Only now at 54, I decided to take Class 2B. Enrolled at BBDC.

Thought it will be easy. But isn't. After 20 lessons, still trying to clear the plank/pylon.

Haven't even done emergency stop and S course and crank course.

Feel like giving up already.

Any advice from people learning to ride at this age? (been driving class 3 for 37 years).

• Replies 57

Dear Joe Jess, don't give up I seen other people at your age taking TP with me and pass. I am in my 30s and we have nearing 20 years age difference but trust me, my motor skills sucks if you read my CDC thread.

If we can do it so can you. For me I find it hard in E brake, S course and crank course but with practice you sure can do it.

Plank/pylon just remember to look far. Can't get timing just go fast first then later on then train timing.

Remember be humble and try not to quarrel with instructors. If BBDC can't work out, try out SSDC. I know of someone who can't work out in BBDC go SSDC also first time pass TP.

Dear Joe Jess, don't give up I seen other people at your age taking TP with me and pass. I am in my 30s and we have nearing 20 years age difference but trust me, my motor skills sucks if you read my CDC thread.

If we can do it so can you. For me I find it hard in E brake, S course and crank course but with practice you sure can do it.

Plank/pylon just remember to look far. Can't get timing just go fast first then later on then train timing.

Remember be humble and try not to quarrel with instructors. If BBDC can't work out, try out SSDC. I know of someone who can't work out in BBDC go SSDC also first time pass TP.

Thanks simeone82 for the encouragement.

Yeah I am more fearful of falling. And as you know, that doesn't help. And reflexes are slow. Feels like so many things to coordinate. I was so bad that one of the instructor asked whether I know how to ride a bicycle. Not good for the morale.

I wanted to change centre but then think it all depends on the instructor. I even try to find private lesson. Maybe can concentrate on the issue I am having. But seems like no such thing.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Thanks simeone82 for the encouragement.

Yeah I am more fearful of falling. And as you know, that doesn't help. And reflexes are slow. Feels like so many things to coordinate. I was so bad that one of the instructor asked whether I know how to ride a bicycle. Not good for the morale.

I wanted to change centre but then think it all depends on the instructor. I even try to find private lesson. Maybe can concentrate on the issue I am having. But seems like no such thing.

Hi joe jess.. dont give up! I took 2b a year ago when i was 30. Altogether i took abt 50+ lessons including circuit revision and road revision till qte number of instructors can recognise me. Fell multiple times also... but nw am happily riding for a yr. Definitely worth it :) dont give up!

Thanks tsleo85.

Maybe I should try and fall a few times until i am used to it so I no longer scared of falling. Then maybe I will start to relax. Ha ha.

My friend after 1 year in BBDC, think haven't clear this plank thing. He took a break though.

I was from BBDC back then, I changed to SSDC.

Hi Joe,

Its about the logic and the practise to develop into a muscle memory.

My recommendation for newbies has always been:

If you can spare the day and the cost. Book one training session in the morning. And book another in the afternoon. Have a meal break in between.

Always the morning 1st lesson, you will find that you be more tense, and after a meal, maybe a relax kopi chit chat with the instructors, and the 2nd lesson, your muscles should relax and easier to balance out. Important is your eye. Where you are sighting to move or make a turn.

For most of my training and testings, I actually plug in my earpiece and listening to radio thru my handphone. And my music is not too loud, just preppy enough.

And since you are doing your class2B, when pass, you got a 12 points.

Might as well also take the time and the subsidises, go get yourself a class 4 & 5 licence at the same time.

Hi Joe,

Its about the logic and the practise to develop into a muscle memory.

My recommendation for newbies has always been:

If you can spare the day and the cost. Book one training session in the morning. And book another in the afternoon. Have a meal break in between.

Always the morning 1st lesson, you will find that you be more tense, and after a meal, maybe a relax kopi chit chat with the instructors, and the 2nd lesson, your muscles should relax and easier to balance out. Important is your eye. Where you are sighting to move or make a turn.

For most of my training and testings, I actually plug in my earpiece and listening to radio thru my handphone. And my music is not too loud, just preppy enough.

Thanks for the tip.

I find 1 lesson alr quite tiring. In fact at the end of the class, everything falls apart.

BTW, allowed to listen to music during the test ah?

And since you are doing your class2B, when pass, you got a 12 points.

Might as well also take the time and the subsidises, go get yourself a class 4 & 5 licence at the same time.

Maybe ha ha.

But if things goes well, 2A first. God willing.

Thanks for the tip.

I find 1 lesson alr quite tiring. In fact at the end of the class, everything falls apart.

BTW, allowed to listen to music during the test ah?

LOL, that means you are too tense.

Try for my suggestion lah. You got to go home to shower anyway, why not make it worth your while.

The allowed to listen to music portion is fairly subjective. I somehow or another, managed to be doing that. Probably habits, develop into bad habit that I didn't quit, during the evaluations and tests.

@Joe Jess, dun give up. riding a motorcycle is like knowing how to swim, once you get used to it and you will ride like pro :)

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

@Joe Jess, dun give up. riding a motorcycle is like knowing how to swim, once you get used to it and you will ride like pro :)

I hope so 736cc.

I start noticing riders on the road and they just do without thinking. They don't seem to watch their eye point, look up etc .... They certainly dont grip their fuel tank real tight. But I suppose they must all do. Just that they are so natural.

Only now at 54, I decided to take Class 2B. Enrolled at BBDC.

Thought it will be easy. But isn't. After 20 lessons, still trying to clear the plank/pylon.

