I went back home from my friends wedding at 2315hrs yesterday (14/06/08) and park as per normal at my multi-storey carpark. Today at 1400hrs, I started the bike, mount on it and move off. When I was at the bottom of the ramp of the MSCP, I turn right and my bike seems to be a little off balance. I braked. But I woulndt response. I look down and my right front callipers was missing!

I rode back to up to where i parked and looked closer. Yes. Only the right callipers has been stolen. The left one remain untouched. Rear callipers still intact too.

I called the police.

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k291/shootmie/project1_signature.jpg
  • Replies 84

Those thieves....! Need to be shot...

Most small bike with one caliper need only the right side....Seldom you will see one caliper left side application...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Can I know how much will be the damage?

calipers + brake pads ($20) + brake fluids = $???

Not cheap in the region of $500 maybe...Why dont you call FJT for quote...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Now a day parking at multi-storey carpark is not safe,I think police should start working more over time and do more walking in multi-storey carpark.

Sometimes these petty theives are those patrolling with white vespas.....why?,they patrol the carpark more than the police does,they even know the timing,the owner parks the bike. Try parking at different locations of the MSCP,make friends with all the motorcycle owners in your MSCP,hopefully can look out for each others "lovely wife or wives"...

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

I went back home from my friends wedding at 2315hrs yesterday (14/06/08) and park as per normal at my multi-storey carpark. Today at 1400hrs, I started the bike, mount on it and move off. When I was at the bottom of the ramp of the MSCP, I turn right and my bike seems to be a little off balance. I braked. But I woulndt response. I look down and my right front callipers was missing!

I rode back to up to where i parked and looked closer. Yes. Only the right callipers has been stolen. The left one remain untouched. Rear callipers still intact too.

I called the police.

Is it opposite the 399 market? hmmm.. must be caution next time when i go find fren there...

That's why I always believe in LUCK! :cheeky:

I called the police.

Some few months ago i rem seeing a thread re: a fellow S4 forumer had both his front brake calipers stolen too.. :pity:

after he get new brake calipers he had his mechanic screw locked the calipers into position from the inside (front wheel had to remove first)..

in this case if any petty thieves wans to steal yr calipers.. they had to remove yr front wheel first... :cool:

Yr calipers still can be stolen la but it seems to be a major deterrence to me.. imo.. unless he eat too full wana spend time removing yr front wheel.. :dot:

so i had mine secured this way too.. hope it helps...

police?? gud to make a report la.. but .. haiz dont expect much i guess... kao ren bu ru kao zhi ji...

Darn di thieves :angry: :angry: :angry:

Bro get a second hand ones... wont be that X :) :) :)

Your bike never install alaram>??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9092/transformeryc8.jpg

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4070/img0143cv.jpg

Some few months ago i rem seeing a thread re: a fellow S4 forumer had both his front brake calipers stolen too.. :pity:

after he get new brake calipers he had his mechanic screw locked the calipers into position from the inside (front wheel had to remove first)..

in this case if any petty thieves wans to steal yr calipers.. they had to remove yr front wheel first... :cool:

Yr calipers still can be stolen la but it seems to be a major deterrence to me.. imo.. unless he eat too full wana spend time removing yr front wheel.. :dot:

so i had mine secured this way too.. hope it helps...

police?? gud to make a report la.. but .. haiz dont expect much i guess... kao ren bu ru kao zhi ji...

Bro where did you get it done. I asked a few workshop but they say dun have the screw.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Bro where did you get it done. I asked a few workshop but they say dun have the screw.

normal screws will do i think.. just that you need longer ones..

still if they wanna go thru the hassle to take out your front wheel then your calipers when they die die want them..

Low Crime does not mean No Crime..

Hi bro, i did mine at a bikeshop as i was having my front wheel balanced. since the wheel is already taken out to balance so i ask the mechanic to " soon bian (on the way)" secure the calipers from the inside. (imo..do this invert screwing to 1 of the 2 securing screws on each calipers is sufficient )

Usually bikeshops do not provide this service. even if they, do i guess it'll cost u some money due to the hassle of removing yr front wheel n digging for longer scews etc. so if you r not in a hurry to secure yr calipers (unless u know a bugger is aiming them olredi), wait for yr next tyre change. as yr mechanice bring out yr front wheel to change the tyre ask him to do you a favour by screwing back the calipers into position from the inside

Btw if u wana be sure they can do this, prepare yrself b4 hand for the longer screws (1 for each calipers is enuff).. cos for mine.. the mechanic dig his tool box till like head sweating.. :sweat: then only manage to find 2 nia..

