Get yourself some riding boots that have a platform that can make you taller. When not riding, then you can keep these in the top-box or side panniers, and wear your normal shoes.

Current FAZER600-Naked

• Replies 112

wow, it took u so many yrs before u decide to upgrade to a class 2A? hee...

btw, thanks a lot for the link. it's very informative although i dun really understnd everything. i think the 2005 Ninja 250R might be suitable for me. cos it's seat ht is 744mm according to the website. i just hope the tank is not too long for me to be able to reach the handle bars comfortably.

i got phobia of the S4 liao. haa. it's really very heavy for me to handle. at BBDC during test, need to push the bike up the small slope after test. if i drop the bike while doing it, even how well i ride during test also considered immediate failure. :S seat also v wide, so even at 755mm, i need to "shift my butt" a lot in order to 1 leg tiptoe. but riding it is damn cool! too bad it's only in circuit, can't go any fast. heh.

You're most welcomed.

The reach problem is why i omitted cruisers in the suggestions. Although usually cruisers allow the rider to adopt a very relaxed riding posture, it might be a little physically challenging for the petite (read: short arms) folks. Trying to reach the handle grips makes the petite rider lean forward, and the entire riding posture will look ridiculous. :faint:

Not to mention lady sports biker is much more of a head turner, especially when she crouch into the machine, hugging the tank, seemingly so focused on the ride, so prepared to roll-on the throttle and leave the guys in the dust.... wow~ (whereas she is actually just trying hard to reach the handles, but who will notice? :p).

I know the slope you're talking about... took both my tests there at BBDC. Suggest you do a little strength training before the actual test date, and if you have adopted the "correct" technique (read: technique for normal length folks, dunno if improvising needed), place emphasis on the legs to be able to push off abit faster slightly before the slope (easier to go up).

Side note... yeah, it took me 15+ years before i felt my butt itchy enough to upgrade...

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

nightsteed-> i went for revision just now. the instructor let me try to push up that slope. not bad, i could do it. gotta "run" a bit before the slope. after tat just gotta balance n slowly push forward.

Yup yup, its more of a matter of positioning the bike nicely, timing the "run" and using the momentum to go up the stupid slope. Glad you got it sorted out, more confident for the test now?

:clap:

Sorry about not being able to recommend any workshop for lowering of suspension... never done any of those in my entire riding life. Being 183cm... thats something I normally would not even think about...

Just out of curiousity... will you be upgrading to class 2?

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

crazydj-> ok pardon me, but i think u r weak. my bike's 117kg n i still can manage to push it ard. u, a hunk @1.82m!!! somemore wanna find a massive 2B bike while u r complaining your current bike is hard to push? haha..

hachi-> i haven't pass. waiting for TP on the super 4. but i always drop the bike! so i'm at high risk of immediate failure. :S

swiftee-> i'm taking at BBDC. u? i rode yamaha fino for a while, but now riding this weird suzuki vanvan. cut the seat a bit n still on 1 leg tiptoe lor.

vespaboy-> vespas' seats are all v high for me. i can't even tiptoe. unless, i get off the seat and stand when the bike stops. haa. i'm short with short limbs.

I think i have the wrong technique of pushing my bike. It seems light as a feather when i am on it pushing with my legs, but when i get off it and try to park or push it backward of forward, it seems heavy as hell and wanna tip over to wherever i am pushing it.

And aren't Vespa's heavy? My friends AX plate vespa is so heavy sia. The engine to one side some more. The the backside so heavy. Its a fun machine but if i were to ride it everyday, headache sia.

how about dun get a 2a bike, cos might be difficult for u to manage, if there is a need to e-brake, can u still maintain ur balance, alot of factors to consider, keep to ur 2b bike

im also very small size.. about 160 cm only but super light, around 50kg.. currently riding a kr.

When at traffic light junction, if both leg were to be down, can only half tip toe, cannot full fletch down.

weight wise, depend, sometime i blurr blurr, mind in 'off' state = no strength hold bike.

i also had a dream of gettin a ninja 250, but dunno have the 'factor' to actually ride it in future

qwerty07, if u get a ninja, let me know hows the weight and feel and touching the ground actually is okay? haha then i have a rough guide.

