Originally posted by Sub_Zero+-->
QUOTE (Sub_Zero)
Ntrust has a chain/sprocket combo for slightly less than 100.. or about there including instalation..

Any idea what brand they are using? Chris? I thinking of getting mine done there[/b]

Sorry Vik, no idea, call them lah. One thing's for sure - it's very cheap!

Originally posted by Visor+-->
QUOTE (Visor)
Just wanted to ask, is there any reason why you guys want to use a 520,525 chain?[/b]

Because a reputable Aprilia mechanic with extensive racing team experience said that 428 chains aren't suitable for our bikes - too much vibration and not enough stability, if I remember right.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Date: 18th Sept sunday

Time: 4pm

Venue: Kallang KFC

confirmed (nicks,names n numbers..):

1. M@+r!x, andrew n 98554161 (as usual! ill appear! guys must more steady ah !)

2. eyz (yea, but will be late.. workin nite shift the night before.. i propose later time, afternoon sun very hot ah!)

3. alanhim (Not yet confirm)

4. DNAdevil (cant confirm till the fri c boss force me OT or not)

the response is horrible man.. i think your kopi sessions get better responses than this..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/1c026f0e.jpg

- vivi

haha.. vivian.. don stress or else next time wont look like ann kok anymore.. :cheeky: anyways.. i might be going only if my bike is discharged from hospital on saturday.. haha!! god pls.. pls have mercy on my bike.. :cry: btw.. cagiva site got how many ppl coming ah? :confused:

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4760/presentation1re8.jpg

Date: 18th Sept sunday

Time: 4pm

Venue: Kallang KFC

confirmed (nicks,names n numbers..):

1. M@+r!x, andrew n 98554161 (as usual! ill appear! guys must more steady ah !)

2. eyz (yea, but will be late.. workin nite shift the night before.. i propose later time, afternoon sun very hot ah!)

3. alanhim (Not yet confirm)

4. DNAdevil (cant confirm till the fri c boss force me OT or not)

5. benguin46 (if bike ok, i ok)

come on ppl.. support the ann kok look alike.. hehe

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/4760/presentation1re8.jpg
Originally posted by Jie Liang+Sep 9 2005, 01:17 AM-->
QUOTE (Jie Liang @ Sep 9 2005, 01:17 AM)
bro for the rear 140 or 150 better ?

so you got it @ 190 w/o installation eh? [/b]

ya gimme a call lah.. i hope to wake up at 2pm and get my exhaust changed by 4pm.. afterwhich i need to rush down for assignment discussion..

i most probably can't company ya for inspection nor for the sprocket & chain change.. got an appointment with my group mates.. my apology dude!

Originally posted by Jie Liang+-->
QUOTE (Jie Liang)

so you got it @ 190 w/o installation eh? [/b]

alex recommend 140.. so i heed the advice of an expert.. hehe

ya ya.. 190 for tires only... the 5$ labour which i felt was extra.. i think i cud talk it off with Mr. Lim and paid 190$ flat for the tires and installation...

but the thing is, everytime the price Mr. Lim quoted me, it just seems too low for me to bargain!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg
Originally posted by eyz@Sep 8 2005, 05:12 PM

ya sure it's coming from the valve??

the last time i'd rattlin sound wif my valve was the bushin in the valve housin came loose..

i bought the bush from FJT and the problem was solved.. however not for long... in the end, i got a spare valve housing from fibre..

the cause of the rattlin sound was due to the valve shoulder knockin on the valve housing.. the bush is supposed to keep a small allowance between the valve and the housing..

btw, is ya valve opening?? if not, might be due to the knocking of the broken valve stem...

no not opening how much to is the valve? (if it the thing that u said broken)

Originally posted by eyz+Sep 9 2005, 05:44 AM-->
QUOTE (eyz @ Sep 9 2005, 05:44 AM)
change block?? geez... change to wat?? pompeepee??

are we gonna have another pompeepee in d house soon??

