i've sat on my fren's verS as pillion and noticed that his cruising speed of 85kmh only requires 5000 rpm, on my own spec 3, cruising on 5000 rpm only yields 80kmh.. issit a normal thing or there's something wrong with my bike oO

Rides:

Wr200(2006-2006)

Super 4 Spec III(2007-2009)

Ksr 110(2009-current)

• Replies 54

i've sat on my fren's verS as pillion and noticed that his cruising speed of 85kmh only requires 5000 rpm, on my own spec 3, cruising on 5000 rpm only yields 80kmh.. issit a normal thing or there's something wrong with my bike oO

It shud be normal as mine also 80km/h at 5000rpm...I think its due to the changes in gear ratios. Ver S is an old model, so the stock gear ratios in the old model and new ones are quite diff..

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

Sprocket Sizes play a part too. My version S, the rear sprocket is 42.

If i be not mistaken, for the vtec's it's 44 at the rear

August 2006 - April 2008 = White Stallion V 1.0

April 2008 - Present = White Stallion V 2.0 :thumb:

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v317/70/77/501577230/n501577230_1096539_3132.jpg

Saddlebags be cool!

I never noticed what speed i am at 5k RPM i always see when reach bout 6.5-6.9 RPM on gear 6 just before the VTEC engage im goin bout 105-110. Mine is a spec 3 rear sprocket is 46.

Jun 06 - Aug 06: Honda Phantom TA200 FV13**Y

Aug 06 - Oct 07: Yamaha RXZ FR41**U

Oct 07 - Nov 09: Honda CB400 Spec 3 FBC10**B

Nov 09 - Mar 11: Suzuki GSR400 FBC73**C

Mar 11 - Apr 11: Piaggio X9 Evo FX 42**U

Mar 11 - Jan 14: Honda Silverwing 400 FBC 53**J

Dec 13 - May 14: Toyota Wish SJU 48**L

May 14 - Jul 15: Maxsym 400i FBJ 36**G

Aug 15 - Current: Honda Silverwing SW-T400 FBG 29**R

Funny thing is, my fren's boldor reaches 100km/h at 5500rpm...i oso scratching head...he says he using stock drive train....no changes...

http://i334.photobucket.com/albums/m420/Biomodified/biomodified.jpg

In Loving Memory: Muhammad Borhan Bin Jamal

A Cousin, A Friend, My Biking Mentor

I never noticed what speed i am at 5k RPM i always see when reach bout 6.5-6.9 RPM on gear 6 just before the VTEC engage im goin bout 105-110. Mine is a spec 3 rear sprocket is 46.

oO i tot vtec kicks in around 6350?

Rides:

Wr200(2006-2006)

Super 4 Spec III(2007-2009)

Ksr 110(2009-current)

its correct.

5k 80km/h

Spec III vtec in final gear kicks in ard 7k rpm.

your speed will be ard 110km/h based on rear sproc that is 45.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v397/zelot/fighterplanenEarthsig.jpg

Just to add abit,Non Vtec models get their reading from front wheel whereas vtec ones gets from the gearbox,so if you get a 45 or even 50th rear sprocket,the reading on the meter and rpm will be the same.Except when you get a vtec with stock gearing 15th front and 44th rear,his 80km/h and your is totally different.

As for the bolder that does 100km/h on 5.5Krpm,thats wierd...:confused:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

i got a question as well i usually ride my bike like from 100 to 120

so can you guys tell me wht non v tec rpm for you guys when at 100 and 120

couz i was thinking my biking is on high rpm while i m at 120km

and ya when i m at 80 my bike rpm is at 5K rpm

i got BP1 , non vtech

Bro,maybe you can ask in the non vtec forum. :)

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

Just to add,

When you change sprocket(Bigger or smaller), the speedo and the milage is affected. Do take note where the meter records this. Some bikes, measure from the wheel (This will not be affect much, should be accurate throughtout). If yours is a Vtec model (Used to ride 1), the speed and milage is calculated from the engine. You will need to re-tune or set another speedo on the bike to make it accurate.

Simple experiement (For Vtec, other model not sure). You will need 1 stock and 1 bike with sprocket change to big/small. Ride the same distance, you will see that the milage, to the same place, is very different. This not only may affect the resale value, also may set you thinking that yours have a high/low feul consumption.

In one way, you are bluffing yourself. (Not offending anyone...just sharing info). As for re-tune the speedo, I think Carb cannot do, EFI got speedohealer to set the speedo to the correct setting.

Just to add abit,Non Vtec models get their reading from front wheel whereas vtec ones gets from the gearbox,so if you get a 45 or even 50th rear sprocket,the reading on the meter and rpm will be the same.Except when you get a vtec with stock gearing 15th front and 44th rear,his 80km/h and your is totally different.

As for the bolder that does 100km/h on 5.5Krpm,thats wierd...:confused:

Aiyah.. his meter spoil liaoz lah.. LOL

Mod-ed Ride.. Mod-ed Rider....

2007 - Gilera Runner SP180 (FS 3139T)

2007-2008 - Honda Phantom 200 (FV1428G)

2008-2009 - Honda Super 4 Spec 1 (FT 9543P)

2009-2010 - Kia Cerato Forte (SJS 4772K)

2010 ~ Present - Honda Civic VTi-S ES1 1.7M (SKA 543*Z)

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x275/1Seth1_FXRSP/edit.jpg

5k ard 83km/h...

eh? spec 3 also got 6 gears ah? i didn't know that...

mine spec 3 also 5k=80km/h. for vtec 6th gear open at 7k? thot it will open at ard 6.3 so didnt want to go above tat

if not wrong any gear below 6th will open vtec @ ard 6.3

eh? spec 3 also got 6 gears ah? i didn't know that...

lol spec 1 oso got 6th gear leh

wow.. must be some damn unique spec 1 man. cos my spec 1 only got 5 gears my friend...

prob 6 if u include neutral ba..