manual or auto  

175 members have voted

1. 1. manual or auto

• auto so relac...y anyone wud wanna change gear?
    • munual lah...shiok mah...

It's good to really know how to drive a manual car before you move onto an auto car.

If you just pass and drive an auto car, you will lose your skills in driving a manual car.

Whether good or not , it's anyone's choice.

• Replies 134

actually many car brands have a similar tranny.

Tiptronic, Geartronic,Steptronic, all clutchless auto-manuals.

Different brands just try to differentiate their products by calling different names.

Just gun your pedal and flick the gearstick to change gears.

I used my geartronic manual mode about 40% of the time.

It is indeed a lazy way to drive manually. quite fun too.

Audi, i must admit, has the smoothest transmission so far.

Better than MErcy, BMW, Volvo,Saab etc...

i can't claim to know much abt cars...

but if i'm not mistaken, here's what i do know.

except for CVTs n DSGs, all other autos r driven via a torque server. dis is essentially using the force of a fluid to drive ur vehicle. there's no direct drive from the engine to the wheels. as a result there's substantial loss of efficiency in the energy exchange. dis is y an auto generally has poorer fuel mileage n acceleration compared to a manual.

just imagine a clutch that slips all the time... if i may use such an illustration.

manuals, CVTs n DSGs drive the wheels directly via the clutch. no losses here.

oh... in case i get mistaken, CVTs here mean continuously variable transmission, not variable valve timing.

right?

I dont know about that but Autos have poorer mileage very simply becos they are idiot-proof to change gears at a pre-determined range of given speed and rpm which very often is not optimal.

When i use my geartronic, my mileage improves as compared to leaving it in 100%auto becos i can decide which gear to use at which speed and rpm.

back to the preference thing...

i remember there was 1 time my brain was somehow suddenly fogged n i couldn't distinguish the accelerator n the brake.

good thing nothing happened, just a jerk as i finally hit the brakes (while parking).

this reminds me y i might want a manual instead. i guess this should eliminate cases of brain confusion... maybe i'm just getting old. haha.

Wah, dude, you quite scary man....hehe

Anyway, it's fun to drive manual i must say. All my previous 5 cars were manuals. you simply cannot get the satisfaction of real driving from an auto.

for me..it would be pretty much depending on the kind of car you are driving...and what kind of driver you are...

1.6 saloon car....how fast can you go? what kind of drag can you get? might as well get an auto for city driving...

2.0 to 2.8 litre sports sedan, eg WRX, Evo and skyline....

you wont buy those kind of car if you are not interested in showing the car behind you your tail lamps! in this case...a manual car will suit you...

big, comfortable cars, S280, BMW 7 series...auto can liao...the raw power is enough for you to pull away from traffic...

Originally posted by Greg@August 27, 2003 12:45 am

m3lk3m,

what you read about is known as clutchless manual or semi-auto...

It is known by a variety of names in the car industry but essentially, the fundamentals are the same, an auto with the option of chosing gears when there is a need (eg, overtaking)....

BMW=steptronic

Volvo=geartronic

Porsche=tiptronic

Audi=tiptronic (from Porsche) and Multitronic

etc.......

mm can explain what the terms are? it sounds interesting...streptronic and stuffs...

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

IMO i oways find manual cars are more exciting and appealing to drive, even if its a normal 1.6 saloon, the joy of able to control the car. its not how fast u can go, its how u enjoy ur ride.

city driving? u can use handbrake during waiting on a manual car, but i do c auto car driver use handbrake during waiting..

stil rmb how long we have to clutched in during learning? :smile:

Originally posted by Touch n Go@January 30, 2007 11:01 pm

IMO i oways find manual cars are more exciting and appealing to drive, even if its a normal 1.6 saloon, the joy of able to control the car. its not how fast u can go, its how u enjoy ur ride.

city driving? u can use handbrake during waiting on a manual car, but i do c auto car driver use handbrake during waiting..

stil rmb how long we have to clutched in during learning? :smile:

what is IMO :confused:

:dozed: :dozed:

imo = in my opinion

I'm a cantankerous lugubrious weirdo. Enraptured by stone walls. Demented by love. Disparaged by my own soul. Besieged by languor. Suffered from acute distress triggered by terminal boredom and elucidation of rhodonderons and deciduous seedlings. Searched for serenity amidst the chaos but failed miserably.

I a bit old school, but i think if u only know how to drive auto a bit no pride leh... my $0.02 lah.

And manual, you can control the EXACT rpm u want to push to...

You may be faster than the wind, but you will never be faster than time.

manual like more "seh" according to my frens..

but i feel driving manual make u feel u have more control...i dunno...probably jus me.

voted manual.

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

Getting older and lazier so go for Auto. but Tiptronic is a must.

So far, the best auto tranny with tiptronic for normal cars seems to be from Audi. Very good response and superb smooth gear changing.

BMW and Volvo not as responsive or smooth.

Mercy and Jag a bit rough.

most other Jap cars feels too springy and light

so tempted to change cars...........

Small cc will go for MT

big cc will go for Auto

Cheap performance cars will go for MT

Supercar will go for Auto

MY Pass ride 1983 Yamaha 125LC 1991 TZR125.88 yamaha...YZ125.91KX125 1986 Kawa.KDX200 1987 HondaCG125/1980 HondaCB400N/1965 Vespa/1996Ducati Monster.98WR200R

1.87 Toyota EP70 1.0/1.3/1.5(SG)2.90 FC RX7 1.3(Au) 3.90 Celica GT4 2.0T(AU)4.1983 mazda 323 1.0(AU)5.1984 Honda Jazz 1.2(M)(AU)6.78Honda civic(Au)7.85Honda Jazz 1.2(A)(Au)8.1989'"Ford TX3turbo1.6(AU)9.94" SKYLINE R33 (AU)10.83-911RS3.2(AU)11.1992 Toyota soaror GT2.5T(AU)12.1994toyota corrolla 1.6(AU)13.1992suzuki swift 1.0(AU)14.1984Civic3dr 1.2(Macau)15.1988 toyota corrolla 1.6(SG)16.1988 MB380SE 3.8(SG)17.1982 VW Goft MK1 1.6/2.0(SG)18.2003-WRX 2.0(SG)19.1965 Mini(SG)20.1997 subaru vivio(SG)21.1996 Mirca LX(SG)22.1987 MB280SE(SG)

Current ride>22.96MB E200(SG)23.02HONDA MOBILIO(SG)03'Road King (SG)07'W400(SG)91'883XL.Beetle Cabrio

Depend on where and how you plan to use it. let say you are driving in sg, particuarly always stuck in trafiic, auto is better unless you don't mind to keep on changing gear in the traffic.Auto only fast pick up in high way, But if you like to control your own way in term of enjoying the changing speed, of course, manual is better.

auto ofcos more advantages, but im more comfortable driving manual cos drive manual in my army days.

manual's advantages to me are

better "feel" of your vehicle speed,

smooth when moving off,

better control in braking.

Depends on one preferences. I had been driving a manual for 12 years, of course I will still stick to manual. Things that manual can do, ability to overtake lorries if they are too slow in a slope and few others. Dun wanna to compare much on the abilities between Auto and Manual cos it will lead to endless debates.

But judging at today's road conditions, driving an auto is also recommended. Roads are getting too conjested and u might regret getting a manual if ur daily routes are often jam. But i will stick to manual cos I am used to it. Sound like an old uncle. haha.

i've always preferred manual transmission. just don't like the feel of a jerky auto gear change. with manual, i know what to anticipate because i'm the one changing the gears. makes me feel more in-charge of moving the car.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

manual for mine . when driving auto felt very bored and feel like callin my gf/fren to drive instead.but for manual felt better. lolz

Guest stages

Now adays Most of ppls prefer Auto... cause The future World all maual will be Scap & no new car will come out a Maual anymore... That's why more & more ppls take Auto... cause the future is only Auto.......

Auto car for me! If I need to speed I'll ride my Suzuki GSXR 750 coz it doesn't matter if ure car is auto or manual when it comes to traffic jams, the bikes always win.

Leave the racing in the track

Orlando85

My bikes: 1st: Yamaha TZR 2nd: Honda CG 125

3rd: Hasquvana SM 125 4th: Kawa KRR

5th: Yamaha X1 6th: Suzuki GSX 400

7th: Gilera VXR 8th: Suzuki K4 750

9th: Honda CBR150 Now: KTM 200, RX-K

My cars: 1st: Mitsubishi Lancer GLX

Now: Honda Airwave