Haven't even done emergency stop and S course and crank course.

Feel like giving up already.

Any advice from people learning to ride at this age? (been driving class 3 for 37 years).

never too old bro...keep trying and learn...new things in life

I hope so 736cc.

I start noticing riders on the road and they just do without thinking. They don't seem to watch their eye point, look up etc .... They certainly dont grip their fuel tank real tight. But I suppose they must all do. Just that they are so natural.

I'm sure it's exactly like how you are able to keep your eyes on the road all the time without looking at the dash/steering wheels/pedals etc, while L plate drivers can‘t! It would be really sore if we grip the tank along the whole stretch of PIE wouldnt it :p But i promise you, gripping the tank helps ALOT in the circuit courses especially Plank

Hey Joe

Dont give up. Just keep plugging at it. During my test, there were a few aunties & uncles who either passed 1st or 2nd time round. I even heard of a 65 yr old also successfully getting his 2b!.

There was this 1 auntie who i saw during my L1 days. I also struggled thro my lessons. 36 lessons in total excluding revisions before i could book test. When I was in L3 she was still in L1. When i was doing circuit revision for L5, i saw her wobbling around in L2. Now 1 year later, Im taking 2a circuit revision & i was surprised to see her taking road revision. Talk abt perseverance man!

Basic principle - the bike will follow where your eyes are looking.

So for plank just look ahead. Zoom across the plank a few times if it helps you get used to riding on an elevated surface. After you have youre more familiar with the feeling of riding the plank then start reducing your speed with rear brake play. Easiest way to plank - do a normal start, clutch in after both wheels on the plank & let the bike roll. Reduce speed with rear brake.

Slalom - if you get your 1st dive angle right, the rest will follow nicely. Draw an imaginary line, tying all the cones together. When you ride, dive in at abt 45 deg to that imaginary line.

Yes, things are more difficult for us older learners, but its not impossible. Just more learning time required. The obstacles are difficult to learn at 1st, but once you get it, its actually very easy.

All the best!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Thanks tsleo85.

Maybe I should try and fall a few times until i am used to it so I no longer scared of falling. Then maybe I will start to relax. Ha ha.

Haha! Maybe you will! Just started my 2a and I alr fell a few times. Better to fall in school right? :D

Hey Joe

Dont give up. Just keep plugging at it. During my test, there were a few aunties & uncles who either passed 1st or 2nd time round. I even heard of a 65 yr old also successfully getting his 2b!.

There was this 1 auntie who i saw during my L1 days. I also struggled thro my lessons. 36 lessons in total excluding revisions before i could book test. When I was in L3 she was still in L1. When i was doing circuit revision for L5, i saw her wobbling around in L2. Now 1 year later, Im taking 2a circuit revision & i was surprised to see her taking road revision. Talk abt perseverance man!

Basic principle - the bike will follow where your eyes are looking.

So for plank just look ahead. Zoom across the plank a few times if it helps you get used to riding on an elevated surface. After you have youre more familiar with the feeling of riding the plank then start reducing your speed with rear brake play. Easiest way to plank - do a normal start, clutch in after both wheels on the plank & let the bike roll. Reduce speed with rear brake.

Slalom - if you get your 1st dive angle right, the rest will follow nicely. Draw an imaginary line, tying all the cones together. When you ride, dive in at abt 45 deg to that imaginary line.

Yes, things are more difficult for us older learners, but its not impossible. Just more learning time required. The obstacles are difficult to learn at 1st, but once you get it, its actually very easy.

All the best!

Thanks for the tip and encouragement. I will continue. But will take it easier and try not to rush. I can't wait for the day when it all feels "very easy"

LOL, that means you are too tense.

Try for my suggestion lah. You got to go home to shower anyway, why not make it worth your while.

The allowed to listen to music portion is fairly subjective. I somehow or another, managed to be doing that. Probably habits, develop into bad habit that I didn't quit, during the evaluations and tests.

Haha! Maybe you will! Just started my 2a and I alr fell a few times. Better to fall in school right? :D

2a and season rider still can fall? Take care and all the best.

No matter how seasoned, all riders can fall.

Imagine a big burly man, with an African twin, somehow or another, was stuck at the traffic light and the bike is slowly slowly SLOWLY falling actually.

And he was screaming in his full face helmet and sweating buckets, trying not to drop the bike.

People at the coffee shop where he is falling was just staring at him wondering why a stupid man was standing there on his bike.

And I have several fun time, falling in the circuit during my class 2a and class 2, and was in odd angles lying on the road/kerb and no matter how I wiggle.....wasn't able to get out from under the bike.

Its a mindset. If you discipline yourself to only look up and at directions you want to go, and that your body will automatically tighten around the tank using muscle memory.

It will be easy. Go on. Try it.

Stay focus on the very reason why you wanted to learn to ride a motocycle. At that age, most importantly you MUST enjoy every single moment of your training and have fun interacting with other students or/and instructors. Cheers.

Sent from my SM-J5007 using Tapatalk

http://thumbnails110.imagebam.com/29809/9a690b298083318.jpg

19xx - SUZUKI GTO110, HONDA MBX125, SUZUKI RG250, KAWASAKI EN400, KAWASAKI NINJA400, YAMAHA RD350 (YPVS)

2012-14 - R1

2014-16 - S1000R

2014-PRESENT - EXC525 (2005)

2016-PRESENT - TMAX530 (2016)

WISHLIST - XDIAVEL S

Hi!

It may be a psychological barrier that you are fearful currently!

Relax, try to have no expectations, and don't be too hard on yourself! :)