Guest bomerman81
Originally posted by SeanLo@Aug 16 2006, 02:34 PM

Sorry Bro, work piling up very high and somemore wife just fractured arm, must go home to be good husband and father. Another time perhaps.

Sean

no prob bro anyway wat happened to ur wife???:confused:

hope ahe recover soon!!!:smile:

• Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by unocvin@Aug 16 2006, 08:49 AM

Yo sean... good work! Informative! I realised that the Grand model is not as good with fuel though power is up.

I can imagine Yamaha's worldwide sale fugures must have recouped their R&D and production cost few times over. Every model differs in cosmectic and some chasis upgrade.

Yah, noticed that too. DOHC engines are known to be not as fuel efficient as SOHCs. More power at the expense of fuel economy. 39km/ltr@60km/hr seems quite good considering the grand weighs almost 40kgs more than the GMs and SJs.

Read somewhere that the sale of the majesty has exceeded Yamaha's expectations especially in their domestic market.

1994 - Yamaha TW200

1995 - Piaggio Skipper 125

1997 - Honda Steed VCL 400

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2007 - Honda ST1100X (STOC#7138)

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

Originally posted by bomerman81@Aug 17 2006, 12:48 AM

no prob bro anyway wat happened to ur wife???:confused:

hope ahe recover soon!!!:smile:

She fell down the stairs at the overhead bridge linking Buona Vista MRT and MOE while on her way to work . It was raining at the time and the bloody stairs were made of steel thus making it very slippery. Some F#*K up design, those engineers who built overhead bridges probably never need to cross one on a rainy day.

Typical case of people who built never use and people who use never get to built.:sian:

Sean

1994 - Yamaha TW200

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Aug 16 2006, 02:59 AM

wow..... any lobang for fs n above ??

Patience bro, not many around. Was searching for one around bike shops for about a week. Finally, found one guy selling off his 5GM at yahoo auctions. Stock condition, even the info and warning stickers are in place. Only the paintwork and transmission needed some looking into and I've changed the oils and spark plug, checked coolant just in case the last owner overlooked.

Now planning on how to accessorise it slowly. Maybe send for respray, change the old stock mirrors to daytona's, change the windshield, install a passenger back rest(Y's gear maybe?), change the front signal cover to clear type, rear signal/brake light set to clear type, LEDs....wah lau eh, alot of ideas in my mind now especially after browsing through the Daytona catalog and the Y's gear website.

But then hor, everthing have to be done slowly as now very low in $$$$. Even thinking of psychoying my wife to maybe bring the kids to Hong Kong Disneyland at the end of the year so that I can make a visit to some motorcycle accessory shops in Hong Kong.:cheeky:

1994 - Yamaha TW200

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

.."..wow..... any lobang for fs n above ?? "

Yep, take your time. One or two will pop up now and then.

"Now planning on how to accessorise it slowly...."

I know the feeling bro ... hahahaha ... thinking of tuning it .. $$$$ doesn't come easy hahahaha ...

"All I know is that when idling, the shoes wil constanly hit against the stoppers"

.. i think it will not threaten the clutch or anything... really hoping not to spend anything more till early next year .. will do the entire transmission at one go ..

Anyone observed this?

i usually pump 95 octane at Shell, but the last 2 pumps I switched to 92 octane. So, last night, at this particular stretch on ECP where I usually pin the throttle to check on top speed ... i was surprised to see the speedo stop at 115km/h ... it was 120km/h when i use 95 ...

Any thoughts? ....

Never did pin my throttle before but just switch over from 98 to 95, almost emptying the tank. Can feel the bike's unwillingness to maintain at a higher speed as compared to when using 98. When using 98 110km/hr seems very smooth, now 95 90km/hr seems to need more throttle.

But than 95 seems to give me better mileage. Last time when using 98, touch red line at about 290km. Now using 95, 310km and the needle still not touching the red line.

But will switch back to 98 as it seems to idle better, smoother at carpark speeds.

1994 - Yamaha TW200

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

Originally posted by SeanLo@Aug 17 2006, 11:20 AM

Never did pin my throttle before but just switch over from 98 to 95, almost emptying the tank. Can feel the bike's unwillingness to maintain at a higher speed as compared to when using 98. When using 98 110km/hr seems very smooth, now 95 90km/hr seems to need more throttle.

