SINGAPORE: Distance—based charging is the next step when it comes to road pricing in Singapore. This is where motorists are charged based on the distance they travel on congested roads, using GPS technology.

Currently, Singapore motorists are charged at specific points when they enter congested areas, using Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has been working with potential suppliers to test different satellite systems for the past couple of years. However, at the Urban Transport Leaders Summit on Wednesday, its chief engineer said there is no complete solution in sight yet.

Dr Chin Kian Keong, group director, Road Operations & Community, LTA, said: "No one system has been demonstrated to be working at integrated levels. So again, we have to take a cautious approach and watch what is happening in other countries."

No timeline has been set for moving to this next stage of road pricing.

Such fine—tuning where motorists pay for the problems they cause is getting increasingly common around the world, according to urban planners at the conference. For example, a pollution tax is what a few countries are suggesting.

Professor David Hensher, director, Institute of Transport & Logistics, University of Sydney, said: "You are driving your nice, fancy Mercedes car which has got eight cylinders and high litres per hundred kilometres, and you are paying no more per kilometre than someone driving a very fuel—efficient small car that’s taking up less road space and in fact, polluting the atmosphere far less."

Separately, LTA also signed a memorandum on Wednesday with six key partners to explore new solutions to urban transport problems.

PS: **** man! Whats this ****ing idea? Can't just they give us a peace of mind. I do not want to carry any extra weight on my motorcycle and that means I am not carrying that stupid extra weight of the erp unit. And now what else? Another stupid unecessary idea coming up! I just want to ride with freedom and not treated like a robot on the move or a ex-drug addict that has been released with the tracking electronic device on his knee.

Live fast, die young, and leave a good looking corpse behind.

• Replies 26

SINGAPORE: Distance—based charging is the next step when it comes to road pricing in Singapore. This is where motorists are charged based on the distance they travel on congested roads, using GPS technology.

Currently, Singapore motorists are charged at specific points when they enter congested areas, using Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has been working with potential suppliers to test different satellite systems for the past couple of years. However, at the Urban Transport Leaders Summit on Wednesday, its chief engineer said there is no complete solution in sight yet.

Dr Chin Kian Keong, group director, Road Operations & Community, LTA, said: "No one system has been demonstrated to be working at integrated levels. So again, we have to take a cautious approach and watch what is happening in other countries."

No timeline has been set for moving to this next stage of road pricing.

Such fine—tuning where motorists pay for the problems they cause is getting increasingly common around the world, according to urban planners at the conference. For example, a pollution tax is what a few countries are suggesting.

Professor David Hensher, director, Institute of Transport & Logistics, University of Sydney, said: "You are driving your nice, fancy Mercedes car which has got eight cylinders and high litres per hundred kilometres, and you are paying no more per kilometre than someone driving a very fuel—efficient small car that’s taking up less road space and in fact, polluting the atmosphere far less."

Separately, LTA also signed a memorandum on Wednesday with six key partners to explore new solutions to urban transport problems.

PS: **** man! Whats this ****ing idea? Can't just they give us a peace of mind. I do not want to carry any extra weight on my motorcycle and that means I am not carrying that stupid extra weight of the erp unit. And now what else? Another stupid unecessary idea coming up! I just want to ride with freedom and not treated like a robot on the move or a ex-drug addict that has been released with the tracking electronic device on his knee.

well, they are trying to reduce the number of vehicles on the road so that you can ride more freely.

In short, it's an islandwide ERP system than just CBD and major roads. :D

Does any one here or even any of your family, frens ever bump into this fella "Dr Chin Kian Keong, group director, Road Operations & Community, LTA" in the MRT or buses before?

No?

Yes?

I wonder which transport mode he goes to work or moves ard in Singapore eh?

Does any one here or even any of your family, frens ever bump into this fella "Dr Chin Kian Keong, group director, Road Operations & Community, LTA" in the MRT or buses before?

No?

Yes?

I wonder which transport mode he goes to work or moves ard in Singapore eh?

bro, he earning more than peanuts, doesnt matter to him... he maybe driving LTA vehicle, dun even need to pay.

this scheme may be good for controlling vehicles, but, think about those doing delivery or courier work, low pay, hardwork, long hrs and now, this... surely 1/2 the income gone to someone elses paycheck/ bonus.

Aw...man... this is not a good news i guess. Man on the board wants to reduce heavy traffic jam by installing another gadget ???

Wanders what else will come out.

Hopefully it's will come out only after i retired from riding in 25yrs time!!!!!!!

If not retire early,go public tpt. :sian: :sian:

Cheers bro. Ride Safe Be Safe Always.:angel: :angel:

bro, he earning more than peanuts, doesnt matter to him... he maybe driving LTA vehicle, dun even need to pay.

this scheme may be good for controlling vehicles, but, think about those doing delivery or courier work, low pay, hardwork, long hrs and now, this... surely 1/2 the income gone to someone elses paycheck/ bonus.

Agree lah bro.

Leaders shud lead by example hor :dot:

Agree lah bro.

Leaders shud lead by example hor :dot:

Don't you know that they are only good at talk the talk, and not walk the talk? :thumb:

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

Well, it seems that all we do here in Singapore is work, work and work harder to pay, pay and pay more...Is that all to LIFE???....

I tink u r rite...only in Singapore i guess...

This is the best part. We work n work harder n get pay n pay more never mind cannot cam siong nvr mind.... ... Save some big time money.... wen got enuf liow...migrate oversea la... mayb try Aus or Nz. I hav been thinking abt it for quite sometime but duno when to make d move!!!!!!!

