Sharpey,

with your pinasco kit mounted...are you on 98?

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

gwee > oooo..well went to TA and talk2 with the auntie n her sister....

help load some stuff onto the trolley...flyscreens for the GT are available for those who are interested....auntie kept asking me when i wanna change the sidebox...

ahaha...always say that i just want to cover up the hole...don't wanna knock round or change....n do inform me if you're going for a viewing at vigano's stuff

sharpey > using 95 now...gonna try 92 on my next top up.....thing is...not sure if the sound i'm hearing now is coming from my exhaust or engine...

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Oh well... you'll know if the sound gets worse when on 92 octane....

You can buy an engine compression tester from aeriestools (local ebay seller) for about 60 bucks... "Lisle Compression Tester".... screwing this into your sparkplug hole and kicking over the engine a few times will tell you how high your compression is, and give an idea of what petrol you need... High compression (150,160psi)needs high octane, low compression (100-120) prefers lower octane fuel... (but on a kitted engine, you should be getting at least 130psi... if it reads lower, then it's time for new piston rings...)

Yes Gweester, I'm using 98RON now... but my setup isn't finalised yet... am still running too much squish to stop the pinging noise that my pinasco makes when it gets hot... Once I get all the mods (crank exhaust etc) done, I'll be calling the scooter tuner "Hot Rod Al" in Fresno to help me set up to avoid the dreaded ping (pre-detonation)....

Good news.... LTA have given an in principle (verbal) approval... I've got the go-ahead to buy the Scorpion!!!

Am a Happy Scooterist today.

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

ahahaha...

yay sharpey!..

soon we'll see one of the classicos having a scorpion exhaust!....

ooo..okok,will try on a tank of 92.....

qn, how do you know if a px has a cosa clutch???

n auntie quoted me a few hundred for a 5 speed watchamakallit....

gears?don't know the proper term...

great!!! so when is your scorpion exhaust coming in?

i am interested to know the results of the exhaust and it's feedback...

boy do i need to save up for my exhaust....scorpion!! yoohoo!!!

Cephelix, you cant tell whether it is COSA or not unless you check it internally...meaning to open up and check...

wats the purpose for putting the front rack ar?? :confused:

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u160/ay3928k/aj.jpg

Cool indeed!

The cosa clutch and the stock px clutch look different (you'll need to get a mech to check this for you... am about 90% sure yours will be a stock px clutch)... Read up on scooterbbs about opinions on the cosa clutch... it seems (at least to me) that our dislike of them here in Singapore is largely ungrounded!

Am ordering the Scorpion later today (waiting for 9am UK time) from Beedspeed (their shipping is more agreeable and I can converse with them easier...) Do check the catalogue and tell me if you want something cos I'm ordering by 6pm...

You don't need a 5 speed gearbox cephelix... at least not yet. Gweester is going to be testing his out for a while, am keen to see how that goes. I've heard that they tend to wear out faster, but then again, not sure how much of the bbs info is more bs than info (i.e. opinion and not facts based on real use).... Good luck with it Gweester.

I now have the contact guy at Scorpion exhausts... just ask if you need to contact them....

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

Sharpey, great!

can you help me get a quote on the scorpion exhaust for my 150 (inclusive of shipping)?

will need your help (on how to go about doing it; like documents needed etc) should i decide to get one of those nasty little exhaust....

Cephelix, the clutch for the stock200 and cosa is different...it looks different too....most notably the spring setup (visual check)...

sharpey > congrats on the scorpion! and yeah no wanting anything now cept for a rack n new levers....the old ones are killing my fingers in heavy traffic.....

just asked kos that was the only thing that popped into my head at the moment...

gwee > test out the clutch n do tell if it works fine....

ejatt > front rack to put more stuff!...

can tahan meh putting stuff at front??

chung, you selling your scoots liao?

getting another vespa? or?

eh put light can pass meh at front??

die die vespa issit chung...hahaha :cheeky:

the front mudguard headlight is not approved by LTA....so take note guys....

chung, sprint huh?? cool! found already? or still looking?

ali - the auntie suggested that i change the whole petrol tank.. cause welding can't be done due to the fuel inside. 50-60 bucks for a 2nd hand one plus workmanship. o.O but i used some industrial grade metal cement to stick it back. =P should be no problem. oh and she also said cannot put the plastic under the cap.. something about air not being able to enter...? but i managed to ride home la haha

ejatt - yahhh i think next time even if i were to get a big cc bike.. i would still keep a vespa cause of the passion. =)

AJ Scooters of Singapore

www.ajscooters.com

good choice on keeping your scoots even when you have another bike....

so you found one....price?

private owner or shop?

mudguard lamp not approved?!

just thinking about it.....

ooo.oh yeah..forgot about the hole in the gas cap.....

industrial strength eh??

try TA...they're always selling...

i think AJ might have a few laying about

gweester> y they nvr pass ar??wats the reason?? i told aj to put a circle light on the mudguard..but he too say the same thing..

chung> good for u..haha

Sorry to be out of point in this discussion but scoot is holed up in the workshop and I feel so crippled without my own transportation. I don't suppose anyone here has an extra Vespa or bike lying around that I can rent for a couple of weeks...?