traffic police vs LTA(ROV)

won3

who u do not like to see onthe road?  

432 members have voted

1. 1. who u do not like to see onthe road?

• Replies 152

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/81/71/1151718/22898043848835l.jpg

never give chance.

how i wished i were one of them, with ppl pleading with me and still can aim my nose sky-wards. :slapforehead:

poor thing work such a job sure get cursed.

bike all stock and ride safely no need to bother abt them one de~

Originally posted by StingRhea@Feb 22 2006, 02:26 AM

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/81/71/1151718/22898043848835l.jpg

never give chance.

how i wished i were one of them, with ppl pleading with me and still can aim my nose sky-wards. :slapforehead:

poor thing work such a job sure get cursed.

bike all stock and ride safely no need to bother abt them one de~

i agree with u... :thumb:

None of the above. I have done nothing wrong and my bikes are legal. Why should I be afraid of them?

On the contary, I truly dislike meeting racer wannabes who are always rushing to get reincarnated.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Guest ViciousKitty74
Originally posted by ulysses_sc@Feb 22 2006, 08:48 AM

None of the above. I have done nothing wrong and my bikes are legal. Why should I be afraid of them?

On the contary, I truly dislike meeting racer wannabes who are always rushing to get reincarnated.

Same here.

Was riding up Benjamin Sheares Bridge last Tues evening and had to overtake a TP on the curve up on his left.

That fella was very nice to even move slightly to the right to give me more space.

TPs must be on the road to provide road safety. One example will be: there are traffic accidents almost everyday. Imagine a serious accident scene at peak hour w/o Tps or 999 at all? With all the confused/kaypo vehicles , i dun think ambulance can reach the scene in a short time. W/o them at scene, there might even be more accidents happen near the scene.

ROVs to deter/summon illegal mods vehicles, which poses danger to road users. There is always a reason why LTA/ROVs say cannot mod this or tat. just an simple example, Imagine a motorised bicycle, modded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 60km/hr......will the bicycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? This exactly applies to motorcycles and cars as well.

Think about it..... actually they have helped us everyday, just that u want to know it or not??? SG road will be chaos w/o them.

My Iron Horses

1997 - 2001 : Mountain Bike (No brand one)

2001 - 2002 : Datsun Nissan Sunny (1984 model)

2002 - 2003 : Toyota Starlet GT (My fav)

2003 - 2005 : Honda Varadero 125

2005 - 2006 : BMW R1150GS

2006 - 2007 : TA200

2007 - 2009 : FZ6S

2009 - ???? : FJR

in terms on whu is more lenient, its the TP.

how do i koe? i was being escorted to sin ming my this ROV, headlight bulb blown halfway while he was escorting me, and he just added it to the LTA charity fund~ :faint:

ROV have the privellige (sp) to escort you back to LTA for inspection on the slightest detail.

at least TP will still give chance

avoid ROV at all costs ... even thou your bike is fully original, unless u got plenty of time to spare

ROV...

TP not much cos i'm no longer using tinted visor..

But den, some ROV are quite nice ppl..Especially ROV 1 last time when i pua wif him on a summon..He gave me a choice to choose one of the offence..$70 for using a wrong no plate BG colour or $30 without mirrors and so i choose the cheaper offence and he really gave me that...

Originally posted by unknown@Feb 25 2006, 02:07 AM

ROVs to deter/summon illegal mods vehicles, which poses danger to road users. There is always a reason why LTA/ROVs say cannot mod this or tat. just an simple example, Imagine a motorised bicycle, modded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 60km/hr......will the bicycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? This exactly applies to motorcycles and cars as well.

how come i always see those cars or bikes from other countries wif mod . their super noisy ,dirty ,wif exhaust hole so big that u can do fisting .and i dun see any of them had any problems wif ROV . does this mean that SG modding is not safe but other countries modding is safe .

just an simple example, Imagine a singapore motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? the answer is NO

just an simple example, Imagine a othercountry motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? the answer is YES

cos i see them wif all the homemade mod and dun see any of them have any problems wif ROVs . . .

mmm..

this thread asking don like which,

TP or ROV...

aCtually both are same..

TP officer are loan to LTA, then the offiers are called ROV officer lo..

actually ROV are TP la, jus tat ROV at least a station inspector...

if not only got 1 Senior staff sergeant.

tat y u c ROV on, all lao jiao mah..

10/2002-10/2003 -- Aprilia Extreme 125

02/2004-03/2005 -- Italjet Dragster 180

01/2005-08/2006 -- Suzuki Srad 600

03/2006-10/2006 -- Yamaha DT200WR

10/2006-02/2007 -- Honda XR 400

03/2007-12/2007 -- Nissan Skyline GTT 2.5A

06/2008-02/2009 -- Suzuki RMX 250

02/2009-10/2009 -- Yamaha Dragstar Custom 400

06/2010-01/2011 -- Harley Davidson 883R

03/2011-05/2011 -- Husqvarna 510

Originally posted by wolfang@Mar 5 2006, 08:27 PM

mmm..

this thread asking don like which,

TP or ROV...

aCtually both are same..

TP officer are loan to LTA, then the offiers are called ROV officer lo..

actually ROV are TP la, jus tat ROV at least a station inspector...

if not only got 1 Senior staff sergeant.

tat y u c ROV on, all lao jiao mah..

not true..

