Originally posted by Brembo@Apr 5 2005, 01:02 PM

oh yes, guess i gave you the idea we are tearing thru town... :lol:

in fact we are doing the convoy at a dead slow speed...about 40kph max.

the reason is that we need to let the people see wat's printed behind our espirit tees!

oii, road hoggin !! :nono: :nono: :nono:

• Replies 1.1k

Originally posted by Mark C.@Apr 5 2005, 01:08 PM

oii, road hoggin !! :nono: :nono: :nono:

no choice

:nono: :nono:

this is a cheaper form of advertising.... ;)

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

Originally posted by Brembo@Apr 5 2005, 01:17 PM

no choice

:nono: :nono:

this is a cheaper form of advertising.... ;)

haha sounds fun lo!! geez.. i hate working =( btw got extra stickers? ^^

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

Originally posted by Brembo@Apr 5 2005, 01:02 PM

oh yes, guess i gave you the idea we are tearing thru town... :lol:

in fact we are doing the convoy at a dead slow speed...about 40kph max.

the reason is that we need to let the people see wat's printed behind our espirit tees!

haha..time to test the plank crossing skill we learnt liao...trying to ride dead slow without swaying here and there....:sian:

tight tees ah...dun know will I be too fat to fit in :sweat:

heh...

Life is not measured by how many breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Originally posted by shinkai@Apr 5 2005, 03:58 PM

haha sounds fun lo!! geez.. i hate working =( btw got extra stickers? ^^

think sera will bring on sat to paste on my bike...the rest all have theirs liao...

if she has extra for juz in case..ask brembo ask from her loh... :cheeky:

Life is not measured by how many breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Originally posted by Krissy@Apr 5 2005, 04:05 PM

think sera will bring on sat to paste on my bike...the rest all have theirs liao...

i also want!... can?

"Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed" --Proverbs 16:3

Originally posted by Krissy@Apr 5 2005, 04:05 PM

wat sticker izzit huh :confused:

:angry: Road to Endless Destination is still burning. :angry:
Originally posted by momo_x9@Apr 5 2005, 04:59 PM

wat sticker izzit huh :confused:

esprit.... right?

"Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed" --Proverbs 16:3

dont know, should be espirit bahz since it's their event!

btw i'm really glad that there's an increase in ET8 riders at SBF. :cheer:

Originally posted by shinkai@Apr 5 2005, 11:08 PM

dont know, should be espirit bahz since it's their event!

btw i'm really glad that there's an increase in ET8 riders at SBF. :cheer:

oic.. thanks.. :smile:

Originally posted by dogshit2@Apr 6 2005, 10:03 AM

anyone here got put speakers on their et8??

i wish to put as well, it's like so cool and fun! you thinking of installing it?

honestly feel that speakers abit wasted on scooters lah...have to on it really really loud in order to hear properly on the roads...then when stop at traffic light, wouldnt it be way too loud???

not very practical leh.. o_O

Originally posted by Krissy@Apr 6 2005, 02:04 PM

honestly feel that speakers abit wasted on scooters lah...have to on it really really loud in order to hear properly on the roads...then when stop at traffic light, wouldnt it be way too loud???

not very practical leh.. o_O

there's controller to mute it ... :cheeky:

act it all up to individual.. :smile:

hey guys & gals....can someone tell me wat r de basic maintence of tis bike and how much will i need to spend for each servicing??

Intending to get 1 soon,but unaware of tis stuff..please enlight me... :pray: :pray:

Originally posted by Biker82@Apr 7 2005, 01:17 AM

hey guys & gals....can someone tell me wat r de basic maintence of tis bike and how much will i need to spend for each servicing??

Intending to get 1 soon,but unaware of tis stuff..please enlight me... :pray: :pray:

anyone??:confused:

Originally posted by Biker82@Apr 7 2005, 11:53 PM

anyone??:confused:

so far i havent been to any servicing yet! :giddy:

reached 16000km already!

anyone whom knows the answers to biker82's questions please help. but i guess probably less than 150?

Originally posted by Biker82@Apr 7 2005, 01:17 AM

Vespa ET8 is a 4 stroke, 150cc. 2 valve per cyliner (there's only 1 cylinder anyway)

sohc scoot. It's air cooled with a small oil intercooler in the air shroud that cover

the cylinder cooling fins.

