Guest cheeko

:smile: Hi tmaxrians, attach below is the steps & specs to do carburator or throttle body synchronization from my service manual. Anyway i follow back my manual recommended 10,000km & do, so far so good. It not like wat some shops say no need to do.Or some even say last forever. But if u intent to sell away soon then of course no need to bother so much lah.

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/6151/tmax1resizelk3.jpg

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/1714/tmax2resizehl6.jpg

http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/5191/tmax3resizelh9.jpg

• Replies 4.2k

Guest cheeko

Stage 1 - DIY belt change

Fedup of shops who always complain my scooty belt very hard to change.....blah blah.... And also most of the time shops dun have the proper tools or able to do a good job. Or worst still never follow spec & fix up properly & bike breakdown. Tulan liao, ownself order in special tools & at void deck DIY open up my transmission system.

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/1802/p4070944resizeaw8.jpg

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/8927/p4070945resizexg9.jpg

Realise with the proper tools it is not as hard to open up ourself :smile:

cheeko,frm my exp,putting back is moe difficult...for euro makes la..jap relatively i find it easy..usually euro makes i take out i got problem putting back..will have spare screws or washers or dunno wad goes whr..lol

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

not the fiercest looking Tmax we have seen but never the less,nice scheme..

http://www.momsmotor.com/immagini/colorazioni2/DSCN0756bg.jpg

http://www.momsmotor.com/immagini/colorazioni2/DSCN0754bg.jpg

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Originally posted by Swing 7777@April 09, 2007 12:41 am

cheeko,frm my exp,putting back is moe difficult...for euro makes la..jap relatively i find it easy..usually euro makes i take out i got problem putting back..will have spare screws or washers or dunno wad goes whr..lol

hi Swing7777, u mean Tmax have Jap & Euro Version just like Silver Wing? :confused:

any idea whats the Version that 07 Tmax is? :smile:

Thanks in advance. :smile:

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by Swing 7777@April 09, 2007 12:41 am

:smile: not really, anyway i have standby all the necessary parts & components for this diy job. I will be cleaning up all the belt dust, grease & dirt, then repack it with new grease. All these kinda things shops won't have the time to do it. Better ownself do it, treat this as a mini project loh!

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by madtmax@April 09, 2007 10:36 am

Cheeko.. respect :bow:

What tools did you used and how much the tools cost? I also fed up with shops always complaint hard to open etc etc.. to me just an excuse to charge more only :angry:

:smile: if u wan, i can help u get those special tools, those normal tools ur side should have. But let me finish up my mini project & i will draw up a list of special tools & their sizes for u. After tat dismantling ur belt will be a breeze. And best thing for me is, the cost of buying all these tools is cheaper then i pay the mechanic for workmanship.

Guest cheeko
:btw: i remember when silverwing600 just came out & very rare, :mad: mechanic also complain very hard & difficult to service lah......blah blah..... nowadays they dun dare to say such things liao o_O
Originally posted by Xiao_Bai@April 09, 2007 02:54 am

hi Swing7777, u mean Tmax have Jap & Euro Version just like Silver Wing? :confused:

any idea whats the Version that 07 Tmax is? :smile:

Thanks in advance. :smile:

frm wad i know,Tmax dun have euro n JDM model...if there is,maybe there is just the power cut of.anyways,tt can be removed easily..i cannot clarify weather there is JDM or Euro,coz no 1 ever told me anything.n my tmax was BlackMAx anniversary ver...so shld be uniform worldwide.btw i clear my meter all the way frm sg to malacca n back..no probs..

not really, anyway i have standby all the necessary parts & components for this diy job. I will be cleaning up all the belt dust, grease & dirt, then repack it with new grease. All these kinda things shops won't have the time to do it. Better ownself do it, treat this as a mini project loh!

steady la~! last time when i use to ride wave i also DIY, its better in a way i agreed what you said... but serious i also think scooter too cheem to do liao... Are we able to meet out in the future to talk more about t-max? BTW you guys keep saying bikeshop compliant on difficult to service, how about Hong Leong they don have the profession tool & people too?:confused:

Ride's History :

Yamaha TZM 150 (03-05)

Honda Wave 125 (05-07)

SYM GTS 200 (6mths)

Yamaha T-Max R5 (07-11)

Yamaha Tmax 2011 (Current rides now)

Adventure will never End with a Yamaha T-Max R5...

