• Replies 28

How about using a bike cover? It should help.

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
How about using a bike cover? It should help.
I think..Bike cover retains the heat and keep it inside..If its open it can cool down as fast as it heats up..That is if got it right..:sweat:

a bike cover with shiny surface would help as it deflects the heat away from the sun. Also do get a bike cover that is water proof and reliable, as rain water do harm your paintwork too.

Anyway I believe its the UV rays that is harmful and damaging to the paintwork and not the heat, though it is still better to avoid heat the best is to park under a shady area like a tree in the day. And well I dont recommend parking under trees during evening and early morning as the birds are very active and would rain **** on your bike. lol

How many of you parked under the sun. Mine at least 7 hrs per day.

I scare the paint work will damafge

no need to be scared.

u know y?

cause the heat and uv, confirm fade the paintwork over time.

plus the plastics will eventually dry and crack plus rubber seals deteroriate

eg. leave a colourful plastic bag in the sun for just 1 wk and u will see what i mean....

unfortunately, not much real prevention for this sort of thing if u HAVE to sun bath yr bike day after day.....

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

I will park my bikes under the sun once in a while to keep the moisture away. I have mould grew on my grips and seats recently due to the rainy weather.

Look at the bright side, at least you don't get mould, fungi and mushrooms :thirsty:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

I sometimes also park my bike under the sun....The 1 thing i dun like is the HOT SEAT ! :cheeky: Sometimes late liao bo bian have to LL sit on it...

agreed to what woot has mentioned earlier..

to live in S'pore,the best tat u can do to protect ur bike from the sun is buy the slightly expensive heat-proof cover that is usually be in silver.also make sure its waterproof so the rainwater won't stain ur paintwork..believe me when i say u dun want to imagine having rainwater dry up directly under the sun for 5-6 hrs everyday.

so invest to a slightly pricey bike cover to protect ur babe..it also prevents those mischiefs from having a second look at ur parked bike and having funny ideas..

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

my bike is used for dispatch work. its under the sun for the entire day, with me on top of it.

the more rugged looking, more faded the bike, the more likely that its left alone.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

there are a few sites selling all weather covers for abotu SGD$350-$450.

they are supposed to be water resistant and minimise UV to your bike.

but I doubt these covers will be on your bike when you return.

another solution is to double or triple wrap your bike.

get the silver one with 1-2 ah boy types.

im pretty sure the water wont get thru and the heat might be slightly less.

They go their own way.

Hmmmm Does polish and wax help in prevention? I mean wax will add a layer of protection so in theory should protect against UV.

not really...........in actual fact, too much wax n polish thins out the clear coat and may eventually expose yr paint to more damage :(

polish once in a while

not everday :p

They go their own way.

hey ts .. sumtimes i park my bike at my carpark more than 3 days sia .. haha .. open space carpark .. then how ?? juz go LAB buy canvas los .. $15 nia .. dun nid scare rain, sun or jiao sai .. but of coz ur bike will stil feel hot .. but i believe tat paintwork wil not fade so fast .. coz the shiny surface is suppose to "block sunrays" rite ?? so i tink it wud eventually block most of the UV rays bah .. but using canvs is betta than nth .. if u dun believe u can try .. cover ur bike under hot sun for more than 3 hrs .. then u go remove, test how hot is ur seat, then leave it for 15mins n test again .. u'll noe how gd is the cheap canvas ..

Should be less than 1-2hrs of sunset sunlight per day max...

Normally i'll be out to work early in the morning, i'll wake up earlier so i can get a slot to park my bike under the sheltered bike parking lot at my workplace... Evening time when i return from work the sun more or less wan to retire for the day liaoz, after 1 or 2 hrs when the bike has cooled down i'll cover it with canvas la keke...

Any paint color will be damage or fade under direct sunlight for too long, it would be advisable to invest in an average bike cover to not only protect ur bike against the sunlight, but against the rain or someone who is loitering around the carpark trying to be funny la...

First Love - Suzuki DR 200

Current Love - Honda Super 4 Spec 1

Previous Fling - Honda Sonic

Dating Skills - (Class 2B) Riding, (Class 3) Drifting,

Fresh Graduate from (Class 2A) Cornering ~!!!

Spray the damn bike when the paint fades.

A facelift every couple of years isn't a bad idea, no?

Spray the damn bike when the paint fades.

A facelift every couple of years isn't a bad idea, no?

Brilliant idea coz then ppl will think you changed your bike every few years.....

http://i704.photobucket.com/albums/ww45/blackpiper/YNWA2.jpg

you can respray the metal or fairings, but what about the plastic and rubber bits? the rubber seals on the edges will whiten with UV and heat.

the plastic holding the brake fluids and your brake hoses...........

ai yah.........

They go their own way.

you can respray the metal or fairings, but what about the plastic and rubber bits? the rubber seals on the edges will whiten with UV and heat.

the plastic holding the brake fluids and your brake hoses...........

ai yah.........

Then quickly sell the bike away, best arrange for a night viewing. Cos the crappiest bikes looks a ton nicer under the right soft lights. :)

Those guys who cover ur bike...I used to cover also, but the cats ard my neighbourhood likes to piss on it, sleep under it.

Do u guys allow the bike to cool before covering it. If u cover it, put ur hands under the cover, you might be surprised at the heat trapped inside.

Then quickly sell the bike away, best arrange for a night viewing. Cos the crappiest bikes looks a ton nicer under the right soft lights. :)

Those guys who cover ur bike...I used to cover also, but the cats ard my neighbourhood likes to piss on it, sleep under it.

Do u guys allow the bike to cool before covering it. If u cover it, put ur hands under the cover, you might be surprised at the heat trapped inside.

hahaha........yes dat is one way of getting rid of the "problem".

yes, if u dont wait for the bike to cool down before covering, it traps quite a bit of heat. best to wait 30-45mins. if not parts of the cover may touch and make holes in your cover.

to keep the cats away, some ppl suggest putting some lavender scent to the covers to keep them away......

They go their own way.