I'm just looking for a transport bike with good fuel consumption...so I'll be getting a TA200 phantom. I went to looi's and the person said 800-900 for all kinds of bike since young and p plate.

I heard a lot of insurance company don't take from 21 and below, only ntuc will provide for younger people. Can name me some other insurance companies which takes my age?

Ntuc, mitsui, axa all takes 21yrs old? any more?

I went to ask few days ago only...haha. The person said the bike model doesn't matter for p plate insurance...is it true?

I thought it would be cheaper for Phantom.

where u ask sia?

i got mine from ntuc last month. was 580+/- b4 discount. i'm 23 and just pass license nia.

if i recall correctly, my friend bought his insurance for abt 1k. but he buy SP and just gotten license. if u buying ta200, price range shld be about 600. if sports bike.... good luck to u

• Replies 3.6k

I'm just looking for a transport bike with good fuel consumption...so I'll be getting a TA200 phantom. I went to looi's and the person said 800-900 for all kinds of bike since young and p plate.

I heard a lot of insurance company don't take from 21 and below, only ntuc will provide for younger people. Can name me some other insurance companies which takes my age?

Ntuc, mitsui, axa all takes 21yrs old? any more?

I went to ask few days ago only...haha. The person said the bike model doesn't matter for p plate insurance...is it true?

I thought it would be cheaper for Phantom.

I also bought mine's off Looi's, never heard such outrageous comment about being young and insurance will be ex and all bikes same prices.

recap of what i heard when i bought from them at 11th march 2010, u ride 2nd hand bikes for 1 or 2 years no ned such good insurance, 3rd party will do. but if u still wan a blacklisted bike from insurance company like SP or kips, definitely insurance will be even higher.

since price quoted to me is 400 and its around that range, i juz took it without even checking or sourcing other insurance company. and it appears the insurance i bought is mitsui after i get all the documents.

i felt looi's side bikes is more exp but when showing hands on table, they are very clear cut, wont twist and turns, and great supports also incase bike u bought from them are down. they are into a long term business relationships and introductions of friends.

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

try universal motors @ Bukit Merah

I got mine there and the sales guy was not pushy and wrote everything down black and white for you.

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

I just went universal motors just now, the only selling one phantom.

Doesn't feels right to me so I left. But I must say the sales person is very friendly! :)

After that went to meet up with a seller from sbf. Took a look at his bike, realised his brake light not working, ask him he say maybe fused. One thing I noticed is that his right side suspension is totally rusted out while his left side is only oxidized. Is there something wrong about the suspension? And around how much will it cause if I want to change new suspension?

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp169/lawlietvashie/Vashie4.jpg

Class 2B - 29th March 2010 [30th April 2010 - Phantom]

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Doesn't feels right to me so I left. But I must say the sales person is very friendly! :)

After that went to meet up with a seller from sbf. Took a look at his bike, realised his brake light not working, ask him he say maybe fused. One thing I noticed is that his right side suspension is totally rusted out while his left side is only oxidized. Is there something wrong about the suspension? And around how much will it cause if I want to change new suspension?

suspension cost 500 OEM unless u choose aftermarket ones which will be dirt cheap, anyway cont looking for other bikes, choose the one that u really liked and fell in love on 1st sight...that is then the bike for you

I also bought mine's off Looi's, never heard such outrageous comment about being young and insurance will be ex and all bikes same prices.

recap of what i heard when i bought from them at 11th march 2010, u ride 2nd hand bikes for 1 or 2 years no ned such good insurance, 3rd party will do. but if u still wan a blacklisted bike from insurance company like SP or kips, definitely insurance will be even higher.

since price quoted to me is 400 and its around that range, i juz took it without even checking or sourcing other insurance company. and it appears the insurance i bought is mitsui after i get all the documents.

i felt looi's side bikes is more exp but when showing hands on table, they are very clear cut, wont twist and turns, and great supports also incase bike u bought from them are down. they are into a long term business relationships and introductions of friends.

L00i's quote insurance when u buy bike in ball park figures, if u renew insurance thru them, its exact figures...go figure...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

yea the service is really something which is :thumb:.

Wasn't pushy and pretty well mannered i would say from my last exp with them.

slowly find, if possible best to get frm forum-er... it will be alot cheaper than shops, but do the necessary checks...

i fell in love with the 1st phantom i viewed frm a forum-er, bullet head light, nice mirrors, chrome stuff, eagle footrest, voltage stabilizer, even got long handlebar included and smooth riding but in the end his price was 1.7k and not negotiable which was out of my budget n its just a FU plate.. was disappointing but i continue to hunt for more phantoms...

went to lo0i motors in the rain and find out its damn ex even for a fu plate and the condition didnt seem nice, and i cant afford any other bike there, even the honda wave =.=

finally one day saw this guy selling at 1k, went down to c it... at 1st unimpressed, ride liao also feel soso, as it's fully stock, but still i bought it (as my budget only alow this :cry:)

after having it for some time i realize tt it tend to fishtail quite a lot, i tot it was the bike... but in the end it was his rear tyre problem, always need to pump air once a few days than went to planet one day, he say the hole patched alot of time liao (told by planet) changed it and i no longer face any problem with fish tailing... there's more but i dun wish to be too long winded :cheeky:

moral of the story, no matter wad captain planet (ah chong) can save ur phantom... just try to get a cheap phantom without major problems :thumb:

salesman...are always nice..

until u tell him his price is carrot one..and see what happens..

the other day went to look for cable ties...usually sells for $5 /1000..

ask price from the sales guy..all smiles say $6...wtf offer hinm $4..and walk away ..

his face changed when he realise he cannot carrot me..

thats why there is so many unhappy forummers complaing this or that..we learn ffast here..the pk are a bunch of helpful pks...

you got a point actually.

