Originally posted by cxcx@March 14, 2007 11:16 am

Greetings scooterist...

Been thinking of upgrading to a burgman for a while now, but I'm still a little torn at the fact that he 650 is still so expensive, and there's hardly any around (meaning parts availability, mechanic competency would be challenging), and there's a high likely chance that in time I'd have to suffer obscene amounts of depreciation. I like the fact that the 650 has got 2 cylinders vs 1 cylinder scooters, primarily because of smoothness, the sound of the 2 cyl engine, and of course, the power delivery of having one more piston.

I seek your opinions on the Burgman 650 on whether the above does apply, or what other options may I consider to own such a lovely machine. I have also looked at the Tmax and love the stance and sound of the engine, however the luggage compartment is dismal. I don't care too much for the silverwing (probably at my own disadvantage).

Are there 2nd hand ones out there?

I was having the same dilemma (esp $ not cheap) as you b4 i bought mine. But in the end i jus followed my heart n hopefully it can last me for 4 yrs. In the meantime, i enjoyed my ride everyday. Its fun!

On looking out for 2nd hand 650, you can leave your contact with either ASP or GHC if they happen to have it. Was told that they sold 2nd hand 650 b4.

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778
  • Replies 1.2k

I did see a relatively new 650 at ASPhoon Serangoon.

But that was in last year Sept. :cheeky:

Originally posted by cxcx@March 14, 2007 11:16 am

Greetings scooterist...

Been thinking of upgrading to a burgman for a while now, but I'm still a little torn at the fact that he 650 is still so expensive, and there's hardly any around (meaning parts availability, mechanic competency would be challenging), and there's a high likely chance that in time I'd have to suffer obscene amounts of depreciation. I like the fact that the 650 has got 2 cylinders vs 1 cylinder scooters, primarily because of smoothness, the sound of the 2 cyl engine, and of course, the power delivery of having one more piston.

I seek your opinions on the Burgman 650 on whether the above does apply, or what other options may I consider to own such a lovely machine. I have also looked at the Tmax and love the stance and sound of the engine, however the luggage compartment is dismal. I don't care too much for the silverwing (probably at my own disadvantage).

Are there 2nd hand ones out there?

loois has.

the last time i went down with patriots ( afew mths bak)

thr were at least 2 burgerkings.

there were some with "executive" , some dun have.

not sure wats the diff...

Anyway, me looking to let go of my K&N air filter.... in the end I prefer the bike to run a bit more quiet.

Anybody interested just PM me lah, we can discuss further!

ahh... does it mean, its noiser wiv the K&N?

n does it improve the FC?

still tryin to do smething wiv my pathetic 22-24km/l.

heh, so hw much u letting go>?

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Have a question, hope you guys can help.

1) Is Skywave and Burgman the same scoot? What about the configuration?

2) Is it hard to get spare parts?

3) I saw in magazine, they have like s type and a m type? Which version is the one here is selling?

4) Anyone riding the 07' version?

5) Any CONs for this scoot?

6) Is new 400cc Burgman around 12k OTR?

Originally posted by 867k@March 15, 2007 02:02 pm

3) I saw in magazine, they have like s type and a m type? Which version is the one here is selling?

1) Usually, Skywave is the name japanese use for Burgman. Body of skywave might look nicer that the burgman (Depends on individual perference). Otherwise, engine is the small.

2) KS motor at jalan besar or Guan Hoe at Eunos

3) Japanese magazine or singapore magazine??

4) "i wish i am"

5) depends on individual

6) 13K to be safe.

Ans: Yes, Skywave is the Japan Domestic Model name.

Ans: Not really, the dealer GHC or KS Motor is quite well-stocked

Ans: Dunno about Type M, but Type S is the one with lower windscreen, and slight cosmetic differences. So far haven't seen any in S'pore

Ans: Yes, saw on the road but probably not a forumer

Ans: For my 2003 model, it eats a bit of oil. Other than that no problems at all, perfect for my usage (city riding)

Ans: There abouts I guess

Qn: Bro, thought you got your S-Wing liao?

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Urs still eating oil like nobody business?

been observing my oil level since i changed eo... can't really tell if there is a drop or not... its been about 1000+km. i find that the dipstick is not really very accurate. Sometimes higher sometimes lower..... :giddy:

Think it varies due to the ground level also... must try to check at the same place and same spot to be consistent I guess...

