• Replies 27

Yes, as long as you don't road hog.

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

cos my friend was in first lane, then the tp asked him to go to second lane. he ride ard 90 which is the speed limit. Then there was once a taxi uncle horn at me when i am travelling at 120. i think he was ard 140

Its not advisable to ride one on first lane because we bikers will always lose out in the event of accident. You see if a car jam brake at 90km/h, their four wheels is more stable to the downwards force caused by the e brake. If your bike jam brake at 90km/h, i dont think you can control the bike at all. The two wheels and brake system may not able to take the force. Once you skidded, other cars will run into you.

Besides in theory, lane 1 is meant for overtaking only.

cos my friend was in first lane, then the tp asked him to go to second lane. he ride ard 90 which is the speed limit. Then there was once a taxi uncle horn at me when i am travelling at 120. i think he was ard 140

as wat was mentioned by eedwin..as long as u dun rd hog can liaos..meaning even if u go 120 n de bugger bhind is tailgating u den u mus gif way :thumb: i oso usually ride on lane 1 but i make sure bhind/infrnt of me no cars..betta 2 b safe than sry

:clap: I love my cute, small bike! :clap:

Opinion is more to 2nd lane...1st like being mentioned is for overtaking u ride at 120km/h can also be stop if TP is ard..so just ride on the 2nd lane and go to the 1st if there is a need to overtake...

my point of view..:thumb:

Progress Is Impossible Without Change

And Those Who Cannot Change Their Mind

Cannot Change Anything.....

..FREEDOM..

bro , my ride is a busa fyi ...

i too dun ride/stay at first lane ....

pls take that lane as a overtaking or for speeding vehicals ...

i hate it when i see the 1st lane congested with slow moving vehicals ...

ur too slow that's why tp ask you to siam .

Well, F the theory cos i always see cars driving as slow as 70km/hr on lane 1.

& i dun think there's anything wrong with my speedo.

ya, agree with it, if the 1st lane clear then use lor, but if got car coming close behind you just give way and move to 2nd lane lor, anyway i always do that and make sure no matter what lane i'm in, i always got ample space between me and the car in front:thumb:

You are most probably right! The TP ask to move to Lane 2 becos lane 1 is for OVERTAKING. The problem is that very few drivers understand that concept. As far as they are concerned -"there is a lane and I'm not speeding - therefore I'm entitled to be on lane 1". Well - they are WRONG! Lane 1 is for overtaking!!! Becos of the poor road manners - we have ambulances stuck on the expressway cos some idiots are hugging lane 1!!!

My Ride - Vespa ET8

Former But Damn Good Ride ST1100 (STOC # 7811)

Patience is a virtue....

Think of SAVING GAIA http://www.savinggaia.sg/

Lane 1 was just too fast for me. I would stick to lane 2 for cruising as lane 1 is usually filled with really fast moving vehicle, while lane 3 is for the big lorries and buses...

I really agree that lane 1 is for the overtaking or speeding or emergency vehicle.

Its not advisable to ride one on first lane because we bikers will always lose out in the event of accident. You see if a car jam brake at 90km/h, their four wheels is more stable to the downwards force caused by the e brake. If your bike jam brake at 90km/h, i dont think you can control the bike at all. The two wheels and brake system may not able to take the force. Once you skidded, other cars will run into you.

Besides in theory, lane 1 is meant for overtaking only.

I am sorry only 1 thing is correct in the above statement - lane 1 is for overtaking the rest is purely incorrect... brakes don't create downward force - they do force a weight transfer to the front of the vehicle but themselves dont create downard force. May I ask, where did you learn to ride that you can't brake from 90km/h ... our bikes can brake in much smaller space that those heavy cages with 10 year old brakepads

For me i usually stick to lane2 cos they area already relatively fast.. But unless i wanna go faster i will try to wack lane 1. But as some of the forumers have already noted, some cars right even if you are already wacking like 100 ~ 120 on a 90 road they will still high beam you or sometimes horn you. Crazy pple man.

But if on lane 2, travelling at 100 on 90 road is still acceptable. But another thing i wanna add is that most class 2a and 2 bikes can travel faster then cars but then some drivers really are crazy to horn or even tail gate us.. Funny pple.

One time i was travelling about 100 on PIE but that road was 90 and a TP was riding behind me.. That was scary. He didn't do anything but speed even faster then me.. Power..

You are most probably right! The TP ask to move to Lane 2 becos lane 1 is for OVERTAKING. The problem is that very few drivers understand that concept. As far as they are concerned -"there is a lane and I'm not speeding - therefore I'm entitled to be on lane 1". Well - they are WRONG! Lane 1 is for overtaking!!! Becos of the poor road manners - we have ambulances stuck on the expressway cos some idiots are hugging lane 1!!!

ups for you !!

think of the dying person on the ambulance ... it just might be your mother !! or your wife with your child in her !!!

no small vehicals (cars,bikes,pick ups,small bus) dares to use the first lane at malaysia expressway (nsh) .

y is it diff from singapore ?

there you scare been ramp out of the lane ? why not these ppl who hog the first lane and try it there. pls do try !

road manners my friend . the fewer ppl hog the road , the safer i'll be . then i would not have to squeeze beside you. i live longer.

Lane 1 was just too fast for me. I would stick to lane 2 for cruising as lane 1 is usually filled with really fast moving vehicle, while lane 3 is for the big lorries and buses...

I really agree that lane 1 is for the overtaking or speeding or emergency vehicle.

lane 1 filled with fast moving vehicle? are you in sg? lol.. jk.. cos alot of times cars can hog lane 1.. i think its hard to see all road users follow the rule that lane 1 is for overtaking..

Car drivers usually ignore this concept.... Even if you horn them they will ignore you, nothing will happen to them so they don't learn or don't need to learn.

Motorcyclist must become concious of the rule because if drivers try funny stuff like overtaking you on lane 1 by the right side, it creates danger to you. so LL suck thumb.

It is the fact, lane1 = overtaking lane

summary is:

Lane 1 = overtaking lane..

Lane 1 also = if can be faster than the car behind, can stay there til a TP come and ask u to siam..

for me.. i usually travel lane 1.. but i have the habit to check my rear view mirror every 10 secs.. to make sure that there are no vehicles near my backside.. if there is, i will open throttle more til infront got car then i over take the car and continue on my way.. normally, if that fella stupid enuff to play with me will find then loosing my tail light and eating my dust :D :cheeky::angel:

*very yaya hor hehehehe * *jking jking :p

highway rule - keep left unless overtaking.

but too bad it doesnt happen here.

everyday mus curse n swear road hoggers.

haiz...

"at the end of the day, it's still the rider..."

summary is:

Lane 1 = overtaking lane..

Lane 1 also = if can be faster than the car behind, can stay there til a TP come and ask u to siam..

for me.. i usually travel lane 1.. but i have the habit to check my rear view mirror every 10 secs.. to make sure that there are no vehicles near my backside.. if there is, i will open throttle more til infront got car then i over take the car and continue on my way.. normally, if that fella stupid enuff to play with me will find then loosing my tail light and eating my dust :D :cheeky::angel:

*very yaya hor hehehehe * *jking jking :p

couldn't agree wif u more mate.....

tat is wat i do & i believe most big cc rider do....

yup lane 1 is for overtaking & emergency vehicle only then...

nw most car like to hog & hog & hog....

u high beam them they dun siam...

car high beam they siam...

darn those stupid car....

when i drive i oso drive 1st lane but of course at higher speed lah

not 90km/h

if i wan to drive slow i auto will be on a lane 3 or 4.....

y can't they b more considerate....

most drivers nid more education...

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs773.ash1/166356_131601833567489_100001530181591_182770_5027349_n.jpg

More for less . . . Always!!!

M.B Products : Lifestyle, Performance, Electronics, Security, Accessories . . .

Click here ---> Visit Motore Bici Section for more details

There was once i was riding at 100km/h at lane 1 .. There was this minivan behind me .. And it tailgates me .. So i simply get my arse on the next lane .. And it zoomed off .. I mumbled wishin to myself hopin TP wld spot tat vehicle .. After a few mins There was a ROV at the shoulder lane .. The driver juz ignored and cont driving at tat speed .. Kena saman lah .. Wat else ..

Be humble on the road at all times coz u'll neva noe wen u need any rider's help...

the only irritating thing when riding on the 1st lane is when cars or other vehicles tailgate you.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

lane 1 filled with fast moving vehicle? are you in sg? lol.. jk.. cos alot of times cars can hog lane 1.. i think its hard to see all road users follow the rule that lane 1 is for overtaking..

Haha... No problem. Maybe I am used to travel about 80-85km/h, that's why feel that lane 1 is too fast for me. But anyway, let's do our part to keep clear of lane 1. :)

the only irritating thing when riding on the 1st lane is when cars or other vehicles tailgate you.

Were you close to the car in front? If yes, the car behind is at fault. If not, I don't see why the car behind is at fault for tailgating you.

Tailgating is a more courteous signal to the person in front that he/she is road hogging, compared to flashing high beam.

Lane 1 is for faster vehicles. Riding at 90 or 100km/hr doesn't give us the license to hog lane 1. It is more irritating to see that traffic is slow because some inconsiderate driver in front is road hogging. Everybody wants to go home sooner.