Cheers bro. Ride Safe Be Safe Always.:angel: :angel:

This is the best part. We work n work harder n get pay n pay more never mind cannot cam siong nvr mind.... ... Save some big time money.... wen got enuf liow...migrate oversea la... mayb try Aus or Nz. I hav been thinking abt it for quite sometime but duno when to make d move!!!!!!!

Well bro, a lot of Singaporeans are thinking the same thing, me one of them... Sometimes it's not a matter when, it's a matter of how...Coz, we all are definitely tied down to something or everything here, e.g. house, bike, work, family, children, pets, installments, etc...So, how is the correct word if ever that HOW can be answered and solved, migrating away from Singapore would not be of any issue....

i would think cars and bikes would pay different

then if this comes up, probably dun have to pay for road tax oredi.

pay the amount of road you use.

if u keep the ride at home, maybe no need pay.

if keep at home also must pay, then something is wrong.

then like that, may be good for those who travel less.

maybe the amount of $$$ you pay to use the road may just sum up into your road tax and coe amount per year? unlikely but may be.

certainly will be useful. beneficial is to the individual.

you can ditch your ride, get a home based job, then you will pay less.

Ya right.....Even if you are not doing anything, you'll still have to pay and pay and pay...This is what Singapore's all about bro...

please do explain.

like how this is different in Singapore and in other countries.

please do explain.

like how this is different in Singapore and in other countries.

Don't mind me asking but what kind of explanation do you require????

it's like owning a taxi! u drive, u pay for the distance! :cheeky:

Precisely. Where is freedom for owning a private transport when survellaince are on you while price monitoring goes on? I mean lets get real. If its true that government are sincere on curbing roads from getting congested therefore why now in fact more people are owning cars? Statistic proven. Its ridiculous when buying car is simple now. You do not need any downpayment. Zero downpayment! Cheaper cars are imported too for those who are less affordable. So does that help? Perhaps nothing much is being solve. Think about it.

it's like owning a taxi! u drive, u pay for the distance! :cheeky:

Precisely. Where is freedom for owning a private transport when survellaince are on you while price monitoring goes on? I mean lets get real. If its true that government are sincere on curbing roads from getting congested therefore why now in fact more people are owning cars? Statistic proven. Its ridiculous when buying car is simple now. You do not need any downpayment. Zero downpayment! Cheaper cars are imported too for those who are less affordable. So does that help or where is the idea abt controlling traffics etc like you guys say? Perhaps more people are driving and riding and thats contradicting to what the government is doing and has done. Sometime it makes me wonder abt those who so much agrees what the government is doing even when it comes to something illogical and ridiculous. It is much of a republican way of thinking then being a democrat and thats why Singapore's living standard is getting higher and higher. The rich just get richer.

Well.. at least now we know there is a situation worst than having a ERP right outside your door.

Hehehehe...bro don't count your stars too soon...If things aren't going bad enough, they might bro...hehehehehe...

The Authorities just do whatever they deem fit without ever conducting a simple survey on road users. They have TPs parting roads for them to cruise down the streets of Orchard Road and guarding their vehicles as they park their vehicles along the road.

How in the world can they ever know what is good for us when they are not even near to what we are going through?

The commoners are the real people dealing with real solutions. let us have a say in curbing the traffic conditions.

my suggested solutions are as follow:

#1:

to reduce vehicles on road, put on halt on the ever increasing public transport fares such Buses, MRT rides and ESPECIALLY taxi fare. GPS on our vehicles. they should fit GPS device in taxi that skive and "camp" in parking area in order to wait for calls instead of getting flag down so as to add on to the already high taxi fare. it's because of the high taxi fare that allows these drivers to be picky. Hence, causing a false impression that there's a lack of taxis around our island.

#2:

High traffic happens most during peak hours.

To solve the problem. hit it core and not the sides.

remove the peak hour. do a survey on what drivers (especially) do before funneling down the highways. most of them sends their kids to child care centre, kindergarten, primary school, secondary school. etc...

Statistics: Number of schools in Singapore (in year 2006)

* Number of Primary Schools in Singapore : 176

* Number of Secondary Schools in Singapore: 164

e.g. average # of student in a school = 1000

300 parents decided to drive their kid to one particular school.

that's 300 cars. 300 X (164+176) = 102,000 cars funneling into the highways

cut that figure in halves by having Morning & Afternoon sessions for these schools. Or encourage more companies to provide chartered bus services to ferry staffs to work (NTU & NIE)

a bus takes up 2 car space = 40 pax

2 cars = 10 pax

you do the rest of the math along the miles on the highway.

Article

They are still planning to implement single session for ALL SCHOOLS! expect the worst to come by then.

As claimed, There's a need to drive when we have a Family. But all that is needed to ride is Dream... Many are still dreaming about it.

"Professor David Hensher, director, Institute of Transport & Logistics, University of Sydney, said: "You are driving your nice, fancy Mercedes car which has got eight cylinders and high litres per hundred kilometres, and you are paying no more per kilometre than someone driving a very fuel—efficient small car that’s taking up less road space and in fact, polluting the atmosphere far less." "

Dear prof: you change your car every few years, so that you can keep up with the latest hybrid. Your carbon footprint is huge to use your jargon, because you keep having new cars manufactured for you even if they are supposedly more fuel-efficient than older vehicles. Meanwhile, my vehicles (the oldest being a 73 LandRover, the newest an 04 motorcycle) are kept well maintained, in a top state of tune, have low gas consumption because amongst other reasons they don't have stereos, air-conditioners, a battalion of idiot lights etc. etc. - and you want to tax me more? Go ride an iceberg.