Woopa!! Cbr1000rr Riders

Tashi

• Replies 19.4k

Why? You're already riding the best bike! :cheeky:

Thanks for the link. :thumb:

This remark just earned u the title of chairman of the bladers club....... :angel: Edited by Yongster

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff190/aceboles/Girls%20and%20Bikes/pic31.jpg

Straight roads differentiate the rich and the poor

Corners differentiate the boys and the men

Guys.... Anyone have plans for the coming long weekend?? :D

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

This remark just earned u the title of chairman of the bladers club....... :angel:

LOL, not again.

Actually it'll be a good weekend to meetup.

Anyone interested in a Fri morning breakfast blast in JB since it's a holiday? Just to gauge interest, put your name below. If many are interested, I can organize something. If not, I'll just go with my friend for a ride anyway. Should be back by noon if you want to spend time with wife/kids/family.

Meetup @ GP Esso @ 7:30am on 1 May 2009.

1. Tashi

2. Max

Engine

(power, tractability, response, user-friendliness, vibration)

1. CBR1000RR – 98%

2. ZX-10R – 92%

3. GSX-R – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 78%

Yep, the Honda’s new mill is a gem, specifically its hard-hitting midrange power that a rider can use during each run through the gears. The others put up bigger numbers on the top end, but those extra 4 horsepower (or less) can rarely be accessed. The CBR’s middle-rev grunt is vastly superior to the others in this test, and the CBR handily dusts its contemporaries in any roll-on contests. It’s the only bike in this group to unintentionally wheelie when exiting Auto Club Speedways Turn 6, demonstrating its torque superiority. Its 78.2 lb-ft is not only the highest, more importantly, it also has a huge advantage from 5500 to 8000 rpm and remains the torquiest all the way to 10,000 revs. “This simply makes it the best mill for the street,” says Senior Editor Pete Brissette.

That said, the CBR’s engine isn’t quite perfect. Its low-end response is soft, perhaps due to its exhaust flapper valve that doesn’t open until 4500 revs and is audible when it does. Slow-speed maneuvering such as when lane-splitting can fool with the Ignition Interrupt Control system, which otherwise does a fine job at smoothing throttle transitions in its parameter below 6000 revs. The Idle Air Control Valve in its fuel-injection system eases transitions when opening and closing the throttle, helping make this heady engine astonishingly undemanding.

Transmission/Clutch

(clutch actuation/modulation, shift ease, precision, slipper clutch)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

1. ZX-10R – 94%

3. GSX-R1000 – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 84%

The CBR completes its lofty powertrain marks with the easiest-to-modulate clutch and a snick-snick transmission that makes dialing through the gears a breeze. They’re augmented by Honda’s Ignition Interrupt Control technology that eases drivetrain lash. “The tranny is so slick that, even though I know I moved the lever, I could barely feel each shift,” Brissette gushes. Honda’s first mass-market slipper clutch is nearly as smooth as the class-leading ZX.

In this category, the Kawasaki traded top marks with the CBR among our cadre of testers. This is the best gearbox yet offered on a ZX-10R, with light, precise shifts and the best back-torque-limiting clutch in the biz. The Suzuki received no specific complaints from our crew, but it received no special kudos, either. Bringing up the rear is the Yamaha. Its clutch engages only at the end of its travel, it’s hampered by a tall first gear, and its slipper clutch engages more harshly that the others here.

Again, Alex appreciated the more-compact ergos of the CBR, likening it to the Gixxer's fit. Guess it's a good thing we brought along a sensible woman.

