hi maz thanx for ur advice..

there was an instance my wife told me the headlamp is dimming away while u r revving.. that happened in my carpark.. i tried to rev a little while changing gears as what u said.. but sometimes when i clutch in on gear one i stalled almost immediately before revving (i newbie so maybe my technic not that polished)

i'll try to start my poor skoot next morning n ride ard the estate.. hope i can make it back to TA in one piece... btw it's a 1976 super

cheerz!

ahh i see.. if u can get sharpey to do the air mixture and idling and its still the same i guess its the coil then. Any sputtering? hopefully its nothing major and get the problem solved without towing.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12430/Signature%20copy.jpg

NTU Vespa Club

• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

ahh i see.. if u can get sharpey to do the air mixture and idling and its still the same i guess its the coil then. Any sputtering? hopefully its nothing major and get the problem solved without towing.

that brings me to my question... TA shd set it up nicely in e first place mah... u know i got to kick start standing on e bike for > 10 times till bruises on my calf.. (myself to blame as i'm too excited to go home n put on jeans instead)..

sputtering yes i think.. but 2 very loud n sharp sound followed by pungent smell..

i pai seh to call in sharpey oso.. still owe him lunch/kopi.. hehehe maybe now lunch/dinner/beer...

thank u guys

that brings me to my question... TA shd set it up nicely in e first place mah... u know i got to kick start standing on e bike for > 10 times till bruises on my calf.. (myself to blame as i'm too excited to go home n put on jeans instead)..

sputtering yes i think.. but 2 very loud n sharp sound followed by pungent smell..

i pai seh to call in sharpey oso.. still owe him lunch/kopi.. hehehe maybe now lunch/dinner/beer...

thank u guys

That ( the bruising) always happens. setting from time to time will change due to vibrations. And im not trying to scare u. IF u are having a hard time to start the bike and that the bang (back fire ) is an indicator that ur coil or cdi is giving up very soon. i might be wrong but do ask the mech to check. old stuffs tends to give way. If u are using contact point then have to set the points.

NTU Vespa Club

That ( the bruising) always happens. setting from time to time will change due to vibrations. And im not trying to scare u. IF u are having a hard time to start the bike and that the bang (back fire ) is an indicator that ur coil or cdi is giving up very soon. i might be wrong but do ask the mech to check. old stuffs tends to give way. If u are using contact point then have to set the points.

prob setting lose after my encounters with potholes and humps.. all i hope e coil is not another expensive job.. cos getting e skoot oredi cost quite a bit.. plus restoration n painting.. n a nitty gritties..

if i'm on 6v den no coil just settings? i see no battery ard so meaning not 12v?

cheerz

every vespa has a coil. older model coils run on contact point and condenser and is on 6v. ancient technology. newer coils ie on px runs on electronic and cdi. newer technology and is 12v. The vespa doesnt need a battery to start. even if there is its for iu or to support ur lighting. the onli way to tell if its on a 12 v or 6v is see the rear of the engine. if u see a black box with 4 wires red white and 2 green one (cdi) its on 12 v. if u see anything else Condensor abit round then its 6v.

NTU Vespa Club

I wouldn't be too upset with TA... its a vintage scooter... they are more tempremental queens than the newer ones... Esp if its still running 6V(the points can get knocked out of whack pretty quickly actually).... Its a quick and cheap fix... You have my number :)

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

Vietnamese Vespa Sprint... 150cc Cost for one in as shiny condition as that.... 3000-3500 depending on your luck/bargaining skill

You won't get a classic vespa on installments as far as I'm aware.... just save up 1.5k and you'll be able to buy a PX in good condition...

May i ask: which vespa shop allows installment? I'm getting a spare bike. Thanks

the onli shop that im aware that still allow for instalment for vespa is at jin cheng motor aka ah joo. the aj thread ppl could help u on the info.

NTU Vespa Club

ooo..single seat eh???....

hoping to get a stock px seat for mine.....

single seat no fun.....

how muchy is a stock PX seat?

hi peps!!

after adjusting e idle valve wif instructions from sharpey, i managed to ride her going my estate area for an hour.. so i picked up the momentum n rode it to my shop.. den rode to TA in the late afternoon.. all's well again.. not a single time stalled! (fingers crossed).. i sayang her and told her sweet things too.. heehehe u guys might think i'm crazy.. but somehow she got it! maybe e last owner abused her la...heheheeh

so now my skoot is back wif TA.. mr wee will inspect again on monday and get it ready for spray painting... i'm missing her oredi...

oh mine is on 6v n can't be converted to 12v.. according to mr wee..

thanks guys n happy to be in this forum.. lotsa help n encouragement..

cheerz!

thats good news. Nothing major at all. at least u dont need to spend on the towing for a minor prob. Ive heard off ppl converting from 6v to 12v. In one month time u can truely enjoy ur vespa. Cheers.

NTU Vespa Club

thats good news. Nothing major at all. at least u dont need to spend on the towing for a minor prob. Ive heard off ppl converting from 6v to 12v. In one month time u can truely enjoy ur vespa. Cheers.

cheerz maz! n gdnite to all..

hey hello :D

can anyone help me out with this? i wan to wrap my seat. but i dunno where can i get this material. so does anyone seen this material before? went to eugene and asked but he doesnt carry this skin. thanks :D

http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e185/hw_ng_/Untitled-2-1.jpg