ahhahaha.....

my meaning of "clear carbon" is to go at high speed and high rev....just a silly illustration.....

like a lot of pple will say that they are gtg to 2nd link to clear carbon meaning they are there to rev their bike and go fast....

However, there are cases whereby there is too much carbon inside your exhaust (mainly old ones) that has build up over the years which will affect your ride as the output from the combustion of your two stroke cycle is blocked....

some power is lost and you will feel slight more vibration....

people will send it for "de-carbonised"...clearing out the carbon inside you exhaust...

for scoots, we would usually buy a new exhaust since it is much cheaper compare to other motorbikes....

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

• Replies 11.9k

• Wildswans

• -ResiDue-

• Sharpey

• machine k

thx guys for replies. ;)

Classic Vespa Meet-up

Date: 12th Jan 2006 (Friday)

Venue: (undecided)

1) Colbar (portsdown) >> cool place!!

2) Sunset Bar & Grill (Seleter east camp) >>chief challenge chicken wings!! HOT!!

3) Pizza place on Greenwood Ave (Bukit Timah)

4) "Mr Prata" near botanical garden & opposite NIE

Who's Going

1) rae07 - 9423 4461

2) machine k - 9183 9381

3) planescape - 91053866

4) Sharpey

5) gweester - 98731112 (hopefully by then i got my scoots!!!)

6) reddy (tentative hehe)

7) Apachezulu - 92763038 (Rainer)

i think we fix the venue at the prata place....any objection??

waddup guys...

picked up the bike from vivocity today....

the bike is older than me by 2 years!...

ahahaha...

well, things that need fixing > left rear signal light

> front brake

> speedometer & the other one

> grips (abit ripped on one side

> front tyre (soon)

> headlight (needs to be brighter)

> paintjob

> kickstarter (i spoiled it just now, long story)

> wiring (kos it's a mess)

> general servicing

> the green light above the speedo which seems to be missing (anyone know what it's for?)

Anyone know the total cost of the above mentioned repairs?

other stuff that needs to be changed (but not faulty)

>seat (rewrapped)

> front fork + disc brake(but guy at ah kau says it's not worth it)

> all lights on the bike

3rd party mitsui insurance + LTA fees + transfer fees cost me $420.

if i was a week late, i'd have to bay $150 premium kos of lack of riding exp + 7% GST.

that would add up to $500+

Now for the story.....

Picked tue bike up at vivocity kos that's where my brother parked it.

Went on his newly bought hayabusa.

test drove it in the carpark and all was fine.

but when it was time to leave, the engine died off at the exit barrier.

I kickstarted it but apparently was inexperienced so i loosened/spoiled the kickstarter.

my brother started it by push starting it.

so all was fine and we were heading to the mechanic's shop to repair the kickstarter.

on the expressway, my brother squeezed between a truck n car,

not wanting to lose sight of him as it was already a harrowing experience for me,

i too squeezed & avoided the truck,

but as i got past, i suddendly saw my brother's bike a few feet in front of me...

i jammed the front brake, narrowly missing his yoshimura exhaust.....

but my bike was still operational..

abit further down the road, the engine on the vespa died off again due to my inexperience & to the best of my brother's effort, he could not get it started.

so we left the bike on the AYE flyover heading towards changi airport & went to the mechanic to ask him to help us pick it up.

Luckily i didn't piss in my pants at any time during the ordeal....

So hopefully, i can pick the bike up tommorrow & practice on the back roads ard my area without too much traffic...

scary to go on the expressway!!!

-= Unsure of what to get=-

well, not to dampen your mood...

but you might not get back your bike tmr if you are rewiring (not to mention respray). For most of the classic vespas, our front brakes sux, so its usually the rear brake, i'd say 70% rear brake (more for some ppl). And its drum brake, so if you keep braking and braking, it might overheat, thus less effective.

it's quite different from what you learn in school. But you'll get used to it. Just... stay safe.

Cost of all that.... i estimate about 500-700 (inclusive of your paintjob, 2k paint that is), depends on what else you might end up changing when you're at the shop. cos might be some other problem.

btw, it might be a faulty spark plug, thats why cannot start the bike.

my 2cents worth =)

Oh, not doing the paintjob & rewiring.....

n not spark plug, just the kickstarter..

kos when i first kick started it, it was able to start...

i think it was my incorrect technique used to kickstart......

asked mechanic to fix left rear signal llight n kickstarter only...

speedo n the other thing maybe another time...

no cash to fix so many things at one time...

i think paint would be the last thing i do

Originally posted by reddy@Dec 27 2006, 03:48 PM

get a bridgestone hoop for the front and battlaxx for the back. great combi i find.\

hmm..i find using hoop infront is good..but my rear is molas 28..sticky tire when the weather is normal..but sucky when wet...:smile:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

not the lever spoil..

i think it was loose or something....

not really sure..tommorrow i go ask the mechanic.

go repair at soon motor at eunos there...

kos my brother used to service the vespa over there, so they should know it....

n they got quite a few nice ones too

hopefully, kos I only have $200 n some spare change till the mid of january...

Most important thing is that the engine runs well....

Roughly how much 2T is needed for a PX200?

what's the capacity for a full tank?

I think i'll get it back by tonight, so pictures all around...

maybe you guys can help with some ideas for changing too...:thumb:

Quite a story cephelix!

Sounds like your new ride needs some tlc....

I'm not surprised that the mechanic said it wasn't worth changing to front disc... Just because they say this doesn't mean its true... I'll give you an example... When I bought my scoot (with disc) the mech said... don't use the front brake too much... just use the rear... Sorry to say, but this is Bull!

You mentioned yourself how scary braking was with the hopeless front brake you have.... having a front disk makes the vespa at least 5 times safer... I can stop with confidence every time.... Also, locking up the rear brake is soooo much easier than locking up the front... think about it, when you brake, all the weight goes forward, and thus off the rear, making it light and thus prone to skidding... I went down by locking the rear brake... bloody scary... now I do my braking like we were taught in school, 70% front 30% rear....

Does your PX have autolube (is there a separate oil tank?) If there is, get the mech to check its working and then just fill the tank with 1 litre of fully synthetic 2T oil. If it's premic (no oil tank) then mix 2%, no more!

Don't mess around with cheap oil.... you can buy good fully synth at Ah Boy for under 14 dollars a bottle (bargain), got mine for 12.50 I think.

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

hi again,

sharpey....

how much is shipping from the US?

thinking of ordering the motor mounts, rear shock to frame mounts & rear spring...

with current exchange rate, total cost w/o shipping n labour is S$174.

how much is labour aniways?

to others, it would help if you guys knew too....

thanx sharpey...maybe that's what i'll change once i have the cash...

no separate tank for the 2T.

what's the tank capacity?...

i really need to get a manual...

does anyone know where to get it?

possible to get an autolube installed?

oh, and the mechanic said it would cost 200+ to change fork & front brake.

ok price?

wow!!! your bro's got a Haya....sweet bike....

wanted to get that before buying my blackbird but could not find a good one that is within my budget that time....watever.....

seems like you have quite a been of work to do....like Sharpey mentioned she needs some TLC....

dont rush into doing up your scoots first....since you are still unfamiliar with riding a vespa...have a little "run-in" time for you to adapt to your new "squeeze"....

do only those parts that is neccesary for it to be running smoothly....(paint work and accessories would be last)....

for the disk brakes, i can't really help you on the pricing as my is the 3-legged ones but if the brakes are not doing it's "job", better get it changed asap....

As for the kickstarter, i did change once previously but it is due to wear to the "teeth" that grip onto the engine....pls note that there are a few kinds of kickstarter for different models hence do ensure that the bikeshop change the correct one....

you should get back the original one for PX cos it is much better to kickstarting...

i think the tank capacity is about 5Litre....do some search on the net and you might get the manaul online (i got a sprint manaul online...heehee...anyone wants, let me know...i send it to you...)

yup....planning to ride it slow n steady..

just unnerved when i was on the expressway yest...

and yes, accessories n paint would be the last to be installed....

but must install new side mirror kos there's only one (the right side) on the bike.

haahahha..

you also got one mirror?

wondering if TP will catch.......

hopefully not...season parking also dont have..

does the HDB place at chai chee open on a saturday morning?

machine_k.....i am with you on the "NO MIRROR" thingy....hahahahha...

used to ride my scoots without any mirrors....was wondering whether i should put mirror.....

cephelix, TP will catch on this if there is no mirror....so gotta be careful....

i think the town council do open on sat....half day....not sure whether chai chee hdb council is open or not....(err.....11yrs of riding and i didnt even buy one season parking....hahahahaha....but i did kena some fines though.... :nono: )

Hello to all friends out there,

I am currently looking for Nice number plate (preferbly starting with 'A'). Wonder if anyone of you here selling or know of people selling theirs ?

I maybe contacted at Hp: 91797978. Serious buyer here.

Thanks for reading.

Regards.

Speeding is the No.1 ROAD KILLER...... U may kill the road......

ahahahaha....

wondering if i should just keep 1 mirror..

no need to buy another one....

really trying to scrape by to fix any internal problems that is present or might happen *touch wood*

how's you scoot coming along??

possible to fix autolube on the bike?

ya, one mirror on to make it road legal. But i have to admit it's troublesome to change to left lane without the mirror, need to check fast and then double confirm before i switch. And my right mirror is near my feet, which makes it hard to check sometimes..

and it's even tougher when there's a traffic jam, its quite hard to switch lane... but you'll get used to it...i think.

just be 1000% alert

ahahaha...well,if it's legal then i won't buy one till i do up the exterior...which if all goes well should be about 3-4 mnths from now...

well, i'm planning to keep to the left most lane mostly.....

taking my bike tommorrow...my bro doesnt trust me riding alone on the vespa..

ahahaha..

thing is i'm more stressed out riding with him kos he squeeze n weave....then i have to keep up....

the mirror i have also abit the no point..

it vibrates quite a bit....

so i'm just looking at abstract shapes.....

n y ur right mirror near ur feet??

hot to make the IU have it's own power supply?

don't bother keeping up with him lah, let him try staying behind with you. if it vibrates a lot, try to dampen the vibrations by sticking some blutac in the gaps, it does help... at least for mine.

i clamp my mirror by the legshield, not on the handle, that's why its quite low.

your IU not connected to your scoot's batt?