Handling

(quickness, feedback, stability, confidence)

1. CBR1000RR – 96%

2. YZF-R1 – 90%

2. GSX-R1000 – 90%

4. ZX-10R – 88%

The CBR wowed us again in this important category, boasting the seemingly incongruous qualities of agility and stability. With the steepest rake (23.3 degrees), the least trail (96mm) and the shortest wheelbase (55.4 inches), it’s no surprise that the CBR dices up corners most like a 600. But such geometry can be a recipe for a head-shaking beast. The RR gets away with it thanks to its electronic steering stabilizer that increases damping force in relation to velocity, gear selection and throttle position. It provides stability at butt-puckering speeds while allowing for swift direction changes at more modest rates of travel. It only becomes slightly detrimental at high speeds, such as AC Speedway’s Turn 1 chicane at about 125 mph, where its restricted damping makes steering more laborious. Honda continues its intense quest for mass centralization, eschewing the old underseat muffler for one that exits under the engine. The CBR’s ace in the hole is a fueled-up weight about 25 pounds less than its competitors (and 17 lbs fewer than last year).

“Straight away, the CBR instills you with confidence, allowing you to just get on with riding as quick as your ability will allow,” raved Brit-boy Kelly.

The R1 and GSX-R got to their identical scores in slightly different ways. The GSX-R geometry is only incrementally looser than the CBR’s in all three measurements, so the Suzi also does a good job at unraveling twisty roads. “Direction changes are fast and clean,” says Buchanan, “with the bike tackling corner entrances and turns with a kind of hyper finesse.” Its steering damper also adjusts electronically but it’s not as sophisticated as the excellent Honda unit. Regardless, the Suzuki’s handling is very composed. “It has good front-end feedback,” Pete suggests. “It holds a line very well, and the chassis isn’t ever upset by hack riding or mid-corner sloppiness.”

Despite its long feeling and moderate steering geometry, the R1 is endowed with quick steering qualities thanks to a wide, flat handlebar position. But its best attribute is its secure feeling when banked into a turn, allied by a steering damper that gets clamped down hard only during headshake scenarios. “The Yamaha has a beautiful temperament when it comes to handling,” comments Buchanan. “It’s like a Ducati, with very graceful manners – stable and smooth.”

The ZX-10R tailed the pack only slightly. Kawi’s new chassis has gone the opposite direction from Honda, now with a surprisingly lazy 25.5-degree rake and a generous 110mm of trail; its 55.7-inch wheelbase is identical to the Gixxer and R1. This would indicate sluggish handling, but that’s not the case. “Corner entry is excellent, and mid-corner it was super stable,” enthuses Kelly, our strongest proponent of the Ninja. Revised chassis rigidity results in confident transitions, and I was particularly impressed with the feedback from the ZX’s front end on the track. Others, like Pete, weren’t as confident with the Ninja, although he did allow that it is dramatically better than the previous model. The green meanie proved to be a bit finicky to set up. Headshake while accelerating over Turn 10 at ACS was dialed out by ace wrench Joey Lombardo via the addition of a 6mm shim to the rear shock and adjusting damper settings; the shim was removed to revert to the stock ride height for our street testing, and we wonder if the ZX would’ve scored higher if we left it in. The Ohlins steering damper uses Kawi-specific settings, which are softer than a typical race damper.

rgonomics/Comfort

(overall layout)

1. CBR1000RR – 92%

2. GSX-R1000 – 90%

3. ZX-10R – 84%

3. YZF-R1 – 84%

The scores in this category were all over the map and were dependant on the size of the rider, as was the comfort of the seat pads. Overall, the Honda was judged to be best ergonomic compromise with its small, easy-to-handle size, a 1.2-inch narrower midsection than previous and a relatively comfortable handlebar position and seat height. The Gixxer has a similar ergo package and gets bonus points for having adjustable footpeg positions, but not everyone liked the swept-back position of its clip-ons.

The R1 and ZX lie at opposed ends of the spectrum. Even though the Ninja’s 32.7-inch seat height is the tallest of the bunch, it has a cramped seat-to-peg distance similar to the CBR, so taller riders like the six-foot Buchanan preferred the roomier layout of the R1. “Its cockpit and pegs are laid out in such a way that my knees were least affected. This translated into less pain, more endurance, and therefore, faster laps on the track. For me, few things can replace comfort.”

Although Jeffers appreciated the longer reach to the bars and pegs rear-set further than the others, our shorter testers found it least comfortable. Pick your poison. None of these machines offer much in the way of wind protection, but the Gixxer is the best in this regard. Rearward images through the mirrors are only adequate, with no bike offering a clear advantage.

