[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

hi bros...bought a FL plate bandit recently.engine is great.was riding version s before this bike.bandit response superb...wanna do up some stuffs.any idea where i can repray my original red frame without bringing down the engine....pls advice....or cal me at 96602358 max....thks

• Replies 8.5k

wow... 1 more bandit.

so how is this ride compared to super4?

as for the frame... i read what the early pioneers did. one of the guy use newspaper and cover up the area then respray himself. if you are those DIY sort of ppl, maybe can give it a try? :cool:

肥仔七åƒå·

wow... 1 more bandit.

as for the frame... i read what the early pioneers did. one of the guy use newspaper and cover up the area then respray himself. if you are those DIY sort of ppl, maybe can give it a try? :cool:

hi bros...bought a FL plate bandit recently.engine is great.was riding version s before this bike.bandit response superb...wanna do up some stuffs.any idea where i can repray my original red frame without bringing down the engine....pls advice....or cal me at 96602358 max....thks

i think, stanco gives a good idea already...

thumbs up, stanco!:box:

1997 - Yamaha RXZ (Jap Model), 1999 - Yamaha TZM150, 2000 - Yamaha RXS115, 2001 - Honda Wave 125S, 2002 - Yamaha 125Z, 2004 - 2011 Yamaha XJR400RR Redbull Theme, 2005 - Spark Z110, 2006 - Kawasaki KRR150, 2009 - Suzuki Bandit 400, 2010 - Suzuki GSXR400R(project cannibalism), 2011 - Suzuki Hayabusa Gen 1 White Motul Theme, 2012 - Suzuki K6 1K & RZ350LC *lead XJR Sgp since 2007 - 2012*

i think, stanco gives a good idea already...

thumbs up, stanco!:box:

that idea not mine lah... :shy:

is one of the earlier guy did that, and i read that so shared it with those who need ma. ;)

肥仔七åƒå·

thks bros....maintaining a contrast frame colour sure the the bandit stand out from most bikes....its a old bike.....u sure can push it hard n still keeps on moving....anyone can recommend a gd spray paint shop....

haha... u can say that again. everytime i stop at traffic light, other bikers sure turn and look 1. some people don't even know/heard of this bike.

as for your respray.... u can try reading these few threads.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=235978

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=164951

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=226131

hope it helps. :cheers:

肥仔七åƒå·

wow... 1 more bandit.

real solid sound system...better than the cb350 use to ride in the 80ies..

i only finding problems to spray my frame at shops.........no time diy....

haha... u can say that again. everytime i stop at traffic light, other bikers sure turn and look 1. some people don't even know/heard of this bike.

as for your respray.... u can try reading these few threads.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=235978

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=164951

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=226131

hope it helps. :cheers:

thks bro ....u really did a lot of research before getting yr bandit LOL....THKS AGAIN

thks bros....maintaining a contrast frame colour sure the the bandit stand out from most bikes....its a old bike.....u sure can push it hard n still keeps on moving....anyone can recommend a gd spray paint shop....

I have an idea that I wanted to try at another time to paint the frame. I had tried a rust-proof paint for other bike parts (Hammerite series), and I find it is a pretty good, hard paint that can be hand-brushed and the paint dries smoothly. The overall drying time is reasonable, too. For DIYs, it is good because we do not need special equipment. Moreover, it is meant to be painted directly over rusted areas and will prevent further rusting. Overall, I think this is a good paint to use for the frame.

The Hammerite paint comes in various colours, from solid (smooth) colours to "hammered-effect" colours and it is available from most DIY shops or paint shops.

If you have time constraints, you can also do "a bit at a time", section by section, over a few weekends. After all, the frame is welded at various joints, and you can plan to paint joint-to-joint so that the paint will seem to be continuous flow when the whole frame is completed.

hmm agree. but not much experiences with bikes... so even if the timing is off, i also dont know what's the effect like.

but still, i am loving my time with this bike. :thumb:

This bike will not be affected by "timing" as in ignition timing because it uses a computerised ignition system. The ECU (or commonly known as CDI) box that is under the rear seat is actually a 8-bit computer processor that runs the mapping for the ignition system. The other component is on the left side engine cover and this is the "sensor". The sensor senses the prevailing engine rpm and sends the signal to the ECU for it to calculate the future ignition timings according to the programmed timing map.

The other areas that affect the smooth running of the engine are the valve clearance and carb synchronisation.

Correct valve clearance is needed to ensure that the valve open at the correct moment so that the each cylinder of the engine will be able to inhale and exhale (intake and exhaust) properly. Wrong clearance can cause the each cylinder engine to "breathe" inefficiently and power output will not be the same for each cylinder. This results in a slightly "rough" engine. In the worst case, the engine does not perform optimally and results in loss of power, etc.

Carb sync is needed to ensure that each of the 4 cylinder receives the same amount of fuel to produce the same amount of power from each cylinder. Otherwise the bike will seem to idle rough.

This bike will not be affected by "timing" as in ignition timing because it uses a computerised ignition system. The ECU (or commonly known as CDI) box that is under the rear seat is actually a 8-bit computer processor that runs the mapping for the ignition system. The other component is on the left side engine cover and this is the "sensor". The sensor senses the prevailing engine rpm and sends the signal to the ECU for it to calculate the future ignition timings according to the programmed timing map.

The other areas that affect the smooth running of the engine are the valve clearance and carb synchronisation.

Correct valve clearance is needed to ensure that the valve open at the correct moment so that the each cylinder of the engine will be able to inhale and exhale (intake and exhaust) properly. Wrong clearance can cause the each cylinder engine to "breathe" inefficiently and power output will not be the same for each cylinder. This results in a slightly "rough" engine. In the worst case, the engine does not perform optimally and results in loss of power, etc.

Carb sync is needed to ensure that each of the 4 cylinder receives the same amount of fuel to produce the same amount of power from each cylinder. Otherwise the bike will seem to idle rough.

very informative... then how often do we need to do the valve clearance and carb sync? and the pricing... if you do know?

肥仔七åƒå·

very informative... then how often do we need to do the valve clearance and carb sync? and the pricing... if you do know?

from hear-say knowledge

valve clearance -- 40K, do once -- this is preventive maintenance

carb sync aka carb tuning aka carb balancing -- as and when u think u cannot tahan the irregular idling lor

for me, i wash carb every year (of cos i dun wash, send to mech), then they standard will have to do it when they fix back ur carb.

------------------------------------------------------------------

anyway, i hope to give u all the pricing Guan Hoe offers, as i am going to wash carb, valve clearance , and fix the timing chain/tensioner clicking sound

and fyi, guan hoe moving to beisde kaki bukit prison , next month

from hear-say knowledge

carb sync aka carb tuning aka carb balancing -- as and when u think u cannot tahan the irregular idling lor

for me, i wash carb every year (of cos i dun wash, send to mech), then they standard will have to do it when they fix back ur carb.

anyway, i hope to give u all the pricing Guan Hoe offers, as i am going to wash carb, valve clearance , and fix the timing chain/tensioner clicking sound

hmm yea i know they moving soon.

anyway do update the pricing when u get it done. interested to know the pricing also. :o

肥仔七åƒå·

I have an idea that I wanted to try at another time to paint the frame. I had tried a rust-proof paint for other bike parts (Hammerite series), and I find it is a pretty good, hard paint that can be hand-brushed and the paint dries smoothly. The overall drying time is reasonable, too. For DIYs, it is good because we do not need special equipment. Moreover, it is meant to be painted directly over rusted areas and will prevent further rusting. Overall, I think this is a good paint to use for the frame.

The Hammerite paint comes in various colours, from solid (smooth) colours to "hammered-effect" colours and it is available from most DIY shops or paint shops.

If you have time constraints, you can also do "a bit at a time", section by section, over a few weekends. After all, the frame is welded at various joints, and you can plan to paint joint-to-joint so that the paint will seem to be continuous flow when the whole frame is completed.

great help bro..thanks for sharing ,appreciate yr advice....will try it soon

from hear-say knowledge

everyone is moving from eunos,... wonder Y

Once A Rider,aLways A RideR

newspaper these few days reports abt motobike accident cases...just saw earlier a bikes riding R1 hit the back of a small toyota car...he was ok...his bike also ok but the car bumper was at the center of the road......riders do keep yr distance n ride safely...