[/b]

Yeah..Pompeepee.:cheer: Pompeepee.:cheer: Pompeepee.:cheer: pompeepee.:cheer: Pompeepee.:cheer:

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

Guys, anybody else interested in adjustable rearsets for $190? Can a copy of any popular models....go to the mass order section of ARC to find out more. Me trying to get more support for this :cheer:

once upon a midnight dreary, while i pron surfed, weak and weary, over many a strange and spurious site of ' hot xxx galore'. While i clicked my fav'rite bookmark, suddenly there came a warning, and my heart was filled with mourning, mourning for my dear amour, " 'Tis not possible!", i muttered, " give me back my free hardcore!"..... quoth the server, 404.

Originally posted by eyz@Sep 8 2005, 05:16 PM

I managed to find the cheapest tires @ LAB for only 190$.

He charged me 5$ for labour.

listenin to spidey's recommendation.. i got the Dunlop GPR 70, 110/70 and 140/60

Good news. I need to get a set of these for my motard soon.

It's currently got 120/70 and 150/60 on it which are too big.

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Originally posted by muser@Sep 9 2005, 02:01 AM

Because a reputable Aprilia mechanic with extensive racing team experience said that 428 chains aren't suitable for our bikes - too much vibration and not enough stability, if I remember right.

Mind telling me who chris? I am curious as to why it would be vibrate more? hehe..:cheeky:

Always be prepared.

If it's coming from Chris I would guess that it's Black who told him that.

Anyway, from what I've heard is that they're ok but only really suitable for track use. For road use they will wear out extremely quickly.

Previous rides:

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

just wanna gripe a little.

Some total mutherfarker in my area has taken a disliking to me or my bike, maybe because I'm angmoh, otherwise I can't figure out why.

Anyway, today was the third time I returned to my CBR150 to find the rear view mirror broken. However, this time the bas***d also broke the mirror on the bike that was parked beside me and then the owner of that bike left a note on my bike accusing me of braking their mirror and asking me to pay for it stating that they have taken pictures of my bike parked too close to theirs.

Anyway, I check my bike carefully when I park it and walk away and I am 100% positive I didn't damage the bike beside when I parked. Besides, if I really had done such a thing and didn't want to admit to it I would have moved my bike to another lot. I'm not stupid.

Point is I'm ###### fedup. These ppl (I'm assuming they are troublesome kids) have it in for my CBR150 and I've tried parking in different areas of the MSCP and it still happens. I don't know what else to do other than to sell the bike and hope that they don't realize which of the other bikes are mine.

Why are there people around like this???

Arrrrgghhhhh!!!!!

Previous rides:

Jie Liang Posted: Sep 9 2005, 01:17 AM 

so you got it @ 190 w/o installation eh?

140 better.... Many moons ago, our dear senior Aprilia chief, servoprax, told me that 140 rear is better on straights and faster in corners. Been using 140 rear since then and cant find anything to disprove it. On the straights, hard to say, cos my bike very slow.... In corners, very agile. Can flick the bike into a corner just *snaps fingers* like that. But it may be making me a worse rider because I dont bother to assess a corner anymore, just take a corner first then make changes on the fly. I think better to stick with proper riding technique, where you assess a turn, and commit into it. Making changes while in a turn can be dangerous.... :nono:

Sub_Zero

Ntrust has a chain/sprocket combo for slightly less than 100.. or about there including instalation..

Any idea what brand they are using? Chris? I thinking of getting mine done there

Using normal chain and sprockets. Can last longer.... Am using AFAM sprockets now. Half the weight of the normal sprockets but probably half the lifespan too.

Benguin46 Posted: Sep 9 2005, 01:56 AM 

guys, few questions..

Heh.... Can check out Chin Kuan's quote on the prices. Comparing to my PM to you on the pricing, quite accurate, wouldnt you say?

