• Replies 7.7k

Finity....wah, loan from friends sia...

those paying installments, how much did you guys pay up front??

wondering if it's possible to change the side view mirrors to a Gilera DNA one n maybe the cowl too...??

n add belly pan...but would the screws holding the pan still come off?

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 3 2006, 01:00 AM

Went to get my bike. Did some chit chat with him, also thinking where Z^^kia bought his bike n frm who. After a while we think u may have bought the bike frm the boss of Universal.

Ahhhh also chat about the free servicing, n David said what he know is onli 3, mayb it just change to 5. So no idea leh. haha

WHERE IS YOUR ROAD TAX ????

hmmm i not sure is it David forget to pass to me or it's not ready for me to take?

Wat happen someone such as tp or those aunties cek my bike n find i no road tax ? will they fine me ?

:help: :cry:

All other shops got their Pulsars from Universal lor since Universal is the sole distributor for Bajaj in S'pore. Dun think there's any parallel importer for Bajaj here.

Insist on the 5 free servicing! I was told abt that (over the fone) only yesterday morning by a guy called Michael (if I remember his name correctly) from Universal's workshop in Bt Merah. Maybe he's the boss. David, hope u're reading this! :cheeky:

The road tax disc will take a few days to be ready. So when I collected my bike, I asked the same question. David told me, if stopped by TP, just tell them I've just bought the bike and so the road tax disc is not ready yet. Just bring along the sales tax invoice as proof.

By the way, dun confuse those aunties who r parking attendants with those who r TPwomen. The former will only book u for parking offences and won't bother abt ur road tax.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by cephelix@Sep 3 2006, 06:36 AM

Finity....wah, loan from friends sia...

those paying installments, how much did you guys pay up front??

wondering if it's possible to change the side view mirrors to a Gilera DNA one n maybe the cowl too...??

n add belly pan...but would the screws holding the pan still come off?

Like I've mentioned in my previous post, if u buy from Universal, the minimum downpayment if $800. Up to u if u wanna pay more.

Bro, y bother abt COSMETIC mods now when u haven't even got ur licence yet, let alone the bike? If u've decided on getting the Pulsar, my advice is now u concentrate on getting ur licence. At the same time, work out ur finances. Not just the cost of purchasing the bike, but also its running and maintenance costs (tho not much). And riding gear/accessories too.

The 1st and foremost mod that u should seriously consider is upgrading the tyres to good ones like Bridgestone or Dunlop. This is for safety, not cosmetic, reasons.

I'm not against cosmetic mods. What I'm trying to say is u've got to set ur priorities right. U know, 1st things 1st.....

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

Bro roadrunner, I already worked my finances out....

I'm gonna save $500 per mnth starting september.More if I can until I get my licence....

Once I do, I'm going to use most if not all of the that cash to pay off the bike. I'll keep a little just in case go anything happen to the bike or for any immediate upgrades that I want to do(performance upgrades first of course).

I'll try to pay at least $100++ per mnth for the bike.

That's why I need quite a large downpayment, kos I don't want to drag the installment over a number of years if I can help it.

Anyways,concentrating on getting licence. But can't do much kos I haven't gotten my pay yet.And with the upcoming IMF, even harder for me to take the lessons.

And doing the cosmetic mods, they just kinda pop into my head....

Not that I constantly think of it. I only thought about the side view mirror n cowl kos I just saw a Gilera DNA zip by me as I was waiting for the bus to go to CDC.

Thanx bro roadrunner, for the advice. And the tyres I know. I wanna do the grounding like you guys did at the DIY sessions but I don't know how to do it or where to get the equipment. Besides that, I don't know any other performance mods. Mind telling me if there are any other mods??