ROV are mostly police officers on loan to LTA. They are not from TP. Mostly from division and other specialised and staff units. The reason why they take from police officers are the need for some police powers in the operational of ROV duties.

ROV used to be a unit by itself, Registra of Vehicles before it was 'merged' with LTA. ROV officers not consist of only station inspectors. There are a lot of sergeants and staff sergeants on the road.

TP and ROV are totally 2 different group of uniform officers. TP are from police force. On top of concentrating on the Road Traffic Act, they also have the power of normal police officers as the likes of division.

ROV ONLY concentrates on the engineering side of the vehicles. That includes modding of vehicles. As they are part of LTA, they concern more of legislation to do with LTA. From road tax to vehicle engineering.

TP has other duties though. They focus on road behaviour of road users. From stationary offences to moving offences. In the event that they stop you for these offence, any offence committed within ROV purview might be referred to LTA. They can hold your vehicle to be inspected by LTA side. On top of that, TP has other primary duties like attending to accidents, controlling flow of traffic, bla bla bla....long list...

In short, they are 2 TOTALLY different units. In 2002, TP and ROV nearly merged but eventually was called off. The reason why ROV is still ROV is mostly because of history and some major events that happen along the way and it stayed that way. 2 different organisation managed by 2 different ministries.

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Originally posted by 168km/h@Mar 5 2006, 03:39 PM

how come i always see those cars or bikes from other countries wif mod . their super noisy ,dirty ,wif exhaust hole so big that u can do fisting .and i dun see any of them had any problems wif ROV . does this mean that SG modding is not safe but other countries modding is safe .

just an simple example, Imagine a singapore motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? the answer is NO

just an simple example, Imagine a othercountry motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision??? the answer is YES

cos i see them wif all the homemade mod and dun see any of them have any problems wif ROVs . . .

So

1) Suck thumb and just live by the rules cos u r living in SG..

2) Migrate to their country and mod all u wan..

Who whenever sees a SG mod civic would say it's nice when the noise level produced is louder then the bass of your sound system? Sometimes the manner they drive sometimes are just totally unacceptable. M'sian cars maybe mod but when they are here they drive cautiously and quite rare to see an excessively mod m'sian car. SG has too much HDB flats and is too crowded to approve homemade mod on the road. Think about it, being able to watch TV in peace without any fighter 'jet-cars' zooming is actually a blessing. These are made possible by the roles from the TPs and ROVs. I prefer stock.

Rather not see both on the road.....

TP: will probably stop you if you are speeding or if he is pissed, can summon whatever he deem is right....BS!

ROV: will probably have a lot of time to spare so as to bring you back to Sin Ming to get your bike checked....waste time!!!

1995-1996: Yamaha TZR125

1996-1997: Kawasaki KIPS150

1997-present: Vespa Sprint Veloce

2001-2003: Honda CBR400RL

2005-2005: Honda CB400Vtec2

2005-2007: Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird

2007-2011: Yamaha RXK135

2013-2014: Harley Davidson Nightster

2014-present: Harley Davidson Fatboy

Originally posted by 168km/h@Mar 5 2006, 03:39 PM

just an simple example, Imagine a  singapore motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision???  the answer is NO

just an simple example, Imagine a  othercountry motorcycle moded up to a limit where the bike is capable of going at 300km/hr......will the motorcycle's brake stop the bike in time in an event of a near collision???  the answer is YES

168km/hr

My bicycle example is to explain in layman terms of the rational of LTA restricted monifications, whatever LTA says that u cannot do this or that, all got a reason behind which is derived from the general motoring/non-motoring public's safety.

But i really dun get the point of ur "No/Yes" part of ur 300km/hr bike. But one thing i can say is even u have the fastest car/bike in this world, you'll never have the chance to hit 300km/hr in SGP. Some kind souls pls prove me wrong here???

And u raised up a question as to the aggressive modded malaysian cars in Sg rds, is it legal or not, i do not know, maybe you can help to enlighten us by asking LTA itself.

Without clarification, it can be anything

1) LTA see them closed both eyes as the procedure is very draggy???

Or

2) LTA have no enforcement powers against them???

Or it could also be

3) LTA did enforced actions on them, but just that u didn't see it???

keep us posted yeah, many thks in advance and ride safe!!!

My Iron Horses

Originally posted by jkaiser@Feb 25 2006, 03:22 AM

:offtopic: but unknown i love ur signature pic! damn cool lah..but cannot brake!

Yup, it is indeed rather intriguing......tot of doing the same thing a my neghbourhood big canel ....... lol

My Iron Horses

Originally posted by unknown@Mar 8 2006, 02:10 AM

Yup, it is indeed rather intriguing......tot of doing the same thing a my neghbourhood big canel ....... lol

why don't you try it at Laos....heard u going there..

next year can bring us there already...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Oh Laos, no lah, that one not yet confirm, i too putting my finger cross... (now in the midst of making sure my stallion is in good shape)

My Iron Horses

Not all ROV are so bad either coz in my case i was stopped by this malay ROV during my time when i was riding XR4 w/o a diffuser/silencer.i was sweating like hell oredi coz if he were to summon me then it would be my 2nd offence of modification of exhaust pipe! (my 1st offence cost me SGD500 for an Arrow on my then Aprillia).he juz say wait for letter.and i had many agonising days of waiting..N when d letter did came,dat ROV only summon me for riding w/o a mudflap! PHEW!!! :cheeky: