Bro are u riding a 600cc bike? If yes than it is best not to exceed 7k RPM for the first 800km and not 8000km. If it is a 400cc bike than it is best below 4k RPM for the first 800km. than next 800 at 5k RPM then next 1600km at 6k RPM. after that is 3000km at 7k RPM. after than it is time to change to fully syn EO and whack the bike for the carbon to come out.....

Wah Lau ... like dat I am jialat liao ... I am riding GSR 400 :(

I followed the dealer's words not to exceed 7000rpm but my rpm usually hit more than 4000rpm, usually around 5500-6000 rpm. Like dat, meaning my running in is wrong ?

How come for 400cc, the rpm must be below 4k? I thought it is the same as 600cc? Maybe I should follow flareon's words and start to travel with 4000rpm from now on. Haiz ... hope that my baby's engine is still ok because I have exceeded 4000rpm for at least 300km(my current milage) ...

So is it confirmed that for GSR 400 the limit is 4000rpm? Too bad my user manual is in Jap ...maybe I will flip thru to see the running in table ...

Thanks bro flareon1982 for your kind guidances.

Cyrix

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p141/chrischan76/CyrixRacingTeam2.jpg

DOUBLE WHAMMY WEEKEND PROGRAMME!!!!

Lim kopi, ai mai???!!!?!?!?!

This weekend night outing is special. We have a choice of 2 dates. So here goes

Venue : KKFC (as always)

Date & Time : Either 16th May (Friday) @ 2030hrs or 17th May (Saturday) @ 2230hrs

Program : KKFC for meetup & dinner before proceeding to Yishun Dam to see S4 Revos and Rempiticons racing there....

Please indicate participation and choice of time. Entry closes on Thursday 1300hrs

Nick / Choice of date

1. WildCard / 17th May (Saturday)

2. IvikaRazI / 17th May (Friday got seminar to organise, will be tired)

3. flareon1982 / 17th May (Sat Morning got meeting so will need rest)

4. Dark Lord / 17th May (Saturday)

5. AhGui / 13th & 17th May Anything also can...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Vesak Day Breakfast Outing

Venue : Jalan Kayu Prata

Date & Time : 19th May @ 0800hrs

Program : Free & easy breakfast at Jalan Kayu followed by Yishun Dam & group photo (photography volunteered by EJ)

Nick / Choice of date

1. WildCard

2. EJ

3. IvikaRazI (As usual, depends on the weather)

4. flareon1982 (Depends on the sky and GF Mood)

5. Dark Lord

6. AhGui

Who what where when?

Well 600cc bike has the highest RPM of 16. Where 400cc one has only till 14. If u read the manual on pg 29. There got say that first 1000k have to ram max to 4kRPM. than subsequent incease by 1k. I put it at 800k because it is best to change the Oil Filter ASAP due to metal shaving and particles in the engine. Well i did it this way till that fateful day i went malaysia with the GSR grp. Thats it man. Lucky for me is i left with abt 100km more to the 4th oil change. If not i will destroy the engine badly :p

BTW dun worry abt the damage or whatever that may happen to ur engine. SUZUKI's engine are tough and is able to withstrand abuse to the max. Thats why Suzuki bike is Used by Team Rizla in the moto GP.

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d158/flareon1982/Misc/1.jpg
Well 600cc bike has the highest RPM of 16. Where 400cc one has only till 14. If u read the manual on pg 29. There got say that first 1000k have to ram max to 4kRPM. than subsequent incease by 1k. I put it at 800k because it is best to change the Oil Filter ASAP due to metal shaving and particles in the engine. Well i did it this way till that fateful day i went malaysia with the GSR grp. Thats it man. Lucky for me is i left with abt 100km more to the 4th oil change. If not i will destroy the engine badly :p

So bro flareon, is it advisable for me to change EO now because I have not changed mine since the day I ride it from the bike shop.

My current milage is 300+km. I am afraid that I have not hit the target of 800km and when I change the EO, it might stir up the engine run in process.