We wish more literbikes would follow Honda's lead in the exhaust department. This design keeps the look clean and lowers the C of G.

Suspension

(control, comfort, ease of adjustments)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

2. ZX-10R – 92%

2. GSX-R1000 – 92%

4. YZF-R1 – 90%

Modern literbike suspension is so good that there was little to differentiate the bikes from another, and the suspension quality depends so much on their set-ups. The Honda gets the nod here for its benign baseline that feels buttoned down without being harsh. A few clicks out on its compression damping made is relatively supply on the street, and its ramped preload adjuster on the shock makes for quick adjustments. It doesn’t seem to suffer from its lack of separate high- and low-speed compression damping adjustments as seen on some of the others.

The Gixxer and ZX tied in this category. The Ninja’s suspension was deemed to be suppler while being well controlled, but it was more finicky with its setup. The GSX-R, conversely, was very composed no matter the riding environment. Both have DLC coatings on their fork tubes for a minimum of stiction, so they react readily to small bumps. Both also have a locking-ring-type shock preload adjuster that complicate setting the correct amount of sag. Conversely, the R1 has a ramped preload adjuster (like the CBR) that can quickly be fiddled with on the roadside.

A drawback on the ZX-10R for Jeff, who stands 6 feet, was the tight seat-to-peg relation. Even Pete and Kevin, both shorter than Jeff by at least one fathom, felt the Ninja would be a good candidate for adjustable rearsets.

Though it has funky mirrors and signals, it still turns like a champ.

Fit and Finish

(how well is it put together, etc)

1. CBR1000RR – 98%

2. YZF-R1 – 88%

3. ZX-10R – 82%

3. GSX-R1000 – 82%

Another clear victory for the CBR. Honda has turned out a package that looks more expensive than its rivals. Notable details include the Honda badge inset into the fuel tank cover, the embossed CBR1000RR logo on the fairing’s side panels, and attractive mirrors that incorporate turnsignals and subtle LED running lights. But no matter where you look, the Honda’s detail work is second to none.

Some of our testers believe the R1 is beginning to look a little dated, but there’s no questioning its excellent fit and finish, as is typical of recent Yamahas. Some of the ZX’s details are exemplary, such as its black-anodized foot controls, but others, like the bulky and plastic hugger fender, look cheap. The Gixxer’s detailing is satisfactory, but its finish quality doesn’t match the high standards set by Honda and Yamaha.

Appearance

(self explanatory)

1. CBR1000RR – 90%

2. YZF-R1 – 86%

3. GSX-R1000 – 84%

4. ZX-10R – 80%

Being a purely subjective category, your mileage may vary, but we have a diverse bunch of opinions that result from long looks over the bikes from every possible perspective, so they count for something. The CBR again scored highest, with a compact stature that shows its dim relation to a MotoGP bike. “The Honda is extremely clean and tidy,” Buchanan relates. He adds that he likes the snout of the under-slung exhaust, but not all our testers were on board with his opinion of the controversially styled exhaust. Some of us also weren’t too keen on the CBR’s headlight treatment, preferring the mask-like design of the previous iteration. The maroon/silver two-tone scheme of our RR might not be its most attractive outfit, although Pete dug it.

Second-place marks for the R1 demonstrates the enduring nature of its relatively old design – it still looks sharp. Although its underseat titanium mufflers might be a little passé these days, they look cool (even though cool is the last thing on your mind when they’re cooking your butt in summertime traffic). The Gixxer drew mixed scores, with some lamenting a too-familiar appearance, especially in Suzuki’s traditional blue/white color scheme. Pete wasn’t alone in comments about his distaste for the looks of the dual exhaust canisters. Not that many preferred the Kawi muffler’s kitschy angular megaphone design, nor its oddball turnsignals set into the mirror stalks. Buchanan and others liked its menacing countenance, while others complained about the cross-eyed look of its close-set headlights.

