Thanks bikeagain,

I was been that shop this afternoon, they don't have any nouvo at this moment. I also don't like the shop.

Another shop has a FBA plate nouvo with mileage 45000km, I test ride ok, like the engine. However, don't know whether 45000km for a FBA plate is too much or normal.

so how much was u quoted for this FBA Nouvo? I got my Nouvo at mileage of 35K, FX plate. Mileage very low but when I went servicing, found the interior parts have several cracks or chipped off (exterior ok, interior not so)....but $1.6K only, even the servicing shop say I cannot ask for more:)

All my bikes over the years......

Yamaha TZR125 / Cagiva Blues 125 / Kawasaki Eliminator 400 /

Yamaha TZR 250 / Suzuki Bandit 400 / Yamaha RXK 135 / Suzuki Burgman 250 /

Yamaha Nouvo 115 / Honda Silverwing 400 / Yamaha Fino 115 /

My current bike Fazer FZ6 S2

http://i615.photobucket.com/albums/tt237/Nic73PB/me-1.jpg

• Replies 3k

Hi Tom, Jon here, 45k km for FBA plate considered normal la... That's why I said my FZ plate at 26K km is considered low mah. but most importantly, its the periodic maintenance of the bike. Things like belt, roller, EO, Auto oil, tyres etc.. must change before any problem start to arise...

How much the bike shop quote u? msg/pm me for reference k?

Anyway, I'm truely amazed by mjl's 40km/l FC.... Mine is the most 34km/l...

But i travel at 100-110km/h most of the time due to alot of highway needs..

Nvr try to test whether keeping my speed below 80 can achieve anywhere close anot....

Oh Ya... Hi All, I'm Jon here, this is my 1st post in Nuovo's portal, been riding it since last yr and a ''phantom'' member of this thread.. haha:cheeky:

welcome Jon....hope this Nouvo thread can be more lively.....we can TCSS also, not only about Nouvo:cool:

Hi ppl, Which shop do you go to for your servicing ? Any good ones to recommend ? I'm riding nouvo S for nearly a yr, want to try other shops. Tks!!

Hi racingspirit...which area u looking at? I'd just tried Eng Sin Motors along Choa Chu Kang Ave 1, which is a stone throw awayu from my home......the shop abit old but the ppl very friendly and the price is very reasonable....only accept cash payment, but have a POSB ATM within walking distance.....

If central area, try Hock Kim Leong at Bt Merah Lane,Alexandra Village. The boss is my friend, called "Ah Bee". Very famous shop and good business. from 1 shop, open another opp.....but becoz too far from my home....else, I sure go there.....he always give me freebies for my last few bikes:)

bikeagain, tks for the reply. Cos my current bike shop told me there is some problem with my belting system and i have to change the whole thing which cost a bomb. So i'm thinking of finding another shop to seek a second opinion.

welcome Jon....hope this Nouvo thread can be more lively.....we can TCSS also, not only about Nouvo:cool:

Ha ha, thanks bikeagain, I'll sure pop in this thread more often!

bikeagain, tks for the reply. Cos my current bike shop told me there is some problem with my belting system and i have to change the whole thing which cost a bomb. So i'm thinking of finding another shop to seek a second opinion.

Hey racingspirit, what belting system? basically, Nuovo's a pretty simple belt run bike, things that need regular change (abt 20,000km) is the belt and 5 x roller and maybe the gasket in between the belting cover....

I did these changes before at HKL which bikeagain mention.... Ah bee charge me

Hmmm unless even ur belt sheave need to change.... let us know more k?

Hi racingspirit...which area u looking at? I'd just tried Eng Sin Motors along Choa Chu Kang Ave 1, which is a stone throw awayu from my home......the shop abit old but the ppl very friendly and the price is very reasonable....only accept cash payment, but have a POSB ATM within walking distance.....

If central area, try Hock Kim Leong at Bt Merah Lane,Alexandra Village. The boss is my friend, called "Ah Bee". Very famous shop and good business. from 1 shop, open another opp.....but becoz too far from my home....else, I sure go there.....he always give me freebies for my last few bikes:)

Hi bikeagain, So U know Ah Bee? I used to service my bike and change all the stuffs there despite i stay in woodlands! like their style and service, reasonable price too:)

Until an really really bad encounter earlier this year that involves the boss, his mechanics and my bike....

Dun really want to mention in detail since various names are mentioned, let just say that I'll NVR step foot into that shop again so long as i'm still riding the nuovo. since I was quoted

'' Young man, Buy bike must buy ''in'' one mah.... you buy special one will only suffer alone...'' by ah bee.

I end up got forced into JB to look for help, and it turn up that the problem is diagnosed wrongly and over magnified by H** I spent alittle and got my nuovo running like new! Fast... better FC etc..

But... I still got nth against the shop ah... just sharing that maybe they more suitable to do sportsbike and bigger cc ones...

Hey bro, since i mention no no H** in my previous post liao, can tell me how much u spent for servicing at Eng Sin? want to try out:cheeky: maybe go there change EO, plugs etc..? they got sell helmets? I lazy go Ah Boy to buy things change my own... thanks

Hi jodiater, my belt snap after 4000k mileage. but i just changed it recently. After that, the shop tell me the whole belting system got problem, gotta change the whole thing, which will cost ard $500. They say it is wear & tear and maybe due to my riding style. That is why i want to find another shop to confirm it.

Just curious, how much do you guys pay for the rollers and belt ? Mine's $75, the belt is not from yamaha.

Hi bikeagain and jodiator,

The shop changed new rollers and belt for that FBA Nouvo and quoted me 3.2K (included insuarance, road tax, ownership transfer), free 1 helmet.

See you guys on the road

Hi jodiater, my belt snap after 4000k mileage. but i just changed it recently. After that, the shop tell me the whole belting system got problem, gotta change the whole thing, which will cost ard $500. They say it is wear & tear and maybe due to my riding style. That is why i want to find another shop to confirm it.

Just curious, how much do you guys pay for the rollers and belt ? Mine's $75, the belt is not from yamaha.

Hmm... i change original belt and roller at H** at $95 i think... not sure cost i got do many other things together when i do the servicing.

Yes pls seek a second opinion..... I was once told that my my problem big big got to change the whole carburetor... went to another shop, took out the whole carburettor, check through everything, its in v good condition less a rubber part got hole.... replace the part with original yamaha one.. costing only a small fraction as to change the whole carb...

So..... Its probably abt finding the rite mech and do the rite thing... of course, if u change the whole system, problem solved... but ur wallet will burn....

The shop changed new rollers and belt for that FBA Nouvo and quoted me 3.2K (included insuarance, road tax, ownership transfer), free 1 helmet.

See you guys on the road

tomdo, u bought already?? Ai ya... fated i shall continue in the Nuovo league leh...haha

Mmmm pricing wise... really depends on how much is ur insurance.....

which party and from where...

Else I don't understand why u suddenly change ur budget so much and go for that instead of mine.:cry:

Anyway, do help me bump up my new thread k? I intend to try for another couple of week, if no sale then continue to ride liao.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181328

Enjoy riding on Nuovo:thumb:

word of advise, though its a auto bike, dont whack the throttle all the way during start off, let it be gradual.... else its bad for the bike:angel:

Hey bro, since i mention no no H** in my previous post liao, can tell me how much u spent for servicing at Eng Sin? want to try out:cheeky: maybe go there change EO, plugs etc..? they got sell helmets? I lazy go Ah Boy to buy things change my own... thanks

Hi bro....Eng Sin Motor charges servicing charges base on what u change lor....1 litre engine oil ranges from $7.50 to $22.50.....I changed FUCHS at $12 and add another $5 for a NGK spark plug......

belt will change during next servicing as I don't know when the last owner change (though the bike shop I bought from told me he changed a brand

new one for me...as if:dozed: )....Eng Sin quoted me $80 for change of belt, but dunno roller included or not.....and yes, they do sell helmet but design not much....the shop a bit run down but the ppl there friendly and patient....dun expect to bargain coz they quote cheap in the first place....I did quite a few things with them and not even a dollar discount as he said he never overcharge, which I come to think of it; it's true

have u tried the pasar malam opp Bugis Juction? 1 shop is selling cool and nice helmets and many stickers, decals and nice T-shirts/Polo-Tees and also car accessories.....

btw, Ah Bee is like dat one lah.....just shoot straight from his mouth.....at least much better to badmouth u behind.......last time when I ride a Suzuki Burgman 250cc, he also say this bike very "leng meng" (meaning darkhorse, ulu and not popular)......he still service for me and charge me cheap cheap.....but as I know him personally, his mechanics also treat me well.......during one of the Christmas Season, he even gave me a bikecover and Raincoat(not chepo type, $35 but still cheaper then the current one I'm using:) free....

But as I mostly drive and seldom ride, u ask me to travel from CCK to Alexandra Village to do servicing and have to wait as HKL mostly long queue, I sianz lah.....

See you guys on the road

Sorry, IMHO, $3.2K is rather steep....I'd went to other shops before getting my Nouvo....saw 1 shop quote $2.4K for a FBA Nouvo.....and haven even start to bargain.....

As I dun intend to spend more than $1.5K (machine price only) for a alternative transport, I got this Nouvo lor....though $1.6K but with the freebies and insurance and transfer of ownership so I just buy:)

Hi bro....Eng Sin Motor charges servicing charges base on what u change lor....1 litre engine oil ranges from $7.50 to $22.50.....I changed FUCHS at $12 and add another $5 for a NGK spark plug......

belt will change during next servicing as I don't know when the last owner change (though the bike shop I bought from told me he changed a brand

new one for me...as if:dozed: )....Eng Sin quoted me $80 for change of belt, but dunno roller included or not.....and yes, they do sell helmet but design not much....the shop a bit run down but the ppl there friendly and patient....dun expect to bargain coz they quote cheap in the first place....I did quite a few things with them and not even a dollar discount as he said he never overcharge, which I come to think of it; it's true

have u tried the pasar malam opp Bugis Juction? 1 shop is selling cool and nice helmets and many stickers, decals and nice T-shirts/Polo-Tees and also car accessories.....

btw, Ah Bee is like dat one lah.....just shoot straight from his mouth.....at least much better to badmouth u behind.......last time when I ride a Suzuki Burgman 250cc, he also say this bike very "leng meng" (meaning darkhorse, ulu and not popular)......he still service for me and charge me cheap cheap.....but as I know him personally, his mechanics also treat me well.......during one of the Christmas Season, he even gave me a bikecover and Raincoat(not chepo type, $35 but still cheaper then the current one I'm using:) free....

But as I mostly drive and seldom ride, u ask me to travel from CCK to Alexandra Village to do servicing and have to wait as HKL mostly long queue, I sianz lah.....

Hey bro, thanks for ur info, very helpful:thumb:

Anyway, I agree with u that Ah Bee very frank, so I didn't bear any grudges la... next time if i ride other bikes I'll visit his place again... haha..

EO i normally use the most expensive type... either esso/motul.. cos i think can really feel the effect after oil change and can clock a little more milage then change oil....

If I remember correctly, Eng Sin Motors sell the Motul EO at $15.....but think it's not fully-syntenthic.....fully synthetics price starts from $17.50 (again, if I remember correctly)

Hi Nouvo riders, I will like to share my recent experience. Here it goes,

About 2 weeks ago, my belting snap after 4000k of mileage. Previously, the belt was changed at wing yap(amk) and i was aware that they used aftermarket belts(cheaper). After checking, the mechanic got my belt/rollers replaced for $75. On top of that, i was told the whole belting system needs to be changed. I was quoted $460 excl labour charge.

I chose to question their satement and went to ASP changi to check my bike. The mechanic said there is no need to change the whole thing. He took out some parts, sandpaper some parts and i was charged ~$15 for labour charge.

Still feeling unsure, i went to hong leong yamaha. Guess what, the verdict was that there was nothing wrong with the system, they got the belt changed to the original one. They also told me that the previous belt used in my bike was actually for fino.(specs for fino & nouvo belts are the same, but they have different product code, so...) I spent $46 for the belt, $50 for labour charge(a detailed check was done).

The above is purely a factual narration of what I went through. My agenda is to share with fellow bikers my experience and it is totally up to the reader to decide what can be learnt form this incident.

My Nouvo is back in action. CHEERS !!

Great info racingspirit81, thanks for sharing! Some bikeshops really out to slaughter lambs......

Guess I really gotto go change my belting soon.

Great info racingspirit81, thanks for sharing! Some bikeshops really out to slaughter lambs......

Guess I really gotto go change my belting soon.

Whow, racingspirit81, what a experience for u too... reminds me of my bad experience with my carb too.... W.Y huh? i thought they very reputable for doing cubs... wanted to check it out this wk end one... Now must think twice... sigh.. U almost thought of selling away ur bike cheap when u hear the 460 repair rite?? haha..

Anyway, bikeagain, really thanks for ur info, find one day i'll sure visit Eng Hin.. Ya, its gd to get ur belt change regularly, some say 12,000km... but I think if not problem/ sound from belt unit, can last 20,000km la. Do change the the roller bearing together. get the original ones... learn from bikeagain.

Anyway, when i change out my original belt at 20,000 km, it didn't even wear much... just enlarged by very little, still usable. so i kept it as spare...

Happy riding ppl'',:thumb:

hi jodiater, u'r right. I nearly sold my bike away, thought of going for spark, lost faith in auto bike. But, who knows, haha. But it could be a case of a genuine mistake for them, its hard to say. I think this kinda incident can possibly happen in any other shops. Most importantly, the rider himself has to be alert and make the informed decisions.

Cheers!!

Wha, a few days no one post liao.... Anyway, I just serviced my bike yesterday at AHM Performance, Spend 27 bucks on EO, plug and GO... quite ex$$. But i really like the workshop! too bad its really too damn far away from my house... at Eunos.

Anyone come across nice bright red helmet or know where to buy? I went Regina and Ah Boy yesterday le but they don't have...

Other shop only got MHR one...

I wana get a new helmet too.....the lousy FOC helmet I got is "Sumo" brand....so new but the catch to the visor flew off while I'm riding......now the visor only attached to 1 side of the helmet....the other side was forcefully atttached by me......no parts replacement....sianz.....

my nouvo sometimes will die off while idling,anyone encounter this problem?

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

izzit becoz timing too low? mine was initially like dat....but tune the timing slightly higher....now ok liao.....

my nouvo got a problem today.....after parking in the rain for 3 hrs, the electric start cannot start after few tries, have to use kick start.........after I stop my nouvo and off the engine, I tried to use the electric starter, 1 time start liao.......guess the electric starter going to up the lorry liao.....