That is why when i got good services even after the sale is done @ Universal Motors, i make it a point to let others know.

Gd sales pple are hard to find

you got a point actually.

That is why when i got good services even after the sale is done @ Universal Motors, i make it a point to let others know.

Gd sales pple are hard to find

Bro, you 'por' him also no use lah cos he 'chopped carrot' already! Hahaha...

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Captain Planet would really save the bike? :eek:

Haha...really must go let him check my bike when I get mine.

Anyway...one thing which always turns me off when viewing the bike, the rust all around the bike! There is this pole located behind the front wheel in front of the engine (sorry to sound silly, I don't know technical terms :cheeky:). That pole is usually rusty, is there any way to remove the rust on the pole?

If rust on the bike is possible to remove, I feel better knowing I can restore the shine after getting the bike.

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Captain Planet would really save the bike? :eek:

Haha...really must go let him check my bike when I get mine.

Anyway...one this which always turns me off when viewing the bike, the rust all around the bike! There is this pole located behind the front wheel in front of the engine (sorry to sound silly, I don't know technical terms :cheeky:). That pole is usually rusty, is there any way to remove the rust on the pole?

If rust on the bike is possible to remove, I feel better knowing I can restore the shine after getting the bike.

this right?

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a20/kmjoe/03022010282.jpg

autosol~! alot of rusty stuff can be removed with autosol or chrome polish, as long its not too jia lad, if it is den u have to sand it liao... try get a better condition one

Yes! That's the part which I'm talking about!

Seeing the amount of rust on that pole really puts me off a bit. :(

Does that pole have any name?

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Yes! That's the part which I'm talking about!

Seeing the amount of rust on that pole really puts me off a bit. :(

Does that pole have any name?

exhaust header, it is called... :cheeky:

Hmm...okay, thanks for the info! :D

Seeing terrible condition rusting spoils my mood when viewing bike. :(

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Hmm...okay, thanks for the info! :D

Seeing terrible condition rusting spoils my mood when viewing bike. :(

most phantoms' exhaust would have rusted quite badly by now... I guess it can't be helped... still, you can derust it yourself... although it won't be able to return to its original state...

or you can wrap the exhaust with exhaust heat wrap! then you won't see the rust... no more heart pain... :clap:

Haha...will try to put rust issue one side while viewing bike...can't wait to get a phantom!

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Hi, my bike just die off at AYE. Before that engine always had strange sound like "tak tak tak...". Pls help, what is the problem. Now bike totally cannot start pun. anything wrong???

If want to repair. can estimate how much $$$ :(

it's battries..

brother pls check out this thread before opening a new thread.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=199965&page=12

relax... he is totally new... at least he posted in a relevant thread! :smile:

Hi, my bike just die off at AYE. Before that engine always had strange sound like "tak tak tak...". Pls help, what is the problem. Now bike totally cannot start pun. anything wrong???

If want to repair. can estimate how much $$$ :(

hihi! welcome to the phantom knights forums! :cheer:

hmmm you would have to explain when did the tak tak tak sound happen... is it happening when you are still moving, or it happens when you try to start the bike...? :confused:

Hi anyone can help me? I am now planning to get a phantom. can anyone tell me where is the best place to get it ? or is there any website to view ? and btw what is the different between ta200 and ta150 ?? which is better ?? thanks alot

Right now the prospect of a brand new Phantom is very rare indeed, being an out of production model.

Unless you count on fully overhauled/rebuilt chassis as 'new', which can cost you 3k or more. Advise you to source from internet sellers and get some tips from this PK forum here which you are already doing *thumbs up*

Phantom is not a bike to abuse, unless you wish to get a 150cc 2 stroke (top speed 170kph). But the fuel economy is worse than some cars... whereas the 200 will get you to and from work & outings no problems at all, good torque and very economical.

Being a 4 stroke Honda based on proven technology (the engine design could be decades old and used for many other Honda-derived bikes like Tiger 200 in Indonesia), she will get you very far indeed.

2 stroke Phantoms are nearing the end of their COE and can be gotten for VERY cheap. Unlike the 200 which excels at street and backroad duty the 150 will give you silky smooth performance at first-lane speeds.

As veteran riders like ahcaibiker can attest to - you can pick either economy or quickness :)

Being a very popular model the Phantom has no shortage of technical support and is generally well loved in Singapore.