honda blackbird

roadtoad

Originally posted by luN@Jan 29 2004, 10:52 AM

Apart from OEM, tried EBC HH only.

Slightly more expensive but definately worth the money.

Initally, the pad will be still quite tight i.e resistance on the real wheel but after breaking in the pad, work just as fine.

Past experience: After breaking-in the pads, the rear wheel still appeared stiff. Problem solve by having the Caliper serviced and grease. No problem with the front at all.

mine pads r more than 2 weeks old liao..but rear wheel stil as tight. how much does one set of e EBC HH cost? OEM cost 60+ rite? also i heard they say cheaper aftermarket ones will wear out e brake discs... also where u go to service ur caliper? thx.

http://1990cbr1000f.superbikeclub.com/images/avatar_1.jpghttp://s.deviantart.com/static/fella-wrench.jpg

The church is near, but the road is icy. The bar is far away, but I will walk carefully.

• Replies 995

Originally posted by pai@Jan 29 2004, 10:58 AM

mine pads r more than 2 weeks old liao..but rear wheel stil as tight. how much does one set of e EBC HH cost? OEM cost 60+ rite? also i heard they say cheaper aftermarket ones will wear out e brake discs...

If your 2 week = riding around a few hundred KM with regular braking. Then i suggest you bring it to a mech for a check.

If your 2 week = Did riding for long distance i.e trip. Then i think it not sufficient to break in the pad.

At the shop, When u take out the brake pad, check that the brake pad have a even wear. Brake piston might need some lubrication.

EBC HH cost around $55 - $80 depending on which shop u go to. The price of OEM can check it up with FJT @ 63925928. i reckon the price is around $50.

A set of EBC can last me 15k+ km on the rear. Not very sure about other brands eating into the rotors. The price difference between EBC and other brand is not that huge so i must well change to a EBC ones.

where do u go to hav ur EBCs fixed up? how much do they charge u 4 all 3 sets? i am interested to make a immediate change cos my present ones do not work well under wet conditions...

http://1990cbr1000f.superbikeclub.com/images/avatar_1.jpghttp://s.deviantart.com/static/fella-wrench.jpg

The church is near, but the road is icy. The bar is far away, but I will walk carefully.

Originally posted by pai@Jan 29 2004, 11:52 AM

where do u go to hav ur EBCs fixed up? how much do they charge u 4 all 3 sets? i am interested to make a immediate change cos my present ones do not work well under wet conditions...

Check ya PM.

last year i was using carbon lorriane (sorry..duno how to spell)$40 per pair. very good pads i must say. now i just change to the $18 per pair cuz its much cheaper. The pads also works quite well. So i tink i will be using tis pads next time if i change again. whole set only $54.

For the 1st 2 days the rear wheel sure will like abit stuck. After tat it will be ok liao.

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i139/nk_d70/sbbbqb8.jpg

Last Rides - Yamaha TZR125

Suzuki DT200R

Honda Super4 VTEC 1

Honda CBR1100xx BlackBird

Kawasaki ZX12R

Yamaha FZ600 Fazer

Now - Suzuki Burgman 400

Mitsubishi Colt Version R

but my problem last 2 weeks liao leh..thk somethin must be done...later going down ah lai..

its at tis ubi..dun know e name leh..but only do repair one..

hmmmm...maybe its the same as im tinking. juz behind 1st motor? the shop also got 1 guy call bayi who very good at doing small bike?

Suzuki DT200R

Honda Super4 VTEC 1

Kawasaki ZX12R

Yamaha FZ600 Fazer

Now - Suzuki Burgman 400

i thk so..but not directly behind leh...bayi?? nv see leh..u been to there?

i always go there wif my frenz to do their 2Bs. Last time my super4 was done by tis ah lai. Hes good at tuning big bikes.

sometimes maybe ur rear pads is to big or too thick. maybe the alightment is out also.

Suzuki DT200R

Honda Super4 VTEC 1

Kawasaki ZX12R

Yamaha FZ600 Fazer

Now - Suzuki Burgman 400

dunno leh...at first i ask him he say normal 4 bb..then i go n spin my fren bb wheel all not as stiff as mine so decided to go let him see if can fix..

Originally posted by luN@Jan 29 2004, 05:39 PM

Tell us the outcome okay?

outcome is nothin was done. he jus take out e pads c here c there then say nothin wrong. he gave me an option tat he can stripped e whole caliper to clean e piston but cannot promise prob solve. n it cost $50 workmanship.

so i nv gamble.

then since loois so near i went to ask meng tong. he came out, spin e wheel n say 'orh, its like tat one. due to unclean dirt in e piston. blackbird 9/10 bikes like tat due to e link brake...' then walk away. i say thank u went 5th floor walk 2 rounds n get lost fr there. tats it..

maybe really is the piston dirty.. can try gamble see if works anot...normally when i change my pads i will ask the mech to clean the caliper since its already taken out

Suzuki DT200R

Honda Super4 VTEC 1

Kawasaki ZX12R

Yamaha FZ600 Fazer

Now - Suzuki Burgman 400

Originally posted by pai@Jan 21 2004, 11:00 PM

hi birds,

on average, how far can ur bird's full tank go b4 e last bar start blinking 4 e digital panel n when e red light comes on 4 e case of e analogue? in other words, til reserve?

pai

anymore feedback bout e fuel consumption? mine is gettin fr bad to worse...

Originally posted by pai@Feb 6 2004, 11:32 AM

anymore feedback bout e fuel consumption? mine is gettin fr bad to worse...

99 FI model bird

does about 16km/litre average 90-120km/h

reserve 3 litres should be able to go another 45km? (never tried)

The most I pumped in was 22litres out of 24litres capacity.

Model development

CBR1100XX-V (1997) 42mm CV carburettors

22 litres petrol tank

CBR1100XX-W (1998) Modification to the thermostat housing

CBR1100XX-X (1999) Change from carbs to fuel injection(PGM-FI)

Changes to clutch, tail light and the air filter housing and air

ducts.

Fuel tank increase to 24 litres

A PGM-FI decal added to the rear bodywork

CBR1100XX-XY (2000) No significant changes from 1999 model

CBR1100XX-X1 (2001) Cooling fan motor controlled by the ECM

Stock iridium plugs.

3-way cataytic converter fitted

New digital instruments

Rear signal light restyled

CBR1100XX-X2 (2002) No significant changes from 2001 model

Originally posted by fish`@Feb 6 2004, 10:42 PM

mine full tank till reserve about 350km on average 120km/hr

power!!!

Originally posted by pai@Jan 29 2004, 11:52 AM

Hi lun, can u let me know there location also, thks. :sweat:

Sometimes you have to lose everything before you know what you really have.