Which tyre is good for cruiser......

There's apparently a shortage at the moment for Bridgestone tires that are compatible with Slashers. So, it might help to plan ahead for the next shipment for fellow Slasher riders who intend to get the tires.

• Replies 63

Anyone know where can get IRC ribbers? Or the agent of IRC? Was thinking if mine botak i may want to use back the Wildflare......good grip.

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

http://w2.bikepics.com/pics/2006/11/22/bikepics-729398-150.jpg

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

my rear tyre is IRC nr66 and my front is metzeler Me22. so far oklah during wet roads my rear tyre did skidded but abit lah.....so far so good. when i bought the tyre is already there so i dun have any experience in tyres lah.but so far so good both the tyre still listen to my commands..hehe.

but upon reading all of u guys reveiew abt the positive and negetivity of the tyres, now i'm also confuse what tyre to buy for my 125cc Honda rebel. but to me i think my IRC NR66 is good.:cheer::sweat:

Honda Rebel 125 (Rebeliah) 2004-2006

Super 4 Ver S (Sephia) 2006-

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d23/salleh_/S4MHondaman.jpg

Originally posted by Intruder@Oct 12 2004, 08:45 PM

Anyone know where can get IRC ribbers? Or the agent of IRC? Was thinking if mine botak i may want to use back the Wildflare......good grip.

Where can get IRC Wild flares..... if not by going to my own shop in the west...very far for me. My front is coming bald very soon. The rear still in very good condition n thick thick grains...

Practice make perfect....But since Nothing is perfect, Why practice so hard? by Cowboy Wong....

I didn't know I already in love with my Slow Little Greenie until recently almost selling her away...how can like that? :faint:

Originally posted by Intruder@Feb 3 2005, 06:10 PM

Where can get IRC Wild flares..... if not by going to my own shop in the west...very far for me. My front is coming bald very soon. The rear still in very good condition n thick thick grains...

Try LAB and Mah Motor Parts.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Thanks Nights. That shop i went the other told me to wait till 1400hrs or so to replace my rubber. But was kind of bore so i went home first. Sigh, only thing is to see is there any shop near my place in the Northeast zone to change the tire.

Originally posted by Intruder@Feb 3 2005, 08:07 PM

Thanks Nights. That shop i went the other told me to wait till 1400hrs or so to replace my rubber. But was kind of bore so i went home first. Sigh, only thing is to see is there any shop near my place in the Northeast zone to change the tire.

Northeast....hmm...are you near Ang Mo Kio? Over at Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2, on the 5th storey, there are a few bike shops which deal with tire as well, you might want to give there a try.

Originally posted by nights@Feb 3 2005, 08:12 PM

Northeast....hmm...are you near Ang Mo Kio? Over at Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2, on the 5th storey, there are a few bike shops which deal with tire as well, you might want to give there a try.

emm....thank nights for the infos...... :smile:

Originally posted by nights@Feb 3 2005, 08:12 PM

Hi Nights, May i know what Tire do you use for your ACE ?

Strength & Honor

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11111/Rune_large_10.jpg

Originally posted by Elite@Feb 3 2005, 08:32 PM

You should also ask wat side panniers he is using. He got a pair of beautiful n unique side panniers.

Originally posted by Intruder@Feb 3 2005, 08:36 PM

You should also ask wat side panniers he is using. He got a pair of beautiful n unique side panniers.

Oh!! hehe, but wat is side panniers?

Strength & Honor

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11111/Rune_large_10.jpg

Originally posted by Elite@Feb 3 2005, 08:32 PM

Using Dunlop at the moment. Guys, remember that tire gripping can only last for 10mth at most but of course if there is no running on wet surface, then no problem if you want to wait until tire went bald before changing.

Originally posted by Intruder@Feb 3 2005, 08:36 PM

Thanks for the comments. :cheeky:

Originally posted by Elite@Feb 3 2005, 08:44 PM

Oh!! hehe, but wat is side panniers?