Hope it helps..

My front right caliper was also stolen 2 years back. Same situation you are in. Had to wait for 2 months before getting a new caliper as had to bring in from another country.

Once installed, my mechanic welded the nuts holding the caliper making it hard to open with normal equipments.

Cost of only right side brembo caliper at that time, S$300 nett without the brakepads.

Hi bro, i did mine at a bikeshop as i was having my front wheel balanced. since the wheel is already taken out to balance so i ask the mechanic to " soon bian (on the way)" secure the calipers from the inside. (imo..do this invert screwing to 1 of the 2 securing screws on each calipers is sufficient )

Usually bikeshops do not provide this service. even if they, do i guess it'll cost u some money due to the hassle of removing yr front wheel n digging for longer scews etc. so if you r not in a hurry to secure yr calipers (unless u know a bugger is aiming them olredi), wait for yr next tyre change. as yr mechanice bring out yr front wheel to change the tyre ask him to do you a favour by screwing back the calipers into position from the inside

Btw if u wana be sure they can do this, prepare yrself b4 hand for the longer screws (1 for each calipers is enuff).. cos for mine.. the mechanic dig his tool box till like head sweating.. :sweat: then only manage to find 2 nia..

Hope it helps..

Thanks alot Bro. Will go check out.

Just got it fixed at HKL. $250 without brake pads. (Nisin brand)

Mech told me to install alarm, or just canvas over my bike.

Ride your bike to Poey Huat Hardware (31 Kelantan Lane #01-20). Bring along an M10 spanner and remove 1 of the original bolt from your front brake caliper after parking your bike. Bring this bolt to Poey Huat and ask for a longer version by about 12mm (a little longer is okay, but not so nice looking). Also the new bolt must be FULL THREADED TYPE. Buy the stainless steel type with the accompanying flat and spring washers, as well as the nut. 2 sets of these cost me 80 cents the last time.

Next, bring your bike to the motordiam and get them installed, 1 set for each brake caliper. Front wheel must be removed for this job.

IMPORTANT: BEFORE YOU RIDE OFF FROM POEY HUAT, REMEMBER TO RE-INSTALL THE BOLT THAT YOU HAVE REMOVED.

Just got it fixed at HKL. $250 without brake pads. (Nisin brand)

Mech told me to install alarm, or just canvas over my bike.

Coverring ur bike with the bike canvas oso no use...peek-a-boo a bit only he(the thief) can access everything...i tink best suggetion ive read so far is to invert the bolt securing ur calipers...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

Ride your bike to Poey Huat Hardware (31 Kelantan Lane #01-20). Bring along an M10 spanner and remove 1 of the original bolt from your front brake caliper after parking your bike. Bring this bolt to Poey Huat and ask for a longer version by about 10mm. Also the new bolt must be FULL THREADED TYPE. Buy the stainless steel type with the accompanying flat and spring washers, as well as the nut. 2 sets of these cost me 80 cents the last time.

Next, bring your bike to the motordiam and get them installed, 1 set for each brake caliper. Front wheel must be removed for this job.

IMPORTANT: BEFORE YOU LEAVE POEY HUAT, REMEMBER TO RE-INSTALL THE BOLT THAT YOU HAVE REMOVED.

Thanks bro, I actually thought of doing that, but their operating hours do not suit my timing. By the time i get off work they are already close. Will look around at other hardware shops to see if i can find them.

Thanks for your tip. :cheeky:

Ride your bike to Poey Huat Hardware (31 Kelantan Lane #01-20). Bring along an M10 spanner and remove 1 of the original bolt from your front brake caliper after parking your bike. Bring this bolt to Poey Huat and ask for a longer version by about 12mm (a little longer is okay, but not so nice looking). Also the new bolt must be FULL THREADED TYPE. Buy the stainless steel type with the accompanying flat and spring washers, as well as the nut. 2 sets of these cost me 80 cents the last time.

IMPORTANT: BEFORE YOU RIDE OFF FROM POEY HUAT, REMEMBER TO RE-INSTALL THE BOLT THAT YOU HAVE REMOVED.

Thanks for the info...

This is what i did just now. I attach the flyers to all S4 in that MSCP.

Image179.jpg

Thanks for the info...

This is what i did just now. I attach the flyers to all S4 in that MSCP.

Wah brader...i Proud of u...This is wat i call taking action...Kudos to u bro...hope we can eliminate this low lives from the face of the earth...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor