Color Blindness

Chuckyx2x

• Replies 37

get a chauffeur

I wanted to get a licence. Motorbike and Car. But i know there will be a color blind test. So in Singapore, color blind people have no HOPE of riding or driving? Any recommendation on what to do?

There are various degree of severity for color blindness. The mild ones should not have problem with the test.

A friend of mine has problems playing billiard because he can't differentiate the red balls with the brown one, same problem with UNO but he has a valid licence for many years, and recently retook his licence as it was revoked for drink driving.

There are various degree of severity for color blindness. The mild ones should not have problem with the test.

A friend of mine has problems playing billiard because he can't differentiate the red balls with the brown one, same problem with UNO but he has a valid licence for many years, and recently retook his licence as it was revoked for drink driving.

same case for me. cant play billdard due to the red/brown balls.

but been driving/riding for years.

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

if ur color blind is only on shades of same color will not be a problem.

after all, there's only red green and amble color.

as mentioned, jus go for it, let them test u, if they say cannot then cannot lah, dun think too much about it.

Hi Chuckyx2x,

I seems to have a problem quite similar to you.

I have LAZY EYE on the left. So meaning if I cover my RIGHT EYE, I cannot make out a sentence of text be it near or far.

Another word, the left eye I have is for facial display purpose only :-)

During the enrolment of riding/driving test, I went thru the color blind test. Alamak! cannot see anything with my right eye lock. The fella ask me to see the officer. Officer bring me around the circuit and ask me what COLOR umbrella the lady holding, what COLOR this and that. I can see everything of course as I got the other hard working eye. The officer shake head and ask me to get doctor prove before giving me the license.

I went to a GP and ask to test my both eyes. The doc said I got perfect eye-sight and sign a paper to prove it.

Went back and pass over to the riding/driving officer and then I got them!

Hope this helps.

I wanted to get a licence. Motorbike and Car. But i know there will be a color blind test. So in Singapore, color blind people have no HOPE of riding or driving? Any recommendation on what to do?

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

I bet your friends are just like me, they always tell you the wrong one :angel:

not really la... luckily my frns r nice guys...

but if i feel that wad they told me r wrong, i'll take a red ball and go near the brown to compare... i'll be able to differentiate if i put both of them together and see near...

if all fails, and prove that they bluff me, if i hit the brown ball, i'll argue back on no deduction of points! ;D

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

Hmm thank you all for ur comments. Atleast i am not alone in this ****. I tried looking at the Ishihara Color Blind test and i cannot see what numbers or letter there are. But if ppl ask me what color is the umbrella or snooker balls, then i can differentiate. Its just weird. I guess the Color blind test in driving centre will ask you to read the Ishihara test (Which i am likely to fail).

Anyway i emailed TP and the nice officer emailed saying that i need to go to Singapore National Eye Centre and get a report saying that i am fit for driving. I guess i will do that. What Vincekam says makes sense.

Hmm thank you all for ur comments. Atleast i am not alone in this ****. I tried looking at the Ishihara Color Blind test and i cannot see what numbers or letter there are. But if ppl ask me what color is the umbrella or snooker balls, then i can differentiate. Its just weird. I guess the Color blind test in driving centre will ask you to read the Ishihara test (Which i am likely to fail).

Anyway i emailed TP and the nice officer emailed saying that i need to go to Singapore National Eye Centre and get a report saying that i am fit for driving. I guess i will do that. What Vincekam says makes sense.

if u are unable to read any of the number on the Ishihara book , it might mean u have total colour blindness ( can only see black, white and certain shades of grey) but if u can at least see the first few pages, will mean that u have a colour vision deficiency ( in which u still might pass the test at the driving centre ).

As for lazy eyes, the worser eye have at least 6/12 or better without visual correction for u to pass the test. (As read above, he was tested by a GP to have perfect eyesight ) Was one eye checked at a time or both eyes together? if both eyes together will be able to pass the test because will be using the better eye to see most of the time . and for ppl with lazy eyes they might have a problem with 3D vision as well ( eg. unable to gauge distance well)

my two cents worth

Hi NaTsuMi,

I was tested both method. One eye and both eyes.

The whole thing is to get the GP to sign and certify to prove it.

Doc says there isn't any heal as old dogs never learn new trick and asked me to take good care of my other eye.

Yes, I remember using those 3D specs and 4D specs to watch movie at Australia. It's kinda promatic.

You seems to know much about eye sight. Do you happen to be a eye doc?

As for lazy eyes, the worser eye have at least 6/12 or better without visual correction for u to pass the test. (As read above, he was tested by a GP to have perfect eyesight ) Was one eye checked at a time or both eyes together? if both eyes together will be able to pass the test because will be using the better eye to see most of the time . and for ppl with lazy eyes they might have a problem with 3D vision as well ( eg. unable to gauge distance well)

my two cents worth

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Hi Vincekam

I am in the eye care related field ...

anyway for kids nowadays they are screened for lazy eyes and colour vision when they go K1 and K2 . early detection will hopefully prevent them from becoming lazy eyes which will hinder them in some circumstances when they grow up

hope chuckyx2x can pass his/her colour test and join us in enjoying the pleasure of riding

Hi NaTsuMi,

the eye specialist will advise the modern kids to use eye patch to train their lazy eye to work again. But at ma age, it'll not work :-)

Yes, wonder how's chuckyx2x color test and riding/driving test now.

Hope to hear good news from him/her.

