I think when u press start, main relay cut of all other parts like light, meter using electric and after release start button power supply again to meter and it spin again like first time turn on ignition

nope.. it isnt this way... when we on the bike, the needle will swipe once, when bike engine start wif batt strong, needle will not swipe the second time, but if batt weak (initial stage) bike start liao, needle will swipe the second time to warn us batt weak liao ..

WTS givi e16 smile box, with led @$20

interested party , do PM me..

• Replies 7.7k

need help.. Spec1 - jerking at lower revs!

currently had replaced my clutch plates and spark plugs and one of my spark plug cap liao. my bike still jerking /pulling as though the petrol is not buring properly at lower revs around 3.5k-4k rpm. vtec never kick in at 6.5k like normal but maybe ard 7k rpm.

Thanks a million bros...

need help.. Spec1 - jerking at lower revs!

currently had replaced my clutch plates and spark plugs and one of my spark plug cap liao. my bike still jerking /pulling as though the petrol is not buring properly at lower revs around 3.5k-4k rpm. vtec never kick in at 6.5k like normal but maybe ard 7k rpm.

Thanks a million bros...

The things u had done did not solve ur problem...u DIY or done by a mech? If by mech..u should go back to him and say that the problem is not solve yet. If still can't..may be u wanna pm me.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

nope.. it isnt this way... when we on the bike, the needle will swipe once, when bike engine start wif batt strong, needle will not swipe the second time, but if batt weak (initial stage) bike start liao, needle will swipe the second time to warn us batt weak liao ..

My bike always spin meter after engine start since nearly last 2 months... It's still OK :cool:.

I read bike manual but not found related suggestion. Except above symptom, How to check battery?

For Vtec 3

If the meter spin a second time after the engine start, is it a sign of weak battery?

That's start up check

Weak battery means can't start engine and at that time trip 1 & 2 meter will be reset after you push start button

Correct. Change your batt b4 it totally can't start. Else gt to push start

i experienced the same thing before. and i chose to ignore it. after that i realised my magnetic coil all the way to my battery all fry. ended up chaging all this 3 things.

I think when u press start, main relay cut of all other parts like light, meter using electric and after release start button power supply again to meter and it spin again like first time turn on ignition

Have a look here for more info on 2nd swipe issue.

Be wary of the source of information for your bike's maintenance. Some FAQs are compiled by people who lack the technical know how. :angel:

hi! im looking for a stainless steel header for my s4 vtec1.. anyone knows where to get it for a gd price or second hand gd condition too.. thanks alot..

Have a look here for more info on 2nd swipe issue.

But I don't understand start charge at 3,000 rpm and peak at 5,000 rpm. It means below than 3,000 rpm or over than 5,000 rpm battery was not charged?

My spec 1 have a problem at the expressway, traveling halfway suddenly lost power. No matter how much I throttle, rpm won't go up. When I rev, the engine sound very weak and then die off.

Can anyone adviser what's wrong?

Many thanks:)

LICENCES

class 2B: 07sep06 (cg125, nsr150, cbf150, x1r, ta200)

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

class 2A: 27may08 (revo, vtec1, majesty250)

class 2: 08jun10 (fz6n, GSX-R600L4, tmax530)

My spec 1 have a problem at the expressway, traveling halfway suddenly lost power. No matter how much I throttle, rpm won't go up. When I rev, the engine sound very weak and then die off.

Can anyone adviser what's wrong?

Many thanks:)

i hv encountered this problem with my en125. suddenly no power, give throttle will die off. cos battery weak and spark plug. but i not sure bout your case. call up ah pek to help!

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1

i hv encountered this problem with my en125. suddenly no power, give throttle will die off. cos battery weak and spark plug. but i not sure bout your case. call up ah pek to help!

Hmm new batt and spark plug not long ago.

Worry the damage is very serious. Hai~

LICENCES

class 3: 30apr07 (Mitsubishi lancer, Nissan sunny, Toyota corolla, Volkswagen golf tsi)

Hmm new batt and spark plug not long ago.

Worry the damage is very serious. Hai~

Ur battery is still ok..just not charge..go for a bench top recharged it as it is new and likely not faulty. After charging..asked the mech to check ur charging voltage out put...should be at least 13.5v dc and up to best at 14.2v dc. If it's 13.2v dc or below 13v dc..it's either ur rectifier or magneto coil going bad..or worst both. Don't just listen there..observe and asked.

Hi Ah Pek

Got a question for you. My bike got the tick tick sound during morning start up or when engine is cold but sound dissapear when engine is hot. My mech told me to change the tensioner. Should I?

Hi Ah Pek

Got a question for you. My bike got the tick tick sound during morning start up or when engine is cold but sound dissapear when engine is hot. My mech told me to change the tensioner. Should I?

U better change mechanic!!!:sian:.....it's normal..just ignore it.

lol... yah tick tick tick... normal lah for super 4. i do valve clearance, chg tensioner also still gt d sound. dun bother lah.

Apr 2006 - Oct 2009: Yamaha RXZ 135 (FS 3*** E)

Oct 2009 - CURRENT: CB400 Spec 1 (FT 7*** J)

lol... yah tick tick tick... normal lah for super 4. i do valve clearance, chg tensioner also still gt d sound. dun bother lah.

Eh i got same prob! The only diff is my tick tick sound comes only when i've been riding for some time.. is it still normal?

Yes....normal.

Ur battery is still ok..just not charge..go for a bench top recharged it as it is new and likely not faulty. After charging..asked the mech to check ur charging voltage out put...should be at least 13.5v dc and up to best at 14.2v dc. If it's 13.2v dc or below 13v dc..it's either ur rectifier or magneto coil going bad..or worst both. Don't just listen there..observe and asked.

thanks ah pek! i was told and seen by myself that the CDI flooded with water and corroded due to previous owner who cut open the casing to solder wire into the internal pins. will CDI fault result into lost of power during throttling?

LICENCES

That's what i thought too after reading some of your comments regarding the tick sound. Thanks Ah Pek.

Yes....normal.

Just curious - where does the ticking sound come from?

There are 16 shims in all..their thickness varies..the thinnest and far off from the rest makes the most noise till heat builds up and metal expand that makes it 'tighter' and thus less sound. The shim is actually ur cam follwer to valve stem clearance.

thanks ah pek! i was told and seen by myself that the CDI flooded with water and corroded due to previous owner who cut open the casing to solder wire into the internal pins. will CDI fault result into lost of power during throttling?

Yes..possible. Check carefully if there is any shorting there among the wires..just have them seperate a bit and insulate it.

ok Thank u ah pek:)

LICENCES

Q: Want to ask opinion from u guy. Whats ur experiences for S4 original Showa rear absorber servicing/repair ? is it adviceable/worth it? as i knew the original absorber price 1 pair is ard $1k which is kiling. Repair/servicing will cost ard $200 which replace seal n change oil? Or change option cheaper absorber better? what brand? cost?

Riding Since 198+:

Honda C70, Yamaha 100 Sport, Suzuki BEST 110

Suzuki Panther 150, Yamaha 125 Antolo Scramble

YAMAHA LC135 YPVS (Trade in) 1997

YAMAHA RXZ135 (Trade in) 1998

HONDA WAVE 110 (Trade in) 2000

HONDA CBR150 Repsol (Trade in) 2004

HONDA CB400 Super Four Spec 3 Spec III (Trade in) 2010

HONDA CB400X 2014