You can go for aspherisis donation at HSA, u can donate every month if I'm not wrong. Can help those leukemia patients.

no they won't accept me due to me oversea fz :sweat:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

• Replies 642

I helped my ah sir to go blood bank collect the 2011 Red Cross Blood Donar Diary from Blood Bank liao.

Super thick and heavy. I gave my copy away, cos I dont want to lug around that Diary in my bag. My bags are big and heavy enough with enough rubbish as it is now.

Anyway, I probably should do platlettes donation again on 31st Dec. Anyone here keen to join me? Do a last donation to end 2010 and welcome 2011.

Not many people uses a hardcopy diary these days.

I always get the shivers and tingling on my lips when donating platelets. Whole blood need to get my fingers pricked and the process is too short to be enjoyable. Plasma is still my preferred choice unless bloodbank requested me to do otherwise.

I remember long long time ago, when I went to donate whole blood with a girlfriend at the bloodbank. It was so funny then. When we got in, some guys opposite our beds are already hooked up and pumping.

My g/f got hooked up probably 10 minutes after them, and completed her donation in like few minutes flat. The moment the guyes heard her machine beeping, all of them looked so bewildered and started to actively pump fingers to well.....rush their collection. I was like trying not to laugh so obvious at their actions.

Its worse when my machine also started beeping to signify that my collection is completed. Then most of the guys' machines starts beeping all one shot and you see nurses kinda is rushing in to handle the sudden flux of completed collections.

Anyway, for my g/f, she is kinda big size with big veins and was a regular donar, so of course her blood flows faster lah.

And for me that time to have completed my donation though I started later, is because of my blood type being rare. They requested and switched my collection to only 200 plus cc packets of blood meant for babies and small children. So since I am donating into smaller packets, of course faster lah.

just donated blood again last week.. finally able to donate after so many tries due to low iron.. =.=" funny, no matter eat how much food which is high in iron, still will be low iron. lol..

Maybe because you were lacking in Vitamin C and Zinc, no matter how you eat, your iron wasnt absorbed into the body/bloodstream.

Buy some Redoxon Fizzy orange vitamin C tablets with Zinc. Have a fizzy water in the morning, or at least dump a tablet into orange juice when you are out for lunch. Drink daily. It was a biker by the nick and name of danieltanboonhuat who showed me how, espeically since he used to smoke too. The Vitamin C helps to negate the effects of smoking constricting blood vessels.

He bought the largest mugs of fresh orange juice from Malaysia JB Sentosa Hawker, dump in the tablets and invited me to taste the difference. The orange juice with the fizzy tablets taste nice!

Maybe because you were lacking in Vitamin C and Zinc, no matter how you eat, your iron wasnt absorbed into the body/bloodstream.

Buy some Redoxon Fizzy orange vitamin C tablets with Zinc. Have a fizzy water in the morning, or at least dump a tablet into orange juice when you are out for lunch. Drink daily. It was a biker by the nick and name of danieltanboonhuat who showed me how, espeically since he used to smoke too. The Vitamin C helps to negate the effects of smoking constricting blood vessels.

He bought the largest mugs of fresh orange juice from Malaysia JB Sentosa Hawker, dump in the tablets and invited me to taste the difference. The orange juice with the fizzy tablets taste nice!

dono lei.. will try to take in more Vit C.. haha.. always make a wasted trip down to hsa lol. everytime i will request to test my iron first.. =x

Also, because some of us are so regular at the blood bank.

I learnt to always bring in some magazines onto the beds, just to read, distract myself against the fright of the needles going into my veins. At least the glossy pictures of beautiful people on the magazines is better to look at, then at the grim faces of folks donating blood or the nurses trying to find the veins.

Unfortunately, even the blood bank has limited reading magazines materials, and its all at the reception area.

For those who ever tried reading a story book while donating blood, should understand how difficult to hold a book open while one arm is spread out and engage in pumping blood out. Magazines are easier.

how long does it take for 1 donation? would like to go for my first time..

For 1st time blood donars, expect a 1 hour at least at the blood bank. From filling out forms to having some folks oooh and aah at you. First time mah.

They also have to measure your height and weight, take your blood pressure and so on. Test you for iron and then fluff your way onto the bed. Then maybe another hour before you should try to stand and go out makan a free meal at the cafeteria/cafe after the whole blood rushing away from your face to elsewhere kinda experience.

I had a short chit chat with the doctor. Mainly me sprouting nonsencial questions about bone marrow program and whether is our register linked internationally, since we are expecting Japan might well, need the bone marrow or more cancer patients after the nuclear leak.

Anyway, since I registered online and did my questionaire online. It was relatively easy. I drank lots of free mineral water from the dispenser and request that they provide sweets at the blood donation/plasma/platelettes beds, because thats when donars need them to counter the mouth having strange feelings.

And I requested for better selections of trashy magazines.....

Then I went back into the plasma/platelette centre. Went off to the ladies, release pee. Goes back in, met a fella volunteer, grab his hands to shake his hands a bit, then proceed to my own bed.

I was watching the movie and was so excited with my show. That the nurses came to me twice to straighten up my left hand. I had unknowingly gotten too tense with the movie, and left my arms drapped over my head or across my shoulders, while my right hand was pumping blood out.

I stayed in longer at the bed, even after my pumping, just to finish watching the movie, that I can only tabao the nasi lemak and drink and head to my office late.

BTW, the blood bank now has some stuff at the cafe, and the new staff are no good. Especially this malay girl with a tudang. She was so monotone when speaking to people and this cannot, that cannot. I can see the supervisor is also a new girl and she keeps rolling her eyes because this malay girl is like not blur, but purposely doing a job which she shouldnt be doing.

• 3 years later...

now i know why i like to read your post. same same with me. i will try this remedy