The budget option for evening your disc rotor out would be to grind it to smoothen the surface. Even I did that for my own bike as I dont think I can afford a new pair of rotors... Few hundred for a disc.... :giddy:

Samuel,

Sorry to hear about your seized piston.... Let me know if you need anything. Like maybe, a working 2T sensor? :sweat:

redridinghood Posted: Sep 9 2005, 02:22 AM 

the response is horrible man.. i think your kopi sessions get better responses than this..

haha.... Must go ARC Forum to post then will get response... :cheeky:

Anyway, the other day I passed Chomp Chomp in the afternoon, you were there with Raf and Ron, you also never jio....

Today saw a crimson red Mito at the traffic junction og Ang Mo Kio. Really hot and sounds real sweet too. The showstopper was not the sound nor its looks, it was the huge GIVI box mounted to the back of the bike. :slapforehead:

Chin Kuan,

wah your $10 per bottle of 2T offer really damn good man... Piang, I also cannot beat... :giddy:

Gonggong,

I just brought in a Bitubo 2-way adjustable rear shock.... heh heh heh heh....

berukblue Posted: Sep 9 2005, 10:07 AM 

Guys, anybody else interested in adjustable rearsets for $190? Can a copy of any popular models....go to the mass order section of ARC to find out more. Me trying to get more support for this

I interested leh.... If mass order can bring down the price by 30% shiok man.... :cheeky:

Axxis Posted: Sep 9 2005, 02:00 PM 

Some total mutherfarker in my area has taken a disliking to me or my bike, maybe because I'm angmoh, otherwise I can't figure out why.

Woah.... Chris, you might wanna stake out at your bike... A friend of mine was robbed at knifepoint and stabbed in the arm and neck just 20meters from coppers, who did nothing about it. Do you think they'll bother with a bike vandal?

I'd stake out with a baseball bat if I were you. The sound of bones breaking is seriously, addictively delectable. :thumb:

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Originally posted by lacrimosae+Sep 9 2005, 03:50 PM-->
QUOTE (lacrimosae @ Sep 9 2005, 03:50 PM)
140 better.... Many moons ago, our dear senior Aprilia chief, servoprax, told me that 140 rear is better on straights and faster in corners. Been using 140 rear since then and cant find anything to disprove it. On the straights, hard to say, cos my bike very slow.... In corners, very agile. Can flick the bike into a corner just *snaps fingers* like that. But it may be making me a worse rider because I dont bother to assess a corner anymore, just take a corner first then make changes on the fly. I think better to stick with proper riding technique, where you assess a turn, and commit into it. Making changes while in a turn can be dangerous.... :nono: [/b]

geez... d way ya take a corner sounds so scary... i also wanna learn!! time for some tips from the master!! take the corner and make changes on the fly!! exactly like wat Ben told me!

Originally posted by Axxis@Sep 9 2005, 02:00 PM

Anyway, today was the third time I returned to my CBR150 to find the rear view mirror broken. However, this time the bas***d also broke the mirror on the bike that was parked beside me and then the owner of that bike left a note on my bike accusing me of braking their mirror and asking me to pay for it stating that they have taken pictures of my bike parked too close to theirs.

Anyway, I check my bike carefully when I park it and walk away and I am 100% positive I didn't damage the bike beside when I parked. Besides, if I really had done such a thing and didn't want to admit to it I would have moved my bike to another lot. I'm not stupid.

Point is I'm ###### fedup. These ppl (I'm assuming they are troublesome kids) have it in for my CBR150 and I've tried parking in different areas of the MSCP and it still happens. I don't know what else to do other than to sell the bike and hope that they don't realize which of the other bikes are mine.

Why are there people around like this???

Arrrrgghhhhh!!!!!

hey, jus go and make a police report lah..

if d other owner pesters ya, jus tell him ya'd made a police report and they are investigating.. i think tis wud be classified as mischief..

hey lauren....how much would a working 2T sensor cost? treating it as an early overhaul...and there goes my Arai...aaggaghahaha :cry:

bike only be out next monday/tuesday..but i believe it would be a good job done..well, dun really wish to talk about the money part... its substantial enough to get a ARAI... ARAI!!!! ARAI!!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:

nevermind...doing the next owner a big favor by overhauling my engine on first 4k KM..hahaha..dumb and dumberer...

btw, lauren...did u happen to find a screw at your place? dropped a nut there... :cheeky:

Originally posted by speedkills@Sep 9 2005, 01:12 AM

my piston seized today! :sian:

now need to change block and piston.. zzzzz

early overhaul...

all because my 2T empty!!!!!!! my sensor spoiled and i forgot to check 2T tank! :cry: :cry:

wah... :nono:

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by Visor@Sep 9 2005, 01:03 PM

Mind telling me who chris? I am curious as to why it would be vibrate more? hehe..:cheeky:

the 125 race bike in ideal is using 428 sprockets... if u wan power then sure have something to sacrifice... :smile: and i think there is nothing to do with vibrations... u get lesser unsprung weight too which promotes handling..

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by gonggong@Sep 9 2005, 08:56 PM

Where you fixing your bike? What parts needed to be replaced? and roughly how much? I need to start setting aside money....

i am doing at lab workshop. friend knows mech there. they will do good job... very experience mech. :cheer:

if you wanna overhaul...set aside at least 500-700 i think.. :cry:

Originally posted by Axxis@Sep 9 2005, 02:00 PM

If it's a case of discrimination, be it race or brand(maybe he's riding a kawasaki or yamaha or someother brand), i think you should go to the police.

It happened to my dad recently who is riding a honda steed, nicely done up and stuff, and some ****er stuffed toothpicks into his ignition area , therefore he can't insert the key. In the end , i caught the mother ****er red handed at my hdb cark park messing around with my dad's bike exhaust.I confronted the guy, and he apologise, even offered to pay me(which i took).. i asked him why he does such stupid things, i was told he is also another honda steed rider, and he's jealous of my dad's bike condition and level of chrome...

so you see stupid people does stupid things, don't ask me why.

BTW: the guy was a man in his mid 50s.can you believe it?

Always be prepared.

Originally posted by speedkills@Sep 9 2005, 01:12 AM

my piston seized today! :sian:

now need to change block and piston.. zzzzz

early overhaul...

all because my 2T empty!!!!!!! my sensor spoiled and i forgot to check 2T tank! :cry: :cry:

Never take your sensor for granted. Always manually check your level every 2 weeks. This is a lesson learnt. That LED indicator that you depend on may fail at anytime.

And you're taking the bike to AH BOY?? ... of all places.... o_O

Why not take it to nTrust?? At least you know they will give a sh1t abt the bike. But LAB....?? o_O

Anyway, I've done 2 top-end overhauls for my 'Priller 4 years back. I rode the bike hard, twice, to its death. Will set you back around 700 bucks, give or take a couple of hundred.

P.S.

Get the double ring piston. Don't go for the "racing" single ring one. You're not a racer, and you can't afford another overhaul so soon. Also, pray that your cylinder walls ain't scuffed too bad.

Originally posted by Axxis+-->
QUOTE (Axxis)
Why are there people around like this???[/b]

Cuz some people are a blight to humanity.

Originally posted by eyz+-->
QUOTE (eyz)
d way ya take a corner sounds so scary[/b]

The man's got balls of steel what, heheh :sweat:

Originally posted by spiderman

i think there is nothing to do with vibrations

I'm just reporting what the mech said. Something to do with there not being enough rotational intertia to prevent it from moving left and right (as opposed to the normal motion of up and down), but I can't really remember. I'll ask again and get a clearer answer.

from a physics pt of view, i cant understand why a chain will have forces that will make it oscillate horizontally...

but anyway, i think that if u have a lighter chain, together with its reduced friction, it will be prone to more up-down oscillations, and then it will tend to wear out faster. That's also probably why we should tighten our chains regularly.

look at SPs n KIPs, their bike have supposedly similar torque to our bikes, but yet they are still using 428 chains. In fact, we are using chains that are standard of 400s... This is definately an overkill.

Will be chainging to 428 chain next time. (but anyway, my 520 chain has already lasted 1year n 2 months already, only tighten once so far. still can tighten many more times b4 max. see my point abt the overkill?)

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5