Hi Vincekam

I am in the eye care related field ...

anyway for kids nowadays they are screened for lazy eyes and colour vision when they go K1 and K2 . early detection will hopefully prevent them from becoming lazy eyes which will hinder them in some circumstances when they grow up

hope chuckyx2x can pass his/her colour test and join us in enjoying the pleasure of riding

Here is a DIY color blind self test

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/News/Ishihara-SBFfinal.jpg

If you can see the letters "SBF", you are not color blind.

Here is another test, a more difficult one. Can you see any numbers or alphabets ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/News/Ishihara-blank.jpg

If you can see any numbers or alphabets, please go and get your eyes check because there are none :angel:

I can see the SBF.. I am not color blind. Great..only lazy eye.

As for the second, I stare it hard with glasses and without glasses and still cannot make out anything. Then I thought to myself.. alamak! bad eye sight.

Till I scroll down and realize it's a joke. Hah hah.

Here is a DIY color blind self test

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/News/Ishihara-SBFfinal.jpg

If you can see the letters "SBF", you are not color blind.

Here is another test, a more difficult one. Can you see any numbers or alphabets ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/News/Ishihara-blank.jpg

If you can see any numbers or alphabets, please go and get your eyes check because there are none :angel:

Well as for me, i went to the SNEC and met up with Eye Specialist Doc. She tested me on Ishihara and i failed most of them. Only the first 2 pages was easy. Then she took many many colour pencils and asked me to name the color. Haha it was funny but i found it easy. So i guess i did it correctly. She said i have no problem with the traffic light colors. After many tests, she gave me a letter saying that i have a colour vision deficiency (Red and Green) BUT i am fit for driving.

So happily i went to Bukit Batok Driving to enroll. Upon enrolling, i was asked to look into this telescope looking thingy. I was scared to death man. Thought it was the ishihara test again. Anyway i had a letter from SNEC so was not too worried. When i peeped into the telescope, i saw 4 small colour dots. She asked me what color it was. It was easy again. It was Red, Blue, Yellow and Green. Then she asked me the numbers and letter (to check on eye sight). That was a piece of cake as my eye sight is strong. After that i enrolled for the school. So far so good.

I haven't given them my SNEC letter yet. Maybe at a later stage when i do BTT, then i might have to pass to them. Will keep u guys posted.

Looking forward to pass all the theory and practical tests. Tks Vincekam and Natsumi for all the infos.

Edited by Chuckyx2x

Looking forward for you to pass your ride test soon!.

Well as for me, i went to the SNEC and met up with Eye Specialist Doc. She tested me on Ishihara and i failed most of them. Only the first 2 pages was easy. Then she took many many colour pencils and asked me to name the color. Haha it was funny but i found it easy. So i guess i did it correctly. She said i have no problem with the traffic light colors. After many tests, she gave me a letter saying that i have a colour vision deficiency (Red and Green) BUT i am fit for driving.

So happily i went to Bukit Batok Driving to enroll. Upon enrolling, i was asked to look into this telescope looking thingy. I was scared to death man. Thought it was the ishihara test again. Anyway i had a letter from SNEC so was not too worried. When i peeped into the telescope, i saw 4 small colour dots. She asked me what color it was. It was easy again. It was Red, Blue, Yellow and Green. Then she asked me the numbers and letter (to check on eye sight). That was a piece of cake as my eye sight is strong. After that i enrolled for the school. So far so good.

I haven't given them my SNEC letter yet. Maybe at a later stage when i do BTT, then i might have to pass to them. Will keep u guys posted.

Looking forward to pass all the theory and practical tests. Tks Vincekam and Natsumi for all the infos.

WAH! Don't be afraid bro! When i looked into the telescope/monocular/binocular/periscope thingy at UBI, it was just a BIG BIG circle with just 3 different colours! So when the person ask, "What colour you see boy? GREEN? You say "GREEN" and so on. And give the "WTF" face to her as if you can see it easily.

But don't bother applying for a PPCDL or a PPL. Sure kenna rejected and laugh at in your face. Damn sad one. Oh, also cannot be Police Officer. Last time a few months back under their "requirements" must have normal colour vision. Its like "the others" discriminate you guys with colour defficiency. In my opinion, as long can see the colour can already. Don't tell me thief is running in an "irihara" maze with an "irihara" suit.

WAH! Don't be afraid bro! When i looked into the telescope/monocular/binocular/periscope thingy at UBI, it was just a BIG BIG circle with just 3 different colours! So when the person ask, "What colour you see boy? GREEN? You say "GREEN" and so on. And give the "WTF" face to her as if you can see it easily.

But don't bother applying for a PPCDL or a PPL. Sure kenna rejected and laugh at in your face. Damn sad one. Oh, also cannot be Police Officer. Last time a few months back under their "requirements" must have normal colour vision. Its like "the others" discriminate you guys with colour defficiency. In my opinion, as long can see the colour can already. Don't tell me thief is running in an "irihara" maze with an "irihara" suit.

regarding applying for PO, they have double standards one. My cousin kena rejected cos of his partial color blindness, then in the end, u know wat, he kenna PO NS, wtf... give him cpl somemore...

But your cousin confirm is confined to office one. You can have IPPT gold and be a sharpshooter but still kenna thrown to become clerk. Like that kind is cannot go front line unlike army. Really... I don't wanna say.

u see, the point is, not every job in the force is the same, there are many who neber go out field one. example in the MHA, many of them are desk bound.

Some desk bound jobs are in the media department etc, they do designing and promotional materials etc, so if he wanna sign on, why not? Cos he is already in that department, it's not as if he is not up to the task of the job.

that's what i dun understand mah...

How much did it cost you for the specialist letter?