Vara is selling his zumo, you could PM him your budget and also if you don't mind 2nd hand device. Else, a brand new Zumo 500 which i bought at Perfect Watch is $950, Zumo 550 should cost around $1150 (have to check). Vista HCX would of course be way cheaper than Zumo, this all will ultimately depend on which device suits you. Earlier discussion from page 27 to here should give you a better understanding, happy shopping!

from your earlier posts, you are using a Quest and you wanna change already? Also seems like you prefer a handheld over a bike gps because you like the long battery life and more features. If i am to choose a handheld, i would choose a Oregon 300.

Yes yes..as from my previous post yes, i am using Garmin Quest for bike.it did serve its purpose of getting from point A to point B be it in S'pore or M'sia.

Loved it i must admit.

But the downside to this unit is its ONLY chargeable via its mount which is always on my bike. Meaning i can only charge it while on the move via the ciggy socket on my bike.

After a full charge, the GPS unit can only tahan max 2hrs 15mins after tat full FLAT...so u shd understand how i feel rite :(

Another downside it does not have a high sensitivity to receive the satellite signal for e.g under my block it cannot receive at all. Handheld can..

Lastly it only have built in memory so can only have S'pore and M'sia map. cannot upload any Thai map coz no space.

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

• Replies 2.6k

Wow it look great thanks! did u buy urs from Eastgear? are their after sales good?

actually its important to have good aftersales service. heard good reviews from Hoan Enterprise..so far have not heard anyone buying their GPS from Navicom @textile centre. they are the direct distributor of GARMIN as listed in the Garmin website.

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

Wow it look great thanks! did u buy urs from Eastgear? are their after sales good?

actually its important to have good aftersales service. heard good reviews from Hoan Enterprise..so far have not heard anyone buying their GPS from Navicom @textile centre. they are the direct distributor of GARMIN as listed in the Garmin website.

I bought my Zumo from Perfect Watch at Sim Lim Square, service is very good with Ms Chang. I had not tried any other like Eastgear or Navicom, but to me, retailers like Perfert Watch are sometimes better than the so call official distributors or agents.

Eastgear is parallel imported of handheld Garmin GPS. Nevethless, they are big enough to provide shop warranty. Their added valued is that all their Garmin sets come with Jerome Wee's map, that alone will cost USD20.

so far have not heard anyone buying their GPS from Navicom @textile centre. they are the direct distributor of GARMIN as listed in the Garmin website.

Navicom Technology does not do retail, and they will direct you to their dealers such as Perfect Watch, or Hoan Enterprise.

I just got my Nuvi 500. Reading Malsingmaps is kinda driving me nuts. Coz the recommended software is not compatible with the next.

I managed to upload Malaysia map into the internal memory drive of the Nuvi and then when I installed Sg map into the SD card, the unit is still unable to read the file.

Tried combining the Mal and Sg maps but the software prompts me that the files are not readable. Close to :faint: already

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

I just got my Nuvi 500.

You can bring your Nuvi 500 along once the diving season opens in Apr ? :angel:

Reading Malsingmaps is kinda driving me nuts. Coz the recommended software is not compatible with the next.

Garmin device is proprietary, for third party maps, it can only read Malsing (MSM) or Malaysia Free Map (MFM) or Jerome Wee.

So what software are you referring to ?

I managed to upload Malaysia map into the internal memory drive of the Nuvi and then when I installed Sg map into the SD card, the unit is still unable to read the file.

If you are referring to MSM map, Singapore and West Malaysia maps come in a single IMG file, so where did you get separate SINGAPORE, and MALAYSIA maps ?

Did you create a GARMIN sub directory in the SD CARD ? The GMASUPP.IMG (and no other name) file must be in that directory for it to recognise.

Tried combining the Mal and Sg maps but the software prompts me that the files are not readable. Close to :faint: already

What software are you using to combine the map ?

If the one or both of the maps are locked, and you do not have the unlock codes then you can't combine them.

hey there can anyone help me clear out the diff between 60csx n 76csx ??

Both are waterproof and basically they have the same function. 60csx is for land use and can be drop into a metre of water and should be waterproof for at least 1/2 hour.

76csx is for sailing/boating for it can float when drop into the water. 60csx will sink down. 76csx is marine friendly and it got ocean chart. Can also be use on land.

clear out both .... ???

can .. you go buy both ...

than i help you clear both out ... :cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot002-9.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot003-2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot004-1.jpg

clear out both .... ???

can .. you go buy both ...

than i help you clear both out ... :cheeky:

wahahaha ... buy both ?? one on each side of handlebar ah ?.. hahaha

very keen on the 60csx .. still surveying .. looks gd n rugged too jus like u on ur tdm :thumb:

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h316/qaihonda/DSC00442.jpg

I Am Still Loving It !!! :angel:

wahahaha ... buy both ?? one on each side of handlebar ah ?.. hahaha

very keen on the 60csx .. still surveying .. looks gd n rugged too jus like u on ur tdm :thumb:

-deleted- -deleted-

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet

I just got my Nuvi 500. Reading Malsingmaps is kinda driving me nuts. Coz the recommended software is not compatible with the next.

wow. you are fast.

The Nuvi 500 is pretty new, rugged and waterproof. You can even immerse it inside water. :angel:

Was considering it too due to the removable/exchangeable battery.

How much did you got it for? Using RAM mount? :D

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

so u saying u wanna give me urs is it :cheeky:

btw to all thanks for clearing my doubt,need to calculate my finances whether to get this Zumo or also another choice the Garmin Vista HCX.

Ya give U lah..but mus return me $1.5 K ...LOL

Yes alot of hard work mus be done...U mus try reading as much as u can...then explore it..dun take short cut... :thumb: only then u'll enjoy using it

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

Any1 here own a Garmin Nuvi 680? Am looking for field-report and reviews for this set.

Am using Legend CX at the moment for both driving and riding but look it a little too small when driving.

;=-

;=- Who Dares, Wins ;=-

;=-

Hi folks,

Thank you for the overwhelming responce, my zumo is officially sold to a gentleman. Hope you enjoy your new toy, ya....:thumb:

:thumb: to ur new Owner of the Zumo....

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE

Hi folks,

Thank you for the overwhelming responce, my zumo is officially sold to a gentleman. Hope you enjoy your new toy, ya....:thumb:

can disclose the selling price?:angel:

anyone here familiar in using MapSource? i like to add some track, POIs and new road into Singapore map and contribute to MFM, but having some difficulty playing with MapSource...

wow. you are fast.

The Nuvi 500 is pretty new, rugged and waterproof. You can even immerse it inside water. :angel:

Was considering it too due to the removable/exchangeable battery.

How much did you got it for? Using RAM mount? :D

:angel: But i dun think i wanna put it to the test and immerse it in water. As long as I can still use for bike trips during heavy rain, I'm quite ok with it.

According to the reviews,the battery will last up to 8 hrs w/o charging so if u get a spare, you will have 16 hrs of it. No need bring ciggie charger liao.

I got the unit for sgd430 as I did not incur shipping charges. Got a friend in states who was coming back. Anyway, I've got another friend coming back, so if you want to order the GPS, tomorrow is the last day if not US side cannot deliver to him before his flight back. sms me if you want. Yes I ordered the mount as well.

unfortunately, I cannot get the anti vibration one as my bike does not have a handlebar.

2) WP riding pants

6) Arai Helmet