So will I be able to change EO now even before hitting the first cycle of 800km? Will I break the cycle of engine running process if I change the EO now? Or is it too late to change liao and my engine is already gone case liao ?

Sorry for asking too much .... Xiao Di is so concerned about my Baby GSR and ... I hope to protect it from being damaged by my noobie experience.

Thanks for all your help Flareon.

Cyrix

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p141/chrischan76/CyrixRacingTeam2.jpg

]DOUBLE WHAMMY WEEKEND PROGRAMME!!!!

Date & Time : Either 16th May (Friday) @ 2030hrs or 17th May (Saturday) @ 2230hrs

Program : KKFC for meetup & dinner before proceeding to Yishun Dam to see S4 Revos and Rempiticons racing there....

Please indicate participation and choice of time. Entry closes on Thursday 1300hrs

Nick / Choice of date

6. Helmy23 17th May

Program : Free & easy breakfast at Jalan Kayu followed by Yishun Dam & group photo (photography volunteered by EJ)

Nick / Choice of date

1. WildCard

2. EJ

5. Dark Lord

6. AhGui

7. Helmy23

today i bid farewell to my colleague

supersonic

sob sob

we still fellow bikers ma..

plus we're frenz...

our frenship ll go far lah...

Yeah supersonic, why u quit. Now ur colleague miss u liao. BTW i also quit liao. Haha...

getting ready for my new job...

starting in July...

will be based in England...

Manchester United Football Club juz signed me...

they believe i can help em retain e EPL title next season...

Guest motofreak

17-18km/l on a 600 here on mostly expressway riding.

I think its the weight. We both need to go get the DynoJet Stage IV weight-reduction kit (the rider, not the bike). I asking whether MW or Regina have or not....

Dude. Yours Stage IV i believe can liao. I need a Stage IX. Hhahahhaha. 17-18km/l on expressway. Must be the sounds from your pipes pushing u to go faster. Hahhahaha.. Mine stock pipes...

Hmm... I am planning to go for EO and oil filter change when i hit 800k. How much $$ is the first oil change ah?

Current ride - Gilera ST200 (April 2011-present)

Previous rides - Suzuki GSR 400 (31 March 2008 - 2011)

Assumption is mother of all all ****-ups! :cheers :-P

cos he always buang???

no i think he Always Buay Stop

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

d fc looks great. much better den vtec3 huh?

Jεήgσ™ : |l|l|ll| With great power comes great responsibilities.Think safe, ride safe |ll|l|l|

Hmm... I am planning to go for EO and oil filter change when i hit 800k. How much $$ is the first oil change ah?

find the cheapest mineral oil ($4-$6 per litre) to change.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

nowadays cooking oil also very ex.....

anyway, i miss wildcard.

DOUBLE WHAMMY WEEKEND PROGRAMME!!!!

Nick / Choice of date

6. Helmy23 17th May

Nick / Choice of date

1. WildCard

2. EJ

5. AhGui

6. Helmy23

The difference between men and boys is the lessons they learn

hey guys.. heard tat all the 08 model of the GSR comes along with the ABS.. is it true??

No matter how small the bike you are riding,

If you wanna ride up to somewhere which u desire to go

den sure u can reach. Its jus ur will power oni..

If you have big head and small BRAINS

Den something is wrong with U

07 bike + ABS system = 08 model GSR

oh okies... thanks for the clarification...

but how come the shop says buying a new GSR all comes wif the ABS wan..

No matter how small the bike you are riding,

If you wanna ride up to somewhere which u desire to go

den sure u can reach. Its jus ur will power oni..

If you have big head and small BRAINS

Den something is wrong with U

BTW dun worry abt the damage or whatever that may happen to ur engine. SUZUKI's engine are tough and is able to withstrand abuse to the max. Thats why Suzuki bike is Used by Team Rizla in the moto GP.

Hmmm... I think the engine wont be damaged badly lah...

I am sure the quality of the engine is there... when you did what you did flareon...

