I bought my screws on 01 Mar 2008. My bike is Spec 3, bought new and coming to 1 year this month.

By the way, you will also need the nut for the bolt and preferably with a spring washer and a flat washer, so that the nut will not be loosen due to vibrations. Did you also buy these?

Alternatively, you can also apply some Blue colour (Serviceable) LOCTITE on the thread prior to tightening. BUT NEVER USE THE RED COLOUR LOCTITE, WHICH IS PERMANENT AND NON-SERVICEABLE.:faint:

I bought the nut but not the washers, planning to use the blue loctite as i have it.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

• Replies 84

joajas :

Thanks for the link. Very useful.

I notice from the pic, he only use 1 bolt which is reversed. Can i use both? I kiasu liow. :D

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k291/shootmie/project1_signature.jpg
joajas :

Thanks for the link. Very useful.

I notice from the pic, he only use 1 bolt which is reversed. Can i use both? I kiasu liow. :D

hahahz bro imo its a waste of time.. if he can remove 1 of them..

1) probably he has remove yr front wheel oredi.. whats the diff just pushing out another screw..

2) probably he has found a fantastic way eg. like pry out(i duno how is he gonna do that) n remove 1 of the screw.. whats the diff doing it to another screw lei..

but still if it gives u a piece of mind doing both screws inverted... y not? :)

hahahz bro imo its a waste of time.. if he can remove 1 of them..

1) probably he has remove yr front wheel oredi.. whats the diff just pushing out another screw..

2) probably he has found a fantastic way eg. like pry out(i duno how is he gonna do that) n remove 1 of the screw.. whats the diff doing it to another screw lei..

but still if it gives u a piece of mind doing both screws inverted... y not? :)

HAHAHAHAHA!!!!

I know.. i just wanna piece of mind. And im gonna install alarm too. :cheeky:

Just got it fixed at HKL. $250 without brake pads. (Nisin brand)

Mech told me to install alarm, or just canvas over my bike.

Bro... $250 brand new>??? :? :? :? :confused: :confused::confused:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9092/transformeryc8.jpg

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4070/img0143cv.jpg

Bro... $250 brand new>??? :? :? :? :confused: :confused::confused:

Yeap... without brake pads.

THose NBCB.... *^%@#*+= Got nothing better else 2 do then 2 steal Brake callipers :angry: :angry: :angry:

$250 u can do alotz of thing lor...

Curse those buggerz :gun: :gun: :gun:

THose NBCB.... *^%@#*+= Got nothing better else 2 do then 2 steal Brake callipers :angry: :angry: :angry:

$250 u can do alotz of thing lor...

Curse those buggerz :gun: :gun: :gun:

true..true...$250 can buy many2 accessories at ah boy...

This idiots are real pain in the ass...surely they are heartless ppl whom has zero disregards abt others hard earn money to get n anjoy this pleasure of life we call a bike...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

awhile back there was a caliper theft trend going on. someone eventually came up with this idea of putting a metal plate between the bolts securing the caliper and the bracket on the lower fork, and welding the bolt directly onto the metal plate instead of onto your fork bracket. of course to be cost effective, do it when you change to a new set of brake pads. this is just an alternative solution, but i would say the first method mentioned is less of a hassle overall.

about parking in the mscp, i just thought of a "stupid" idea. you know how they always have fake red-light cameras at junctions? ie. no camera inside. i know some mscp already have the real stuff, maybe those parking at mscp can buy a cheapo "security camera" and stick it up so that it seems to be pointing at the bike lots, den print one fake notice say "area under camera survelleance" :angel: theif see liao sure avoid one what.

maybe can propose the idea to your district MP during those meet the MP session, so that they might be able to approve and mayyyybe fund the installation of the "fake security systems", at the same time ensuring the authorities are aware of them, in case they try to remove it if you try to DIY! then again it might be an issue if they start "announcing" to the whole community of the successful project in deterring crime, then EVERYONE would know they're fake! :faint:

might be worth a shot, since setting up these fake security cams are way more cost effective than setting up real ones and getting some old drunk guard to monitor the tiny black and white screens!

hmm.. i think i need sleep :dozed:

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/whisperer400/14926678.jpg

Aiyah... i know 250 is a lot.. but let bygone be bygone.. I/We learn from mistakes.

Time to move on and not be vengeful :D

Aiyah... i know 250 is a lot.. but let bygone be bygone.. I/We learn from mistakes.

Time to move on and not be vengeful :D

Nono... U cannot like this de...

Killing mode must be On!!!