Cool Factor

(desirability, poser value, extra features)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

2. ZX-10R – 88%

3. GSX-R1000 – 86%

4. YZF-R1 – 84%

To our crew’s collective eyes, the CBR1000RR comes off as something special, and it’s a feeling that’s reinforced by riding it. And with more acronyms than the NY stock exchange (HESD, IIC, IACV, etc.), it comes loaded with special features. The distinctive yet funky Ninja and the racy Gixxer fought over second place. The 10R’s KIMS was deemed a more worthy feature than the GSX-R’s S-DMS. The Yamaha is no doubt cool, but it doesn’t offer any special features the others don’t.

Grin Factor

(how big a smile it puts on your face)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

1. GSX-R1000 – 94%

3. ZX-10R – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 76%

Another subjective category, but few things are as important as this one. In fact, we wouldn’t blame you for deciding on a bike based solely on this criterion. The Honda stands out for its stonkin’ midrange power and its middleweight-like handling. The Gixxer’s mega motor, its visceral intake snort and composed chassis made us smile. “There's something about the way the GSX-R makes its power that endows it with a rawness that gives the bike character and is fun in that way,” says our boy Petey.

The ZX-10R makes our lips turn up for its pure bad-assedness. Meanwhile, the poor R1 gets backmarker scores because of its relative lack of accessible torque, a tall first gear and an exhaust system that creates rump roast. Our shorter testers weren’t fond of its stretched-out ergos.

The Final Tally

First Place

Honda CBR1000RR

class 2b- 100805 Wave 125,LC 125,X1 110,CG125 (Yamaha and Honda)

class 2a- 050906 CBR Hurricane 400 (Honda)

class 3- 170707 Kia Rio (KIA)

class 2- 121007 CBR1000RR 04 (Honda)

310808- CBR1000RR 08 (Honda)

241208- Proton savvy (First Car)

290610- Aprillia Rsv4R(First Italian Bike)

301210- DRZ (First Suzuki Bike)

280811-Hayabusa Gen2

100413- ZX1400 Gen2

we have the best

280811-Hayabusa Gen2

100413- ZX1400 Gen2

we have the best

Each bike has its own pro and con. As long you like your bike, it will be the best for you.

Anyway side track abit, yesterday was having kopi at railway mall and happen to see a blue '09 R1 cruised by. The sound is simply amazing. I believed that guy changed to an aftermarket exhaust, most likely it the akra cause I heard a blue '09 R1 was fitted with akra.

where u get dis data frm anyway?

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

LOL, not again.

Anyone interested in a Fri morning breakfast blast in JB since it's a holiday? Just to gauge interest, put your name below. If many are interested, I can organize something. If not, I'll just go with my friend for a ride anyway. Should be back by noon if you want to spend time with wife/kids/family.

1. Tashi

2. Max

Ill be there around 8.30am plus.. but will be driving in instead..

gg to kulai.. sofitel palm golf resort. :cheers:

"Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward. How much you can take, and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done. Now, if you know what you're worth, then go out and get what you're worth. But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain't where you are because of him, or her, or anybody. Cowards do that!"

Each bike has its own pro and con. As long you like your bike, it will be the best for you.

Anyway side track abit, yesterday was having kopi at railway mall and happen to see a blue '09 R1 cruised by. The sound is simply amazing. I believed that guy changed to an aftermarket exhaust, most likely it the akra cause I heard a blue '09 R1 was fitted with akra.

If your female fren didn't lend u her bike to test ride, you should have chased after this bike and test ride......... :D

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

any way the stats above are for the 08 models the 09 models have yet 2 lock horns

280811-Hayabusa Gen2

100413- ZX1400 Gen2

dunno what is wrong... HONDA CBR1000RR 08 disappoint me by it's durability of plastic and rubber!!!

my right mirror casing lose

my fender mud guard number plate light got a crack open

my air intake rubber guard near the chassie always drop out

the below where i remove the servo motor cable because i change exhaust, the plastic never provide full seal!

both seat has also got abit of wear n tear.

very unbecoming of HONDA!!! SIAN!!!

i think it can't take top speed too much. all the part lost and drop 1 by 1... lol!!! imagine ride until the rear wheel drop =(

vrooooom, another round, never slow down

Knock'em down in .01 seconds

Let's leave our mark here and disappear to the next group

The loser's left crawling on the ground in a cloud of dust

The wannabes are all talk, They just get in the way so let's ignore'em

We takes off, beyond the street

Only den they'll know!

