• Replies 1.3k

Originally posted by jinhanz@Sep 17 2006, 01:57 AM

i mean when the buyer have no license. i heard there is something call no rider insurance for people to purchase bikes when they have no license.

er? that i really not sure already... but why will you buy a bike when you still dun have license since you will not be on the road with the bike... :confused:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by kennethy@Sep 16 2006, 02:38 PM

sounds bad, presume you are involved with a car?

think the loading can be up to 200%... but exact amount will be determined by the insurance company...

anyway, can to share the details of the claim?

last time i bump into a car's bumper on the expressway, and kena $4,000... for a silly bumper... i think the workshop must have jacked up the repair cost...

jaywalker. landed her in hospital for 10days for fractures.

i love dividends.

sorry to hear that...

i believe you must be also much disturbed by the incident as the jaywalker...

i hope both your and the jaywalker have recovered both mentally and physically... :goodluck:

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by d0n^@Sep 13 2006, 01:38 PM

i estimate the lowest u need to pay is at least $300+ or $400

can i know which place can i get at that price? cuz i think its kinda reasonable

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/2111/userbar294420zz2.gif

NTUC have online quotations... you may like to give that a try... but for the rest, you may call the the respective company and have a agent to quote you...

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by -aNvo-@Sep 19 2006, 08:55 PM

can i know which place can i get at that price? cuz i think its kinda reasonable

Mitsui or AXA

Originally posted by kennethy@Sep 20 2006, 02:04 AM

NTUC have online quotations... you may like to give that a try... but for the rest, you may call the the respective company and have a agent to quote you...

ntuc online quote is not accurate...the one i got online differs VERY GREATLY from my actual policy by calling them up!i just renewed my insurance last week!

Originally posted by paithorn@Sep 21 2006, 04:49 PM

ntuc online quote is not accurate...the one i got online differs VERY GREATLY from my actual policy by calling them up!i just renewed my insurance last week!

dont say accurate or not accurate...

i couldnt even get the thing to work the previous time i tried to use it

keep kena some error thing even through i've filled up the fields properly

well for me it works fine.

quotation at branch is calculated using the same thing as input for online quotation.

but the online registration did charge me a higher premium, so have i sent in the registration, i gave them a call and they adjusted it to the lower premium i had got from the online quotation. received policy in a few days and subsquently sent in a cheque for payment.

i love dividends.

Originally posted by d0n^@Sep 21 2006, 03:15 AM

Mitsui or AXA

u know of any bikeshops that do them? at that price?

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/2111/userbar294420zz2.gif
Originally posted by onefour02@Sep 22 2006, 07:48 AM

well for me it works fine.

quotation at branch is calculated using the same thing as input for online quotation.

but the online registration did charge me a higher premium, so have i sent in the registration, i gave them a call and they adjusted it to the lower premium i had got from the online quotation. received policy in a few days and subsquently sent in a cheque for payment.

the online one is just a rough guage lah...

you want the confirmed rate have to call individual agency up...

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by -aNvo-@Sep 22 2006, 02:37 PM

believe if you go to the bigger bike shops... they should have more than 1 agency for you to compare with...

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by kennethy@Sep 23 2006, 03:13 AM

the online one is just a rough guage lah...

you want the confirmed rate have to call individual agency up...

don't even understand what that guy talking abt, bro.....

he saays the online works ok for him then say but it charges more online.....so contradictary....mislead ppl who genuinely searchin for info here....

Originally posted by -aNvo-@Sep 22 2006, 02:37 PM

AXA and Mitsui has authorised agents from whom u can purchase motor insurance directly from

the one from AXA is called Anda Insuance located near Sin Ming

the one for Mitsui is near to Sim Lim Tower

try searching for their contact numbers thru their websites

i managed to get quotations thru the phone for both companies

hi guys, if i just got my license, can i buy the insurance first without the bike or can we just buy the bike then after that go buy the insurance? or tog?

Originally posted by flykite@May 3 2006, 09:58 PM

not the one in hong leong, they don't do renewal there. your ins cert shd have wrote the underwriting agency.

go there. bike shop sure eat your $$. your refunded ins should be 100% of unused, will be used to offset your new premium.

(this post is so long ago i dont know if it helps haha)

this one more recent. haha.

The ruling by LTA is like this:

YOU MUST HAVE VALID INSURANCE FOR THAT PARTICULAR MOTORCYLE TO EFFECT A TRANSFER. buyer no insurance = seller cannot transfer

if u are going to transfer the bike to your name, u have to buy new one.

if u are on C.O.I, which imo is not advised, then u can add yourself as sub on the main's ins. ie, no need buy, but must pay admin charge.

oh i got the post on my above questions. so its possible to buy ur own insurance first but provided u state the bike u are going to buy?

hey guys,

does anyone renew insurance at motor tiam?? cause i wanted to renew at a motor tiam plus change second rider name cum renew road tax.. and they told me that they required the second rider's ic n license to photocopy.. cause my fren jus tell them the name, BOD n ic num can liao.. n somemore say cannot renew road tax for me... my road tax n insurance going to exp on this fri..... can anyone help??

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

To cancel sub rider got extra charge? Anyone know of any site to view the list for the insurance prices for different ages that motortiams always show to buyers? Renew insurance at motortiam got extra charge? how much more is the charge? Negligible amount? :giddy:

Thanks..

Originally posted by zell_teo@Sep 27 2006, 07:52 PM

hey guys,

does anyone renew insurance at motor tiam?? cause i wanted to renew at a motor tiam plus change second rider name cum renew road tax.. and they told me that they required the second rider's ic n license to photocopy.. cause my fren jus tell them the name, BOD n ic num can liao.. n somemore say cannot renew road tax for me... my road tax n insurance going to exp on this fri..... can anyone help??

is yr bike still under installment?

which insurance company are u currently with?

after u have renewed yr insurance, u can renew yr road tax at any of the locations stated behind the road tax renewal reminder letter. the locations are all over Spore, so there must be one which is quite near your place. :goodluck:

nxt time try to get things done earlier, dont wait till last min~

Originally posted by compfused@Sep 30 2006, 04:30 PM

To cancel sub rider got extra charge? Anyone know of any site to view the list for the insurance prices for different ages that motortiams always show to buyers? Renew insurance at motortiam got extra charge? how much more is the charge? Negligible amount? :giddy:

Thanks..

if u make the cancellation of the subrider when u r renewing yr insurance, then there shouldnt be any additional charges for the cancellation

if u do the cancellation at any other times, there most probably will be charges (just like when u add new sub rider)

if i were u, i would simply for for the insurance coverage to reach expiry then when go renew that time, ask them to remove the subrider's name. the reasoning behind = why incur additional costs for someone who is not going to ride the bike anymore?

as for insurance renewal premiums, the best we've got will be NTUC's online quotation system or phone quotation system for most of the other companies. the list that u see the motordiam have are not available elsewhere.

i guess different shops have different surcharges for providing insurance renewal service. check with them individually.

Hey thanks don^..Is it okay if I were to go on my own to renew the insurance (Mitsui)? Or is it better to pay it at the motordiam? My bike is still under instalments btw..So cancel sub rider wheninsurance is about to expire no extra charge la?

Originally posted by compfused@Sep 30 2006, 08:33 PM

Hey thanks don^..Is it okay if I were to go on my own to renew the insurance (Mitsui)? Or is it better to pay it at the motordiam? My bike is still under instalments btw..So cancel sub rider wheninsurance is about to expire no extra charge la?

if the bike is still under installments, u MAY need to approach the motordiam to renew yr insurance

my experience from doing renewal with AXA insurance = they asked me for my vehicle logcard

by right there shouldnt be any charges for canceling of sub rider name during insurance renewal. but since u will probably be doing the renewal thru motordiam, i'm not sure if the shop will attempt to chop u or smth

Originally posted by hondawavefan@Oct 1 2006, 12:24 AM

Um guys just want to ask...

Buying a 2nd hand bike from private seller soon payment in cash ah then how do I apply insurance?

go to the insurance company of your choice

try looking for their websites online using search engines

they will provide contact numbers for u to call

btw just a reminder, remember to bring along the required documents when you pay the insurance company a visit

don't go along with both hands empty~