I think the only time you can ever damage the engine is not even changing the engine oil at all... like what happened to my friend a long time back...

He bought Kr and he never even knew about changing 2t all that.... months later... he felt something wrong with the bike and when go workshop need to overhaul engine... and that was a first hand kr less than half a year old...

So i believe there is some capacity of toughness that the engine can withstand.

As long as we do change the oil regularly... even if we didnt or couldnt stick to the mileage recommended because busy or something.... like me :cheeky: cos I have yet to find time to do on my own these past few weeks and I have not make friends with good mechs yet...

Yikes! I better start soon....

Recommendations in the west?

http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2010/4/26/129167583988157915.gif

Suzuki Saoirse - "Freedom"

"My biggest error? Something that is to happen yet."

Ayrton Senna

cyrix76, for running in, refer below. its stated in page 281 n 282.

Two methods of running in of bike. Hard and soft. Which one is the best? The owner decide. Simple to say, soft running in is to take the bike for a slow walk, restraint from over revving. Hard running in is to rev the bike to the max for all gears.

To get the details of running in, ask the shop for recommendations.

Just remember to use mineral oil for the running in.

The two quotes below serve as a guide line for running in. Its NOT A STANDARD running chart.

Regarding run in for new bike. Basically once a new bike is fully installed in the factory, they will rev the engine until red line for one minute then after that they will send it for shipment.

So in conclusion, there will be lots of metal chipping inside your engine. So it is very much advisable to change your Eo after you have clock around 100km. Remember to use the most basic minerals oil for oil change and change oil filter together.

1st Oil Change and Oil Filter is around 100km

2nd Oil Change and Oil Filter is around 500km

3rd Oil Change and Oil Filter is around 800km

4th Oil Change and Oil Filter is around 1500km

After the fourth oil change, you can use fully syn for your bike.

This is just a guideline for you. Enjoy your ride...

from other threads on running in, theirs is as folllows...

500km => 50-80km/h (varies your RPM to about 4K-5K), change with mineral and oil filter

1000km => 70-90km/h (varies your RPM to about 5K-6K), change with mineral and oil filter

2000km => 90-occasion above 110km/h , change to semi and oil filter ( at this stage your bike is quite good to go)

5000km => up to you limit, change to fully and oil filter run in done

The attached thumbnail below is extracted from the GSR 600 manual. It serves as a guide as well.

for reference using hard run in:

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

Racewerks hard run in package:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175663

any updates, do pm me or quote the post. thanx...

So bro flareon, is it advisable for me to change EO now because I have not changed mine since the day I ride it from the bike shop.

My current milage is 300+km. I am afraid that I have not hit the target of 800km and when I change the EO, it might stir up the engine run in process.

So will I be able to change EO now even before hitting the first cycle of 800km? Will I break the cycle of engine running process if I change the EO now? Or is it too late to change liao and my engine is already gone case liao ?

Sorry for asking too much .... Xiao Di is so concerned about my Baby GSR and ... I hope to protect it from being damaged by my noobie experience.

Thanks for all your help Flareon.

Cyrix

If u change now also can. Best is change when u first got the bike. But now change also ok. Than with the new oil u can run for 800km. After than 1.6 and so on. Dun worry abt the engine, its fine. Remember to change to Mineral oil for the first 3 oil changes. Dun be like me ku ku put fully on my 3rd oil change than waste money change it after 1.6k km. Theory with the mineral oil is no diff from fully or semi synthetic. Its only cheaper and becoz u need to change the oil often when running it, it will not cost that much.

Dun worry so much abt the engine anyway. I was like u when i first got the bike. Only to find out that Suzuki Engine is endurance built so no worries. Time for my EO change in 100+km... Hee Hee Heee. Time for the Fully Synthetic oil...

cos he always buang???

Choi...... ABS is good loh. FC is lower maybe because i got put boxes lah. Choi choi choi..... Touch Wood..... *Throw salt over shoulder......