I thought even a simple fool would have understood the reasons WHY SENTOSA WOULD NOT ALLOW BIKES into the resort area!

Although the management gave HALF TRUTHS in their reply, is has been pretty OBVIOUS even to a sotong Ah Beng or motor MAT , that when you allow bikers in to Sentosa ,you will also end up having the biker's bad reputation to follow thru.

They would allow an ANG MO with a HARLEY in but let's face the FACTS of life...how many locals have Harleys?

And even if these same locals would have a Harley they would not be bothered about this NO BIKERS rule in Sentosa becos they can always drive their E240 or whatever into Sentosa!

Bikers just don't get it ( but I sense DEEP inside they know) that the habits and charateristics that accompany bikers or ANYONE associating with bikes IS NOT A GOOD IMPRESSION!

Argue or debate all you want becos at the end of the day it wouldn't make any difference to those who do not see bikers favourably.

This characteristics of bikers had been drawn or rather imprinted upon the mind sets of the upper class ppl which has been a bare truths ( of biker's unsavoury characteristics) replayed over and over again.

But I don't blame these upper class ppl for drawing upon such a conclusion about bikers. Becos most of the time, bikers do represent unruly types and associating with such ppl does not bring about any benefits to Sentosa which seeks to attract the VERY UPPER CLASS type of ppl.

So simple and yet so truthful!

• Replies 468

I wun mind paying more to ride into sentosa. better than taking their bus..

which damn car travel at 40kmh in sentosa? i see taxis speeding, vans, trucks cars going above 40.

Not to mention their own bloody shuttle buses going above 40kmh.

Bikers just don't get it ( but I sense DEEP inside they know) that the habits and charateristics that accompany bikers or ANYONE associating with bikes IS NOT A GOOD IMPRESSION!

this is a sad but unfortunately very valid point. bikers are frowned upon by the upper classes which is sad. having said that, i know a fair no. of very wealthy people (not me, i am very very poverty stricken) that love motorcycles and not all of them are angmos.

I duno what the fuss is about Harleys and BMWs..... who says only the well-off can afford them?

I don't understand the stereotype..... I ride these bikes and am in no way "upper class" It's just the passion for the bike which makes you sacrifice the occassional drink at the pub or club for the enjoyment of these bikes.

As a biker myself, I support the decision NOT to allow bikes into the island, we may all have good intentions and behave ourselves but everyone can witness how many idiots with modified exhausts and irritating kids who can't behave themselve on their machines?

I once saw a bunch of fools riding their bikes all over a nice flower patch near the botanic gardens, i called the cops on them and waited for them to get arrested. Can't you just see the same happening on Sentosa? it just takes a few half-wits with machines trying to impress their equally half-witted girlfriends to ruin the whole show.....

My bike has screaming eagles fitted, loud, but i take the trouble to push the bike into the carpark at night with the engine off... I wouldn't even want to disturb the serenity of the island at night, would others feel the same way?

Blame the idiots who spoil image of bikers for the predicament we are faced. Thank god the *%$^$^* motorised bicycles are now banned.... The next time a imbecile rides one of those noisy bicycles under my window again at night, I shall be ready with a bucket of engine oil, THEN call the cops.

All we need is one idiot to disallow riders to enter Sentosa.. Come to think of it, I have an evil plan... :D

Since we can't enter Sentosa, let's not allow drivers to enter Sentosa as well.. Like i said, all we need is one idiot.. Now we juz need one person to drive a heavily modded car with loud pipe to disturb the peace and endanger the safety of the poeple in sentosa as well as travel at 80km/h and knock someone down... :D Then, we all can say that driving a car into sentosa is dangerous... :D am i evil? :lol:

Originally posted by Tyrian@Dec 23 2004, 11:09 PM

All we need is one idiot to disallow riders to enter Sentosa.. Come to think of it, I have an evil plan... :D

Since we can't enter Sentosa, let's not allow drivers to enter Sentosa as well.. Like i said, all we need is one idiot.. Now we juz need one person to drive a heavily modded car with loud pipe to disturb the peace and endanger the safety of the poeple in sentosa as well as travel at 80km/h and knock someone down... :D Then, we all can say that driving a car into sentosa is dangerous... :D am i evil? :lol:

:thumb: Good for a scriptwriter, try your luck at TCS for an interview.. :lol: :lol: :lol:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Originally posted by Tyrian@Dec 23 2004, 11:09 PM

I tot we already allow those kind of cars into sentosa already?