But than 95 seems to give me better mileage. Last time when using 98, touch red line at about 290km. Now using 95, 310km and the needle still not touching the red line.

But will switch back to 98 as it seems to idle better, smoother at carpark speeds.

so sad when hunting but .... i saw the older ones instead.

just kinda curious ..... when buying a second hand majesty ...

what are the things to look for ??

how do u know the state of the bike is healthy ??

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

For me,

on main stand

1) check panel gaps(look out for color discrepency, cracks or misaligned gaps especially near the front corners and the exhaust. this might indicate the bike might have been droped or worst involved in an acc.)

2) check mirrors, bar ends, fork tips, rims, signal light covers, main light covers. scratches or cracks might indicate the above.

3) ensure the above are all stock if not ask the owner for the stock items. if unable to produce, be careful, the items might have been damage in a crash. also check to all compartments and locks. make sure they close properly.

4) check for oil leaks from the engine casing.

5) check the reserve reservior for the coolant. Clean water and filled indicates the owner take cares of the bike.

6) get on the bike, bring down from main stand, pull both brakes and rock the bike back and forth.(there should be no rocking of the handle and the bike should not feel too springey)

7) start the engine, should start after afew cranks.

8) ensure no smoke from the exhaust after warming up.

I know all the above might seems abit too cosmetic but test rides are very hard to accomplish in Singapore due to insurance.

My main concern when buying a bike is no major accident and engine no problem. Fairing pited, or drop damage usually can accept. Talk to the owner, sincere owner USUALLY take cares of their bikes. If the owner seems too keen to sell, check more throughly. Get familiar with the model of the bike before shopping for one.

Most important, do remember, most people usually sell their bike because of problems with the bike. If no problem why sell?

Above my own 2 cents worth. Maybe other bro might want to add.

Sean

1994 - Yamaha TW200

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

Originally posted by SeanLo@Aug 17 2006, 12:16 PM

For me,

on main stand

1) check panel gaps(look out for color discrepency, cracks or misaligned gaps especially near the front corners and the exhaust. this might indicate the bike might have been droped or worst involved in an acc.)

2) check mirrors, bar ends, fork tips, rims, signal light covers, main light covers. scratches or cracks might indicate the above.

3) ensure the above are all stock if not ask the owner for the stock items. if unable to produce, be careful, the items might have been damage in a crash. also check to all compartments and locks. make sure they close properly.

4) check for oil leaks from the engine casing.

5) check the reserve reservior for the coolant. Clean water and filled indicates the owner take cares of the bike.

6) get on the bike, bring down from main stand, pull both brakes and rock the bike back and forth.(there should be no rocking of the handle and the bike should not feel too springey)

7) start the engine, should start after afew cranks.

8) ensure no smoke from the exhaust after warming up.

I know all the above might seems abit too cosmetic but test rides are very hard to accomplish in Singapore due to insurance.

My main concern when buying a bike is no major accident and engine no problem. Fairing pited, or drop damage usually can accept. Talk to the owner, sincere owner USUALLY take cares of their bikes. If the owner seems too keen to sell, check more throughly. Get familiar with the model of the bike before shopping for one.

Most important, do remember, most people usually sell their bike because of problems with the bike. If no problem why sell?

Above my own 2 cents worth. Maybe other bro might want to add.

Sean

well thats a good one there.

You got a pm

i will add a few more :

a) Rock the back wheel sideways - if it rocks side to side, loose play could be wheels bearings

b) do the same for front wheel - same as above

c) if you can get someone to sit on pillion seat, grab front wheel and puch back and forth, free play could be a sign of steering cone.

d) put your fingers on sliding surface of forks tubes, too much oil indicates seals almost going

e) Tyres excessive wearing will put stress on bearings

f) If you can have a look at the battery - if the surface swelled, a sign the battery have been "cooked" or overcharging due to faulty rectifier/regulator

g) Run engine, if exhaust smells funny and is smoky - burning oil; sometimes only shows up at high revs.

h) Trying to hear the engine where the crank is - if there's faint slapping noise, could be loose cam chain. If it's knocking like diesel engine (not to confuse with cluth noise) it could means big end bearing

i) screw out dip stick, drop a few drops on paper or a light colour surface - sooty, air filter may be missing or not there or oil in there too long.

j) feel surface of brake disc, it should be relatively flat and even. Otherwise it could indicate metal against metal when worn pads were not replaced on time

k) it is ok to get a bit of oil weeping around head gasket for high mileage engine.

