SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 3 2006, 08:17 PM

Sorry guys cant meet up today cause my scoot broke down again.

Ride halfway suddenly the engine cut off, now totally unable to start, will have to call tow truck to send to TaiHin on monday. I suspect its piston jam. Damm it. :giddy:

no prob man. hope ur scooter's fine.

• Replies 5.6k

Wah S750WP, your bike spoil nvrmd...you ok can liao :cheeky:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

hi all

sori i had to leave early

as had appointment at 2

good to meet u guys

sk1, so how long u gonna be in sing b4 going back to the mountains!

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 3 2006, 08:17 PM

Sorry guys cant meet up today cause my scoot broke down again.

Ride halfway suddenly the engine cut off, now totally unable to start, will have to call tow truck to send to TaiHin on monday. I suspect its piston jam. Damm it. :giddy:

happened to my old skipper once

no compression

had to change block

hope yours not so serious

Today got 8 turn up at KKFC and later Ultimax came too :cheer:

Thanks for turning up everyone! :cheeky:

Good night Skippernet... :sleep:

Be contented and you have the world... be greedy and you'll never be happy.

Originally posted by SK I@Jun 3 2006, 11:24 PM

Wah S750WP, your bike spoil nvrmd...you ok can liao :cheeky:

Thanks, I was riding at a slow speed, suddenly the bike engine just cut off. Luckily no traffic at that time.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by lawrance@Jun 3 2006, 11:52 PM

happened to my old skipper once

no compression

had to change block

hope yours not so serious

I just change the piston on friday at taihin, because the mech say lost compression resulting in no power to start the bike when cold.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

I went to start the bike just now, its able to fire up when cold but engine cut off after a while and cannot start again. Try to adjust the idling higher and tweak the air screw but still unable to start.

Taihin gave me piston which is not original, the gasket is paper type instead of the metal type. The mech says the piston is made of stainless steel. Can someone verify the original piston is aluminium, because I suspect stainless steel has different material characteristic which expands differently when heated up.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

hi all..

i m new to the skipper world...as i just bought from someone...

the bike is now over 10 years...can any1 intro me a shop dat can do overall plain paintwork? and gd price as well...thnx all...

low compression canot even kick start?? thats serious... so how much did u pay for in total?? for me if it is above 500... i will scrap the bike off already... no point... i feel... will get a RXK to ride instead... :p :giddy:

Originally posted by alvinten@Jun 5 2006, 01:22 AM

low compression canot even kick start?? thats serious... so how much did u pay for in total?? for me if it is above 500... i will scrap the bike off already... no point... i feel... will get a RXK to ride instead... :p :giddy:

Kickstart or electric start will take very long to start when cold before Taihin touch my bike. I pay $110 to change the piston and piston ring at Taihin.

But after change piston also cannot start, Taihin mech took my carb out to inspect and make some adjustment to the float and it fire up immediately. Happily I rode home then next day ride half way bike die totally cannot start.

Seems to me its carburetion issue which Wonderful Motor screw up initially, then went to Taihin which wrongly diagnose to lost compression and wasted my $$ to change the piston.

Now my problem is bike able to start up when cold and die when it warm up, thereafter totally cannot start, I believe the piston installed by Taihin is screwed up too.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

good morning guys. actually i have this problem too. was yravelling at 80km/h then the engine cut off. it happened to me twice and whatsmore, i was in the expressway! have not fix this problem so need u guys who can advise. thanks

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=657&pictureid=3810

siaoguy75>> Yours might not be due to loose compression.Maybe due to either clutch slipping or could also be due to a loose spark plug connector. I've experienced it a few times before and found out that these are the causes. :smile:

Also could be that the bike saw u looking at other bikes hence becomes jealous :cheeky: (my bike always does this when i looks at newer bikes)

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

the last time

i changed piston with block for my old skipper

2nd hand one cost me 180

its very dangerous to ride on highway if your bike is not reliable

better just use it for shopping around home :)

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 5 2006, 06:04 AM

Kickstart or electric start will take very long to start when cold before Taihin touch my bike. I pay $110 to change the piston and piston ring at Taihin.

But after change piston also cannot start, Taihin mech took my carb out to inspect and make some adjustment to the float and it fire up immediately. Happily I rode home then next day ride half way bike die totally cannot start.

Seems to me its carburetion issue which Wonderful Motor screw up initially, then went to Taihin which wrongly diagnose to lost compression and wasted my $$ to change the piston.

