No replacement of oil filter needed. As for petrol consumption, using Mobil Synergy 8000 can give me around 27+ km/litre, while VPower is around 24 km/litre. Heard that its quite low, but i dunno izzit due to my engine still in running in phase. Will keep u all updated if needed :smile:

Yellobie, thanks and will take up on your offer to help. Just to share - I went to see the Atlantic ($9000), Amalfi ($7600) and Grand Dink ($6800) before deciding on the Joyride ($5500). I must add that the first two bikes were impressive. Height, weight and price played a part in my choice - wife (1.52m) also a rider. Khaine, your thoughts were on my mind but price differentials and as basic 4 strokes bikes tech did not changed much since - it is a calculated risk and time will be the judge.

Meanwhile will try get to know bike better like where to locate oil filter, air filter, fuse box and etc. Bike manual very basic - considering the price that is the only minus so far. :bounce: :bounce:

Just went for a small maintenance yesterday. Changed transmission oil, engine oil and spark plug. Now the Joyride is much better to ride as it seems smoother.

Oh ya, do remember to change your transmission oil. Yesterday was my first change, and its at 1000 km ! Keke. Should be changed at 300 km stated by bike manual.

As far as i see, transmission oil reservoir is at the engine side (exactly at the bottom of the silver engine cover), engine oil reservoir on the opposite side of the bike. Spark plug is below the rider seat, near to the front. U can actually access it from below, but if mechanic not sure, u might have to take out the seat.

Fuse is at the rear, very near the rear light. Only accessible after you take out the seat.

Hope this helps ! :smile:

Yellobie Thanks, just sharing - the price I paid for the Joyride include IU, raincoat, bikecover,one helmet and a large box. Ban Hon initially only gave me one key for the bike but gave 2 when I insisted. Have to collect Insurance cert and road tax disc at their showroom and spare key at their motorshop a few lanes behind today. It would have been better if they could have given it all to me at the showroom.

Guess most motorshop in industrial parks have some way to go before they get the concept of customer service. Still Ban Hon did provided me with all the thing I requested - score 6.5 out of 10 for customer service.

Cool man :thumb:

How's your petrol consumption going ? I'm still monitoring mine, but it seems like the petrol consumption increased after running in. Wonder izzit I have changed the spark plug and engine oil :confused:

Monitored petrol consumption to be about 27.5km/l. I am keeping a log book on the petrol consumption and should have a better indication after about 3 - 6 months of monitoring.

I found the standard tyres supplied to be pretty good, I have never come across the brand Maxxis but am satisfied with it and will consider using it again when it's time to change.

Took it out for a spin from Jurong to Changi village today and for 172cc bike it has enough power to keep up with the expressway speed in Singapore.

Monitored petrol consumption to be about 27.5km/l. I am keeping a log book on the petrol consumption and should have a better indication after about 3 - 6 months of monitoring.

I found the standard tyres supplied to be pretty good, I have never come across the brand Maxxis but am satisfied with it and will consider using it again when it's time to change.

Took it out for a spin from Jurong to Changi village today and for 172cc bike it has enough power to keep up with the expressway speed in Singapore.

Oh. Cool man. Just found out that Maxxis is a Taiwanese company. Good to hear that its pretty good for you. I'm not so lucky. Keke. I can feel my bike slip even when changing lanes (crossing the lane markers) when the road is wet. :weep:

Is your bike on Maxxis also? I do not seem to experience slipping when changing lanes and have even tested it out in the rain a few days back by riding on the road markers - no problem ( just testing,I normally avoid riding on markers).

I hope you have managed to resolve your problem but I really do not understand how the variator could be the cause. I will be putting my name in the ride up to Kong Kong this Friday - an opportunity for us to meet?

Also trying to get my hands on a service manual but so far no luck.

Is your bike on Maxxis also? I do not seem to experience slipping when changing lanes and have even tested it out in the rain a few days back by riding on the road markers - no problem ( just testing,I normally avoid riding on markers).

I hope you have managed to resolve your problem but I really do not understand how the variator could be the cause. I will be putting my name in the ride up to Kong Kong this Friday - an opportunity for us to meet?

Also trying to get my hands on a service manual but so far no luck.

Thats neat ! Maybe I suay, always got the "lucky" stuffs. Hehe. That's my life man. My fren jleo told me you're going on friday, but I'm afraid that my problem might occur again. So am now monitoring closely.. Maybe next time we can meet up somewhere ? Hehe. :smile:

This scoot is quite new, so service manual might be harder to find. Oh, did you get the bigger wind shield ?

Came back from Kong2 early this morn ard 0200hrs. Hard time getting out of bed today. All in travelled abt 180km. The Joyride was easy to handle and no problem in keeping with the highwy traffic speed to Kong2 even with pillion.

Met your fren Jleo and chatted abit with him. he mentioned thatyou have a larger wind shield installed. Care to share your comments and cost of installations? I would be interested to install if it provides better protection as I plan to do more north bound joyrides.