Mine got slightly better after I changed to 15W50.... guess the oil higher viscousity can 'tahan' better

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by fooz@March 15, 2007 11:02 pm

ok. no prob.

lemme noe if arcfire backs out.

hah.i thgt i recognise that red raincoat n silver nolan from somewhr.

yea. infact, i tink older gen can get ard 3k.

quite value for $

Paiseh i juz collected it today.... :sweat:

Gonna try it out tomolo when i go to work!

Tried out the filter on my way to work. Sound wise not any different from last time since i took out the snorkle already. Couldn't tell the difference.. hahaha

Power delivery wise i didn't feel any difference either...... mabbe it was the noisy traffic but i felt that the bike sounded smoother while travelling at a constant speed. I'll observe it for a when i go on the e-way and also monitor the fuel consumption for the next 2 tanks and update.

Originally posted by soulz@March 16, 2007 01:23 pm

Alo alo i am back from hell......hehehehehehhe so wats the latest findings and improvements for our burgy???

Nth much actually...

Have u gotten the MRA short windscreen?

Originally posted by Arcfire@March 16, 2007 10:20 am

Tried out the filter on my way to work. Sound wise not any different from last time since i took out the snorkle already. Couldn't tell the difference.. hahaha

Power delivery wise i didn't feel any difference either...... mabbe it was the noisy traffic but i felt that the bike sounded smoother while travelling at a constant speed. I'll observe it for a when i go on the e-way and also monitor the fuel consumption for the next 2 tanks and update.

Fuel consumption should improve.... :sweat:

Just topped up my tank yesterday..... apparently, no change in fuel consumption :faint: . Will monitor somemore n update

How's the other areas of performance? :sweat:

Other than being slightly smoother on constant speed..... can't fell much diff.... haha :sweat:

Yah, me noticed that also.... but at least it's reusable so it's gonna last for a long long time...

Heads up!

Interestingly, i'm seeing my fuel consumption decrease. my 1st tank with the filter was abt 25.6km/L. The second tank was 27.7km/L. Will updat next tank when i pump again.

Just had a main stand scraping experience again. Funnily, this time round, the cornering feeling was damn smooth and the bike just kept going and going. Grip was excellent and bike was responsive in terms of control. The only thing that was limiting it was the main-stand(heartpain kena scraped again :cry: )

Was at the small road between the parliment house and the building opp the padang(wats it called?) left turn going back to raffles city. Made the left turn and realised it was pretty sharp. Went in too fast a speed so gradually lowered the bike until i scrapped the stand...... :cheeky: Quite shiok actually.... but probably gave the taxi uncle behind me a scare.

Originally posted by Arcfire@March 22, 2007 01:36 pm

Heads up!

Interestingly, i'm seeing my fuel consumption decrease. my 1st tank with the filter was abt 25.6km/L. The second tank was 27.7km/L. Will updat next tank when i pump again.

:smile: Glad it's starting to show!

Actually now that I sold it, a bit miss it also... :sweat: :help:

Originally posted by Arcfire@March 22, 2007 01:36 pm

Heads up!

wahhh.... tts abt 10% improvement!

i oso wan..

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@March 23, 2007 11:52 am

wahhh.... tts abt 10% improvement!

i oso wan..

Lol.... hard to say for sure its tat gd... will have to wait till my next pump to reconfirm.

Originally posted by Arcfire@March 22, 2007 04:07 pm

Just had a main stand scraping experience again. Funnily, this time round, the cornering feeling was damn smooth and the bike just kept going and going. Grip was excellent and bike was responsive in terms of control. The only thing that was limiting it was the main-stand(heartpain kena scraped again :cry: )

Was at the small road between the parliment house and the building opp the padang(wats it called?) left turn going back to raffles city. Made the left turn and realised it was pretty sharp. Went in too fast a speed so gradually lowered the bike until i scrapped the stand...... :cheeky: Quite shiok actually.... but probably gave the taxi uncle behind me a scare.

so when u going to track? The carpark at my office very dusty, nice to slide around.. I'll try to post a video soon.. Haha, I forgot mine is not a supermoto..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Originally posted by Terrible One@March 23, 2007 05:03 pm

so when u going to track? The carpark at my office very dusty, nice to slide around.. I'll try to post a video soon.. Haha, I forgot mine is not a supermoto..

Lol... sounds fun..... Dunno when will i have balls to bring my burgy to track leh.... somemore weekday need to take leave......

When ur fairings arriving?

Originally posted by Arcfire@March 23, 2007 05:06 pm

When ur fairings arriving?

That's a very good question.. i also wanna know :sweat:

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Great horrors.... Just pump petrol just now and i got 24.5km/L!!??!?! Somehow my fuel consumption seems to fluctuate like a see-saw.....Never have i seen it anywhere near constant....... Funny i would say....