Those tiong civics, WRXs and EVOs? :confused:

Originally posted by AliDavidSum@Dec 18 2003, 04:46 PM

Once motorbikes are allowed in Sentosa, the Tourist island will be heaven for illegal racing, and cat & mouse race between hell-riders & TP.

If that ever happen, the TP can simply put a road block at the causeway. confirm catch one mah.. only way in and out of the island. unless his bike can go underwater.. :cheeky:

i am not against anyone here, so dun bomb me

i once thought of the sentosa plan myself. way before even i got my 2b. no when i think of it, the bends are similar to kent ridge.

even if they allow bikes, we will have to adhere to ridiculous speed limits like 20 to 40. cars may slow down at bends but bikes dont.

when u travel in the bus, u can see the bus rear covering the other lane at times. and we bikers always squeeze and overtake almost everytime.

sentosa is just 2 lanes everywhere.

what i find very irritating is to park around the interchange and take a bus all the way in. and we have to wait for the bus.

i really think it will be good if they make bike lots at the main entrance, that is after the causeway.

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Dec 27 2004, 10:15 PM

i am not against anyone here, so dun bomb me

i once thought of the sentosa plan myself. way before even i got my 2b. no when i think of it, the bends are similar to kent ridge.

even if they allow bikes, we will have to adhere to ridiculous speed limits like 20 to 40. cars may slow down at bends but bikes dont.

when u travel in the bus, u can see the bus rear covering the other lane at times. and we bikers always squeeze and overtake almost everytime.

sentosa is just 2 lanes everywhere.

what i find very irritating is to park around the interchange and take a bus all the way in. and we have to wait for the bus.

i really think it will be good if they make bike lots at the main entrance, that is after the causeway.

good point man..... i agree.......ridiculous to ride all the way there and only to have to take a bus/walk to get around.....

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg
Originally posted by spy622@Dec 27 2003, 10:11 AM

For ur info from my frenz who work in Sentosa ther is only 1 harley allowed in only...it belongs to an expat who stays in a suite in 1 of the hotels ther....

and I ever seen b4 a vespa riding along the bicycle track on the beach wifout helmet somemore....

Last but not least...I saw bikes sneaking in to Sentosa aft midnite using the pavement along the causeway wif the engine off....

u r correct, staying in the hotle w here i am working now~ he still has to pay a vehicle entry permit~

wow... fiery topic... dis is my take on de issue...

personally, i tink de roads in sentosa is not safe for riders at all... so many bends, so many humps, no traffic lights, single lanes everywhere... i can almost forsee an accident happening almost every week... especially involving our new riders out there (sorry to dem)... let's juz face it, even us de more experienced riders will need all our experience and alertness to manouvre the roads there...

2ndly, 40kmh is too slow for bikes... u'll have many ppl stalling there :sweat:

i tink de best solution is... to haf a major carpark juz outside sentosa for everyone... and den bar all vehicles coming in except sentosa's buses or the ppl living in sentosa... den haf a big bicycle rental service juz after de entrance for everyone to rent bicycles (healthy living ppl!!)... lastly, haf an efficient and cheap transport service (unlike de monorail) dat caters to de tourists and visitors to sentosa... i tink it's already on de way (as announced by sentosa)...

hence i see no reason for de need for ppl to drive in at all except if dey need to carry bulky stuffs in there... i tink dis can be overcome by issuing a coupon to all vehicles dat want to enter sentosa which doesnt cost cheap... maybe sumting like 30 bucks per coupon? dis will deter ppl driving in... i tink wif de ability to park so close to sentosa and haf cheap buses or trains waiting to pick dem up right at de entrance will more or less solve de prob...

juz my two cents worth...