-= Unsure of what to get=-

well today is the 2nd day, experience some problems, 95% should be rider fault[me] haha

ok problems i face:

--- engine stall or die, most time frm gear-1 to gear-2: think is i nvr throttle enough

--- well as for this problem happen onli few hrs bck onli. when at gar-1 trying to change to gear-2 the engine suddenly give out a loud dragging noise, then rpm keep dropping, so change to gear-1 try to throttle again cannot change to gear -2 also cannot, have to stop then try again. worry it can spoil my gear very soon, and its unsafe for me. Lucky for me is i am still using normal road n not expressway else i be hit frm behind. Onli occur 2 times today not sure how to solve it or where the problem really lies. also i am always stopping behind vehicle @ red traffic light n not squeeze myself to the front.

Hope some braders in here can give me a solution so that i can ride more safety :cheeky: TKs

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Bajaj Pulsar 180 -----> 020906

personal riding tip from a newbie to anoder newbie...

dont be nervous when riding, when u tense up it will effect how well u ride.

be alert.. be very alert.

dont ride fast when sleepy.. better dont ride at all.

if u r not confident when taking corners.. take it slow and easy.

be patient.

and abt squeezing between traffic... dont squeeze if u r not confident. be patient and wait in line.

neve follow closely behind lorries or taxi.

and expect the unexpected...

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 3 2006, 07:12 PM

well today is the 2nd day, experience some problems, 95% should be rider fault[me] haha

ok problems i face:

--- engine stall or die, most time frm gear-1 to gear-2: think is i nvr throttle enough

--- well as for this problem happen onli few hrs bck onli. when at gar-1 trying to change to gear-2 the engine suddenly give out a loud dragging noise, then rpm keep dropping, so change to gear-1 try to throttle again cannot change to gear -2 also cannot, have to stop then try again. worry it can spoil my gear very soon, and its unsafe for me. Lucky for me is i am still using normal road n not expressway else i be hit frm behind. Onli occur 2 times today not sure how to solve it or where the problem really lies. also i am always stopping behind vehicle @ red traffic light n not squeeze myself to the front.

Hope some braders in here can give me a solution so that i can ride more safety :cheeky: TKs

Hey Bro, Congrats :cheer: Hope i can join u guys this week .

For ur problem, i think is the "biting Point", remember how u learn in School? they ask u to release ur cluth until the bike move. After u get the "Point", u can ride and change gear smoothly :cheeky:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by cephelix@Sep 3 2006, 04:58 PM

Mind telling me if there are any other mods??

If u wanna know more abt possible mods for the Pulsar, ask Goofrider or waadee. They're mods fanatics! :cheeky:

brader waadee tkd for yr advice, but already learn the hard way ysterday night. Was running-in at my area @ night, thought i was very familiar with my area, but nvr did i expect a new carpark was build. Well was following a van quite closing.

Did saw him/her signal left but no sure why n brake light was on once a while. Thought he goin straight but nvr expect he turning into a carpark which i nvr notice. :giddy: hai had to step in abit harder on my brake, n can feel the bike jerk up :sweat: Luckily no accident. After that then i remember seeing the advise in the street smart thread: nvr follow closly behind a big vehicle that cover yr view ahead.

Ah, about the day i got my bike ... cause 1st day n 1st time on new bike so very nervous. Collected @ 17++h. But left the place with David. Was riding behind the backlane of universal for a while. David saw me quite nervous decided to guild me back to my area[David n i live same area], as he wanted to build up my confident on the road. :sweat: A S4 behind a pulsar all the way frm queenstown to the north area.

:cheeky: Was not a good riding trip cause engine die 4 times. :cheeky:

David also advise about the way i ride ... bad. almost a hazzard on the road.

Also think most driver knows that i am really really a new rider. no1 horn @ me but just overtake me

Ah got a question that may help me in my riding speed.

For the 1st run-in @ 5th gear, wats the rpm u guys go?