Edited by hadisons

hi bro...help me out here...when i release a bit of the cluth the bike flys...that gd for me.but the problem is my gears are not smooth .feels rough.n at times difficult to get to neutral.i service my bike at planet ah chong.he said need to change cluth plates.i had the same problem when using my honda steed.but when i loosen the cluth the gear was ok but got to release more of the cluth for the bike to move....should i do the same...pls advice..thks

at low rev, the bandit's jerks quite abit, after a certain RPM, the bike goes "SWOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo"

anyway, clutch plate worn out or not, 1 quick test is -- how responsive is ur bike when u open close throttle

uh by the way... when i drag to 8k rpm, can feel a super strong vibration. changing to a heavier balancer will help anot?

and, those chrome part, how do your clean and maintain it ah?

Stanco having fun with your NEW TOY? Currently I'm using meguiars metal polish (Bright green cover and dark purple short bottle)can be found at NTUC hub or DIY Shop. Not cheap ($15-16) but really good result.

Take a look at Ah Pek 12 years old bike at this thread. Its good for aluminium and stainless steel parts not sure good for chorme or not.

And you need to spend some time on each part - will have tired fingers :cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:. After everything is shiny you need a protection coating of oil or clear varnish.

If not rain water will give you white spots all over your shiny parts. Have fun polishing :box::box::box: .

Stanco having fun with your NEW TOY? Currently I'm using meguiars metal polish (Bright green cover and dark purple short bottle)can be found at NTUC hub or DIY Shop. Not cheap ($15-16) but really good result.

Take a look at Ah Pek 12 years old bike at this thread. Its good for aluminium and stainless steel parts not sure good for chorme or not.

And you need to spend some time on each part - will have tired fingers :cheeky::cheeky::cheeky:. After everything is shiny you need a protection coating of oil or clear varnish.

If not rain water will give you white spots all over your shiny parts. Have fun polishing :box::box::box: .

haha yea. loving it man.

sure look like hard work. :S maybe i will wash the bike myself, then every 3-4 months get those professional to clean everything up for me. :lol:

肥仔七åƒå·

i been trying to lay my hands onto this Meguairs Metal Polish without success...:o

at low rev, the bandit's jerks quite abit, after a certain RPM, the bike goes "SWOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo"

anyway, clutch plate worn out or not, 1 quick test is -- how responsive is ur bike when u open close throttle

thst is so true!

from hear-say knowledge

good indepth info here...

that idea not mine lah... :shy:

is one of the earlier guy did that, and i read that so shared it with those who need ma. ;)

still good enuf for me to mention as i read yours!

1997 - Yamaha RXZ (Jap Model), 1999 - Yamaha TZM150, 2000 - Yamaha RXS115, 2001 - Honda Wave 125S, 2002 - Yamaha 125Z, 2004 - 2011 Yamaha XJR400RR Redbull Theme, 2005 - Spark Z110, 2006 - Kawasaki KRR150, 2009 - Suzuki Bandit 400, 2010 - Suzuki GSXR400R(project cannibalism), 2011 - Suzuki Hayabusa Gen 1 White Motul Theme, 2012 - Suzuki K6 1K & RZ350LC *lead XJR Sgp since 2007 - 2012*

the response is....its not holding back...pick up anytime better than my version s

in terms of pick, bandit gives a 'very fast ' feel...

i been trying to lay my hands onto this Meguairs Metal Polish without success...:o

I got my at DIY shop at IMM level 2, around $16+. Some of them got it at AMK NTUC Hub next to AMK MRT around $15+.

Apply the stuff on a spot, rub it in in small circular motion and your polishing cloth will turn black. Continue polish with this black stuff for a while and then wipe clean and you will see the result.

The longer you polish the better the result but make sure you clean all the rust first.