• Replies 372

sold my bike to shop with an aftermarket pipe..now someone wants to buy the bike and needs my cert for the pipe..what if i've lost my cert?anyway for the bike shop to get e cert?

Never give the devil a ride..cos he will always want to drive

need your advice, I am about to purchase an NGK exhaust pipe from stranger A.

But stranger A doesn't have any cert to provide to me cause he himself bought the pipe from stanger B.

So what should I do I am lost??

How can I obtain a legal cert and go for inspection with this cert so that ROV or TP won't stop me....?

wanted to buy aftermarket pipe from UK and checked with LTA.

here is their reply.

In order for us to advise you specifically on the after-market exhaust system, we would appreciate it if you could provide us with the following documents (in English) for our evaluation:

a) An application letter requesting for the installation of an after-market exhaust system/silencer (with the type, make/model of the replacement system/silencer and your vehicle registration number);

b) Conformity certificate (e.g. EEC, JMCA or etc) to show that the replacement exhaust system/silencer is suitable to be installed for that particular vehicle make and model and would not adversely affect the safe operation and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle;

c) Exhaust System Catalogue/Technical specification and installation details (including pictures/drawings) of the after-market exhaust system/silencer; and

d) Evidence or test reports from the product manufacturer or LTA/NEA recognised overseas test laboratories to show that the after-market exhaust system had been manufactured and tested (e.g. vehicular emission and noise) according to international recognised standards.

e) Purchase invoice of the after-market exhaust system/silencer.

You may access the web-link below for a list of LTA/NEA overseas recognised test laboratories as shown in Annex A:

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/self_importation_.MainPar.0019.File.tmp/Motorcycle.pdf

Please bring along the above-mentioned documents to the Vehicle Engineering Division of LTA at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701 to submit for change of exhaust system via our Vehicle Inspection & Type Approval System (VITAS). The application form can be obtained from our customer service counter at the Vehicle Engineering Division or can be downloaded from the VITAS website at https://vitas.lta.gov.sg. Please note that an application fee of $50 (excluding GST) is payable.

Thereafter, you are required to produce your vehicle fitted with the replacement exhaust system at any of the LTA-authorised Vehicle Inspection Centre (i.e. STA, JIC or VICOM) for an inspection. The inspection centres will also charge an inspection fee for such a service. Please note that a final approval would be granted upon your vehicle passing the mechanical inspection

We hope that we have addressed your feedback satisfactorily. Should you require further clarification, please do not hesitate to contact my colleague, Mr George at tel: 6553 5170.

We thank you for writing in.Yours sincerely

Hi guys i need ur noble advice. I had make a deal with a seller who sells leo vince exhaust.

The main things are :

1) The seller got the exhaust from another seller

2) The present seller still kept the original cert

3) Present seller and before hand seller does not go for inspection for approval

4) What must i do to make the street legal exhaust to be approved on my bike?

What are the necessary things i must get from the seller beside the exhaust and the original cert

Thank you hope any kind soul can help me coz im new.

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

Hi guys i need ur noble advice. I had make a deal with a seller who sells leo vince exhaust.

The main things are :

1) The seller got the exhaust from another seller

2) The present seller still kept the original cert

3) Present seller and before hand seller does not go for inspection for approval

4) What must i do to make the street legal exhaust to be approved on my bike?

What are the necessary things i must get from the seller beside the exhaust and the original cert

Thank you hope any kind soul can help me coz im new.

Hi there,

What you need is to the transfer for the ownership of the pipe. Once that is done, obviously you need to fix the pipe on your bike. Next you can either the shop to send your bike for inspection or you can 'risk' it and ride yourself to inspection.

1001424_10151882216934136_1446435389_n.jpg

Await the birth.

#singamaxima

Hi there,

What you need is to the transfer for the ownership of the pipe. Once that is done, obviously you need to fix the pipe on your bike. Next you can either the shop to send your bike for inspection or you can 'risk' it and ride yourself to inspection.

Thanx for the info btw these 2 previous sellers never ever go for approval at any lta inspection center:faint:

So it seems that im the first rider to make it approve. What are the necessary documentation shall i bring beside IC, License,Certificate of exhaust, Log card from onemotoring dot com and ????

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

suede.. i presume ur ride is Gilera.

better get the pipe 'legalised'. else if u kena fined, not worth it already.

might as well u use offroad/illegal pipe in the 1st place.

also, the check if all necessary stopper/baffle is required.

check the exhaust packing. if its due replacement, get it done.

loud pipe doesnt mean extra horsepower.

if the pipe ure getting is in a 'bad' state, has been tampered, need repair, etc.

might as well u buy new. :)

'90 DT200RR | '95 Skipper 125 | '94 RXZ 135 | '99 WRE 125 | '80 Super 150 | '99 KTM200EGS

'91 NC30 | '00 GN250EY | '03 YZF-R1 | '00 Y125Z | '04 X-1 | '06 R6

'07 GSX1300R

PC3USB | Ti-Force Sumo | BMC Race | Discacciati | Swage | Venhill | ZG | Motovation | Ariete | Michelin PilotRoad 2 | SPY Alarm

Thanx for the info btw these 2 previous sellers never ever go for approval at any lta inspection center:faint:

So it seems that im the first rider to make it approve. What are the necessary documentation shall i bring beside IC, License,Certificate of exhaust, Log card from onemotoring dot com and ????

I believe you have all that required already bro. Just make sure your road tax and insurance still valid too. :thumb:

1001424_10151882216934136_1446435389_n.jpg

Await the birth.

#singamaxima

RedGixxer688 and the rest who gave me informative good advices thanx ya. Latest update since the 2nd hand exhaust and never went for inspection, i decided to go to GMAX for letter of inspection. After that i brought along all the necessary documents.

1) Invoice of the exhaust

2) Log card

3) Cert booklet of the exhaust

4) Identity card

5) Letter of inspection from GMAX

6) Letter of authorisation from bike owner if u are a sub rider

I went in to the office and see the inspector on duty. He asked for the documents mentioned above and i was like pheewww all in order. Inspector told me to wait outside. So i wait and wait and then the inspector called me from far asked me to come in. To my surprise........the inspector told me that the VAAC number ( i got this number from GMAX stated in the letter of RE: Request LTA inspection for homologated exhaust mufflers) does not have the record of gilera st 200. Only have gilera vxr, gts and few more i forgot already.

The inspector told me to go back where i got this VAAC number and asked me to double check with the person who wrote it. I lan lan go back to GMAX and asked the sales person the vaac number does not have GILERA ST 200 in LTA Database. The sales person was shocked and informed me that usually this VAC number does not give any problem. After she seek help from her colleague thru a phone call she gave me a new VAAC number.

After i get the new VAAC number i went back to the inspection center but i see the time almost 3 pm. Sian saturday inspection center close at 3 pm. I have to wait for monday and go again for inspection.

What a day for me hahahaha touring 1 whole singapore. Btw guys if high mount legal or not? Coz this leo vince exhaust is high mount so im a bit scared that it will not pass the inspection.

Thanx for viewing my stories hahahahaaaaaaaaaaa

How do we check whether the exhaust is inside LTA's list?

My bikeshop told me I need to pay $200 +/- for the entire process. They also said they need to take photos of my exhuasts and bike's VIN number.

I thought all these will be done by the inspection centre?? I think I will do the inspection myself and just pay $78.

So far I have the following documents:

- Homologation Ceritificate as per European Standard 97/24/CE chapter 9 (given by Arrow Special Parts).

- Log card.

- IC.

So by right, what I need more will be:

- Receipt from bikeshop.

- Letter from bikeshop to prove that they installed the exhaust.

Did I miss out anything?

Thanks in advance :)

c26492.jpg
How do we check whether the exhaust is inside LTA's list?

My bikeshop told me I need to pay $200 +/- for the entire process. They also said they need to take photos of my exhuasts and bike's VIN number.

I thought all these will be done by the inspection centre?? I think I will do the inspection myself and just pay $78.

So far I have the following documents:

- Homologation Ceritificate as per European Standard 97/24/CE chapter 9 (given by Arrow Special Parts).

- Log card.

- IC.

So by right, what I need more will be:

- Receipt from bikeshop.

- Letter from bikeshop to prove that they installed the exhaust.

Did I miss out anything?

Thanks in advance :)

which bikeshop wor? i got feeling the bikeshop quoted you the price which include towing of bike to inspection center etc..

in a normal case, you will need the following:

IC

invoice/receipt

exhaust cert from manufacturer

registration card from distro

letter of proper installation

logcard printed from one.motoring

if you are doing a transfer, you need transfer the pipe before going for inspection.

you will need your IC and the previous owner IC. head down to the distro and pay a small fee for transfer. after it is done, get the cert and registration card and go for your inspection.

done!

If transferring of exhaust ownership, i had asked chief inspector at vicom yishun during my approval of exhaust. He mentioned that the transfer of ownership's exhaust procedures are still the same as seem that u have bought a new exhaust, just require an additional letter of authorization from the previous owner indicated that " I (The seller of the exhaust etc etc anything la u want to put ur ic number also can) hereby sell this exhaust to (buyer bla bla bla)" with the price of etc etc etc" something like that la. That's what the chief inspector told me. Correct me if im wrong.

which bikeshop wor? i got feeling the bikeshop quoted you the price which include towing of bike to inspection center etc..