Class 3 - 15 Sep 08 (10th attempt)

Class 2B - 2 April 09 (9th attempt)

Class 2A - 29 June 10 (11th attempt)

Class 2 - 25 August 11 (0 attempt)

1. May 09 - Rinoa Heartilly (KRR150)
  2. Feb 12 - Ariel (RVF 400)
  3. Apr 12 - Miyako (RVF 400)
  4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

QUOTE]does anybody know which 2A bikes can zng until low low? i'm only 1.5m, 40kg n can't seem to find any 2A bike tat i can handle. height n weight issues.

any suggestions? thanks...

how bout u ride my bike with me on my bike... wakakakak....

http://www.moviesonline.ca/movie-gallery/albums/Transformers2/transformers-20090430-megan-fox-on-bike-sexy-hot.jpg

My ride's a b*tch... thank god i have a bike....

I'm 1.68m. This is based on my experience.

I would suggest skipping all 400cc inline road bikes, the includes S4, XJR4, GSR4, impulse. Reason: too heavy with petrol in it, can't push bike backwards while sitting on the bike, both leg down must tip-toe, push bike forward also must use a lot of strength, bike drop - good luck to you.

Next, skip all scramblers. Although they are light, their seat height is too high.

Scooters are nice. Easy to handle. But not everyone into scooters.

Cruisers are comfy. Low seat height, but heavy too. Easier to handle cos everything is low.

Never rode a sport bike b4, hence from my friend's experience - sport bike are lighter than road bike, some have low seat height also (except kawasaki which seat height always seem high).

In the end now I'm riding a VTR250. Low seat, light weight, good pick up, but very rare in sg.

Maybe you are try Twister 250. Pick up not so good but fuel consumption is better and 2nd hand is also cheap. Twister 250 going to phase out soon though, but heard got new CB300R or something.

This is what I would also suggest - visit Looi, Boon Siew to personally seat on any bike you like. Get a feel of it. Dun purely rely on spec cos there are other factors. Try both legs on the ground. Try one leg on the ground. Try pushing and pulling the bike. Sway the bike a bit left and right.

^ Good point.

No use discussing until cow comes home, end up all we have achieved is only talk soldier on paper (紙上談兵). Go to those reputable bikeshops and help them shift the bikes around. :p

Might want to give ASP a try also. They are one of the shops with better services the last few times I was looking around for a bike.

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

VTR250 is suitable for women... why? One pic tells it all.

http://www.honda.co.jp/VTR/photo/02/image/photo.jpg

VTR250 is suitable for women... why? One pic tells it all.

http://www.honda.co.jp/VTR/photo/02/image/photo.jpg

Bro. You put ANY girl on a bike and they look suitable. Seriously. :cheeky:

tats true! but the girl must be of some standard also la haha.

NSR SP150 Spark LC135 PGO GMAX200 FZ6S2

REAL MAN RIDE!

Not exactly... its just a matter of perspective.

http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/4258/perspectivezn0.jpg

:dot: and we're heading off topic real soon...

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

im also very small size.. about 160 cm only but super light, around 50kg.. currently riding a kr.

When at traffic light junction, if both leg were to be down, can only half tip toe, cannot full fletch down.

weight wise, depend, sometime i blurr blurr, mind in 'off' state = no strength hold bike.

i also had a dream of gettin a ninja 250, but dunno have the 'factor' to actually ride it in future

qwerty07, if u get a ninja, let me know hows the weight and feel and touching the ground actually is okay? haha then i have a rough guide.

actually 160 is not short la imho

you will find the super 4 very very comfortable... think ninja 250 seat height is lower than super 4 right?

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Really kudos to you being able to handle an S4, must be really difficult with your size.

Anyway, since you're already taking class 2A, you've already opted to go for a bigger, more powerful ride. So i doubt you'll be happy with anything that is smaller, or too similar to a 2B bike.

I'm small sized myself, and i don't think a 600cc sports bike is easier to handle than a CB 750 even though it's much lighter. In fact i personally feel that the CB 750 was easier to handle due to the lower seat height. (Strength can be worked on, but not height.)

The real question is, what is your passion?

Even if you have some difficulties, as long as it's your passion, you'd try all means to overcome that few problems, and at the end of the day, still feel it's worth it. (as long as it's physically possible.)

We all undertake a modicum of risk every time we thumb the starter - it's just inherent to the sport.

