Hi there, I'm keeping a lookout to buy my first bike and I am mostly interested in a street bike or naked sports bike.

Mainly for transport purposes only, therefore comfort and fuel efficiency is a must (Daily cck to changi area).

Looking to get a 200ns or fz16.

Any recommendations or pros/cons of the two bikes?

How about maintenance wise?

Currently leaning towards the 200ns because it looks awesome!

Thank you in advance for your inputs! :lol::thirsty:

• Replies 21

I have a Pulsar 200NS and I think it's at a perfect sweet spot in terms of looks, performance, and definitely price! If you're interested, head over to my 200NS blog at sgBikerBoy.com =P

A mid-lifer who started late on the motorised 2-wheeler game. Currently riding a 200NS - with a P-plate.

Randomly rants at www.sgBikerBoy.com

I have a Pulsar 200NS and I think it's at a perfect sweet spot in terms of looks, performance, and definitely price! If you're interested, head over to my 200NS blog at sgBikerBoy.com =P

How's the fuel consumption on the 200ns?

The cost of maintenance and spare parts tend to be a little more pricey than the fz16 i suppose?

How's the fuel consumption on the 200ns?

The cost of maintenance and spare parts tend to be a little more pricey than the fz16 i suppose?

If I ride it like a baby, I could get over 40km/l. If the throttle's full opened on the NSHW, around 25km/l... I'll say both have rather similar fuel consumption.

20 Pulsar 200NS owner's FC: http://www.fuelly.com/motorcycle/bajaj/pulsar_200ns

25 Yamaha FZ16 owner's FC: http://www.fuelly.com/motorcycle/yamaha/fz16

But the 200NS (23.5hp) sure has quite a bit more max power than the FZ16 (13.8hp). In fact, it's 70% more!

Maintenance and parts are not that expensive lah. Bajaj is a cheap, budget Indian brand - not some atas superbike brand.

A mid-lifer who started late on the motorised 2-wheeler game. Currently riding a 200NS - with a P-plate.

hi brothers!i also got the same problem as him..but i taking cb190r into consideration also...

Ultimately, buy the bike that puts a smile on your face. =)

but lkm, if i buy bike A and it doesnt give me a smile, then i have to sell it away probably making a loss, then without knowing much about bike B i buy it and still dosent make me smile , then how??

trust me many times it has happened to me .

i wish there is a system where riders can allow other riders to try the bike that they like to ride for a few days/hours within the boundary of an insurance agreement

but lkm, if i buy bike A and it doesnt give me a smile, then i have to sell it away probably making a loss, then without knowing much about bike B i buy it and still dosent make me smile , then how??

i wish there is a system where riders can allow other riders to try the bike that they like to ride for a few days/hours within the boundary of an insurance agreement

Quite frankly, if you fall into this category, I'll recommend that you get a ticket to Thailand and rent each possible candidate for a couple of days until you find one that makes you smile. So, instead of "making a loss", you "make a holiday" instead!

Or you can also rent it locally, if it's available.

59452957.jpg

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Routine servicing? Like just engine oil and filter? Well, filter is $8.50 each at Universal Motors. As the 200NS uses the exact same oil filter as the KTM Duke 200, ive heard that Ah Boy sells it for even cheaper. Oil capacity is 1.2L, so it depends on what oil you want to use. I personally am using Motul's 7100 which goes for about $21-$23 for 1L depending on where you get them.

Have you gotten your 2B license yet?

macam going to buy car feel ,

go to the showroom and test drive

Just passed my tp today, looking forward to find the right 200ns to purchase! Anyone got any recommendations which shop has good reputation for 2nd hand bike dealing?

Congrats! Join the Pulsarians Singapore Facebook group. Ask around - someone may be selling.

Hi there, I'm keeping a lookout to buy my first bike and I am mostly interested in a street bike or naked sports bike.

Mainly for transport purposes only, therefore comfort and fuel efficiency is a must (Daily cck to changi area).

Looking to get a 200ns or fz16.

Any recommendations or pros/cons of the two bikes?

How about maintenance wise?

Currently leaning towards the 200ns because it looks awesome!

Thank you in advance for your inputs! :lol::thirsty:

I ride the CB190R, and I can tell you it will suit your purpose better than 200ns or fz16. Fuel consumption is range from 30-55km/l (30km/l if full throttle all the way, 40km/l if mostly cruising on SG expressways, up to 55km/l if you ride like a baby [6k rpm and below;redline is 9.5k rpm]. Maintenance wise, it is unbeatable too. No coolant to change, no oil filter to change (just an oil strainer that needs cleaning every 12,000km), EO only 1L (so you dun have to worry about the extra 200ml or what not).

Quite torque-y bike, with front 14T and rear 45T sprockets, can easier change to front 15T (or even front 16T and 17T with some mods) if you value mileage more than pickup (the pickup is not sluggish). For daily SG commute, I can't recommend this enough.

And the best part is.... all the spare parts and accessories are readily available on Taobao.com.

I ride the CB190R, and I can tell you it will suit your purpose better than 200ns or fz16. Fuel consumption is range from 30-55km/l (30km/l if full throttle all the way, 40km/l if mostly cruising on SG expressways, up to 55km/l if you ride like a baby [6k rpm and below;redline is 9.5k rpm]. Maintenance wise, it is unbeatable too. No coolant to change, no oil filter to change (just an oil strainer that needs cleaning every 12,000km), EO only 1L (so you dun have to worry about the extra 200ml or what not).

Quite torque-y bike, with front 14T and rear 45T sprockets, can easier change to front 15T (or even front 16T and 17T with some mods) if you value mileage more than pickup (the pickup is not sluggish). For daily SG commute, I can't recommend this enough.

And the best part is.... all the spare parts and accessories are readily available on Taobao.com.

Biggest challenge is - TS is looking for 2nd hand bike. You selling your CB190 anytime soon?