Thanks to Isaac and gang, I think my scoot is run-in and will be sending for first servicing at Ban Hon AMK. Hope they have people watching this forum and take feedback positively n improve - esp under the thread Bike production.

my neighbour working in SIA was riding this Sym200 after he sold his vespa. Been riding it for a year, FT plate one. But alamak he onli ride short distance to work, (staying in Pasir Ris), but so far, he said the bike is reliable and starts up everytime, routine oil changes, and wear & tear parts change.

btw can u owners tell me if it is powerful enuff to pillion comfortably on expressway? or feel underpower? for speeds like 80-90km is fine w me, no need NSH speed, just Sg speed can liao.

wah din know there's so many joyride riders here. i got mine abt 11mths ago, done 19000km already. think i'm one of the first few to buy it. then still don't have 200, only the 150 model. anyway here's how i feel abt the bike:

both 150 and 200 model looks to me the same except the engine and some chrome trimmings on the 200.

the underseat storage is a bit too small for my nolan n-100e helmet. you can squeeze it in but the forehead part of the helmet will get scratch. i especially like the rider footrest area. there's no central spine like most of the other scoots. the flat area can carry extra luggage easily. power wise i feel that it's a bit under powered, dont know abt the 200 model though. pickup is adequte without pillion. if got pillion the engine a bit strained. engine is smooth even at 100km/h. max speed i tried is 125km/h, think can go a bit more. but it takes almost forever to hit 120km/h. been using mobil/esso 95 octane fuel since the beginning. fell that no need to pump expensive petrol since not some performance bike. mileage is abt 28-30km/litre. everyday travel from tiong bahru to loyang via ecp at 90 - 100km/h. maintence wise i use esso4t gold only recently change to castrol 2 mths ago. for my case need to change the 4t every 2000 - 2500km if not the bike will vibrate heavily when moving off. the castrol seems to last longer. the maxxis tire from taiwan. i got the same brand on my mountain bike :) rear tire i change twice already. due to puncture. now using michelin for rear. still stock for front.

that's it for the time being. if u guys wan more comments let me know.

SYM Aficianado Singapore

https://www.facebook.com/groups/symas

btw can u owners tell me if it is powerful enuff to pillion comfortably on expressway? or feel underpower? for speeds like 80-90km is fine w me, no need NSH speed, just Sg speed can liao.

Hi Couger,

I have the scoot for 3 weeks now and feel that scoot can handle 80 - 90km easily even with pillion (ard 45kg).

Hi Sonic - thanks for your comments - it helps and nice to knw another sym onwer. So far I found the maxxix tyres OK.

thks kingfisher, tats an encouraging review, cos i been wanting an economical price scoot, japanese scoots are escalating even tho they r pretty good, but not willing to spend tat kinda money. So joyride or kymco is my choice

Came back from Kong2 early this morn ard 0200hrs. Hard time getting out of bed today. All in travelled abt 180km. The Joyride was easy to handle and no problem in keeping with the highwy traffic speed to Kong2 even with pillion.

Met your fren Jleo and chatted abit with him. he mentioned thatyou have a larger wind shield installed. Care to share your comments and cost of installations? I would be interested to install if it provides better protection as I plan to do more north bound joyrides.

Thanks to Isaac and gang, I think my scoot is run-in and will be sending for first servicing at Ban Hon AMK. Hope they have people watching this forum and take feedback positively n improve - esp under the thread Bike production.

Hi kingfisher :smile: My fren Jleo told me about u too.. Hehe. But I didn't have a bigger wind shield like he said. Wanted to get one, but now the info I got isnt "reliable". If you have went to Bike Production before and look at the Sym catalog pasted on a window, u will see that there is a nice blue-ish color, large wind shield in it. And this larger wind shield also protects part of the rider's hands. I have been trying to get more info on this, and ask the Bike Production boss on it, but he keep saying stock not coming in. I have also tried to search the web for this wind shield for our Joyride, but all i got are others for other Sym models. Think if you're also interested, maybe I send an email to Sym Taiwan to enquire more.

As for the servicing, I went to Planet Motorcycle Shop at 3006 Ubi Road to service mine. Their attutiude are much better than Ban Hong's, and price also quite reasonable. Wun chop u lah.. Hehe. My joyride is their first they ever service, so if u went there, they should already know how to service for you. I dun think I'm going back to Ban Hong, unless I suspect internal got prob and need replacement. :smile: Will keep u update on more info

thks kingfisher, tats an encouraging review, cos i been wanting an economical price scoot, japanese scoots are escalating even tho they r pretty good, but not willing to spend tat kinda money. So joyride or kymco is my choice

Halo cougar :smile: Nice to hear that you're interested in Joyride too. As for my experience, I'm very happy with this scoot. Has been with me for just a month only, but I enjoy it very much. For the cruising part, dun think it will pose a problem to you. I always cruise at about 90 km/h with my gf (total weight about 110 kg), and this scoot and take it quite well. Once i go at 110 km/h with my gf, and that's when I was trying to match an X9's speed. At that speed, this scoot is still stable, but too bad it's rider (that's me) dun dare to go any higher for fear of wasting 2 lives. Acceleration at low and high rpm are quite comfortable too. 80 to 110 km/h alright, but 110 onwards is a drag. Max till now I have hit is close to 120 km/h.

As for problems, so far this scoot doesnt have any problem, except that this scoot dislike good petrol like VPower. I pump in VPower before, and scoot start to give me funny acceleration problem. I also dun understand why.. hehe.

Hope that it helps you in your decision :smile: