hey guys. i've been having prob with my fuel cap on my px150. my fuel cap's secured by this turn knob by the side. it seem to be leaking all the time. i've changed the rubber gasket and problem's still exist.

also, i notice that it lets out a fizzing sound whenever i overtighten the cap. it's as if petrol fumes are trying to escape all the time. anyone with similar prob and successfully solved it?

• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

hi chaps,

i have followed the good advise of sharpey and the rest.pumped RON 92 petrol and yes its alot better,somehow i realised the engines runs alittle weaker when i'm climbing hills and slopes.i wouldnt want to meddle with the settings ,the compression...thats just way quantum science for me.....or its just my mind.will stick to RON 95.

anyone has a low seat to let go for cheaps? my current seat is incredibly uncomfortable and a possible nutcracker.thanks people.

any advise on how to store fuel?like which container to use and etc.no worries...my intentions are good.i wanna travel abit far this time..so thinking of spare bringin petrol.

It's easy to laugh...It's easy to hate.

Though it takes strenght to be gentle and kind.

Originally posted by Sharpey@Aug 10 2006, 10:11 PM

Hope she shifts better when you get her back....

MR Wee from TA changed a new clutch cable for $8.50.

Less stiff this time round. The neutral gear is easier to catch.

Although i managed to snag myself into Neutral gear TWICE while turning at red-lights. LOL think the cars following behind me goes "What's this bugger doing? Revving up so much smoke n not moving at all??!" :cheeky:

To update, i still need to lower down my 2T oil vol. next time i pump petrol. Too much smoke.... GOSH~ :sweat:

I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to death, your right to say it.

~ Voltaire

Originally posted by modstar@Aug 11 2006, 04:58 PM

anyone has a low seat to let go for cheaps? my current seat is incredibly uncomfortable and a possible nutcracker.thanks people.

any advise on how to store fuel?like which container to use and etc.no worries...my intentions are good.i wanna travel abit far this time..so thinking of spare bringin petrol.

you want the old-school separate Vespa seats? I got a spare, beige colour... LOL though i think separate seats is not really comfy also.

Anywya for storing petrol, use a plastic mineral bottle can? I use those to store my 2T oil actually.

Anyway thanks alot to machine_k for inducting this noob to TA :p

Will pop by if i need changes, and take their advice with "pinches of salt"... haha in case got 'tok' :smile:

I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to death, your right to say it.

~ Voltaire

welcome planescape, probably see ur vespa around sch

and modstar, carry fuel n move around, not too legal ah... but if u really really wan... get those POL jerry cans (in army tat kind). 20ltrs, many times ur present fuel tank. juz dun smoke near it

those mineral water bottles, the plastic not gd enuff, the petrol will 'eat' thru it.

eh guys, i dropped my vespa...:cry: planescape saw my bike.. =(

SIBEI SIAN AH!!!! 1st time ever droppin a bike

everything else is ok except the cosmetic part...lining of fender got a crack and my paintwork got one crack that leads from the top to the signal light...

probably be resprayin it... so now need you guys to help me tink of as many colour schemes as possible...so i haf some ideas... best if pics can be provided as well...cos i can't visualise properly lah...thanks

$$ fly away loh

Hey guys!!

Managed to view the bike just now. Its an excel. Wht i want to noe is tt can it be made to look classic? Since the engine has not been used for quite sometime, the bike cant seem to start. Any advices on wht is wrong?

thanks..

-=fire gives life but to also take them away=-

an excel can be made to look classic... you'll need more than 200 bucks though :D...

Could be a number of issues stopping the scoot from working... blown seal, lack of compression... speak to the owner to find out exactly why he stopped using it... were there problems with it when it was last used?? If not, get bikebulance to take it to TA and have Mr.Wee breathe life into her....

200 dollar scoots don't come around that often... (just make sure it hasn't been crashed/siezed etc...)

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

the price of the vespa at $200, u can treat it as buyin the COE n the registration number...

since u wan to mod it to look like classic, the frame is not tat impt (tho its disturbin to see a rusty old one), new paintwork will cover all... replacing every other things that uncle wee will charge u...

even if it come up to price of $2k, i still tink its worth it... but juz bear it mind... u r still riding an excel (not a real classic) haha

so if u spend too much, nx time when u plan to sell it, u will feel the pinch...

but honestly, $200 is a real steal, juz make sure the engine is fine =) other than that, u can always change a new block, new seals, new cable, new wiring...new everything... happy waiting tho

Machine K... you raise a good point...

itsonfire.... do check that the coe is renewable!!! When renewed for 10years they're renewable... when renewed for 5 (right?) they're not....

Sharpey>> Well the bike belongs to the late father of my fren. in other words i cant contact the previous owner cos he has passed away. But wht i noe is tt the bike is still usable before he passed away. He also didnt had any accidents except for those minor things like droppin the bike at carpark etc.. but other then tt its still allright.And yah the coe was renewed from 2000 to 2010. so i guess its still renewable right?

Machine_K>> Wht do u mean by selling it off later and feeling the pinch? btw how much roughly it cost to change the bodykits onli? And wht are the things tt i must change from an excel to make it look classic?

Thank u both in advance!!

-=fire gives life but to also take them away=-

i mean if u r spendin like 3k or more on an excel, but nx time u sell it for like 2k+, there's where the pinch come... if u plan to do till swee swee, den ride it more den 2-3yrs, cos the value of excel not as valuable as a classic, unless u sell it to a carrot head, u wun get back as much $$ when u sell it.

how much it takes to change depends on ur choice of the parts tho, from wat i noe, the front round nose there's the Metal (welded in one) which cost $98 i tink, n the cheaper plastic ones where they stick it on which is damn ugly. nx to go is the backside, will be the rounded ones, forgot how much (cos TA dun really give u the breakdown of it..they juz quote u the cost for the whole thing of mod-ing, u should go down n ask them) u can choose to chrome ur engine, exhaust, suspension, lining and wat-nots, which will definitely cost more. n the paint is not cheap, $300 for 1 colour =(

i tink for vespa, its not really the big things that cost u $$, its the little bits of here n there tat add up to the cost.. so bear in mind when u choose those pretty accessories, sometimes u lose track of how much u spent

yah, suddenly tot of this, ask the mechanic to check if the fork is ok, cos i've encountered bent forks during my search for my vespa, since u mentioned the bike was dropped (duno how many times/how hard) cost of changing that is 200-400, depending on model, n whether if u wan to get a 2nd hand one =)

btw, the excel u lookin at, does it happen to b in Sengkang? cos there's an excel in my carpark, permanently parked, always in cover, owner come n replace the parking coupons only. haha

good tips machine K....

Yes, a renewal to 2010 means its a renewable coe...(unless I'm terribly mistaken...)

If the only reason it hasn't been used is because the previous owner is now in Heaven, then I say buy.... Buy and worry about fixing it up later... Save your pennies and do it slowly...

Buying scooter that is already classic will cost you easily 2k (for one in poor/ok condition) and easily 3k for one that looks nice.

Doing it this way will take more time... but is perfect if you don't have large pools of cash lying about the place.

Do let me know if you don't want it :D.... happy to buy it instead :D

hey bro and sis out there. just wanna ask do anyone by any chance know where can i buy a bubble visor or pilot-look-alike visor for those 3 button helmet?? i tried to find but hard. saw it at regina but it is selling at 35 bucks. too ex man. visor more ex then helmet. :D

Originally posted by hw_ng_@Aug 14 2006, 02:29 AM

hey bro and sis out there. just wanna ask do anyone by any chance know where can i buy a bubble visor or pilot-look-alike visor for those 3 button helmet?? i tried to find but hard. saw it at regina but it is selling at 35 bucks. too ex man. visor more ex then helmet. :D

Well...tat bubble visor seems to be xpensive...tong aik selling for $35.00 too...if you want the half face visor, you can check out http://www.jathelmet.com. They selling it for $8.00 and comes in various colours. Cheers! (",)

I believe in Murphy's Law!

Anything that can go wrong will go wrong...

hey ppl...i'm selling some brand new Vespa classic accessories...like the classic round nose horncast metal made of iron for $80...u go elsewhere they sold for $98...great bargain..

hey ppl...i'm selling some brand new Vespa classic accessories...like the classic round nose horncast metal made of iron for $80...u go elsewhere they sold for $98...Vespa sprint metal logo for legshield, metal legstand, 'Swan' metal front accesory for mudguard..great bargain...feel free to email me at [email protected] if you're interested. Cheers!

OUCH~

just got back from TA n 200 bucks poorer.

Indeed, as machine_k said, its those small little accessories n stuff take kinda adds up the costs....

Anyway a harrowing experience for a nooob like me last nite.

my scoot breaks down somewhere in Toa Payoh. Kick to gear 4 then engine dies.... this happens twice so i was like.... :mad:

Then push to nearby carpark to check. And now, my front brake giving me problem.... from what i can see, the wiring sorta goes cranky n throttling will affect the brake (n vice-versa). Holy Crap~~!!

Then worst, the throttle got 'stuck' at maximum after i was twisting the throttle n pulling in the front brake. Imagine the "VROOOOM" it gives when u start the engine at neutral gear - maximum throttle :giddy: think i woke up the whole neighbourhood! Then i quickly clutch in n the gear shifted to gear 1...... Thank goodness there's a grass patch in front of me..... Only crack my brake grip n number plate + a big bruise on myself :cry:

... .... Sheesh... ...

Called up TA to get bike-bulance to pick up my scoot this morning n spend 1/2 the afternoon at TA. Changed throttle, braking cables, got a carburettor cap n hose etc etc OMG~~ Looking at the sudden expenses, this month have to eat grass :help:

sigh.... looking on the bright side, at least i din get stranded in the middle of the expressway o_O escaped the whole incident with a big bruise n cuts.

Still, which biker had nvr fell b4? :thumb:

~ Voltaire

Good to hear you came out ok.... Everyone falls off.

planescape> wah... wat happened? wat were the problems TA told u? tink u going thru a period of unlucky times like me... wan to go respray together nx mth? =)

take care ah

Hi, i would just like to know, where could one find a reputable dealership or a place that sells classic vespas?modded or unmodded......

and the estimate of the price of a vespa...

the specifications such as f.c.

thanx

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Originally posted by Sharpey@Aug 14 2006, 09:33 PM

can.

Hi Sharpey, any suggestions? Anyone want to start the ball rolling? http://smilies.vidahost.com/contrib/sarge/BowlingBall_anim.gif

Originally posted by cephelix@Aug 15 2006, 01:00 AM

Hi, i would just like to know, where could one find a reputable dealership or a place that sells classic vespas?modded or unmodded......

and the estimate of the price of a vespa...

the specifications such as f.c.

thanx

You can try AJ scooters. Despite some of the negative comments about the place, they still do a great job compared to their compeditors... Trust me, I'm one of their satisfied customers! http://smilies.vidahost.com/contrib/geno/vogel.gif

Erm... just in favour of a meeting... Don't have any ideas at the moment....