you need the JMCA or the equivalent certs.. and it may not necessary be approved..

it's a long and tedious process.. having to run up and down to LTA to get it done..

where is the test centre in singapore? If i get a relevant cert for an imported system there it is the same as the JMCA right?

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
  • Replies 372

i guess frm biketech den, its a legal set, confirmed...! so ur sayin if i were to buy tis set im quite safe on the streets...?

you are only safe if it's a street legal set.

where is the test centre in singapore? If i get a relevant cert for an imported system there it is the same as the JMCA right?

is that brand available in SG? if the brand is available in SG, chance are low to get it approved and pass inspection. distributor has to provide you with the necessary in-house documentations before you proceed for inspection.

if it's not, it's a long process to get it certified.

IIRC, LTA only recognise 2 types of certs.. look back a few pages to find out.. 1 of them is JMCA..

"Europe Transportation Ministry certification or the JMCA (for Japan)"

so any exhaust systems that dun originate from europe and japan is illegal? not possible to get LTA to test pollution and sound levels at their own local testing centres? Are they trying to protect the distributors by limiting variety or are they just retardedly anal?

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

FYI, it's the homologation standard worldwide. LTA do not have the facilities to do the in-depth testings..

Hi Everyone.

Just wanna share my experience from my recent exhaust pipe inspection

Recently, I have the luxury of buying a Leo Vince full system for my Wonda Wave X

I had it installed on a monday. Went to Vicom Yishun on a wednesday and was rejected. Reason given was my VACC number was wrong. I called up the my motorshop and was informed that Vicom Sin Ming would be a better choice.

Hence, i went down on the friday to have my exhaust pipe inspected. These are the documents that you would need

1) Invoice from Bike shop that you bought the pipe from

2) I/C

3) G-Max certification (LV's distributor)

4) Exhaust pipe diagram

5) Letter of authorisation (if you are not the owner of the bike and u asked someone else to do it for you)

Note: Alternatively, the bike shop would have given you some documents and will state that these documents are necessary for the inspection of your exhaust pipe.

The whole process took about 1.5 hours (including the downtime of the computer)

Cost of inspection $78.11 (includes 7% GST)

Note: Regarding the VACC number, it seems to be that Vicom Yishun's inspectors does not know what they are doing. :lol:

hey guys, i have a question.

what if i buy a second hand bike from a seller that has a aftermarket exhaust on his bike.

lets say he had already done all the inspection and the pipe is legal under his name. So do i still have to any transfer? like maybe change the pipe owner's name to mine or do another inspection ?

thanks in advance!

NSR 150 SP: 07 April 2009 - 22 January 2010

Yamaha X1R: 03 April 2010 - Present

Hi guys

Just curious i had my leo vince exhaust installed to mygilera st200 on 25th feb and however, i have to wait for my pay for the inspection as now quite broke leh and its almost been a mth. Do u think my exhaust will pass the inspection although its been 1 mth? Thanks.

My Ridezzz:

Gilera ST200

Suzuki DR125SM

Honda XLR200

you have to go for inspection no matter what.

if not you risk a fine from LTA/TP should you be caught, even though it's a legal exhaust..

you have to go for inspection no matter what.

if not you risk a fine from LTA/TP should you be caught, even though it's a legal exhaust..

Thanks bro.. Will get the inspection asap. CHeers.

My Ridezzz:

Gilera ST200

Suzuki DR125SM

Honda XLR200

hey guys, i have a question.

what if i buy a second hand bike from a seller that has a aftermarket exhaust on his bike.

lets say he had already done all the inspection and the pipe is legal under his name. So do i still have to any transfer? like maybe change the pipe owner's name to mine or do another inspection ?

thanks in advance!

any one can answer to my question ?

Hi bro, so long as pipe is nt under ur name, u can be fine for illegal pipe which now is $700? Idk. Anyway, U nid to transfer name which is $25 and inspection $78.11. Which cost lesser than the fine hehe.

Thanks bro.. Will get the inspection asap. CHeers.

YEAH just went for my LV pipe inspection and passed. Finally straight away after pay day ha-ha. The process is very fast n the tester is really a nice fellow. Cheers.