For me @ 5 gear was 60 km/h but rpm is @ 5000. Was told by the mechanic @ Universal try not to over 5000 rpm ? So do u all hit above 5000 rpm while run-in for 1st time or @ wat rpm u all go ? So for now i always try to avoid expressway cause my speed very slow, n is like a road hog at the left lane

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Finity,

Re. ur engine stalling, it's just a matter of u getting used to ur new bike's throttle-clutch control. Since it happens to u mostly when changing from 1st to 2nd gear, 2 possible reasons: (1) Like u said, not enough throttle; (2) release clutch too early/fast. For (1), the moment u feel a drop in power when u release the clutch, increase throttle a bit. For (2), just remember u need to throttle 1st b4 u release ur clutch; and the lower the gear, the slower u need to release the clutch.

Re. ur other prob, maybe u didn't engage 2nd gear fully, so ended up in neutral gear instead. Next time this happens again, take a very quick glance at the green neutral indicator to see whether it lights up. If that's the case, simply re-engage the gear lever.

Well i confirm not neutral gear cause i kick dwn 1st try can can power = no, i kick up try again also cannot. so no choice always stop beside the road close engine start all over again.

Wat about yr rpm ? how much u use during run-in ?

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 4 2006, 12:03 PM

Well i confirm not neutral gear cause i kick dwn 1st try can can power = no, i kick up try again also cannot. so no choice always stop beside the road close engine start all over again.

Bro, wats ur plat no har? Cause i Heard now all start with 8... hope i get a Nice numbers :pray:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

:smile: Haha my no. very nice siah, ysterday 4d also come out liao but not in the right order. i nvr buy n lucky nvr buy cause buy also cannot get money as not in order. haha

Yup mine start with 8 n ends with 8 = 8xx8. N just today saw an accident, the car no. plate are so close to mine = 8228. So go make a guess wat my no. is haha i keeping a secret scare later all see me on the road all avoid me haha

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 4 2006, 12:03 PM

For the 1st 1000km, my top speed was 60 km/h at 5000rpm. For next 1000km, my top speed was 75km/h at 6000rpm.

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 4 2006, 01:27 PM

:smile: Haha my no. very nice siah, ysterday 4d also come out liao but not in the right order. i nvr buy n lucky nvr buy cause buy also cannot get money as not in order. haha

Yup mine start with 8 n ends with 8 = 8xx8. N just today saw an accident, the car no. plate are so close to mine = 8228. So go make a guess wat my no. is haha i keeping a secret scare later all see me on the road all avoid me haha

wow, 81*8 ha? :X very nice le... see mine can get 8228 bo cause today register :cheeky:

i've been reading the indian forums these days about bajaj, BAJAAAJJJ IS REALLY GOOD! the best fuel saving bike over wave. highly rated. they take bajajs to the hills, mountains, anywhr nad its hardyyy!

the pulsar 150 is even a better fuel saving bike.

and pulsar 180 has gearbox problems.

i'm alittle overtired. but i just love this bike.. can i try someone's pulsar180? (:

Originally posted by byon@Sep 5 2006, 01:33 AM

and pulsar 180 has gearbox problems.

That was the old model. The new one shifts just fine...

Ride 'em like you stole 'em...

Hey guys, i just notice the rear Brake is a Drum like RXZ ? :sian:

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Sep 5 2006, 09:42 AM

Hey guys, i just notice the rear Brake is a Drum like RXZ ? :sian:

Were u expecting rear disc brakes?

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Sep 5 2006, 11:35 AM

Were u expecting rear disc brakes?

ya lor, Dics is better ma :cheeky:

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Sep 5 2006, 01:31 PM

ya lor, Dics is better ma :cheeky:

Of course disc brakes better mah. But that will also jack up the price of the Pulsar mah. For a commuter bike, rear drum brakes good enough lah.

drum brake need to change anything?

like dics brake need to change pads...

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a125/bearsvaluebaby/fireworks718ROXCfmFBsffgif.gif

2005 - SSDC - Class 2B

2006 - BBDC - Class 2A

2008 - CDC - Class 2

Originally posted by totalpet@Sep 5 2006, 06:46 PM

drum brake need to change anything?

like dics brake need to change pads...

Same, but their Pads are inside, so u cant see from outside :cheeky: