SBF SkipperNet Cafe 2008

• Replies 5.6k

need some help here......

my skipper die on me while travelling full throttle at about 100km/h, seems like something is burning, found a fuse badly burnt, change the fuse. But the bike still cannot start although can still heard cranking sound.

Is is the magnetic coil burnt? or just the sparkplug foul? piston jam?

Any other solutions???

prolly piston jam ..

cannot start might be spark plug wore off le..

yet again, stil got other possibilities..

Originally posted by lifeless99@Feb 24 2005, 07:19 PM

Anyway wants to exchange Rectifier with my SKIPPER plus cash top-up.

Currently my Skipper is using a Ducati rectifier, 200amp current.

huh?? wats that hah? Skipper Noob here~! :cheeky:

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

Just Got back my Skipper from Taihin! hahaha Cost me a bomb, but its worth it! Now it looks like new! So chiow sia! Thanks alot Jackye!! Dunno if post picture suay or not?? but will post once i take the picture hehehe!

Myusha: West area? Then i dunno lohz! Maybe lioncat or Roll13 know! See whether they reply or not lohz! hehehe

][][ No point waiting.. if you want something, its best to go get it yourself!!! ][][

No wonder! U a SHE ahz! Hmm... :shades: U ask Bro Rol13 ahz! He knows more than me! But u can actually find most sticker at the shop along the Lim Ah Boy row! GIve Bro ROL13 a PM lah or Xue if u not comfertable wif guyz! hehehe....Bro ROL13 no offence ahz! :sweat: I not so good also! still learning! Wonder if bro Rol or the others mind giving a lesson on skipper maintainence hehehe! :sweat:

K thanks.....

for the skipper maintainance

1.) You only need to top up 2t.

2.) Open up ur air filter and wash ur filter every three mths

3.) Change ur spark plug every six mths

4.) Change your belt every 7000Km ~ 10000 km ( depending on quality)

5.) Change ur battery every 6 mths ( I estimate battery last ard that period )

no. 1 i noe...the rest i all dunno :sweat:

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Feb 25 2005, 10:03 PM

huh?? wats that hah? Skipper Noob here~! :cheeky:

if ur skipper got put sound system, then better change the rectifier to a higher amp. If not original rectifier always burn.

one fine day, my lights just wldnt work. low beam and high beam, all bulbs dun work, indicator for lights and high beam on the speedo did not work too.

everything else worked, bike started.

Found out that a fuse had blown, the 10A chip in the glove compartment. changed that. the smaller bulb now works. But the big bulb still doesnt work. Both lights and high beam indicators still dunt light up.

Wat's ur guess guys? i checked the bulb liao, looks ok, but then again ultimax spotted the blown fuse for me... lol

think i shd try changing the main bulb first? where and how much? thinking of just changing the bulb myself first.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-8631.jpg

Originally posted by kilkenny@Mar 7 2005, 08:55 AM

one fine day, my lights just wldnt work. low beam and high beam, all bulbs dun work, indicator for lights and high beam on the speedo did not work too.

everything else worked, bike started.

Found out that a fuse had blown, the 10A chip in the glove compartment. changed that. the smaller bulb now works. But the big bulb still doesnt work. Both lights and high beam indicators still dunt light up.

Wat's ur guess guys? i checked the bulb liao, looks ok, but then again ultimax spotted the blown fuse for me... lol

think i shd try changing the main bulb first? where and how much? thinking of just changing the bulb myself first.

i think ur problem was the same as mine.. when i first get my bike the same thing happened.. i changed my relay, 2 switch and a bulb... everything for 60 bucks at wonderful motor...

Selling Fanciful and Vintage Helmets. Interested pls Pm me!

found out that the "circuit board" below the speedo is damaged, hence the indicators dun light up. sumhow we rearranged the stuff , now the lights work but indicators for lights and high beam dun work. need a new circuitboard... sigh

any idea where and how much? anyone got spare? heh? junkyard to reccomend?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-8631.jpg

Hehehe, been missing for some time, anyway i got my old speedo meter if anybody wants it?? :smile:

And regarding the paint job, i sent mine to taihin for the painting, and they actually send it to a paint shop just near it. The paint work is quite good, but rite now dirty liao cause i got no time to wash it hehehe.... can?? BTW, i just learn that white bulb is no good for skipper... they can burn ur "reflector"..... :sian:

Hey! thats the pic that i draw! U r lucky that i neva use copyrights! lolx! Anyway, wat happened to Myusha's bike?

hello?

Wah so sad, i pity her... i know how it feels when ur bike broke down and you dunno wat to do.... so myusha, have you gone to the workshop to have it looked at? I think its safer that way... my bike also giving a bit of problem liao...

after i got the 2pid bike till now... i have been to work shop lots of time...

ROL13: i noe where is the carburator and stuffs liao.... went to a a motor shop ask.... LOL...

hey guys..i'm new to skippers. actually interested in getting one. juz got a few noob question to ask.

1) so what are the mthly maintainance

2) i saw in the pic by rol13 tt the air filter has a foam tt u wash...so tt's the way to clean the airfilter? and how often u change it? how much? (btw..great pic for beginners)

3) any know prob or bug tt the bike has? (hope it's not like hexagon which most motordiam condemn.)

4) fuel consumption? ($/litre)

5) seat can be opened to store helmet like runner?

thx guys! :smile:

Originally posted by rae07@Mar 22 2005, 09:57 PM

hey guys..i'm new to skippers. actually interested in getting one. juz got a few noob question to ask.

2) i saw in the pic by rol13 tt the air filter has a foam tt u wash...so tt's the way to clean the airfilter? and how often u change it? how much? (btw..great pic for beginners)

3) any know prob or bug tt the bike has? (hope it's not like hexagon which most motordiam condemn.)

Hey, rae07 if you read up this whole thread, you would be abe to find the maintanence procedures esp by bro rol13

1)As stated by rol13

2)Thats my pic, he borrowed one hehehe

3)Sometimes hard to startup, depends on how good the

previous owner jaga the bike

4) so far i top up arnd twice a week at arnd $8. i live in bedok, my workplace is in alexandra

5)yah, can store helmets and also put other stuffs.. hehehe very useful

N lastly, if you do wan to get the bike, go get it! its a useful and economical bike (cost around 1000 at most) but be prepared to fork up a sum for the initial repairs and after that, it should be free and easy..... like my bike :smile:

Originally posted by WhiteOryx@Mar 23 2005, 03:05 PM

Hey, rae07 if you read up this whole thread, you would be abe to find the maintanence procedures esp by bro rol13

hi..i'm sorry but i read thru near half of it i still dun find wat i wanna. :cheeky: basically need help on like mthly maintainance as well as parts change schedule. thx loads!

Originally posted by rae07@Mar 22 2005, 09:57 PM

TO be honest, nothing I think. Wash your bike, that's abt it.

Airfilter's abt $20-25. You only change it if the foam has deteriorated. Otherwise, you just wash it with mama lemon and warm water.

It's made of plastic that doesn't age very well ie. plastic cracks easily especially after years of exposure to tropical weather.

I personally think that your relationship with any bike is heng-suay. If you're lucky, even a bike everyone says is bad will serve you well. If you're suay, even the most reliable of bikes will seemingly break-down on you regularly.

If you don't mind riding a scooter, don't think so much, get a skipper. Best bang for the buck haha.

Depends on how the bike's tuned. Anywhere between 18km/l to 30km/l.

Yes, even a full-face (my HJC symax flip-up)