My Ridezzz:

Gilera ST200

Suzuki DR125SM

Honda XLR200

Hi bro, so long as pipe is nt under ur name, u can be fine for illegal pipe which now is $700? Idk. Anyway, U nid to transfer name which is $25 and inspection $78.11. Which cost lesser than the fine hehe.

exhaust legality and ownership are 2 different things.

so far, haven't heard of riders getting fined for pipe not under his/her name.

but we have heard of riders getting fined for illegal exhaust.

ownership transfer cost varies from brand to brand.

exhaust legality and ownership are 2 different things.

so far, haven't heard of riders getting fined for pipe not under his/her name.

but we have heard of riders getting fined for illegal exhaust.

ownership transfer cost varies from brand to brand.

hmmm, so the answer for my question is ??

so i dont need to do any any more inspection since the previous owner have already done it on the bike ? and also i dont need to do the transfer ownership of the pipe to my name ?

if lidat, then i no need to do anything right ?

hmmm, so the answer for my question is ??

so i dont need to do any any more inspection since the previous owner have already done it on the bike ? and also i dont need to do the transfer ownership of the pipe to my name ?

if lidat, then i no need to do anything right ?

for formality purpose, you still need to do a transfer with the dealers.

by the way, are you saying that your current bike already comes with the bike when you bought it?

yea, the bike alr comes with a aftermarket pipe that has the previous owner's name and he had already done the inspection.

so i will just need to do the transfer ownership of the pipe ONLY and need not care about the inspection as it had already been done ? am i right to say that ?

Question: Is there maximum time lapse before going to inspection since the date of installing the new exhaust system? For example if i install my exhaust tomorrow, but only go for inspection next month, any issue?

Guys wan to ask a noob qus, now still got log card meh? what if i dun have? cos if i not wrong log card now all in data form in the net right?

correct me if i wrong, cos next wed i going to fix my LV pipe on my bike liao, so need to know what to do for inspection

Honda NSR SP150- FP 564* Z - Since 26 Sep 07 - 09 june 09

Suzuki GSR 400- FBB 753* K -Since 03/ 06 / 09 - 11/03/11

Yamaha R1 08- FBC 19** T - till 00 Apr 2012

kawasaki Versys 650

Question: Is there maximum time lapse before going to inspection since the date of installing the new exhaust system? For example if i install my exhaust tomorrow, but only go for inspection next month, any issue?

need to go inspection in 24hrs

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1336.snc4/162894_1623499182289_1080760351_31395316_5032535_n.jpg

Sorry if i ride too fast, Im ALWAYS LATE.

yea, the bike alr comes with a aftermarket pipe that has the previous owner's name and he had already done the inspection.

so i will just need to do the transfer ownership of the pipe ONLY and need not care about the inspection as it had already been done ? am i right to say that ?

Since you still need to go do the transfer of ownership at the shop, maybe you can ask the boss? Or the best is call LTA if no one can answer your question accurately. But based on my knowledge, the exhaust is tagged to your BIKE and the OWNER. I will think you still need to go inspection so that LTA website can update their database saying you are the owner.

Once you know the answer, maybe you can post it up here so that we can learn also. :p

Guys wan to ask a noob qus, now still got log card meh? what if i dun have? cos if i not wrong log card now all in data form in the net right?

correct me if i wrong, cos next wed i going to fix my LV pipe on my bike liao, so need to know what to do for inspection

No more physical log card. You can print the log detail at one motoring website. Click >click me. You will need your Singpass ID and password to log in. But it is provided the vehicle is under your name then you can get the details inside.

When you go fixed the pipe, the shop will give you the following,

1) A letter which you need to fill up. This letter is to o give LTA upon inspection. With that letter, LTA will then inspect your bike.

2) There will be some more documents given to you by the shop, bring it all there. These documents will prove your exhaust is conformed to whatever international standard and serial number is in it. A blownup diagram is also included. For LV, it should be in a form of a booklet.

3) Tax invoice. You will also need to produce the invoice to the LTA for prove of purchase. Meaning not stolen.

With all these and pipe installed, just ride to the nearest Vicom or STA for inspection.

need to go inspection in 24hrs

it's a grey area.. there's no specific timeframe to go for inspection, but most will go for the inspection within a week to clear all the paperworks.

2) There will be some more documents given to you by the shop, bring it all there. These documents will prove your exhaust is conformed to whatever international standard and serial number is in it. A blownup diagram is also included. For LV, it should be in a form of a booklet.

the blownup diagram not applicable for every brand.