The secret of success is to know something nobody else knows...

changing buses can be quite inconvenient... the last time i went there, the queue for the buses was so long and it took quite a while for the buses to come.. i think for biker's convenient sake, there should be carparks in there for bikers... though i think there should also be speed limits and more humps to curb the dangers of riding in there... i believe riding is the same everywhere, we'll always be vulnerable to to dangers.. there are always bends and single roads in singapore but we still ride thru it eh? :smile:

my hope is that next time i'll be able to ride in and have picnic by the beach without the hassle of carrying a big load all the way from seah im food centre to the beach... :smile:

Originally posted by syaiguy@Feb 16 2005, 03:03 PM

i tink de best solution is... to haf a major carpark juz outside sentosa for everyone... and den bar all vehicles coming in except sentosa's buses or the ppl living in sentosa... den haf a big bicycle rental service juz after de entrance for everyone to rent bicycles (healthy living ppl!!)... lastly, haf an efficient and cheap transport service (unlike de monorail) dat caters to de tourists and visitors to sentosa... i tink it's already on de way (as announced by sentosa)...

hence i see no reason for de need for ppl to drive in at all except if dey need to carry bulky stuffs in there... i tink dis can be overcome by issuing a coupon to all vehicles dat want to enter sentosa which doesnt cost cheap... maybe sumting like 30 bucks per coupon? dis will deter ppl driving in... i tink wif de ability to park so close to sentosa and haf cheap buses or trains waiting to pick dem up right at de entrance will more or less solve de prob...

juz my two cents worth...

first and second point are correct.

major carpark outside for everyone? there's no major carpark outside or space for one, only spage for sentosa and PSA workers.

bike rental has closed waaaaaaaaaay long ago due to the erection of the train service.

the bus service is a very cheap transport service that caters to tourists (bangalahs and china people on P.H) and visitors to Sentosa.

People drive in cos its convenient, rather den squeeze in the bus, or wait for one service, or change diff bus service.

SDC wont issue a expensive coupon to deter money spenders. last time admission so high, nobody came. now? they are more den happy to earn more money.

Now already have sentosa buses to pick people up at the gateway, sadly for the motorcylists that dun have a mapletree season parking which costs $30 for sentosa employees and PSA @ $10, there's no actual parking space.

So therefore, the problem isnt solved at all, since this is already wad is being done, except a public motorcycle carpark for the public.

Guest ViciousKitty74

Petition don't usually works unless you have a major supporting event to boost up the belief that bikes should be allowed into Sentosa.

Here's some recommendation.

1. bike events to be held there.

2. babes in bikini riding around there.

3. special request by some big shots.

#2 sounds like a good idea! :p

2011-Present: SilverWing SW-T400

2003-2011: X9 Evo

Originally posted by redname@Feb 22 2005, 12:36 PM

wow, imagine them riding a crusier, maybe HD, then no helmet, letting their long hair flow :thumb:

wif the bikini flowing off as well will be even better :D

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Originally posted by paul mai@Feb 24 2005, 12:57 PM

I don't see no reason riding in Sentosa when the attractions in Sentosa sucks. I'd rather spend time in Malaysia where everything's NATURAL

agree

http://www.cexut.com/wp-content/uploads/yoshimura-suzuki-b-king-exhaust.jpg

2000-2002- Yamaha TZR 125, 2002-2002- Vespa PX150 , 2002-2004- Honda Steed 400, 2004-2006- Harley Davidson Sportster 1200S, 2006-2008- Hyundai Tucson, 2008-2010- Honda Super 4 VTEC 3, 2010-2011- Ford Focus 1.4, 2012-2013 Yamaha Fazer FZ6S

Originally posted by paul mai@Feb 24 2005, 12:57 PM

I don't see no reason riding in Sentosa when the attractions in Sentosa sucks. I'd rather spend time in Malaysia where everything's NATURAL

correct man, besides the beach nothing much else which is of interest ... some more narrow roads and too much traffic.... no point also....

http://server3.uploadit.org/files/numbergames-1096510755_turesblack.jpg

susprised to see this topic here. i freq sentosa alot and hav always parked seah im or illeagly outside right outside gateway. From my point of view as a freq goer and biker, the road there is simply too tempting to overtake, speed. the curves are great. the slow traffic there even forms a somewhat interesting obstacle course. i can't imagine what i'll do when i;m in there riding, although as much as i want to be law aiding, patience often lets one down.. having said that, i am sometimes glad that they did not let me in w my bike..

malaysia have lotsa nice beaches, as tih many other countires too.. but i can't be going there weekly can i ?