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/23/916311/Track%20PIc.jpg

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by Qrancshion@April 11, 2007 11:31 am

not really, anyway i have standby all the necessary parts & components for this diy job. I will be cleaning up all the belt dust, grease & dirt, then repack it with new grease. All these kinda things shops won't have the time to do it. Better ownself do it, treat this as a mini project loh!

steady la~! last time when i use to ride wave i also DIY, its better in a way i agreed what you said... but serious i also think scooter too cheem to do liao... Are we able to meet out in the future to talk more about t-max? BTW you guys keep saying bikeshop compliant on difficult to service, how about Hong Leong they don have the profession tool & people too?:confused:

:smile: when u get ur bike, then we will come out for chitchat. Abt agent, u can try let them operate on ur scooty. After tat maybe u can feedback to us. So far i have not been there to service.

Originally posted by cheeko@April 11, 2007 06:01 pm

:smile: when u get ur bike, then we will come out for chitchat. Abt agent, u can try let them operate on ur scooty. After tat maybe u can feedback to us. So far i have not been there to service.

so wen is ur nxt makan trip? sorry for not able to come along 4 ur Ipoh feast.

for svc at HL better to call 4 appt or u maybe disappointed. So far only went for run-in oil change for my x YP400. Parts will b a bit x if compared to other sources. If u want TLC on ur bike, this may not b the place.

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778
Guest cheeko
:smile: anybody interested in a headlight protective cover for the tmax. I always run high speed, Kena by small stones chip off, in long run will deteriorate & become blurr. Replacement of the headlight assembly cost abt $470++. i notice motoworld does not have for our bikes, and order in from japan is costly. I'm thinking of fabricating it plus laser engrave with our nicks & bike number plate on it. So whoever steals it will have to reconsider again o_O
Originally posted by cheeko@April 12, 2007 11:13 am

:smile: anybody interested in a headlight protective cover for the tmax. I always run high speed, Kena by small stones chip off, in long run will deteriorate & become blurr. Replacement of the headlight assembly cost abt $470++. i notice motoworld does not have for our bikes, and order in from japan is costly. I'm thinking of fabricating it plus laser engrave with our nicks & bike number plate on it. So whoever steals it will have to reconsider again o_O

Seems like a gd suggestion, but will the cost be pretty high with all the nick and No plate engraved....???

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Guest cheeko

:smile: Cost abt $45. Let me noe if whoever interested. I confirm will be need 1nos. This will be a 1 off thing, once done i will not do it again, cos too time consuming & much effort to source around for supplier. And also need to copy out the shape of the lens.

Anybody interested just let me noe.

ya,i tink 1 off thing better also...if u guys want just give cheeko a call la..coz tmax in sg not much...so i tink do a 1 off is gd enuff..n very much of a hassle,cheeko dun even charge!

i oso interested. can meet u up to compare our headlight sizes?

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778
Guest cheeko
Originally posted by adr77@April 13, 2007 02:48 pm

i oso interested. can meet u up to compare our headlight sizes?

:smile: i will help u check. I'm thinking of a malacca makan trip. U interested?

Originally posted by cheeko@April 14, 2007 05:34 pm

:smile: i will help u check. I'm thinking of a malacca makan trip. U interested?

hai ya.. sainz can't join t-max outing have to wait till i got my bike... maybe a short meet up in Sg i will be able to make it... a purpose to gather all t-maxer :smile:

Ride's History :

Yamaha TZM 150 (03-05)

Honda Wave 125 (05-07)

SYM GTS 200 (6mths)

Yamaha T-Max R5 (07-11)

Yamaha Tmax 2011 (Current rides now)

Adventure will never End with a Yamaha T-Max R5...

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/23/916311/Track%20PIc.jpg

Originally posted by cheeko@April 14, 2007 05:34 pm

Thks. sure, i live for food n rides!

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by Qrancshion@April 15, 2007 12:37 pm

hai ya.. sainz can't join t-max outing have to wait till i got my bike... maybe a short meet up in Sg i will be able to make it... a purpose to gather all t-maxer :smile:

:smile: No problem, there are many mantainance stuff & info i can share with u if u got ur bike. Cos nowadays most of the time, i tulan liao, ownself do DIY.

Guest cheeko
Originally posted by adr77@April 15, 2007 01:13 pm

Thks. sure, i live for food n rides!

i have check already, dun think the supplier will wana custom-made only 1 piece for burgman650, cos not economy to make. Where else for tmax side we have 4nos, at least not so bad.

Or how abt during meetup we see whether ur lens shape similar to mine or not. If same maybe u can use tmax lens protector.