Now my problem is bike able to start up when cold and die when it warm up, thereafter totally cannot start, I believe the piston installed by Taihin is screwed up too.

seems dat ur bike is kinda bad till even ppl at Wonderful or Taihin also problem fixing up a simple AC 125 typhoon aft so many years of bizz in the trade...was wondering how much did u pay for ur bike at the start..

I hope u do not hav the concept of spending less than $1k to buy a old bike n expect it to perform like new

If u alway feel dat shops hav been wasting ur $$ on them n always wrongly diagnose ur problems y not u diagnose ur problems n tell them wat to do instead to prevent wasting ur $$...anyway for ur info the AC skippers which runs on the same engine dat survive till now usually had been thru a major overhual or 2 maybe u shld consider getting it done on ur scoot to prevent further problems n if u tink dat ur gonna keep it longer...:goodluck:

anyway ur current problem now of able to start ur bike when cold n it dies when itz in operating temp, for me I guess it might be the tuning of ur carb for a start...u may like to fiddle wif ur carb 1st urself n c if itz any help...most cases u might hav a spoil carb which u might consider changing

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

mm.. i got a qs, if the bike 1 day can start, 1 day cannot start, could it be the carb too??

Originally posted by xue@Jun 5 2006, 02:59 PM

mm.. i got a qs, if the bike 1 day can start, 1 day cannot start, could it be the carb too??

Im bikeless now...loan ur bike to me I make sure everyday can start ah :cheer: :cheer: :D

Originally posted by spy622@Jun 5 2006, 11:46 AM

seems dat ur bike is kinda bad till even ppl at Wonderful or Taihin also problem fixing up a simple AC 125 typhoon aft so many years of bizz in the trade...was wondering how much did u pay for ur bike at the start..

I hope u do not hav the concept of spending less than $1k to buy a old bike n expect it to perform like new

If u alway feel dat shops hav been wasting ur $$ on them n always wrongly diagnose ur problems y not u diagnose ur problems n tell them wat to do instead to prevent wasting ur $$...anyway for ur info the AC skippers which runs on the same engine dat survive till now usually had been thru a major overhual or 2 maybe u shld consider getting it done on ur scoot to prevent further problems n if u tink dat ur gonna keep it longer...:goodluck:

anyway ur current problem now of able to start ur bike when cold n it dies when itz in operating temp, for me I guess it might be the tuning of ur carb for a start...u may like to fiddle wif ur carb 1st urself n c if itz any help...most cases u might hav a spoil carb which u might consider changing

Thanks for reply but if you dont know the story from begining, please refrain from posting unnecessary comment

Here goes.

From day 1 since I own this scoot, its running perfectly fine, start up easily and runs smoothly, before I did any servicing at any shop.

The first problem which came up was petrol leaking at the main tank when its filled to the brim. I was lazy to strip the bike to check so I went to WM. The mechanic check and told me the problem is I overfilled the petrol tank that cause the leak, which I did not bother to argue with him. I ask WM to clean my carb because I was paiseh if I did not patronise after asking the mech to check my bike, also my float bowl leaks once a while which I suspect was due to dirt. The mech adjust my air screw setting and fiddle with the float height for no reason. After the carb was put back to my bike, the mech himself have a hard time to starting it. He says its because I pour in 2T in the fuel tank, thats why difficult to start. In fact I have been running premixed since day 1 and there is no problem at all to start the bike. Again I did not argue with him.

The very next day I encounter problem starting the bike when cold, but I managed to get it started by adjusting the idling speed till very high and went to Botak. Botak says the problem is my air screw setting, he adjusted and happily I rode home. The next day the bike totally unable to start no matter how hard I crank. I check through the manual and adjust the air screw setting and idle screw, the bike was able to start up no problem for a week then the problem came back. Meanwhile I also solve the leak at the main fuel tank leak myself patching it up with 'Seal All'.

I experimented to run till the petrol tank almost empty then top it up w/o adding any 2T for a few times, because WM mech says I pour in 2T and cause the problem. However the problem did not go away. I have also change the needle valve myself because I suspect fuel overflow to the engine which cause the bike difficult to start in the cold. However that did not solve the starting problem instead it solve the intermitten petrol leak problem at the float bowl.

Loosing confidence with WM, I went to Taihin. Taihin mech diagnose it was the piston which has lost compression cause the problem. So I go ahead and change it, but the bike still cannot start up after the new piston was change. And the mech took out the carb and adjust the air screw setting and adjust the float tang. And the bike fire up instantly. So you tell me was it the piston or the carburetion issue which WM screw up in the first place??

Happily I rode the bike home, then the next day when I went to work on my scoot, the bike fire up with just 1 click on the starter switch. Halfway reaching my work place the bike stutter and all of a sudden the engine just cut off, I was travelling at abt 60km/h then luckily no traffic was behind me. I tried to start the bike but in vain, I adjust the idle screw and air screw setting still it cannot start. Sunday morning I tried to start the bike again then it fire up and engine stutter and die after warn up. I believe its the piston problem because my bike was running fine before Taihin change the piston except its difficult to start up when cold.

So you tell me issit the shop who screwd up my bike, and now you tell me to solve the problem myself?? WTF???

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Btw this morning I have already towed my bike back to Taihin and feedback the probelm to him. Will see how it goes.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 5 2006, 09:52 PM

Btw this morning I have already towed my bike back to Taihin and feedback the probelm to him. Will see how it goes.

The idea of my post is to suggest u to learn n gain more knowledge on ur bike making troubleshooting urself more possible rather than keep sending ur bike to theshops n let them troubleshoot which ther always might be cases wher mechs wrongly diagnose urproblems causing u to spend extra or unnecessary...seems u had it tow hope it will be back as wat u want it to be...

Not arguing wif the mech over something which I feel itz a wrong diagnose is a no-no for me unless Im prepare to spend extra $$ to give it a try when I hav no other solutions myself..and even when Im gonna spend $$ I make sure it will be spend on something dat will improve on my bike thus by the end of the day when the problem is not solve, at least I can tell myself my $$ is not wasted..

From ur story I can say dat yes ur carburetion had been screwed up..ther is no reason that using premix makes ur bike hard to start when used on the fuel system of a typhoon..Not too sure abt how the next mech came to the conclusion of lost compression but if at the very 1st point u know urself dat ur bike is not loosing compression then u shld not hav proceed with the change.

Nevertheless since u hav spend $$ on a brand new piston, to me at least u hav spend it worthwhile by doing an "upgrade" to ur engine wif a new piston..

Usually aft a new piston change, the engine shld work fine but u choose to believe dat the new piston is giving u problem becoz ur bike runs fine b4 itz change..

So now the question is at this stage ur bike is having a carburetion problem wif a wrongly tune carb or a piston problem wif a new piston :confused:

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 5 2006, 09:52 PM

one thing i am very sure about ur bike is, it really lost its compression. when a bike loses its compression, u kick start it, u will find it very easy to kick it down, however difficult to start.

Please dont blame everything on the bike shop u went to. Ur bike is rather old, therefore many other things may spoil at any one time.

It is not because of the piston when ur bike broke down again. it was the CDI. To add to that, the piston is made of alloy, for ur information.

Before u start blaming the bike shop, please find out the actual reasons and problems ur bike has. :sweat:

Originally posted by spy622@Jun 6 2006, 12:35 AM

The idea of my post is to suggest u to learn n gain more knowledge on ur bike making troubleshooting urself more possible rather than keep sending ur bike to theshops n let them troubleshoot which ther always might be cases wher mechs wrongly diagnose urproblems causing u to spend extra or unnecessary...seems u had it tow hope it will be back as wat u want it to be...

Not arguing wif the mech over something which I feel itz a wrong diagnose is a no-no for me unless Im prepare to spend extra $$ to give it a try when I hav no other solutions myself..and even when Im gonna spend $$ I make sure it will be spend on something dat will improve on my bike thus by the end of the day when the problem is not solve, at least I can tell myself my $$ is not wasted..

From ur story I can say dat yes ur carburetion had been screwed up..ther is no reason that using premix makes ur bike hard to start when used on the fuel system of a typhoon..Not too sure abt how the next mech came to the conclusion of lost compression but if at the very 1st point u know urself dat ur bike is not loosing compression then u shld not hav proceed with the change.

Nevertheless since u hav spend $$ on a brand new piston, to me at least u hav spend it worthwhile by doing an "upgrade" to ur engine wif a new piston..

Usually aft a new piston change, the engine shld work fine but u choose to believe dat the new piston is giving u problem becoz ur bike runs fine b4 itz change..

So now the question is at this stage ur bike is having a carburetion problem wif a wrongly tune carb or a piston problem wif a new piston :confused:

How do you suggest me to gain more knowledge on troubleshooting my bike?? Who was the one who solve the fuel leaking problem on the main fuel tank, me. Who was the one who solve the float bowl leak, me again.