SEe em in action,,, chiong ar.... Killing sprEE :gun: :gun: :gun:

http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gifhttp://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gifhttp://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gif

about parking in the mscp, i just thought of a "stupid" idea. you know how they always have fake red-light cameras at junctions? ie. no camera inside. i know some mscp already have the real stuff, maybe those parking at mscp can buy a cheapo "security camera" and stick it up so that it seems to be pointing at the bike lots, den print one fake notice say "area under camera survelleance" :angel: theif see liao sure avoid one what.

maybe can propose the idea to your district MP during those meet the MP session, so that they might be able to approve and mayyyybe fund the installation of the "fake security systems", at the same time ensuring the authorities are aware of them, in case they try to remove it if you try to DIY! then again it might be an issue if they start "announcing" to the whole community of the successful project in deterring crime, then EVERYONE would know they're fake! :faint:

i think its worth a try thou.. although i believe some of these bike petty thieves are looking at the prevention measures we post here.. :faint:

wad to do? now is the IT Era :dot:

The best way is to make things very troublesome for these thieves.

Use the inverted screw method + the metal plate method + bike alarm with extremely loud siren.

I thing nobody will dare to touch our bike already. :D

But when time to service brake or change tire, I can't imagine the look on the face of the mech. :faint:

Nono... U cannot like this de...

Killing mode must be On!!!

SEe em in action,,, chiong ar.... Killing sprEE :gun: :gun: :gun:

http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gifhttp://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gifhttp://img361.imageshack.us/img361/4035/akcatxr8.gif

Erm... U played too much Counter Strike :p

bro..have you screw the clipers inside out this time??

my mech helped me change the direction of rear shock screws also..

he told me if ppl wan to steal ,they have to remove my rear tire 1st ..isit true??

anyone can verify??

Bro, you can check just by looking. If the screw is block by something (usually it is the brake disc), then have to take out rear tire to remove.

If it is not block by anything, it is still a hassle to take out the rear caliper, have to unscrew from the other side.

If the thief really want to take the brake calipers, regardless whether it's the front or the rear, he will find ways to do it one.

We can only make things as difficult as possible for the thief in hope that he will give up.

Erm... U played too much Counter Strike :p

Me long time never play Cs liao lor :) :) :)

maybe from the way u curse the thieves... ppl can see the olden cs fanatic in u.. :)

The best way is to make things very troublesome for these thieves.

Use the inverted screw method + the metal plate method + bike alarm with extremely loud siren.

I thing nobody will dare to touch our bike already. :D

But when time to service brake or change tire, I can't imagine the look on the face of the mech. :faint:

true, but this is only a method to prevent calipers from being stolen. what about other stuff like rear shock, headlight, mirrors, voltmeters, etc and the most basic of all, scratching! i think just the sign "area under camera surveillance" is enough to deter potential thieves

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/whisperer400/14926678.jpg

haa..if possible find back the same mech who did all these for you to service it..:angel:

he will regret that he did the changes for you before..

maybe from the way u curse the thieves... ppl can see the olden cs fanatic in u.. :)

LOl... maybe nine years back when i first play Cs :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Bro, you can check just by looking. If the screw is block by something (usually it is the brake disc), then have to take out rear tire to remove.

If it is not block by anything, it is still a hassle to take out the rear caliper, have to unscrew from the other side.

If the thief really want to take the brake calipers, regardless whether it's the front or the rear, he will find ways to do it one.

We can only make things as difficult as possible for the thief in hope that he will give up.

hmmm.. the mech just swap the bolt and nut position.

for my rear shock ,originally the bolt is facing out, now the nut is facing out. question is can the thief unscrew by turning the nut??

There should no problem taking out the nut, question is after removing the nut, can the bolt be removed easily.

If you cannot push the bolt out of its position then it is effective, but if you can simply turn the screw out of the bracket then that method is not effective anymore.

Since your mech have reverse the position of the screws, is it possible for you to verify what your mech has done. :D

Many bros here will be very appreciative of your contributions to the riding community.

:cheers: :cheers:

true, but this is only a method to prevent calipers from being stolen. what about other stuff like rear shock, headlight, mirrors, voltmeters, etc and the most basic of all, scratching! i think just the sign "area under camera surveillance" is enough to deter potential thieves

I think the idea here is to create as many tiers of hassle as possible to deter whatever the thief is targeting.

Ideas from me :D

1 tier: do the metal plate, reverse screw, spot welding

2 tier: install alarm

3 tier: cover your bike

4 tier: install CCTV

5 tier: park bike in metal cage

6 tier: put live voltage on metal cage

7 tier: put guard dog outside cage

:D :D :D

Sure no thief want to touch one. :faint:

hmmm.. the mech just swap the bolt and nut position.

for my rear shock ,originally the bolt is facing out, now the nut is facing out. question is can the thief unscrew by turning the nut??

after taking out the nuts..the inverted long screw cannot be taken out easily because there is a blockage by yr disc rotor...he/she will need to take out yr wheel for the screw to be taken out.