• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

Hey Guys,

Was browsing the LTA's onemotoring website when i came across this statement in the "Classic Cars" Infomation page.

Quote-

Classic cars may also be imported. They should be at least 35 years old and in pristine condition at the time of importation into Singapore. -Unquote

Wouldn't it be wonderful if this is applied also to Classic Scooters from overseas that are at least 35 years old,blah,blah,blah? Imagine seeing rare scooters from the 50s or even 60s in a convoy! Droooools~~~~

Any one here who's well connected to LTA's big guns can maybe hint/push/beg/persuade that it's a great idea to allow these vintage to be imported into Singapore? It'll add a lot more colour to the scootering scene here don't you guys agree?

Just ranting......

"For myself, I am an optimist--it does not seem

to be much use being anything else."

-Winston Churchill

yeah, it would be nice to import those old ones, and once there's more supply of vintage bikes, then the price would also drop. more affordable (for me)

racer-pattern vespa not street legal meh? stil see them on the road leh

i was told that the racer style aka 'sampan' style's not legal because it alters the frame. cos vespa's one big metal piece over the engine, the big metal leg shield of our bike's considered part of our frame. as lta states, any engine/frame alteration's considered illegal.... thus so.

personally..i dun see in anyway that could be a hazard of any kind. oh well!

hi.. i've been riding a phantom for 3 months now and though it's served me very well.. it's really heavy for me. also.. i'm very petite.. 1.5m.. do you guys think i'll be able to ride a vespa comfortably?

hihi..

most people should find vespa comfortable enough to ride, unless you are very tall... vespa is really much lighter compared to phantom (i used to ride phantom too before i switch) can paddle around like a toy scooter.

you lookin for classic or modern vespa?

Anyone wanting to sell off their PX 200 exhaust pipe (the type with a brass insert which makes it a bit louder) please PM me. Thanks!

Don't tell God you have a big problem. Tell the problem you have a big God!

i'm really very short leh. 1.5m.. i think i have to tip toe like crazy to just reach the floor.. and pillioning people would be terrible. unless can lower the seat some how or something? looking for classic vespas actually.. repainting a normal vespa doesn't really constitute as vintage right? haha.

Looking for a Bajaj box (metal) for my sprint V....

Anyone selling or know any place that sells them?

Let me know....appreciate it!!!

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

claryce>> u can always change to a low seater, less cushioning =) can be done easily, u should try riding one. See if its suitable, though i doubt it will pose much challenge to you.

heh, the definition of classic is debatable, i only like to classify the auto ones as modern vespa...the rest i'll lump as classic vespa. haha:smile:

Well...it is not known yet whether CLASSIC motorcycles or scooter can be brought in SG. if it can be brought in..u can used it only about 28 days per year as a classic plate( the half red/yellow plate) to tink u bout it for a few thousand bucks and to ride it only less then a month?...summore spare parts for the vespa prior to 1960s are really hard to find tho...nevertheless...anyone can still bring in a classic vespa n ride it as per normal using the underground method but it would be very troublesome and hassle to do it...rite Vigano :o)

Got 2 AH plate vespa for sale at 5k to 6k each..totally restored....anyone interested can pm me..i will try to link u up to the seller.

Currently i am looking for a vespa registered between 1964 to 1969. As long as the logcard shows the vespa registered during the above mentions years i am willing to buy it. The seller can also keep their number plate...i just want the log card with or without the vespa...PM me if there's anyone here or got know anyone selling. Thanx a million.

Kosmik... if I understand what you're requesting here, I would advise you not to post so publicly about such things...(The LTA can access the forum too :-0) Legally, a log card belongs to a bike, they are inseperable.... wanting to purchase just a log card is surely ilegal, just as selling one would be.

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

legality aside, yeah, its true that LTA makes keeping n maintaining a vintage automobile very expensive - literally paying thru your nose! *sigh* :mad:

claryce, i think a Vespa will be alright! There are some riders roughly ur height and they have no problem handling the auto LX Vespa.

For classic, i haven meet a gal rider yet (except maybe huifen.... which machine_k knows). Most classic riders seems to be guys... LOL :sweat:

But think this way, if a phantom is too heavy, then get a Vespa (budget allowing). Cuz Vespa is DEFINITELY lighter which makes maneuvring it easier :)

And machine_k is correct in mentioning that u can cut the seat.... which is wat rae did. His seat r like half the height of my seat, saving at least an inch or so.

I may disagree with what you have to say, but I shall defend, to death, your right to say it.

~ Voltaire

rae's seat still not low enough..there's another kind...almost no cushioning in it. thats the ultimate.

n there are other female classic riders on the road lah. see them every now n then. height-wise, i usually think its not much of a problem...people like to ride with super high suspension on their scramblers also...tiptoe at traffic lights. haha!

yes, vespa easier to get around in a jam, shorter body compared to phantom. but i am not encouraging you guys to squeeze and weave in a jam hor!

ride safe

If your're going to squeeze... just be sloooowwww about it... It only takes a second for someone to swing their death machine out in-front of you.

Was just in T.A.... lunch time shopping :-)

Saw Un-Sith and said Hi.... his scooter looking sweet as usual...

Hey GWEESTER..... saw your darlin' there too. Seems like you'll have some surprises in store for us when you get it back on the road... I won't spoil the surprise... but as Randy Jackson would say... "Gotta give you your Props man!"

Sharpey,

You saw my darling?? Sweet!!

She is only half done....still heaps of work to do to get her into shape...

Some surprises?? hahahha!!! I bet you know about it.... Ah Wee must have mentioned it to you...but no worries...

really excited about it....think in another couple of months....i should be able to join you guys for some gathering....

missed the kulai trip and BBQ last sat...bet you guys enjoyed yourself....

still reading up....need to get myself in tune before i get my hands on my "precious"!!!

As always, Scoots rocks!!!

BTW, if you guys come across the Bajaj box (metal) at any place, kindly let me know...would appreciate it greatly.....

the fibre glass box just dont seems to match (though they are about the same)....but if there isnt a choice, i would still go for the fiberglass ones...extra storage....woo hoo!!!

hi, is there anyone selling vespa accessories? i looking for the metal chrome strip to be put on the front mud guard where the licence plate put. cause i have change my licence plate to sticker type and need the metal piece to cover up the 2 screw holes . anyone selling?? contact me at 93893485 thanks.

or do you all know TA got sell? how much roughly? thanks

Originally posted by Sharpey@Oct 30 2006, 09:24 AM

Kosmik... if I understand what you're requesting here, I would advise you not to post so publicly about such things...(The LTA can access the forum too :-0) Legally, a log card belongs to a bike, they are inseperable.... wanting to purchase just a log card is surely ilegal, just as selling one would be.

Sorry lah bro...i mean that..sometimes ppl want to let go vespa but not the plate number...so i am willing to buy the vespa with the FBA number. Sorry for the interpretation of my search.

Hey man... no worries... Trouble is always best avoided :-)

Originally posted by hw_ng_@Oct 31 2006, 02:51 AM

hi, is there anyone selling vespa accessories? i looking for the metal chrome strip to be put on the front mud guard where the licence plate put. cause i have change my licence plate to sticker type and need the metal piece to cover up the 2 screw holes . anyone selling?? contact me at 93893485 thanks.

or do you all know TA got sell? how much roughly? thanks

hw_ng. try LAB. they do sell something like that.

www.vespaclub.sg

http://www.teamvespa.com.sg/Images/abc.jpg

http://www.vespaclub.sg/others/footer.jpg

Originally posted by un-sith@Oct 31 2006, 06:35 PM

hw_ng. try LAB. they do sell something like that.

hey un-sith. wat i mean is not that one u saying. hmm, u see the pic i post, wat i mean is the arrow pointing that thing ah...

sorry, my english really sucks. hahahaha