just got my speedo light done by tony!

nice, professional and friendly chap!

Mirror vibrations will always exist. Just that, given it's weight, are you comfortable with the vibrations at certain rpms?

My stock mirrors vibrate terribly at 90-100km/h. Can't even gauge properly if can change lane...now looking for not so expensive alternative mirrors...

Btw, is our mirror screw size 10mm?

just saw a FBB GSR600 at ubi... quote me 9000... reasonable price?

Not enough information. Mileage? Been through any accident before? Owners before? Outward condition? Many other factors to consider.

My stock mirrors vibrate terribly at 90-100km/h. Can't even gauge properly if can change lane...now looking for not so expensive alternative mirrors...

Btw, is our mirror screw size 10mm?[/Quote]

Bolt size seems about to be 8mm. You can go motoworld to check out what mirrors are available.

Edited by Lexanez

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

hey guys got some questions i want to ask.

mine is a GSR400.

1. on the stop, when i rev up my engine to a certain RPM, lets say 5k, the RPM hits 5k but drops instantly even though i didn't close my trottle. That means i can't maintain the 5k RPM. is that normal? some times when i accelerate, i do feel a drop of RPM from time to time even though i maintain trottle and then my bike will slow down, then i will wonder why is my bike slowing down.... what is wrong?

2. i think there is something lose at my gear because when i change gears, sometimes the number don't show up on the screen. like when i up gear from 2 to 3, the screen will just be blank. what connection is lose?

3. my fuel tank is rusty from the inside. i noticed when i open the fuel cap to pump fuel. is that bad? what can i do to remedy the prob?? ):

thanks for your advices!!

Not enough information. Mileage? Been through any accident before? Owners before? Outward condition? Many other factors to consider.

Bolt size seems about to be 8mm. You can go motoworld to check out what mirrors are available.

not sure of the mileage and no. of owners... cannot tell if any accidents coz outlook looks ok,

For eg, if a FBB (I think is abt 5 yo) with average mileage of 12k km per annum, will 9000 be reasonable?

mine is a GSR400.

1. on the stop, when i rev up my engine to a certain RPM, lets say 5k, the RPM hits 5k but drops instantly even though i didn't close my trottle. That means i can't maintain the 5k RPM. is that normal? some times when i accelerate, i do feel a drop of RPM from time to time even though i maintain trottle and then my bike will slow down, then i will wonder why is my bike slowing down.... what is wrong?

2. i think there is something lose at my gear because when i change gears, sometimes the number don't show up on the screen. like when i up gear from 2 to 3, the screen will just be blank. what connection is lose?

3. my fuel tank is rusty from the inside. i noticed when i open the fuel cap to pump fuel. is that bad? what can i do to remedy the prob?? ):

Your bike got issues already.

1. This is bad. It could be mechanical problem or electronic problem. If electronic, the ECU needs to change, will set you back about S$1.2k.

2. This could be due to gear sensor dirty. Juz need to clean the sensor and should be OK again. BUT if electronic issue, need to change ECU.

3. This could be the source of the problem. There are contaminants that might cause issue 1 in the first place. Very very bad. Best to overhaul the engine since the rusts might already contaminate the whole engine. Do get rid of the rust in the all parts of the engine.

If your just got this bike from shop. Ask the shop to do up the bike. The condition is very very bad if what you are describing is true.

See this http://www.chacha.com/question/can-rust-in-a-motorcycle-gas-tank-cause-problems

not sure of the mileage and no. of owners... cannot tell if any accidents coz outlook looks ok,

For eg, if a FBB (I think is abt 5 yo) with average mileage of 12k km per annum, will 9000 be reasonable?

It is possible to tamper with the Odometer. It could also be true, maybe the person works nearby his/her home. I think you mean 90,000km rite? This means almost or time for some parts of the engine to be replaced and overhauled. Anyway its 5 years old, so sure to have wear and tear. Hope that helps.

Edited by IvikaRazI

Your bike got issues already.

1. This is bad. It could be mechanical problem or electronic problem. If electronic, the ECU needs to change, will set you back about S$1.2k.

2. This could be due to gear sensor dirty. Juz need to clean the sensor and should be OK again. BUT if electronic issue, need to change ECU.

3. This could be the source of the problem. There are contaminants that might cause issue 1 in the first place. Very very bad. Best to overhaul the engine since the rusts might already contaminate the whole engine. Do get rid of the rust in the all parts of the engine.

If your just got this bike from shop. Ask the shop to do up the bike. The condition is very very bad if what you are describing is true.

See this http://www.chacha.com/question/can-rust-in-a-motorcycle-gas-tank-cause-problems

is it fair to ask the bike shop to change it without charges since the shop issued to me with these probs intact? i wasn't sure what to check at that time, and have been riding for a week only after i got found all these out....

