Originally posted by red rocket@April 23, 2007 12:11 am

The last time some of us went to mass order from joe is the STM dia30. why don't you check with joe and minerva for the pricing... I believe Ducati's also very similar to STM's.

Thanks Bro... Joe from Sporting???

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

• Replies 14.9k

changing the spocket and chain for the 916/996 series bike, does it require any special tools? intending to change them at my local shop if its the same as the jap bikes.. think will save quite abit as compared to getting them changed at minerva?

Originally posted by cagiva03@April 18, 2007 01:47 am

i need a aftermarket Clutch slave pump... Anybody here got any lobangs???

Hiz!

What's the purpose of the clutch slave pump?

Originally posted by ctk333@April 18, 2007 10:45 pm

anyone selling termis for 916/996 series??

i have a mod 916 pipe... if ur keen ..... 93371936

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@April 29, 2007 12:08 am

i have a mod 916 pipe... if ur keen ..... 93371936

thanks..but not looking into gutted stock pipes.

Originally posted by ctk333@April 29, 2007 02:04 pm

thanks..but not looking into gutted stock pipes.

for your info : Termis is ducati pipe before they split i got mine with the Ducati serial but its a termis pipe

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@April 29, 2007 02:40 pm

for your info : Termis is ducati pipe before they split i got mine with the Ducati serial but its a termis pipe

got your drift, but not the ones that I'm looking for as mentioned. thks.

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@April 29, 2007 02:40 pm

Hmmm, i didn't know abt that till today... How lucky for those owner with the "Street Legal" Termi...

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Originally posted by NoLogicOne@April 03, 2007 10:27 am

A bit more information.

97 Model, but on the road at yr 2000. $9000, non neg.

Mostly track ridden....and nope, this bike got no Termis. Stock exhaust. Got an extra set of stock, you can core the exhaust if you want and throw in a SPS chip for the 748-R. Get the chip from Minerva, or from Ebay.

Stm 48T Evo clutch set (non slipper), Afam sprocket carrier, aftermarket clutch actuator (more leak proof than stock Brembo), Hel Steel braided for all lines, single and twin seats will go with the bike. All OEM tools with the bike.

Just did timing belt change full servicing. Not in the cleanest condition now, just out from workshop.

June will be best time to let go of the bike.....once I boxed up my suit.

Oh no.... One less kopi kaki....

When's the next kopi session????

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by ktkt@April 29, 2007 10:01 pm

Oh ya, had seen the bike myself 2weeks ago, cant't believe it is letting go under 5-figures! Some lucky guys out there is going to own one of the dream bike without burning a hole in the pocket!

Originally posted by ktkt@April 29, 2007 10:01 pm

Yeah man! When is the next Kopi session???

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Originally posted by ellamcoy@April 29, 2007 10:31 pm

Oh ya, had seen the bike myself 2weeks ago, cant't believe it is letting go under 5-figures! Some lucky guys out there is going to own one of the dream bike without burning a hole in the pocket!

Were you among the few that was there at AMK Mac?

The guy who also had a 748 yourself?

Originally posted by cagiva03@April 29, 2007 04:25 pm

Hmmm, i didn't know abt that till today... How lucky for those owner with the "Street Legal" Termi...

Errr, bro. Theres no street legal after-market Termi exhaust yet. Minerva can verify that.

Just for everybody's info:

Termi, Arrow and Remus produces OEM stock exhaust for the Ducati Factory. My current stocks are from Remus, stock exhaust of my previous ride are from arrows. Some 9xx have OEM stock Termi.

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8586/vhfchsn1.gif

1. Click on my CMO Magazine thread for cheap mag offers

2. click on my CMO Coach thread for cheap Coach offers!!

- Motorculture Asia: Free delivery !

- Spin Asia: Free delivery !

- Latest Sept Superbike: Free Isle of Man TT DVD !

I'm a newbie to ducati and would like to know how am i supposed to maintain it as in the servicing and what i should look out for to care for the bike?

I was thinking of getting a ducati monster though i realised some say that its an underpowered bike...

Please help me out fellow riders... Thanks guys...:cheeky:

Originally posted by yappiez@May 01, 2007 12:48 am

Were you among the few that was there at AMK Mac?

The guy who also had a 748 yourself?

Hi bro nice to see ya here! That will be me with the small bike :cheeky:

Have you collected the bike yet?

Ducati Wins In Shanghai, China!

Courtesy of Casey Stoner!

Originally posted by mika14@May 06, 2007 05:16 pm

Ducati Wins In Shanghai, China!

Courtesy of Casey Stoner!

Hahaha....

For once, I finally have to chance to chio ppl to watch MotoGP over kopi and can look forward to consistent podium finishes from Ducati~

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

wow, I hasnt been following much bike races and I was amaze that the duc overtook yamaha so easily on the straights....

are the bikes similar in specs in the race? as in cc?

is it the bike or the rider?

Originally posted by yappiez@May 06, 2007 08:19 pm

wow, I hasnt been following much bike races and I was amaze that the duc overtook yamaha so easily on the straights....

are the bikes similar in specs in the race? as in cc?

is it the bike or the rider?

MotoGP bikes are design solely for races, you dun get to own it. Even the Street Desmosicidi is a tuned down MotoGP bike for the road and it's more expensive than the 999r, and definately more expensive compared to 1098R (1198cc) also.

Engine wise, let's not get into nitty gritty degress or whatsoever, the main difference is the one in Desmo is a V4, while the rest of the ducs are V Twin.

You see the clean sweep of Ducs on the straights in MotoGP, be it 990cc or 800cc. Not so sure about the 500cc 2 stroke Duc MotoGP bike. I dun even know if this 500cc existed cuz I only seen it on a poster, also dunno real or fake.

But in WSBK, or AMA/BSB, Ducs are smelling smoke on the straights but make up for late brakings, good corner speeds and early full bawl of the throttle. Troy Bayliss not doing so well this yr, and last yr his victories are not as easy as Stoner's win. So bluntly said, Troy's championship is tougher than Stoner's, but you can also say MotoGP bikes are harder to ride. That's also to say, the power delivery of the V4 and V Twin Ducs are not same....dun be amazed and be fooled by MotoGP, expecting to chase down R1s, or K6s on a Duc. You will be utterly disappointed. A bad rider looks only for speed, but not at the other advantaages of the bike. Be ultra happy when you brake later and corner faster, yet taking tighter lines and gets out faster. But a Duc being heavier, will wear you out easily in a track. So if you are weak, this is not your bike. I told you personally even my 748 with an extra 148cc over the 600cc, is losing out to them out of T1 onto the straights but close up the gap when we get into T2 and by T3. That's the game of riding a V Twin. Imagine a 916/996/998 chasing a 1000cc Inline4, it's very hardwork. That's why I choose a 748. So far the 2 other frens who ride the 998 are better riders than me, they have issues only with those guys who are fast on their 1000cc.

There's rules to the cc of the bikes in MotoGP, and everyone has to follow. Weight also has a limit, but more cylinders on a bike, the weight can be also lighter but there's a limit. Manufacturers design their racing bikes on these rules.

At the end of the day, it's the rider.....bike is secondary. If you are good, you will be good with most sportsbike. Cuz we are not that good yet, to be adversely affected by the machine itself. For non racers like us, the bike is not as variable as the ourselves. In races, the racers are more or less up there, and ONLY then does the machine/weather/tyres plays a part to upset the race result.

Get a bike and start practising.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Hi everyone,

I am considering the possibility of fitting a slipper to my '05 999 and was just wondering what the general concensus is on the pros and cons of this mod.

My primary objective of doing so is to minimise the load on the engine during hard braking and to reduce power loss by reduction of rotating mass (since the slipper is most likely lighter than the stock clutch); and certainly not for the sake of emulating any track gods although i do visit the track.

Open for discussion. Any views/opinions would be appreciated, esp so if you hv any experience running a slipper, on issues such as practicality on the street, maintenance, any recomendations, etc etc....

Thanks in advance

I think the main drawback of slipper clutches are that the clutch plates wear out very fast.

If you don't push very hard on the track, then downshifting gently should do the trick. As for reducing rotating mass, get a lightweight flywheel, said to change the engine's characteristics tremendously.

Thanks for your feedback neo.

I read somewhere that slipper clutches require routine lubrication of the ramp bearings as well. Was wondering if it is really a hassle to mantain, esp given our humid and rainy climate (using a 'mandatory' open clutch cover to release the music doesn't help of course).

As for the durability of the clutch plates, any idea what the diff wld be between plates of diff materials? I understand they come in a variety of materials.

Much agreed on the use of a lightweight flywheel. It should be high priority on anyone's mod list. It does wonders for the revs.

Well, I have no experience with slipper clutches so I can't comment.

But since the 999's dry clutch is so easily accessible, it shouldn't be much of a problem.