For your info since class 2 bikes onwards I have never send my bike to shop unless necessary. From this forum I surveyed and found these reliable shop, in the end my bike got screwed up by them. I blame myself for being lazy in the first place for not fixing the small little problem myself and leaving it to the shop.

Troubleshooting which I have done myself before sendinf to Taihin include changing new spark plug, check for spark, strip the the carb to make sure things are fixed correctly and changing the float needle valve. Experiment with different air screw setting. I have exhausted all the alternative before seeking help from Taihin.

At this point of time I believe my carburetion issue was solve by Taihin because now the bike start with just one push on the starter button. Now the engine stutter and died when its warm up, however it will fire up when its cold. I suspect the piston maybe the issue because the bike is running fine until the piston change.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by Satgi@Jun 6 2006, 12:36 AM

one thing i am very sure about ur bike is, it really lost its compression. when a bike loses its compression, u kick start it, u will find it very easy to kick it down, however difficult to start.

Please dont blame everything on the bike shop u went to. Ur bike is rather old, therefore many other things may spoil at any one time.

It is not because of the piston when ur bike broke down again. it was the CDI. To add to that, the piston is made of alloy, for ur information.

Before u start blaming the bike shop, please find out the actual reasons and problems ur bike has. :sweat:

Well I really dont know using kick start can check for compression but from what I know from the books, there is a tool called compression gauge. Btw the kick starter since day 1 is already like that, easy to kick down, and it never gave me problem starting the bike hot or cold.

So I trusted your words, because I do know there are 3 things needed in order for a engine to crank over.

1. fuel

2. Spark

3. Compression.

I have check the fuel and the spark they are all present before sending my bike to your shop. And I believe your mech check those too, and you clearly know spark and fuel are present else how I rode abt 20km+ to your shop. Your mech also tested the bike able to start easily when the bike is warm up and very difficult to start when the engine is cold.

My bike is only on the road for 3 years plus, register on the road since 2002, although its manufacture in 1995. Look at the mileage its only 40,000km+. A bike on the road for 3 years plus consider old??

I am skeptical the problem is the CDI because your mech pull off the spark plug cable from the spark plug cap to check for spark the other day. It could be the connections of the spark plug cable and cap gone bad as a result. Please dont change out my CDI first, please trim off the end of the cable and screw in the spark plug and start the bike again.

One thing I find it strange is after the intial engine cut off, the engine able to start again when the engine has cooled down. And I tried it twice starting the engine from cold, but it will stutter and died after idling for abt 3-4 mins. Which lead me to suspect its the piston.

I;m not blaming your shop I'm just sharing with other what I see and experience. I'm open for discussion.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Hi good morning all,

S750WP I hope u dun take wat I come from as "flaming" posts..Im looking at this as a healthy form of discussion in the forum n especially in the scoot forum, such stuff hav not been in discussion for a long time wher many riders already do not hav their own point of view n hardly begs to differ to the ideas from the others...Most newbies hav always been following blindly to things be it gd or bad as along as it more toked abt then it shld be the correct answer.

I have no got the chance to ride on any big CC bikes or touch on any other bikes thus I hav totally no knowledge on V-twins, inline 4, carb syn n efi kinda stuff..ever since my biking life I hav only been on small cc 2strokes n sad to say the only ride dat I started to put my hands on is my Italian scoot for the past 3-4yrs

Italian auto scoots mostly runs on a rather basic technology but still even on the most basic machines it still hav some special stuff dat we cant find on Jap machines...things like how the whole fuel system gets to work is different from normal bikes, how the electrics works are sort of different also...these differences might not be dat good in the earlier days which in the era of the 1st series of auto scoots produce..thus it became common problems which many of us had

Ok enuff of the long story...

Starting the engine from cold, but it will stutter and died after idling for abt 3-4 mins...so the engine starts up n idle for 3-4min then die....if I were to tell u to concentrate the issue on ur carburetion, wat will this reflects to u on ur tuning??:confused:

If u had suspect its the piston, then right now the new piston is losing more compression or retaining too much compression??...n y the bike is able to start up easily being in itz operating temp??:confused:

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Jun 5 2006, 11:19 AM

Also could be that the bike saw u looking at other bikes hence becomes jealous :cheeky: (my bike always does this when i looks at newer bikes)

hahaha.... that's a good one. i will try the spark plug connector first see how... if it's still persist, the clutch slip can be D.I.Y?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=657&pictureid=3810