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/9288/04vs082gb4.png

Guys.... Anyone have plans for the coming long weekend?? :D

GOT.....!!! working lor.

DenverDino, come and see the real thing in action. The below pic was taken on the last breakfast blast.

WOW...Favourite design. So is this bike with ABS or NON?

LOL, not again.

1. Tashi

2. Max

Why everytime miss you outing one...sian. But Tashi...i notice you like to meet in the very morning leh. U must be like the SUN so much. hahaha....

dunno what is wrong... HONDA CBR1000RR 08 disappoint me by it's durability of plastic and rubber!!!

i think it can't take top speed too much. all the part lost and drop 1 by 1... lol!!! imagine ride until the rear wheel drop =(

Daifeimao...refer all you problems to Boon Seiw lah. Claim any few items as you can mah. :angel:

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

LOL, not again.

1. Tashi

2. Max

Bro, your timing is too early man. Hardly have a chance to wake up late. Think I'll miss this trip as well. Afternoon also have a lunch appointment. Afraid maybe too rush.

my right mirror casing lose

my fender mud guard number plate light got a crack open

my air intake rubber guard near the chassie always drop out

the below where i remove the servo motor cable because i change exhaust, the plastic never provide full seal!

both seat has also got abit of wear n tear.

Take note of the rubber guard. I lost mine as well but it due to the improper fitting of the aftermarket fairing. Cost me $20+ for one stupid rubber plus lead time. Now I dun put the guard at all.

By the way, u did the air duct flapper mod as well? If you did it, that means you should have removed the diaphragm as well. If you did that, it will leave a hole in the air duct. So when you go fast, air will gush through the hole and force rubber guard to fly off. Simple fix, just put back the diaphragm. The when u put back the rubber guard, spray the 3M sprayed on adhesive on the rubber groove so it will stick to the plastic.

You should have seen how a elastic cord can rubbed my subframe until got a concave surface. :dozed:

Yeah, it's a pain to get up early, but once up, the feeling is fantastic, cool fresh air. when I ride up North, I get up around 5am. You get to see the sun rise while riding, and pass through thick fog. I think this time round may cancel the ride, driving away with gf.

painful weekend....

bike move off less than 10m die off...

fuel pump failed to start.

checked almost everything, end up towed to shop.

discovered a yellow socket case burnt, changed the entire bike wiring...

painful...

Engine

(power, tractability, response, user-friendliness, vibration)

1. CBR1000RR – 98%

2. ZX-10R – 92%

3. GSX-R – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 78%

Yep, the Honda’s new mill is a gem, specifically its hard-hitting midrange power that a rider can use during each run through the gears. The others put up bigger numbers on the top end, but those extra 4 horsepower (or less) can rarely be accessed. The CBR’s middle-rev grunt is vastly superior to the others in this test, and the CBR handily dusts its contemporaries in any roll-on contests. It’s the only bike in this group to unintentionally wheelie when exiting Auto Club Speedways Turn 6, demonstrating its torque superiority. Its 78.2 lb-ft is not only the highest, more importantly, it also has a huge advantage from 5500 to 8000 rpm and remains the torquiest all the way to 10,000 revs. “This simply makes it the best mill for the street,” says Senior Editor Pete Brissette.

That said, the CBR’s engine isn’t quite perfect. Its low-end response is soft, perhaps due to its exhaust flapper valve that doesn’t open until 4500 revs and is audible when it does. Slow-speed maneuvering such as when lane-splitting can fool with the Ignition Interrupt Control system, which otherwise does a fine job at smoothing throttle transitions in its parameter below 6000 revs. The Idle Air Control Valve in its fuel-injection system eases transitions when opening and closing the throttle, helping make this heady engine astonishingly undemanding.

Transmission/Clutch

(clutch actuation/modulation, shift ease, precision, slipper clutch)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

1. ZX-10R – 94%

3. GSX-R1000 – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 84%

The CBR completes its lofty powertrain marks with the easiest-to-modulate clutch and a snick-snick transmission that makes dialing through the gears a breeze. They’re augmented by Honda’s Ignition Interrupt Control technology that eases drivetrain lash. “The tranny is so slick that, even though I know I moved the lever, I could barely feel each shift,” Brissette gushes. Honda’s first mass-market slipper clutch is nearly as smooth as the class-leading ZX.

In this category, the Kawasaki traded top marks with the CBR among our cadre of testers. This is the best gearbox yet offered on a ZX-10R, with light, precise shifts and the best back-torque-limiting clutch in the biz. The Suzuki received no specific complaints from our crew, but it received no special kudos, either. Bringing up the rear is the Yamaha. Its clutch engages only at the end of its travel, it’s hampered by a tall first gear, and its slipper clutch engages more harshly that the others here.

Handling

(quickness, feedback, stability, confidence)

1. CBR1000RR – 96%

2. YZF-R1 – 90%

2. GSX-R1000 – 90%

4. ZX-10R – 88%

The CBR wowed us again in this important category, boasting the seemingly incongruous qualities of agility and stability. With the steepest rake (23.3 degrees), the least trail (96mm) and the shortest wheelbase (55.4 inches), it’s no surprise that the CBR dices up corners most like a 600. But such geometry can be a recipe for a head-shaking beast. The RR gets away with it thanks to its electronic steering stabilizer that increases damping force in relation to velocity, gear selection and throttle position. It provides stability at butt-puckering speeds while allowing for swift direction changes at more modest rates of travel. It only becomes slightly detrimental at high speeds, such as AC Speedway’s Turn 1 chicane at about 125 mph, where its restricted damping makes steering more laborious. Honda continues its intense quest for mass centralization, eschewing the old underseat muffler for one that exits under the engine. The CBR’s ace in the hole is a fueled-up weight about 25 pounds less than its competitors (and 17 lbs fewer than last year).

“Straight away, the CBR instills you with confidence, allowing you to just get on with riding as quick as your ability will allow,” raved Brit-boy Kelly.

The R1 and GSX-R got to their identical scores in slightly different ways. The GSX-R geometry is only incrementally looser than the CBR’s in all three measurements, so the Suzi also does a good job at unraveling twisty roads. “Direction changes are fast and clean,” says Buchanan, “with the bike tackling corner entrances and turns with a kind of hyper finesse.” Its steering damper also adjusts electronically but it’s not as sophisticated as the excellent Honda unit. Regardless, the Suzuki’s handling is very composed. “It has good front-end feedback,” Pete suggests. “It holds a line very well, and the chassis isn’t ever upset by hack riding or mid-corner sloppiness.”

Despite its long feeling and moderate steering geometry, the R1 is endowed with quick steering qualities thanks to a wide, flat handlebar position. But its best attribute is its secure feeling when banked into a turn, allied by a steering damper that gets clamped down hard only during headshake scenarios. “The Yamaha has a beautiful temperament when it comes to handling,” comments Buchanan. “It’s like a Ducati, with very graceful manners – stable and smooth.”

The ZX-10R tailed the pack only slightly. Kawi’s new chassis has gone the opposite direction from Honda, now with a surprisingly lazy 25.5-degree rake and a generous 110mm of trail; its 55.7-inch wheelbase is identical to the Gixxer and R1. This would indicate sluggish handling, but that’s not the case. “Corner entry is excellent, and mid-corner it was super stable,” enthuses Kelly, our strongest proponent of the Ninja. Revised chassis rigidity results in confident transitions, and I was particularly impressed with the feedback from the ZX’s front end on the track. Others, like Pete, weren’t as confident with the Ninja, although he did allow that it is dramatically better than the previous model. The green meanie proved to be a bit finicky to set up. Headshake while accelerating over Turn 10 at ACS was dialed out by ace wrench Joey Lombardo via the addition of a 6mm shim to the rear shock and adjusting damper settings; the shim was removed to revert to the stock ride height for our street testing, and we wonder if the ZX would’ve scored higher if we left it in. The Ohlins steering damper uses Kawi-specific settings, which are softer than a typical race damper.

rgonomics/Comfort

(overall layout)

1. CBR1000RR – 92%

2. GSX-R1000 – 90%

3. ZX-10R – 84%

3. YZF-R1 – 84%

The scores in this category were all over the map and were dependant on the size of the rider, as was the comfort of the seat pads. Overall, the Honda was judged to be best ergonomic compromise with its small, easy-to-handle size, a 1.2-inch narrower midsection than previous and a relatively comfortable handlebar position and seat height. The Gixxer has a similar ergo package and gets bonus points for having adjustable footpeg positions, but not everyone liked the swept-back position of its clip-ons.

The R1 and ZX lie at opposed ends of the spectrum. Even though the Ninja’s 32.7-inch seat height is the tallest of the bunch, it has a cramped seat-to-peg distance similar to the CBR, so taller riders like the six-foot Buchanan preferred the roomier layout of the R1. “Its cockpit and pegs are laid out in such a way that my knees were least affected. This translated into less pain, more endurance, and therefore, faster laps on the track. For me, few things can replace comfort.”

Although Jeffers appreciated the longer reach to the bars and pegs rear-set further than the others, our shorter testers found it least comfortable. Pick your poison. None of these machines offer much in the way of wind protection, but the Gixxer is the best in this regard. Rearward images through the mirrors are only adequate, with no bike offering a clear advantage.

Suspension

(control, comfort, ease of adjustments)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

2. ZX-10R – 92%

2. GSX-R1000 – 92%

4. YZF-R1 – 90%

Modern literbike suspension is so good that there was little to differentiate the bikes from another, and the suspension quality depends so much on their set-ups. The Honda gets the nod here for its benign baseline that feels buttoned down without being harsh. A few clicks out on its compression damping made is relatively supply on the street, and its ramped preload adjuster on the shock makes for quick adjustments. It doesn’t seem to suffer from its lack of separate high- and low-speed compression damping adjustments as seen on some of the others.

The Gixxer and ZX tied in this category. The Ninja’s suspension was deemed to be suppler while being well controlled, but it was more finicky with its setup. The GSX-R, conversely, was very composed no matter the riding environment. Both have DLC coatings on their fork tubes for a minimum of stiction, so they react readily to small bumps. Both also have a locking-ring-type shock preload adjuster that complicate setting the correct amount of sag. Conversely, the R1 has a ramped preload adjuster (like the CBR) that can quickly be fiddled with on the roadside.

Fit and Finish

(how well is it put together, etc)

1. CBR1000RR – 98%

2. YZF-R1 – 88%

3. ZX-10R – 82%

3. GSX-R1000 – 82%

Another clear victory for the CBR. Honda has turned out a package that looks more expensive than its rivals. Notable details include the Honda badge inset into the fuel tank cover, the embossed CBR1000RR logo on the fairing’s side panels, and attractive mirrors that incorporate turnsignals and subtle LED running lights. But no matter where you look, the Honda’s detail work is second to none.

Some of our testers believe the R1 is beginning to look a little dated, but there’s no questioning its excellent fit and finish, as is typical of recent Yamahas. Some of the ZX’s details are exemplary, such as its black-anodized foot controls, but others, like the bulky and plastic hugger fender, look cheap. The Gixxer’s detailing is satisfactory, but its finish quality doesn’t match the high standards set by Honda and Yamaha.