You can try. The shop might deny everything as it has been handed over to you.

i'll definately try thanks. coz the rust can't just happen overnight and that level of rust certainly can't happen over that 1 week!

mine is a GSR400.

Mine too the problem was detected immediate.I got the GSR400 from a shop,brought it to the nearest petrol station to pump full then drop by to Regina to find accesories.Then someone called me telling that some liquid is leaking from my bike.To my astonishment its the petrol and by then its already transform to a puddle of petrol.Proceed back to the shop and demand some advise and mechanic realise tank corrode inside and petrol leak through.Luckily there are another 02 GSR bikes there so i demanded that the only solution is to switch tank,They agreed and the tank was switch and till now its been good.

Anyone here selling tank bag or tank bra for GSR 400?I am interested:)sms me Hardy 91392053

1997-1999:Vespa

2006-2008 Nov:Gilera Runner 180 SP

2008:Chevrolet New Aveo 5 emerge.

2008 Nov:Daelim B-Bone.

2010 Sept:Toyota Vios

2011 July:Suzuki GSR 400

isn't it the shop's responsibility to inform you of all those defects before they sell the bike to you??

The bike shop didnt even realise it cause the tank was not full.Only when i top up then they realise.So its from the previous owner:)Hows ur bike?

1997-1999:Vespa

2006-2008 Nov:Gilera Runner 180 SP

2008:Chevrolet New Aveo 5 emerge.

2008 Nov:Daelim B-Bone.

2010 Sept:Toyota Vios

2011 July:Suzuki GSR 400

The bike shop didnt even realise it cause the tank was not full.Only when i top up then they realise.So its from the previous owner:)Hows ur bike?

I'm going back to the bike shop first thing in the morning tomorrow. I'm sure they would notice the rust in the tank. They didnt check before buying from previous owner?

I hope they will do up my bike for me without extra charges.

Yeah, you should get it checked and repaired as soon as possible. Which shop is it though?

after riding for a month, my main tank starting to have some fine but permanent scratches, damn sian... feel like getting tank bra, but then my tank wont be as nice as now.. I like my current tank colour, but i scared the scratches get worst!! argh.. dilemma ... for now is upon close up inspection and certain reflection angle den can see, wonder is it caused by riding on expressway where there are random sand grains flying around. HAHA

Class 3 - 29 May 2009

Class 2B -10 May 2010

Class 2A - 30 June 2011

2010-2011 Phantom 150

2011- Now GSR400

i'll definately try thanks. coz the rust can't just happen overnight and that level of rust certainly can't happen over that 1 week!

Had the same prob as u bro. Got my bike from Southern... Didn't realize it til I open the fuel cap to top up next day.. As what Bro Razi said.. They denied.. And its my greatest mistake ever coz I checked everything but the tank!!

So I tried unique to check out the rust at toh guan.. They said.. Rust is pretty common ahh.. Notin can be done and just change fuel cap lor.. I got shocked.. Til now I just change the cap but haven done any overhaul or treatment coz no time..

If u done ur bike and gotta pay, can update? Just wanna noe roughly how much it cost.. Thanks.

non-disclosure in this case is not wrong. if you dun ask, they dun have to tell you. unless you ca prove that you had asked and they did not tell you the truth

hello sellling the below item for GSRians, interested pls sms me.

Cost: 60 (firm)

condition: mint

Do not reply to this thread, sms me at 9.2.7.2.2.2.0.4

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v730/jazzy7932/gsrpipe1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v730/jazzy7932/gsrpipe2.jpg

non-disclosure in this case is not wrong. if you dun ask, they dun have to tell you. unless you ca prove that you had asked and they did not tell you the truth

Non-disclosure is not a reasonable clause here. Even if the company have issued a liability waiver, this kind of damage is beyond what people would call "reasonable". If the goods were to be in pristine condition and then let it off to the consumer, but having minor damage afterwards, the company will be safe from claims. However, major damage such as this will requires the "professionals" to re-evaluate the condition of the goods and thus the purchaser will be able to claim damages.

Just force the shop to do something about it.

Btw, try going motoworld to their main branch ( not sure if they have it there though), at

KB Industrial Building

10 Kaki Bukit Rd 1 #01-08

Singapore 416175

cause i went to their boutique they don't carry gsr 400 mirrors there, instead was asked to try out ks and lab. But ks didn't have the ones i wanted, and lab always so busy... might try bike lab tomorrow cause i heard from another gsr rider they got mirrors.

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Yeah, I went to the main branch to get my mirrors. I've never been to the one at Lavender.

Apparently they say they can do nothing about the rusty tank. ): is there anywhere I can do like a full health checkup for my bike see how's the condition and all?