Hi hi.

Anyone travelled by train to Chiang Mai (for both bike and rider)?

Any info on the processes, links and things to note would be helpful.

Thx.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 35

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_S79ZvaGGwRg/SfxobX113OI/AAAAAAAABt8/7bmWZEenPVI/s800/DSCF5884.JPG

Things you need

1) Passport

2) Logcard

3) Tiedown straps (If possible)

I supposed you're traveling from Bangkok. Process is prettymuch the same for Hatyai - Bangkok, except perhaps HatYai and ChiangMai train station staff are less greedy.

Before purchasing your train ticket (Nothing but 2nd class sleeper, about 700-1000baht), ensure your train has a cargo car. Tell the ticket guy you need to travel with a motorcycle.

Two hours before the train is schedualed to leave, proceed to the cloak room aka Weigh station (Depending on which station you go to), tell the guy you want to travel with your motorcycle. You will be asked to wheel your motorcycle into the station. Do not start the engine inside the station.

Motorcycle train ride is charged by weight. Show him your logcard, which lists dry weight. My bike is 218kg dry, they wanted to charge me for 300kg. Expect to pay around 1200-1500baht for the motorcycle.

After paperwork is settled, money is paid, you'd be asked to stick a transport slip on the motorbike. You will also be handed a voucher, which you must pass to the staff at your destination in exchange for your bike. Keep it safe!

At this point, they might ask you to pay the handlers 'tip', because your motorbike is gigantic and weighs a tonne. They asked me to pay 600baht for 6 handlers, 100baht each. I told them i'll pay them myself. Do NOT tip at the cloak room. You might also be asked to purchase tiedown straps for your bike. Costs 60baht.

After everything is settled, someone will appear and help wheel your bike to the train's cargo car. What happens next, you might want to look away, as 4 guys will manhandle your scooter, making it wheelie up onto the cargo train 2-3 feet higher than the platform. The bike will then be tied down with some laundry string to the inside of the car. Make sure the bike does not chaff against anything.

When you're satisfied, tip them 200baht will do.

Upon arrival at Chiang Mai, process is reversed. Check your bike for scratches, try not to cry, tip the handlers again, pass them your voucher, then wheel the bike out of the station.

Enjoy your trip!

Edited by nE0

Wow. The steps are pretty clear.

Thx.

Only worry the 'handling' part cos my bike all covered, with limited holding spaces.

Class 2 = common corridor type

Class 1 = individual room... should be a better choice.

Yes, but 1st class costs about 2X as much as 2nd class. Up to individual preferance. 3rd class Aircon cabin is about the limit if on a really tight budget. 'Economy' class is open air, fan only, dirty and cramped cabins with horrible seats. 18hours sitting on a bench is no joke. You've been warned.

Perhaps this can be posted in the Touring section for everyone's benefit?

ya, 1st Class is between u n another person but izzt the same SEX unless u buy 2sit with ur Wife or GF then u can :angel:, but i perfered the 2nd Class as i fell alseep very fast as u r sleep in the same direction as the train move, as for the 1st Class u sleep against across the train direction maybe u need some time to get used to it n izzt dammed cold after u fell alseep remebmer to wear more clothes... :shy:

Class 2 = common corridor type

Class 1 = individual room... should be a better choice.

Hi, Neo, i never try 3rd Class as i have a friend tell me izzt a killing him to sit on the bench for 12hr but he got no choice as izzt was fully book so LL lor...

Yes, but 1st class costs about 2X as much as 2nd class. Up to individual preferance. 3rd class Aircon cabin is about the limit if on a really tight budget. 'Economy' class is open air, fan only, dirty and cramped cabins with horrible seats. 18hours sitting on a bench is no joke. You've been warned.

Perhaps this can be posted in the Touring section for everyone's benefit?

fn328k.multiply.com/photos

Life is short, Ride hard..........

Yes, I was lucky enough to try out 3rd class. Bangkok - Hatyai, 18 hours, train delayed due to some reason.

Everytime the train stopped at a station, gangs of hawkers will storm the train and sell tea, coffee, soups, fried rice etc... Not bad, except they usually don't have change. And I dare not eat anything in case get stomachache - The toilets are horrible. No water, no toilet paper, **** everywhere.

Everytime the train stopped in the middle of nowhere, sometimes for 15 looong minutes, the mosquito squardrons will start attacking.

ok, so lucky u got the 3rd Class.... :cheeky: if u want to go to toliet can walk to the 1st Class as there r only 12 room for 24ppl in the 1st Class to use it so not that bad n there r 2 toliet for ur infor, when i took the 2nd the last time i wonder Y? there r so many ppl walk up n down n i think i know Y naw... :angel:

Yes, I was lucky enough to try out 3rd class. Bangkok - Hatyai, 18 hours, train delayed due to some reason.

Everytime the train stopped at a station, gangs of hawkers will storm the train and sell tea, coffee, soups, fried rice etc... Not bad, except they usually don't have change. And I dare not eat anything in case get stomachache - The toilets are horrible. No water, no toilet paper, **** everywhere.

Everytime the train stopped in the middle of nowhere, sometimes for 15 looong minutes, the mosquito squardrons will start attacking.

is there any train service starting

from Malaysia to Thailand then to Chaingmai?

" People are like Motorcycles ; Each is customized a bit differently " c",)

Take the train from Singapore to butterworth,from butterworth to bangkok by Thai train and stop at Hualumpoo station and from there to Chiangmai,for the thai train,take the 2nd class air con sleeper lower deck,a bit more ex than the upper deck but worth it cause u got more space,hope my info helps.

:thumb: bro !

i guess with the 2nd class it be more privacy with my wife.

& if im not wrong its being cater for 2-3 paxs ?

Yeah,actually the lower deck can accomodate 2 persons if u are not so big size but still u have to buy 2 tickets,1 for the upper deck and 1 for the lower deck.When u are not sleeping,u will sit face to face with your wife and for your info,once u reach hualumpoo train station in bangkok,if u do not want to book a room enroute to Chiangmai,u can shower at the station for only 10 baht per person near the toilet.

Edited by gixxer 73

tx for the info , bro....:thumb:

will post here if theres a need to clarify

matters pertaining Chiang Mai or related issues.

:cheers::cheers::cheers:

A cheaper, and less hassle way is to take a flight to ChiangMai, then rent a bike there to ride around.

Of course, nothing beats riding your own machine, but I can understand our poor pillion's plight of going through 2000+km of mostly boring, unscenic highways just to arrive at ChiangMai.

wooo.

Found a website that gives a very good detailed write up of the North.

Can use for reference.

http://www.gt-rider.com/touring-loops-overnight-rides.html

ya, that is what i do, fly there then rent a XR 250 in 06 n wave in 07 ... more time to go around... :cheeky:

A cheaper, and less hassle way is to take a flight to ChiangMai, then rent a bike there to ride around.

Of course, nothing beats riding your own machine, but I can understand our poor pillion's plight of going through 2000+km of mostly boring, unscenic highways just to arrive at ChiangMai.

:thumb:, nice infor...

wooo.

Found a website that gives a very good detailed write up of the North.

Can use for reference.

http://www.gt-rider.com/touring-loops-overnight-rides.html

Hi hi.

Anyone travelled by train to Chiang Mai (for both bike and rider)?

Any info on the processes, links and things to note would be helpful.

Thx.

hi,bro,now jetstars.com,had promotion fare to bangkok per,person $53,but must booking fr 19/5/09 to 24/5/09, then travel on 1/6/09 to 30/6/09 and can rent a bikes to chiang mai.how bro,sw9000,scoobydoo,helmetbox,and alanttic 200.

Aiyah. Not enough leave liao so won't be going this year.

Married man... my leave not entirely mine. yah?

Some more yet to fully understand my bike (and skill to DIY repairs).

But confirmed next year will... wah, so long way to go. :dozed:

April 2010 - Hatyai + Krabi (Songkran festival)

November 2010 - North Thailand (Loy Krathong Festival)

• 8 months later...

few questions

1)How many hours train ride from haytai to BKK and from BKK to changmai?

2)how many weeks are we able ride in thailand?

3)i want to visit Doi suthep, golden triangle and MHS how many days i need?

Thanks bro

Edited by geraki
few questions

1)How many hours train ride from haytai to BKK and from BKK to changmai?

2)how many weeks are we able ride in thailand?

3)i want to visit Doi suthep, golden triangle and MHS how many days i need?

Thanks bro

Train ride I'm not sure. Others will answer.

As for:

a. Doi Suthep - It is a day trip within Chiang Mai. Should include Buping Palace also. A separate day trip to Doi Inthanon/Mae Klang Waterfall would be good too.

b. Golden Triangle - might want to consider 1 night stay at Mae Sai. No need rush and can also visit Mae Salong.

c. MHS - at least 2 nights stay bah. Got lots of places to visit and the road will slow down travelling time.