-- Sport Rider

Judging based on seat height is not accurate - the width of the bike will also affect the leg length you need to reach the ground, and S4 has a wide seat.

I wouldn't agree a 1.6m lady would be comfy on a S4 unless she is really used to a few things - pushing heavy bikes (forward and backward for parking), able to stop at a traffic light comfortable with only one leg support, and master the technique of pushing a dropped S4 up. These stuffs are sort of taught in a driving centre actually.

Not exactly... its just a matter of perspective.

http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/4258/perspectivezn0.jpg

:dot: and we're heading off topic real soon...

That is so mean to the girl sia...

EDIT: To think of it, i think she's rather pretty in the first photo. Then in the second photo she needs to wear her glasses properly, wear a nicer looking bra and dont smile like that. Then she will look better.

Edited by crazydj

actually 160 is not short la imho

you will find the super 4 very very comfortable... think ninja 250 seat height is lower than super 4 right?

hehe.. but i very small size and light.. haha

nvr try super 4 or ninja ever before so i dunno..

but now for my kr, if upslope or downslope when i pushing, i will sometimes have difficulty.. plus balls sibei pain lo... :cry:

Class 3 - 15 Sep 08 (10th attempt)

Class 2B - 2 April 09 (9th attempt)

Class 2A - 29 June 10 (11th attempt)

Class 2 - 25 August 11 (0 attempt)

1. May 09 - Rinoa Heartilly (KRR150)
  2. Feb 12 - Ariel (RVF 400)
  3. Apr 12 - Miyako (RVF 400)
  4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

Yup yup, its more of a matter of positioning the bike nicely, timing the "run" and using the momentum to go up the stupid slope. Glad you got it sorted out, more confident for the test now?

:clap:

Sorry about not being able to recommend any workshop for lowering of suspension... never done any of those in my entire riding life. Being 183cm... thats something I normally would not even think about...

Just out of curiousity... will you be upgrading to class 2?

how i wish i can upgrade to class 2. but i guess it can only happen in my dreams.

1. gotta lift bike up n push it. i think it's impossible, considering i can't even lift the super 4. nighthawk 750 is 200++kg if i'm not wrong. i dun think my old bones can take it. lol.

2. seat ht is higher than super 4. i confirm can't even reach the ground. :cry:

how i wish i can upgrade to class 2. but i guess it can only happen in my dreams.

1. gotta lift bike up n push it. i think it's impossible, considering i can't even lift the super 4. nighthawk 750 is 200++kg if i'm not wrong. i dun think my old bones can take it. lol.

2. seat ht is higher than super 4. i confirm can't even reach the ground. :cry:

Somehow I suspected this would be the case...

So another thing you need to consider when choosing your 2A bike is.... you would probably be riding it for quite awhile, not just a year before upgrade. But that will mean you can safely spent the money and effort to customise it (ie, lowering) to suit your needs instead of just make-do for the time being.

Well, who knows after you get used to your new bike, 200+kg nighthawk will feel somewhat like the S4 for you now. :D

Dun give up so soon. You might never know you'll upgrade a few years down the road... well... I did, many years later. :cheeky:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

hehe.. but i very small size and light.. haha

nvr try super 4 or ninja ever before so i dunno..

but now for my kr, if upslope or downslope when i pushing, i will sometimes have difficulty.. plus balls sibei pain lo... :cry:

when it's time for u to take 2A, go enroll at BBDC lor. then u'll have the chance to ride n handle the super 4.

i'm only 1.5m n already can tiptoe on it, u sure no problem riding it. but the pushing, i'm not sure. but if u r a guy, i believe u'll be strong enough to push it ard la..

That is so mean to the girl sia...

EDIT: To think of it, i think she's rather pretty in the first photo. Then in the second photo she needs to wear her glasses properly, wear a nicer looking bra and dont smile like that. Then she will look better.

That is exactly my point about different perspective. You are looking at the same girl in both pictures, although from different point of views, why such a big difference in the ways you perceive her aesthetic qualities?

Similarly, a normal looking bike to us will look intimidating to those who of smaller built. Even if we think any girl sitting on the bike looks attractive, how would you know she is not feeling self-conscious or having difficulties with it? If she is having problems with the bike, will we still perceive her as attractive or just nervous?

(Eh, kept changing perspective until i oso blur.) :sweat:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009