Appearance

(self explanatory)

1. CBR1000RR – 90%

2. YZF-R1 – 86%

3. GSX-R1000 – 84%

4. ZX-10R – 80%

Being a purely subjective category, your mileage may vary, but we have a diverse bunch of opinions that result from long looks over the bikes from every possible perspective, so they count for something. The CBR again scored highest, with a compact stature that shows its dim relation to a MotoGP bike. “The Honda is extremely clean and tidy,” Buchanan relates. He adds that he likes the snout of the under-slung exhaust, but not all our testers were on board with his opinion of the controversially styled exhaust. Some of us also weren’t too keen on the CBR’s headlight treatment, preferring the mask-like design of the previous iteration. The maroon/silver two-tone scheme of our RR might not be its most attractive outfit, although Pete dug it.

Second-place marks for the R1 demonstrates the enduring nature of its relatively old design – it still looks sharp. Although its underseat titanium mufflers might be a little passé these days, they look cool (even though cool is the last thing on your mind when they’re cooking your butt in summertime traffic). The Gixxer drew mixed scores, with some lamenting a too-familiar appearance, especially in Suzuki’s traditional blue/white color scheme. Pete wasn’t alone in comments about his distaste for the looks of the dual exhaust canisters. Not that many preferred the Kawi muffler’s kitschy angular megaphone design, nor its oddball turnsignals set into the mirror stalks. Buchanan and others liked its menacing countenance, while others complained about the cross-eyed look of its close-set headlights.

Cool Factor

(desirability, poser value, extra features)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

2. ZX-10R – 88%

3. GSX-R1000 – 86%

4. YZF-R1 – 84%

To our crew’s collective eyes, the CBR1000RR comes off as something special, and it’s a feeling that’s reinforced by riding it. And with more acronyms than the NY stock exchange (HESD, IIC, IACV, etc.), it comes loaded with special features. The distinctive yet funky Ninja and the racy Gixxer fought over second place. The 10R’s KIMS was deemed a more worthy feature than the GSX-R’s S-DMS. The Yamaha is no doubt cool, but it doesn’t offer any special features the others don’t.

Grin Factor

(how big a smile it puts on your face)

1. CBR1000RR – 94%

1. GSX-R1000 – 94%

3. ZX-10R – 90%

4. YZF-R1 – 76%

Another subjective category, but few things are as important as this one. In fact, we wouldn’t blame you for deciding on a bike based solely on this criterion. The Honda stands out for its stonkin’ midrange power and its middleweight-like handling. The Gixxer’s mega motor, its visceral intake snort and composed chassis made us smile. “There's something about the way the GSX-R makes its power that endows it with a rawness that gives the bike character and is fun in that way,” says our boy Petey.

The ZX-10R makes our lips turn up for its pure bad-assedness. Meanwhile, the poor R1 gets backmarker scores because of its relative lack of accessible torque, a tall first gear and an exhaust system that creates rump roast. Our shorter testers weren’t fond of its stretched-out ergos.

The Final Tally

First Place

Honda CBR1000RR

Awesome!!!!

LIFE IS YOURS... DO WHAT YOU DO BEST!

Now riding - GILERA ST200

Take note of the rubber guard. I lost mine as well but it due to the improper fitting of the aftermarket fairing. Cost me $20+ for one stupid rubber plus lead time. Now I dun put the guard at all.

By the way, u did the air duct flapper mod as well? If you did it, that means you should have removed the diaphragm as well. If you did that, it will leave a hole in the air duct. So when you go fast, air will gush through the hole and force rubber guard to fly off. Simple fix, just put back the diaphragm. The when u put back the rubber guard, spray the 3M sprayed on adhesive on the rubber groove so it will stick to the plastic.

You should have seen how a elastic cord can rubbed my subframe until got a concave surface. :dozed:

:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:

thanks for the info!!! SIAN!!! 08 Definitely has some problem...

vrooooom, another round, never slow down

Knock'em down in .01 seconds

Let's leave our mark here and disappear to the next group

The loser's left crawling on the ground in a cloud of dust

The wannabes are all talk, They just get in the way so let's ignore'em

We takes off, beyond the street

Only den they'll know!

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/9288/04vs082gb4.png

the 08 has disappointed me my 04 was more trust worthy less the coil prob

280811-Hayabusa Gen2

100413- ZX1400 Gen2