Side Panniers = Side Bags = Saddle Bags :smile:

Originally posted by R.C@Feb 4 2005, 11:37 AM

how much would a rear dunlop cost? my rear tire is going bald soon... :smile:

Is it the D404? I remember getting quoted at Wing Yap Balestier for about $150. Not sure if that includes labour as that place has a habit of giving you a price upfront and then adding labour after that amount. Call 62566902 to ask, mate.

Originally posted by tempest@Feb 4 2005, 12:33 PM

Is it the D404? I remember getting quoted at Wing Yap Balestier for about $150. Not sure if that includes labour as that place has a habit of giving you a price upfront and then adding labour after that amount. Call 62566902 to ask, mate.

not sure what model is mine... haha... thanks dude for the info

Originally posted by R.C@Feb 4 2005, 12:36 PM

not sure what model is mine... haha... thanks dude for the info

The model/type is stated on the side of the tire wall. :smile:

Got mine front rubber replaced with IRC WildFlare....... The last front replaced with Wild Flare was on Sep 19 2003. So till now, should be abt 1.5 years old. This time the odo clock 77969km......Let this thread be the counter of the rubber till next replacement. My rear still thick and good, so not no need to be replaced....maybe till next replacement run.

Finally, my rear IRC WildFlares got replaced on 3rd October05. It going bald very soon, though can still tahan for abt another mth or so usage. Cos now working time is not as flexible as last time, so while on leave, got the oil, oil filter n rubber changed at one go.

The rear IRC WildFlares was installed since Sep 19th 2003, so would i say it lasted me for more than 2 years before it got replaced. (we can't calculate the toughness by days, but by mileage.) The 2nd front Wildflares remains.

This time got myself a BridgeStone ExeDra G546, 170/80/15. Cos the shop say got to wait for shipment for the WildFlare. Not sure how's the quality of the BridgeStone ExeDra series, maybe the experienced user can share. The ODO meter clock about 86830km. Did not try to hard on the new rubber as raining yesterday, wet floor. Today tried break in the rubber on drier road. Not bad i would say, just that not as soft feeling as the WildFlare first install, abit hard.

http://www.i-bike.com/images/parts/tires/g546_l.jpeg

http://194.39.141.68/upload/Album/AP_2321.jpg

Originally posted by jamez@Sep 20 2003, 11:16 PM

anyone knows the diff between bias-ply n radial tracked tyres? :confused: saw the description in a mag...but dun really know wat the fook it is....the general idea is dun mix bias ply n radial together or else handling performance will be affected....but how to differeciate?

Radial ply tires have two belts, usually of a fiberglass composition, that run all the way around the circumference of the tire. Radial tires tend to keep more of the contact patch on the ground and squirm less than a bias ply tire. The sidewalls are also firmer.

Bias ply tires use a belt, usually made of some sort of fabric, but sometimes fiberglass, that runs from tire bead to tire bead at about a 45 degree angle to the tire circumference... hence the term "bias". Bias ply tires tend to have softer sidewalls and the tread squirms more when it makes contact with the ground.

Radial ply tires generally have a better road feel, like the bike is running on a rail while bias ply tires tend to be more mushy. Bias ply tires also get poorer mileage and are somewhat cheaper.

Bias ply tires predate radials by quite a few years and are old technology, IMO. On a larger bike I would not consider bias ply tires... on a smaller machine the effects may not be as noticable.

One thing is for sure... never mix radial and bias ply tires... it will severly affect the handling of your bike... for the bad.

Sori for being ignorant. How can we differentia these 2 types of tyres? Stated along the rubber?

Thanks Intruder for retrieving this thread.. i tried browsing for 10 pages till i gave up..

Btw how much u paid for your rear Bridgestone.. thanks..

Originally posted by Intruder@Oct 4 2005, 10:39 PM

Sori for being ignorant. How can we differentia these 2 types of tyres? Stated along the rubber?

There will be an 'R' in the tire size. For example the back tire on my Valk is a 180/70R-16... the R lets you know it is a radial.

i'm using dunlop too...front botak liao lor...

thinking of changing it to bridgestone on my shadow...

but after browsing through this thread, bridgestone izzit for performance and wear out easier??

now where's the cheap and efficient service for changing dunlop or bridgestone?

any recommendation?

How much now in the market for dunlop and bridgestone?

Wilman