Drive train is using the convetionl auto scoot CVT.

Ok let's talk about the general maintenance.

When the bike is new, do a run in. usually not more than 75% of the top speed for the 1000km. During this period, it's advise to varies the throttle and try to avoid traffic jams if possible. avoid staying at a constant rpm/speed during this period.

I'm the kiasu type.

My first change of engine oil will be first 300km plus change of filter. Gear oil also.

Then do the same at 1000km. use sythetics only after 1000km.

Then next oil change at 3000km (my kiasu style)

Finally 5000km change oil and filter (my kiasu style)

So next come the normal routine maintenance.

Change oil at every 3000km. and oil filter every 6000km. (Personal preference.)

Try to stick to the oil specs. If it call for a max 40w oil try not to use a 50w oil

Gear oil is to be change at every 12,000km.

Plugs NGK CR8EB is to be change at every 12,000km. This one is personal.

U can change at 5K, 10K, 12K or even 18k. it's all up to u. I personally prefers every 12K.

CVT is supposed to service at 12000km. I will do it at 11,000km if I were you.

This is because, if the belt were to give way the sight is not going to be pretty.

Details on oil change.

It's nothing much actually. The cost involve is just the price u pay for the oil.

Fully syn oil ranges from $18~$28 detpends very much on what u want.

And depends on shops, service charge may be not included or included.

oil filter. The ET 8 oil filter is the element type. Visualize the VXR200 filter cartridge or super 4 filter. But without the external metal shell/casing. In other words u will only see the paper/fabric/whatever element only. Cost is under $20 for original.

Gear oil. U need about aprox 150ml or less. 1 bottle of fully syn gear oil is $18 for 1 liter. But bike shop also got loose one. In other words, they only change and charge what you need, which is 150ml or lesss. Cost? only afew dollars.

The oil part actually is very similar to other bikes.

The CVT part.

CVT need to service and replace part at every 12K. I do it at 11k for precautionary measures. Just in case.

Parts need to be change as they are the wear and tear parts.

They are -

Belt x 1

Rollers x 6

Clips x 3

Belts range from $45~$120. depends on brand and type

Skipper's stock belt, a paiggio item range from 45~55.

Skipper's malossi belt range from 75~85.

Runner stock belt is 90~120.

runner malossi belt is around 120.

Malossi belts are stiffer and longer lasting. They generally can last till 19k if the engine is tock.

Rollers cost $6 a piece. u need 6.

There are stock ones and malossi one. Price is surprisingly very close. Not much diff between stock and malossi.

Try to match ur belts and rollers eg. stock belt with stock rollers.

malossi belt with malossi rollers. cos malossi parts kinda last longer than stock.

if you are using malossi belt and stock rollers, you won't really want to replace belt at 18K but roller at 12k. kinda double job requires and service routine abit mess up.

Clips. The is 3 U grooved clip on the pulley. Advisable to change the every time you change belts and rollers. Make it compulsory to change them everytime u change the other wear componets. 1 clip is around 3 bucks.

AND the usual practice for opening the trans cover to change the above mentioned parts is chargable. Everytime u open the trans cover, a $25 cost is charge to u.

Thta's is why earlier on, I advise you to match the parts accordingly.

U won't want to pay $25 service charge to change belt at 12k. and another $25 to change the rollers.

Air filter change every 6months. U can clean and reuse as it the spong type.

But I'm lazy. so I would rather pay for a new one. it's $16++ only anyway.

OK there's always a very interesting arguement/comparison with other chain driven bike. With the cost of replacing the transmission part given above. One may argue that chain bike is cheaper. My answer is no. They are the same actually.

For a chain bike, they can last until 30k before they repalce their chain.

But that is provided they clean and lube the cahin regularly. Maybe like once every 3 weeks? And then when you change the chain. u need to change the front and rear spocket too. all in all will amount to $300 plus for a good brand. service charge not included.

AS for auto scoot. you just change every 12km and that's all. It's maintenance free and you need not do anything. just follow the 12k schedule.

Conclusion, the price is very similar but autoscoot have a advantage of being maintenance free.

Other than that, nothing much. brake fluid is to be change yearly. Just like other bikes.

U mind want to tighten screw as and when it's loose. Just like other bikes.

Guess that's about all.