All these will help bargain a lower price. Again, like Sean said; speak to the owner. Good owners maintain their ride well, get their servicing history like how often they change oil, clean air filter, brakes service etc ..

Importantly, inspect during the day and decide with your head and your heart.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 17 2006, 11:54 PM

FT plate Maroon Majesty for sale at bike shop along Geylang Road before Aljunied junction. Saw it there just now. :goodluck:

i have a problem now ..... still deciding on majesty 250, X8 200 or silverwing 400 ??

whats ur opinion ??

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 17 2006, 11:54 PM

FT plate Maroon Majesty for sale at bike shop along Geylang Road before Aljunied junction. Saw it there just now. :goodluck:

Shop name?

1994 - Yamaha TW200

2006 - Yamaha YP250 5GM

2013 - Honda Wave 125 R

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Aug 18 2006, 10:00 AM

i have a problem now ..... still deciding on majesty 250, X8 200 or silverwing 400 ??

whats ur opinion ??

If you riding around SG only, the majesty will suffice.

If you intend to do abit of touring then you'll need the SW for the oomp.

X8, I'll personally avoid at all cost. Last resort bike for me.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by SeanLo@Aug 18 2006, 10:06 AM

Shop name?

Dunno...But you can't miss it on the right if you're travelling on Geylang Road before the Aljunied junction.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 18 2006, 10:42 AM

If you riding around SG only, the majesty will suffice.

If you intend to do abit of touring then you'll need the SW for the oomp.

X8, I'll personally avoid at all cost. Last resort bike for me.

actualy its for normal use, comfort level and wanting a good investment thats worth the money. i find overal silverwing has a better engine

not sure though

just my 2 cent worth

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Aug 18 2006, 10:54 AM

actualy its for normal use, comfort level and wanting a good investment thats worth the money. i find overal silverwing has a better engine

not sure though

just my 2 cent worth

Normal use majesty can liao. SW consumption is less than 25km/l hor.

Majesty is much better consumption and is lighter as well. And I prefer the curvey lines on the Majesty.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 18 2006, 10:58 AM

Normal use majesty can liao. SW consumption is less than 25km/l hor.

Majesty is much better consumption and is lighter as well. And I prefer the curvey lines on the Majesty.

well of coz the consumption cant be compared ... one is a 400 and the other is a 250.

for a 400 with 23km/L is very good i should say. Everyday usage i mean

but i read lots of review on this two ... you have to give the credit to silverwing

lets put aside the cc n consumption .... which one is better in ur opinion ?

BTW im going to geylang to take a look at the majesty

400 doesn't mean high consumption. The burger also 400 but consumption is 27km/l lei...

Ok consumption aside, if you got to pillion all the time, then the SW, if not the majesty will suffice for a free andeasy ride.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 18 2006, 11:17 AM

400 doesn't mean high consumption. The burger also 400 but consumption is 27km/l lei...

Ok consumption aside, if you got to pillion all the time, then the SW, if not the majesty will suffice for a free andeasy ride.

burger is a 2 stroke and silverwing is a 4 stroke FI.

well the reason me buying is coz of pillion.

i already have my ducati for single riding.

how comfy is majesty with pillion ??

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Aug 18 2006, 11:27 AM

burger is a 2 stroke and silverwing is a 4 stroke FI.

well the reason me buying is coz of pillion.

i already have my ducati for single riding.

how comfy is majesty with pillion ??

Burger is 4 stroke da... :smile:

Pillion then you better go for the SW. Just for the extra power.

Actually pillion is quite comfy on both but for me, I'll rather be a pillion on the majesty... :D

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by Scarab@Aug 18 2006, 11:32 AM

Burger is 4 stroke da... :smile:

Pillion then you better go for the SW. Just for the extra power.

Actually pillion is quite comfy on both but for me, I'll rather be a pillion on the majesty... :D

Sorry bro what i meant is the comparison of 4 cyclinder compared to 2.

do u have any idea how much the majesty cost ??

rough idea ?? willing to go down with me ? c if its a good buy ?? sms me at 90064592

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Aug 18 2006, 11:43 AM

do u have any idea how much the majesty cost ??

rough idea ?? willing to go down with me ? c if its a good buy ?? sms me at 90064592

Should be less than $3K...If you want we can go during lunch afterwards. :D

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.