IC

invoice/receipt

if you are doing a transfer, you need transfer the pipe before going for inspection.

you will need your IC and the previous owner IC. head down to the distro and pay a small fee for transfer. after it is done, get the cert and registration card and go for your inspection.

done!

Mmm, not convenient to mention the bike shop's name. But it's very easy to guess. Nobody else sells Triumph. If it's $200 including towing, and inspection fee is $80, then it costs $120 for towing??? Cannot be. And how come they need to take pictures of my exhausts and bike? I thought the inspection center will do it? They told me that they need to send all these pictures to the inspection center and ask them for permission to bring the bike in. Seems like the procedure is different ....... ??

Ok I guess I have everything except:

- Receipt

- Registration card

- Letter of proper installation

I'm not doing transfer. I am the original owner. Thanks for the information!

IC

invoice/receipt

done!

c26492.jpg

oic...u try to call the exhaust agent if they can provide u invoice, cert of the exhaust and letter of installation. I did call GMAX for my leo vince exhaust same case as u but i have the cert only. I go to the agent and had to fork out 50 bucks for the letter of invoice and installation.

Mmm, not convenient to mention the bike shop's name. But it's very easy to guess. Nobody else sells Triumph. If it's $200 including towing, and inspection fee is $80, then it costs $120 for towing??? Cannot be. And how come they need to take pictures of my exhausts and bike? I thought the inspection center will do it? They told me that they need to send all these pictures to the inspection center and ask them for permission to bring the bike in. Seems like the procedure is different ....... ??

- Receipt

- Registration card

yup correct !! thats all i hav for mine inspection as well ..

I Love Bikes ; I Enjoy Driving :dot:

oic...u try to call the exhaust agent if they can provide u invoice, cert of the exhaust and letter of installation. I did call GMAX for my leo vince exhaust same case as u but i have the cert only. I go to the agent and had to fork out 50 bucks for the letter of invoice and installation.

WTH .. $50 for 2 pieces of paper? My friend didn't have to pay a single cent to get all the necessary documents (he bought LeoVince too). I THINK that the agent has no right to charge you for that.

Anyway, even if I have to pay $50, I will only be spending $78 + $50, which is only $128.

yup correct !! thats all i hav for mine inspection as well ..

Thanks for the confirmation :thumb:

c26492.jpg
If transferring of exhaust ownership, i had asked chief inspector at vicom yishun during my approval of exhaust. He mentioned that the transfer of ownership's exhaust procedures are still the same as seem that u have bought a new exhaust, just require an additional letter of authorization from the previous owner indicated that " I (The seller of the exhaust etc etc anything la u want to put ur ic number also can) hereby sell this exhaust to (buyer bla bla bla)" with the price of etc etc etc" something like that la. That's what the chief inspector told me. Correct me if im wrong.

you will need a new certification from the manufacturer which is only available at the distributor.

they will need you to have a letter from a bikeshop stating proper installation of the exhaust too.

- Receipt

- Registration card

you can ride on the road without any issues if you got all the documents with you while on the way to inspection. there's no need to tow the bike at all. as long as LTA database have the exhaust model vs your bike model, your exhaust will pass the inspection.

unless they are taking the chance to send in the exhaust for homologation with LTA as well.

WTH .. $50 for 2 pieces of paper? My friend didn't have to pay a single cent to get all the necessary documents (he bought LeoVince too). I THINK that the agent has no right to charge you for that.

Anyway, even if I have to pay $50, I will only be spending $78 + $50, which is only $128.

there's a ownership transfer fee imposed by each exhaust dealer. however, if you are getting a new exhaust, there will not be any fee imposed. all the fees are in the price of the exhaust already, excluding inspection fee of course.

you can ride on the road without any issues if you got all the documents with you while on the way to inspection. there's no need to tow the bike at all. as long as LTA database have the exhaust model vs your bike model, your exhaust will pass the inspection.

unless they are taking the chance to send in the exhaust for homologation with LTA as well.

Yah boy .. that's what I suspect also. So it means I am the very 1st Street Triple in SG to be installed with this particular exhaust? And I have to bare the cost of homologation myself?

Hmm .. so the next Street Triple that is installed with the same exhaust will only need to pay for inspection fee instead of homologation + inspection? Hence he only needs to pay $78?

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

there's a ownership transfer fee imposed by each exhaust dealer. however, if you are getting a new exhaust, there will not be any fee imposed. all the fees are in the price of the exhaust already, excluding inspection fee of course.

Oh I see ..

c26492.jpg
Yah boy .. that's what I suspect also. So it means I am the very 1st Street Triple in SG to be installed with this particular exhaust? And I have to bare the cost of homologation myself?

technically, it should not be that way. the cost of homologation should be bear by the distributor.

Ya lor something like dat la...:dozed:

Hehehe i knw u are shocked but what to do hahahaha